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Craig Bolio, Commissioner of Taxes





What are you 
going to hear 
about today?

  

VDT Symposium 2024



• Another year of meeting aggressive refunding goals without sacrificing integrity

• New Division – Business Improvement and Implementation Division (BIID)

• Implemented Childcare Contribution payroll tax

• Navigated a sprint of legislative proposals in a few short months after the 
session (PTT, PTC, STR – acronyms ahoy!)

• Launched phase 1 of our scanning modernization project

• Additional functionality for the Vermont Property Information Exchange (VTPIE)

2024 Year in Review



• Direct File – in filing season 2026 or 2027

• Finish remaining modernizations

• Maintain operational excellence

• Education Fund

What’s ahead for us?



Abby Shepard, Executive Policy Advisor, Esq.
Vermont Department of Taxes

October 22, 2024



Tax Technical & Policy Changes, Act 144
Renter credit expansion
• Efficiencies gained after Act 160 of 2020 renter rebate reform are impressive

o Every week last year, Dept was caught up on filings – no lag!
o ~11,000 credits were sent last year

• New law expands income criteria for renters to qualify for credit
o Previous limit was US HUD very-low income limit
o New limit increased to 1.3 times very-low income limit (~65% area median income)
o ~3,000 new renters will get a credit 
o ~4,000 existing recipients will get a bigger credit

• Effective for claims filed in 2025
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT144/ACT144%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/ACTS/ACT160/ACT160%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Tax Technical & Policy Changes, Act 144
Property Tax Credit (PTC)
• Act 144 repealed $15 late PTC filing fee in June 2024, effective immediately

o No State revenue loss; minimal municipal revenue reduction
o Total fees (across all towns): $88,000
o Average impact per town is $348; median impact $225

• Before 2024, a $15 late fee was charged if PTC claims were filed after April 15
• Fee reimbursed towns for cost of re-issuing tax bills
• But efficiencies gained through VTax allowed many late-filed claims to be processed 

before towns send property tax bills, so no need to re-issue bills
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT144/ACT144%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Tax Technical & Policy Changes, Act 144

Annual link up to federal tax statutes
• Vermont’s income and estate tax chapters conform to federal statutes in effect 

on a certain date. Typically, the date is updated in legislation every year.
• No major federal tax law changes have been passed to date in 2024.
• Under Act 144, Vermont’s link up took effect retroactively on January 1, 2024, 

and applied to taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2023.
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT144/ACT144%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Tax Technical & Policy Changes, Act 144
Credit to towns for decreased grand list value after valuation appeal
• Previous law only allowed towns to receive a credit against the next year’s education tax 

liability for a loss in grand list value after a valuation appeal – but only when there was no 
further right of appeal

• New law allows PVR Director to credit towns where it is reasonable not to appeal a decision 
further, even if a right to appeal exists

Utility valuation
• Gives PVR discretion to require towns to use State values for certain electric utility properties

General Fund source for reappraisal payments to towns
• Clarifies that reappraisal payments to towns are made from General Fund, not Education Fund 
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT144/ACT144%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Tax Technical & Policy Changes, Act 144
Universal town choice for local option tax

• Up to 5 towns per year; more may enact LOT at Commissioner’s discretion only

• Other bills enacted LOTs in Waterbury, South Hero, and Berlin

Sales tax
• ATVs no longer exempt as casual sales. Now taxed like motorboats, aircraft, and  

snowmobiles based on trade-in or total loss value.

Property tax
• County-owned property in county limits exempted from State and town property tax

14

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT144/ACT144%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Flooding Abatement Reimbursement, Acts 82 and 108
Like after Tropical Storm Irene in Act 67 of 2012, the Dept. of Taxes and Agency 
of Education can reimburse State property taxes to municipalities that abate 
taxes for properties flooded in July and August 2023
• Property has to have qualifying loss
• Municipality has to abate both local and State property taxes proportionally
• Municipality has to abate before November 15, 2024

Flood-related interest expenses are also reimbursable
See application and approval procedures. To date:

• $372,428.89 has been reimbursed to 14 municipalities for 146 parcels
• Majority nonhomestead (84%) vs homestead (16%) but some properties are a mix

1
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT082/ACT082%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT108/ACT108%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=2
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2012/Docs/ACTS/ACT067/ACT067%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://tax.vermont.gov/municipal-officials/flood-related-damage


