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HIGHLIGHTS OF TAX LEGISLATION PASSED IN 2005

Corporate Income Tax

Under current law, a federal net operating loss election (to carry a loss back or forward)
must be followed with respect to the Vermont return. However, Vermont refunds
resulting from the application of a net operating loss carrybacks are limited to zero, thus
limiting the benefit of a net operating loss based solely on how the federal net operating
loss was utilized. The Department of Taxes will report to the Legislature by January 15,
2006 on the possible effects of amending the law to allow 50 percent of federal corporate
net operating losses to be carried forward in Vermont, based on loss-year apportionment
factors, for a period of up to ten years and of phasing the allowance percentage up from
50 percent to 100 percent. H. 521, Sec. 4.

Personal Income Tax

The retirement income credit is renamed the “elderly and permanently totally disabled
credit” to reflect the new federal name for the credit. Eff. on passage. H. 521, Sec. 15.

Insurance Premiums Tax

The affordable housing tax credit, like other downtown credits, may now be applied
against insurance premiums tax as well as against individual and corporate income tax.
Eff. on passage. H. 521, Sec. 7.

Sales and Use Tax

Prior to an event that includes occasional vendors, e.g., a flea market or gun show, the
promoter must provide a list of the participating vendors to the Department and verify
that the participants are registered to collect sales and use tax. However, this requirement
applies only if 25 or more vendors are authorized by the promoter to sell taxable items.
Eff. on passage. H. 521, Sec. 1.

Effective for sales on and after July 1, 2005, the maximum tax on tracked vehicles is
increased from $900 to $1100. The Commissioner will study the advisability of adjusting
the cap for inflation every second year and report his recommendation to the Legislature
by January 15, 2005. H. 521, Sec. 2.

The formula for allocating sales tax revenues to a town that is hosting designated
downtown development is simplified. Instead of allocating based on actual sales and
receipts, the allocation will be based on estimated costs as stated in the successful bid
documents. A town will receive half of its allocation when the project is 50 percent
complete and the balance upon completion. Eff. June 1, 2005. H. 210, Sec. 9; H. 51, Sec.
13 and 14.
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Various telecommunications-related provisions in Vermont sales and use tax law were
amended to conform to the Streamlind Sales and Use Tax Agreement, including changes
to the definitions of “telecommunications” and “sales price”. Eff. July 1, 2005. H. 521,
Sec. 21 – 25.

The Tax Commissioner may post a sign on a business informing the public that the
business has failed to file a bond that was required by the department and may not
conduct business at that location. Eff. on passage. H. 210, Sec. 11.

Education Property Tax

Homestead Declarations are due each year by April 15. However, the duty to file a
declaration continues after that date in order to assure grand list accuracy. Under prior
law, a person who filed late, but before December 1 would receive a new tax bill at the
homestead rate. Beginning January 1, 2006, late filed declarations will result in a new bill
only if they are filed before July 15. H. 504, Sec. 6. 

A uniform method is enacted for appraising residential rental property that is subject
to a housing covenant or other legal restriction by a governmental, quasi-governmental,
or public purpose entity on rents that may be charged. For these properties, fair market
value will be determined under an income approach that uses market rents, actual
expenses, a vacancy rate that is 50 percent of the market vacancy rate and a capitalization
rate that is typical for the area. Property Valuation and Review will determine and
publish capitalization rates for geographic areas annually prior to April 1. This new
method will apply to grand lists of April 1, 2006 and after. H. 521, Sec. 6.

The law is clarified that in determining estimated fair market value, the sale price of the
property should be considered, but is not determinative. Eff. on passage and shall apply
to grand lists of April 1, 2006 and after H. 504, Sec. 1.

There will be a voluntary lister program developed by the Division of Property
Valuation and Review to support local listers in performing their jobs and to improve the
quality and uniformity of appraisal methodology and grand list maintenance. The
program will include instruction in lister duties, property inspection, data collection,
valuation methods, mass appraisal techniques, and property tax administration and will
lead to designation of competence at three levels. H. 504, Sec. 2, 3, 4, 4a.