Housing, Property Transfer Tax, Property Tax, Act 181
• Property Transfer Tax (PTT), Clean Water Surcharge (CWS) effective August 1

o New rates, including 3.4% PTT on non-principal residences; CWS 0.22%
o Higher exempt values/values taxed at lower rate for principal residences
o New exemptions 
 Abandoned properties and new ENERGY STAR mobile homes

• Property tax value freeze for new or rehabilitated principal residences

• Landlord Certificate

• Non-tax changes including reforms to Act 250 land use law
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT181/ACT181%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Property Transfer Tax Changes, Act 181

• Property Transfer Tax changes effective August 1

• General tax rate remains the same at 1.25%

• Clean Water Surcharge increases from 0.2% to 0.22%

• New combined rate 1.47%, up from 1.45%
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT181/ACT181%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Property Transfer Tax Changes, Act 181
Property Transfer Tax special rates (effective August 1)

• Any principal residence
o Special tax rate remains the same at 0.5%
o Value paid eligible for special rate increased from $100k to $200k

• A principal residence funded in part with a grant through VHCB, VHFA, or 
USDA Rural Development
o Eligible for exemption on certain value of transfer
o Value paid eligible for exemption increased from $110k to 250k 
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT181/ACT181%20As%20Enacted.pdf


New Property Transfer Tax Rate, Act 181

New 3.4% rate, effective August 1, 2024, applies to:
1) Residential properties 
2) That are fit for year-round habitation
3) That are not used as principal residences
4) That will not be used as long-term rentals that will require the 

filing of a Landlord Certificate
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT181/ACT181%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Property Value Freeze, Act 181
New property tax exemption for certain new residential construction or 
rehabilitation of residential properties

• For qualifying properties, the taxable property value will be frozen at the pre-improvement 
value for 3 years

• Properties must be used as homesteads or long-term rentals (no short-term rentals)

• Properties must be located within one-half mile of designated downtowns, village centers, 
neighborhood development areas, or federal new market tax credit areas and in any county 
except Grand Isle, Essex, or Bennington

• By default, exemption applies only to State education taxes, but municipalities can opt in

• Applications accepted through Agency of Commerce and Community Development, annual 
use certification. No new applications approved after 12/31/2027.
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT181/ACT181%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Education Finance and Property Taxes, Act 183

The “yield bill” sets the numbers used to calculate a school district’s 
homestead property tax rate, the property tax credit, and the 
statewide nonhomestead property tax rate.  Other changes in this 
year’s yield bill:

• Average property tax bill increase 13.8%
• Increases all State PTCs by 13% for FY25 only
• Creates new CLA (statewide adjustment) effective 7/1/2025
• Amends excess spending penalty effective 7/1/2025
• Creates the Commission on the Future of Public Education
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT183/ACT183%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Other Taxes, Act 183
“Cloud tax”
• Sales tax exemption for “cloud” software repealed effective July 1, 2024
• Pre-written software downloaded/purchased on disc was already taxable
• Customized software is not taxable

Short-Term Rental Surcharge
• 3% surcharge in addition to rooms tax effective August 1, 2024
• Applies to short-term rentals, which are furnished dwellings rented for stays 

of fewer than 30 consecutive days and more than 14 days per calendar year.
• Does not apply to licensed establishments like hotels, B&Bs, etc.
• Rooms tax returns with the surcharge must be filed electronically
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT183/ACT183%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Communications Property, Act 145

• Telephone personal property tax (TPPT) and alternative gross 
revenues tax (AGRT) are repealed. 
• Currently, TPPT taxpayers do not pay property tax and AGRT 

taxpayers do not pay either property tax or corporate income tax.

• Communications property will be listed and taxed as real property 
starting with 2025 grand list.

• PVR will collect inventories of communications property and 
provide values of that property to municipalities for grand list.
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT145/ACT145%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=7


Questions or Comments?

Contact Us

    Send a message

              Book an appointment  
  

   802-828-2505

tax.vermont.gov

For More Information

• 2024 Legislative Highlights

• Education property taxes
• Property tax credit
• Property transfer tax

• Flooding abatement reimbursement
• Sales tax on cloud software
• Short-term rental surcharge

• Communications taxes

24

https://tax.vermont.gov/contact
https://tax.vermont.gov/schedule-appointment
https://tax.vermont.gov/
https://tax.vermont.gov/tax-law-and-guidance/tax-legislation/2024
https://tax.vermont.gov/property/education-property-tax-rates
https://tax.vermont.gov/property/property-tax-credit
https://tax.vermont.gov/property/property-transfer-tax
https://tax.vermont.gov/municipal-officials/flood-related-damage
https://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/sales-and-use-tax/prewritten-computer-software
https://tax.vermont.gov/business/industry/short-term-rentals
https://tax.vermont.gov/business/misc-taxes/telephone-tax


The 2024 Tax Symposium 
will resume at 10:55 a.m.






Adam Gann, Taxpayer Services Division

Matthew Phillips, Assistant Attorney General
October 22, 2024



Agenda
1. What is the Child Care Contribution (CCC)?
2. CCC for Individuals with Self-Employment Income.

1. What "self-employment income" is subject to the CCC?
2. How to report and pay the CCC on self-employment income.

3. CCC for Employers.
1. What "wages" are subject to the CCC?
2. Option to deduct up to 25% of CCC from employee's pay.
3. How to report and pay the CCC on wages.

4. What has the Department seen so far?
1. Contributions reported to date.
2. Most common reporting issues.

5. Questions



What is the 
Child Care 

Contribution

Employers pay a 0.44% (0.0044) 
payroll tax on employee wages 
paid in connection with work 
performed in Vermont.

Self-employed Individuals pay 
0.11% (0.0011) rate on self-
employment income earned in 
Vermont.

Beginning July 1, 2024:



What is the Child Care 
Contribution

Intended to:
• Increase access to and quality 

of child care, afterschool, and 
summer programs.

• Provide financial stability to 
child care programs.

• Stabilize and support the 
state's early childhood 
workforce.

Act 76 of 2023

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT076/ACT076%20As%20Enacted.pdf


Child Care Contribution for Self-
Employed Individuals

"Each self-employed individual shall pay the Child Care Contribution on self-employment income 
earned by the individual and shall remit those amounts to the Department of Taxes pursuant to 

the provisions of this section."  § 10553(a)(2).

"The contribution rate shall be . . . 0.11 percent on each self-employed individual’s self-
employment income." § 10553(b)



What is "Self-Employment Income" for the CCC?
• Piggybacks on the federal self-employment tax.

• Links to definition of "self-employment income" in 26 U.S.C. § 1402. 
Generally includes gross income derived from a trade or business, less 
deductions related to the trade or business, plus distributive share from 
a trade or business carried on by a partnership.

• The CCC is only due on self-employment income earned in 
Vermont.

• Rule of Thumb:  If the income was earned in Vermont 
and is the type of income typically subject to the federal 
self-employment tax, then it is subject to the CCC.
• *BUT the Social Security tax limit does not apply.



• CCC payments should be remitted with the quarterly 
estimated payments on Form IN-114. 

• First returns are due April 15, 2025. Individuals may want to 
pay estimated payments for 2024.

• For tax year 2024, the Department will accept 50% of 
Vermont self employment income for reporting the CCC due.  

• Taxpayers can document that their actual self employment 
income for July to December was less than 50%.  

Child Care Contribution for Self-Employed Taxpayers



Self Employed Income Reporting For Child 
Care Contribution

• Calculation has been 
adjusted to account for 
income earned outside of 
Vermont for self-
employed individuals. 

• Previous guidance was 
that all income was 
subject to calculation.



Self Employed Income Reporting Change



Child Care Contribution for Employers

"Each employer shall pay the Child Care Contribution on all covered wages paid to each of the 
employer’s employees and shall remit those amounts to the Department of Taxes pursuant to the 

provisions of this section."  § 10553(a)(1).

"The contribution rate shall be 0.44 percent of each employee’s covered wages." § 10553(b).



• "Covered wages" are "3401 wages."  Piggybacks on federal definition of "wages" for 
purposes of federal income tax withholding.

• Links to definition of "wages" in 26 U.S.C. § 3401. Generally includes "all remuneration . . . 
for services performed by an employee for his employer, including the cash 
value of all remuneration (including benefits) paid in any medium other than 
cash."  EXCLUSIONS listed in 3401(a)(1)-(23).