A residence that was the homestead of the decedent at the date of death and from the
date of death through the next April 1 is held by the estate of the decedent and not rented
is taxed at the homestead rate. A declaration should be filed by the estate, but the estate is
not entitled to a property tax adjustment. This new rule applies to declarations related to
April 1, 2005 and after. H. 504, Sec. 16, 18.
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Property Tax Adjustments (Prebates and Rebates)

Currently, a claimant with household income of $75,000 or more may be eligible for an
adjustment of education property tax on the first $160,000 of equalized value of the
housesite. Income sensitivity is expanded in two stages in H. 504. For claims filed for
2006 property taxes and after, the household income amount increases from $75,000 to
$85,000 and the maximum housesite value that qualifies for income sensitivity at that
income level increases from $160,000 to $200,000. For claims filed for 2007 property
taxes, the household income amount increases from $85,000 to $90,000 and the housesite
value remains at $200,000. H. 504, Sec. 25, 26, 27. Claimants with income up to
approximately $110,000 will be eligible for a property tax adjustment under the new
parameters (under current law, income sensitivity phases out at approximately $88,000 of
household income).

In most cases in which a homestead property is jointly owned, the percentage of property
tax used to calculate a prebate or rebate is the same percentage as the claimant’s
ownership. However, in the case of a homestead that is a portion of a duplex, the
property tax of the claimant is the tax on the portion of the structure occupied by the
claimant (without reduction for the interest of other owners in the claimant’s portion)
provided that all owners live in a portion of the duplex structure. This new rule applies to
claims filed for 2006 property taxes and after. H. 504, Sec. 15.

Current Use

The definition of farmer is expanded for purposes of determining eligibility to enroll
farm buildings in the current use program. A person whose gross income from the sale of
processed farm products and from the business of farming together equals at least half
of the person’s gross income is a farmer provided that a minimum of 75 percent of the
farm crops processed in the farm facility are produced by the farmer on land enrolled by
the farmer or on a housesite adjoining the enrolled land. The definition of farm buildings
is also expanded to include up to $100,000 of the value of a farm facility processing farm
crops (75 percent or more of which are produced on the farm). H. 540, Secs. 1 and 2.
Effective July 1, 2005.

The current use program provides that the land use change tax will be limited to 10
percent of the value of the changed land (instead of 20 percent) if the changed land has
been enrolled for more than ten years. This section provides that the ten-year enrollment
must be continuous. Eff. July 1, 2006. H. 210, Sec. 5.

Property Transfer Tax

The law that sunsets the property transfer tax exemption for the first $100,000 of value
for properties purchased with a Vermont Housing Finance Agency mortgage was
repealed, making the exemption permanent. H. 521, Sec. 5.
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Solid Waste Tax

Effective July 1, 2005, the following waste is exempt from tax: (1) waste delivered to and
accepted by a composting facility for composting; (2) solid waste delivered to a facility
with a solid waste categorical certification; (3) solid waste resulting from mining,
extraction, or mineral processing operations delivered to a facility certified solely for
the treatment, storage, recycling, or disposal of such waste. However, the exemption for
mining waste sunsets June 30, 2008 and a study of the human health and environmental
effects of Omya’s mineral processing of calcium carbonate in Vermont is to be filed with
the Legislature on or before January 15, 2008. Septage or sludge delivered to an
incinerator is subject to tax. H. 532, Sec. 4, 5.

A license fee is imposed on facilities that treat, store, or dispose of waste generated solely
from mining, extraction, or mineral processing at the rate $0.41 per cubic yard of
certified operational capacity above 15,000 cubic yards up to a maximum of $35,000.
The fee is prorated and paid on an annual basis over the term of the certification. The
solid waste categorical certification statute is amended generally and categorical disposal
facilities are expressly excluded from license fees charged by the Agency of Natural
Resources. H.532, Sec. 1, 3.
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