• The CCC is only due on wages earned in Vermont.
• *If an out-of-state employer withholds Vermont income tax on wages earned outside Vermont 

merely as a courtesy to a Vermont-resident employee, the CCC is not due on such wages.

• Rule of Thumb:  If the wages were earned in Vermont and are "3401 wages" (i.e., 
wages of a type typically subject to federal income tax withholding), then they are 
subject to the CCC.

What are "Covered Wages" for the CCC?



• Remember Rule of Thumb:  If the wages are of a type typically subject to 
federal income tax withholding, then they are probably 3401 wages 
subject to the CCC.  Includes:

• Bonuses, commissions, etc.
• Cash Tips
• Non-cash remuneration, including stocks, bonds, etc.
• Paid time off payments (e.g., sick, personal, vacation, vacation payouts, etc.)
• Severance Payments

Examples of 3401 Wages  (Subject to CCC)



Examples of 3401 Exclusions (NOT Subject to CCC)

• Remuneration in the form of certain employer-provided benefits.
• E.g., Employer contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, 

accident or health insurance plan, or group-term life insurance.
• Typically includes employee contributions to such plans under a qualified 

salary reduction agreement.

• Imputed Group Term Life Income

• Remuneration paid for domestic service in a private home.

• Various other exclusions, many of which are quite esoteric.



Optional Employee Deduction

› Employers may choose to deduct up 
to 25% of the CCC (0.11% of 
wages)  from an employee's wages.

› The CCC law does not require 
employers to deduct the same 
amount from all employees (but 
other laws may prohibit 
discrimination or differential 
treatment).



How to Report CCC:

• CCC is reported quarterly on Form WHT-
436 (Quarterly Withholding 
Reconciliation) part III. 

• After July 1, 2024, the CCC must be paid 
according to the employer’s established 
withholding schedule

• If CCC is withheld, report in Box 14 of 
the employee’s W-2



Payroll Tax ( Act 76) 

• CCC is remitted by the employer in the same frequency which 
they remit Vermont Income Tax Withholding. 

• Same rules and mechanisms will apply (penalties, etc.) 

• The first quarterly reconciliations reporting CCC are due October 
25, 2024, for the July to September quarter.  

Child Care Contribution for Employers



Withholding Tax Form Change

New Form WHT-436

• The amount of Child 
Care Contributions 
due is reported and 
reconciled on the 
Quarterly Withholding 
Reconciliation Part 
III. 

 



Paying the CCC

The WHT-436 form, Part III will be for CCC. 
It requires:

Total Wages

CCC due by employer

CCC paid by employees

Upcoming filing dates:

October 25, 2024 
(for July – September)

January 27, 2024 
(for October – December). 



• As of 10/21/2024 we have reported CCC
• $5,412,047.35 in Child Care Contribution reported
• $347,225.66 of that has been contributed by employees
• $1,230,010,674.73 of CCC Withholding Wages Reported
• Most filings are filed on the due date.

Child Care Contribution Data 3rd Quarter 2024 (so far).



   Child Care Contribution

Helpful reminders for issues examiners are finding.

• Line 9 (amount contributed by employees) is for the amount of 
line 8 (CCC due) withheld from the employee. 

• Total Wages paid this quarter should not be greater than Total 
Wages Subject to CCC

• Make sure to check the box if no CCC is due.



Additional information 
and guidance on the CCC:

• The Vermont Child Care Contribution Guide (GB-1326)
• https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/GB-

1326.pdf
• First stop resource for employers, employees, self-

employed individuals, and their tax preparers.

• Vermont Department of Taxes Website
• https://tax.vermont.gov/business/child-care-contribution

• On-Demand Webinars
• Frequently Asked Questions

https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/GB-1326.pdf
https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/GB-1326.pdf
http://verhttps/tax.vermont.gov/business/child-care-contribution


Thank you!



Contact Us

(802) 828-2551

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide user 

friendly systems, clear 

guidance, and easy ways to 

contact the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

Tax.business@vermont.gov 

mailto:Tax.business@vermont.gov


Aaron Kaigle, Director 
Business Improvement and Implementation Division
October 22, 2024



What’s new?



What’s new?



What’s new?



What’s new?



Tips













Thank you!



Contact Us

(802) 828-6815

myVTax.vermont.gov
tax.vermont.gov/myvtax/get-help

We strive to provide user 

friendly systems, clear 

guidance, and easy ways to 

contact the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

tax.preparer@vermont.gov 

mailto:tax.preparer@vermont.gov


Alysha Leroux, Assistant Director
Compliance
October 22, 2024



Voluntary Disclosure Program

What is it? 

The Voluntary Disclosure Program (VDP) encourages 
taxpayers who have not filed and paid their taxes, to come 
forward voluntarily. In return, the Department agrees to 
forgive applicable late file and late pay penalties for 
qualifying taxpayers, provided the associated tax and 
interest are paid in a timely manner.

















After submission:
• A team member will review your application and request 
documentation if needed.

• Once tax liability is determined and the tax and interest is 
paid, the department will abate 100% of penalty.

• Questions



Thank you!



Contact Us

(802) 828-2514

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide 

user friendly systems, 

clear guidance, and 

easy ways to contact 

the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

Tax.OfficeAudit@vermont.gov



Lunch time!
See you at 1:00
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James Whitehouse, Director, Taxpayer Services Division
Lisa Pinkus, Taxpayer Services Section Chief
Paul Brodowski, Taxpayer Services Section Chief
October 22, 2024



Personal Income Tax Revenues

PIT Revenue All Other GF Revenue

FY24 General Fund Revenue ($2.27 Billion)



Number of Personal Income Tax Refunds Issued
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Sum of Personal Income Tax Refunds Issued
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Spotlight on E-Filing

Personal Income Tax
• 93% of returns were e-filed
• E-Free Filings increased from 2023 to 2024 by 8% to 9,840 

returns 
Corporate Income Tax

• 79% of CIT filers E-Filed in 2024 – the same as 2023
Business Income Tax

• 94% of BIT filers E-Filed in 2024 – the same as 2023
Homestead Declarations

• 90% of HSDs were E-Filed in 2024 – a 1% increase from 2023



20+ Year Trend in Electronic Filing

Personal Income Tax Returns: 2002 - 2024
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BIT Shift To Electronic Filing



TY23 Personal Income Tax Error Rates

E-File Error Rate: 5% (Same as 2022)

Paper Error Rate: 22% (1% higher from 2022)

Returns Requiring Review: 22,806

• 1% Decrease from TY22
   



What Caused PIT Refund Delays? 

Common causes:

• #1: Unreported Income

• Withholding Incongruities 

• Payment Reporting Mismatches

• Employer filed paper W2s (88% electronic this year – 5% increase)

• Incorrect SSN used by Employer on W-2 and 1099 Forms



Renter Credit Claims

Preliminary Figures

*Data from 10/04/2024

Metrics TY22 Renter 
Credit

TY23 Renter 
Credit % Change

Taxpayers Issued a Credit 10,773 11,437 6%

Total Dollars Issued to Date $5,859,968 $6,818,677 16%

Average Credit Issued $544 $596 10%



2024 Homestead Declarations

• We received 182K Homestead Declarations for 2024 and 
100K Property Tax Credit Claims.

• The error rate for Homestead Declarations this past filing 
season was 14%, which was a 1% decrease from the prior 
year. 



2023 Property Tax Credit Claims



Erroneous Refunds & Credits Prevented

Refunds/Credits Filer Counts Total Amounts

PIT Refunds 6,247 $5.499M

Property Tax Credits 13,893 $15.94M

*Data snapshot from early October. Numbers subject to change.  



Fraudulent Tax Returns
Filing Year Number of Returns Total Dollar Amount

2013 $ 439,461

2014 707 $ 1,445,969

2015 478 $ 962,517

2016 176 $ 276,251

2017 52 $ 77,957

2018 26 $ 37,754

2019 8 $ 58,678

2020 92 $ 202,043

2021 34 $ 185,000

2022 112 $ 428,941

2023 243 $ 456,000

2024 481 $ 1,170,141



Total TPS Incoming Calls



2024 Personal 
Income Tax 
Form

2024 Personal Income 
Tax Form



2024 Personal Income Tax Form Changes

• 2024 Standard Deductions
    S/MFS - $ 7,400     HOH - $11,100     MFJ/QW - $14,850

• Additional Deduction for Taxpayers Over 65/Blind - $1,200

• 2024 Personal Exemption - $5,100

• New check box on Form IN-111 for farmers/fishermen.  Check only if they are 
exempt from paying estimated taxes 

• New Line 21 on Form IN-111 for the Child Care Contribution along with a new CCC 
worksheet. 

• LRC-147 we have added the calendar year to match the LRC-140.



Personal Income Tax

Extension Reminder

Form IN-151 - Application for Extension of Time to File is
not required to be filed if a federal extension was filed and
 an additional payment is not required with the Vermont
extension request.



2025 
Homestead 

Declaration and 
Property Tax 
Credit Claim



2025 Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim

• The due date for 2025 Homestead Declarations will be April 15, 2025. 
There are no extensions of time available to file Homestead Declarations.  

• Property Tax Credit Claims received after April 15th  but before October 
15th will still go directly to the town and will no longer be charged the 
$15 late file penalty.

• Taxpayers who file their Homestead Declaration by the extended due date 
of October 15th will now have until March 15th to apply for a property tax 
credit. However, a late filing penalty of $150 will be deducted from the 
payment which will be sent directly to the taxpayer.  



2025 Homestead Declaration and Property Tax 
Credit Claim

 The maximum household 
income eligible for a 2024 
Property tax Credit Claims 
is $115,00.

 FEMA assistance payments 
are not considered 
Household Income.   

  Please remember to check 
the box if the taxpayer 
hosted a refuge or asylum 
seeker in 2024.



2024 Renter 
Credit Claim



Withholding Tax Update

• The due date for the 2024 Annual Reconciliations (Form WHT-434) is January 31, 
2025.

• All W-2s and 1099s with Vermont withholding must be submitted with the filing.

• E-Filing is required for:
• All Payroll Filing services.
• Tax Preparers and Practitioners.
• All employers who submit 10 or more W2s and/or 1099s.

If you have questions or need assistance filing electronically, please contact the Business 
Tax Section at (802) 828-2551.



Meals and Rooms Tax Update



Contact Us

(802) 828-6815

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide user 

friendly systems, clear 

guidance, and easy ways to 

contact the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

tax.preparer@vermont.gov 

mailto:Tax.preparer@vermont.gov


Act 181 (H.687), Secs.73-78 

Updated Property Transfer Tax Rates 

Effective August 1, 2024 



Summary: Property Transfer Tax Rates and 
Exemptions

(4) Tax Rates
• General Tax 
• Clean Water Surcharge 
• Principal Residence 
• Non-Principal Residence

(1) Exemption Change
• Exemption 99

(2) New Exemptions
• Abandoned Dwellings
• New Energy Star Mobile Homes



General Tax and Clean Water Surcharge Rates

New Combined Tax Rate = 1.47%  (Prior rate 
Aug 1: 1.45%)
• General Tax Rate remains the same at 1.25%
• Clean Water Surcharge Rate: Increased from 0.2% to 0.22%
Value Paid/Transferred  Previous Tax  New Tax (Aug 1)  Change
$250,000                   $3,625.00*   $3,675.00**   $50.00

  

$500,000                   $7,250.00     $7,350.00       $100.00  

Calculations: 3625 = 250,000 x .0145, **3675 = 250,000 x .0147

Examples Include: Commercial & Industrial Property, Operating 
Farm, Open Land



Special Tax Rates

Principal Residence Tax Rate

Value paid/transferred eligible for the special rate has increased 
from $100K to $200K
• Special Rate remains the same as 0.5% and is exempt from the Clean 

Water Surcharge
•  Occupancy requirement remains the same for one year after transfer or for 

two years for  the transfer of land only.
Value Paid/Transferred  Previous Tax  New Tax (Aug 1)    Change_
$250,000                              $2,675.00*             $1,735.00**        $(940.00)

  

$500,000                              $6,300.00              $5,410.00         $(890.00)  

Calculations: 250,000 x 0.145 = 3625; 250,000 x 0.147 = 3675



Special Tax Rates

Exemption 99

Exempt amount on value paid/transferred has increased from $110K to $250K
• Prior Aug 1: Exempt to $110K and a general tax rate only of 1.25% from 

$110K-$200K  

Value Paid/Transferred  Previous Tax  New Tax (Aug 1)     Change___
$250,000                $1,850.00*       $0.00**       $(1,850.00)

  
$500,000                 $5,475.00   $3,675.00         $(1,800.00)  

Calculations: *1,850 = (110,000 x 0.00 + 90,000 x .0125 + 50,000 x .0145), ** 0.00 = (250,000 x 0.00)

Exemption 99 qualifications remain the same: Transferee’s principal residence is funded in part with a 
homeland grant through the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund or for which the Vermont 
Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) or the U.S. Department of Agricultural and Rural Development has
committed to make or purchase.  



Non-Principal Residence Tax Rates

Previous 'Secondary Residence' selection is now shown as
three 'Non-Principal Residence' options:

• Non-Principal Residence: Fit for year-round habitation (3.62% tax rate*)
• Non-Principal Residence: NOT fit for year-round habitation (1.47% tax rate) 
• Non-Principal Residence: Long-term rental (1.47% tax rate)

Value Paid/Transferred  Previous Tax  New Tax (Aug 1)      Change_
$250,000                $3,625.00*    $9,050.00**     $5,425.00

  
$500,000                $7,250.00     $18,100.00       $10,850.00  

Calculations: *3,625 = 250,000 x .0145, **9,050 = 250,000 x .0362

              *The general tax rate increased from 1.25% to 3.40%  



New Exemptions

Abandoned Dwellings

• Transfers for abandoned properties that are blighted real estate owned and acquired by 
a municipality through condemnation or tax sale.  The dwelling must be rehabilitated 
and occupied as a principal residence within three years of purchase.

New ENERGY STAR Mobile Homes

• New mobile homes as defined in 10 VSA 6201(1) that have an ENERGY STAR energy 
efficiency label and that are certified as a Zero Energy Ready Home by the U.S. 
Department of Energy. 



Additional Legislative Change

Enhanced Life Estate Deeds, Act 161 (H.878), Sec. 43

• If an interest in an enhanced life estate is revoked or revised after 
property transfer tax has been paid, taxpayer may petition the Department 
of Taxes for a refund at any time after the revocation or revision.  A refund 
request is no longer limited to eight years from the date of payment or 
within one year of the revocation or revision.  



Contact Us

(802) 828-6851

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide user 

friendly systems, clear 

guidance, and easy ways to 

contact the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

tax.rett@vermont.gov 

mailto:Tax.rett@vermont.gov


John Demeter, Assistant Director 
Taxpayer Services Division

October 22, 2024



Agenda

• Background
• Business Income Tax Forms and Schedules
• BI-477 Background – new for 2023

• Updates to the BI-477 for 2024 

• Questions



BI-471 and Schedules

› Activity entirely within Vermont?
› All owners are residents of Vermont?

BI-476 – Short Form



Otherwise ...

› BI-471 – Business Income Tax Return

 BI-472 – Nonresident estimated payments, or
 BI-473 – Composite tax

› Elected by entity, or mandatory (in excess of 50 
nonresident owners)

 BI-477
› To source and apportion income, when multi-state
› To make/allow for adjustments from federal income to 

Vermont income



2023 Changes to 471 package

› No longer use the BA-402 for Business 
Income Tax

› Simplify the BI-472 and BI-473
› Create the BI-477 - align with the more 
commonly applied statutes – PIT, not CIT

› To source and apportion income, when multi-
state

› To make/allow for adjustments from federal 
income to Vermont income



Apportionment is still used for… 

›  Income derived from every business, trade, 
occupation, or profession
 …to the extent it is carried on in Vermont
 §5823(b)(4) 

› VDT will apply the practices and Regulation 
§1.5833 for apportionment 

› Single Sales Factor



BI-477 is the ONLY* form/schedule that 
changes for 2024!

*For Corporate/Business 
Income tax



Flashback: 
October 2023



› Not perfect 
› It remains impossible to account 
for all the permutations of 
partnership and S-Corp tax law, 
and complex, multi-tiered 
ownership structures
 Or is it?  Ring us up if you have the 

answer!

The Result … ?

*slide resurrected from October 2023



› Correct elements of double-counting
› Allow for adjustments for complex tax positions
› Improve reporting for multi-tier entities
› Improve layout; simplify math
› Expanded instructions

BI-477 – Changes – Broad Strokes



2023 2024

Page 1



Page 2

2023 2024



Page 3

2023 2024



2024 BI-477 – p.1

 Remove Collectibles and 
unrecaptured Sec. 1250 Gain - 
duplicated

 Add a bonus depreciation 
adjustment for sitused 
(nonapportionable) assets

 Add a line for other 
adjustments

 Remove wages and salaries – 
do not double-withhold



2024 BI-477 – p.2

 Move bonus depreciation 
adjustment down to allow 
inclusion for adjustments within 
"other"

 Add a line for "other" 
adjustments

 Fix math to all "add"
 Apply apportionment in one 

place, not on each line
 New Part V for multi-tier entities
 Add a "total" line
 Better description of 

denominator line



2024 BI-477 – p.3

 Add a line to include 
apportionment sales factor 
for activity of unitary pass 
throughs

 Add the Salary and Wages 
factor for reporting purposes 
to C-Corp owners



In response to

Roman Numeral 
XXVII

Section 3

Part II

of Subset D 

of the question... 

the answer 
is ...



Thank you!



Contact Us

(802) 828-5723

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide 

user friendly systems, 

clear guidance, and 

easy ways to contact 

the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

tax.corporate@vermont.gov 

mailto:Tax.business@vermont.gov


Sharon Asay, Director 
Finance Division

October 22, 2024



Scanning Project



Scanning Project

• We successfully launched Phase 1 of the Scanning Project in 
August of this year.  Phase 1 included Sales and Use Tax, 
Meals and Rooms Tax, Payroll Withholding and all payment 
vouchers.  

• We are now deep into Phase 2 which includes all of the 
Personal Income Tax forms.  We will be going live with Phase 
2 in January of 2025. 

 
• We have two more phases in 2025 and on schedule to finish 

this project in January of 2026.  



Fiduciary Income Tax



Fiduciary Income Tax Update



Local Option Tax Update
Effective July 1, 2024

• The town of Londonderry added Local Option Meals and Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax.

• The town of Woodstock added Local Option Sales Tax. 

• The town of Westmore elected Local Option Rooms Tax. 

• The town of South Hero elected Local Option Meals and Alcoholic   
Beverages Tax.



Local Option Tax Update
Effective July 1, 2024

• The town of  Waterbury elected Local Option Sales Tax and Local 
Option Meals and Rooms Tax.

Effective January 1, 2025

• The town of  Berlin elected Local Option Sales Tax and Local Option 
Meals and Rooms Tax.

Effective 



Local Option Tax Update

• The Vermont Department of Taxes will only accept returns from businesses who collect 
and report Local Option Sales Tax and Local Option Meals and Rooms Tax if they are 
filed electronically. 

• There are now twenty-five municipalities in the State of Vermont that have a Local 
Option Sales Tax, twenty-eight municipalities that have a Local Option Meals and 
Rooms Tax, three municipalities that have Local Option Rooms Tax only and one 
municipality that has Local Option Meals and Alcoholic Beverage Tax only.    

• Additional information regarding Local Option Taxes, including an updated address 
look up table is available on our website.  



Local Option Tax Update



Local Option Tax Update

• The Forms SUT-451 and 
MRT-441 are available on  
our website for filers who do 
not remit Local Option 
Taxes.

• Taxpayers who cannot file 
electronically will need to 
contact Taxpayer Services 
to request an exemption.  



Vermont Electronic Filing Requirements 

Sales and Use Tax/Meals and Rooms Tax 

• Sales exceeding $100,000 for the prior year
• Local Option Tax Collected 
• Multiple locations
• Prepared by a practitioner or a filing service
• Aviation Jet Fuel (Sales Tax only) 

Payroll Withholding Tax

• Prepared by a practitioner or a payroll filing service
• Remits tax to the IRS on a semi- weekly schedule 



Vermont Electronic Filing Requirements 

Annual Reconciliation/W-2 and 1099 Filing 

• Prepared by a practitioner or a payroll filing service.
• Businesses who will be submitting 10 or more W2s and/or 1099s.

Please note:  All electronic filing requirements apply to Vermont 
practitioners and practitioners from outside of Vermont. If you 
have any questions regarding electronic filing, please contact 
the Business Tax section at (802) 828-2551.  



Electronic Filing Update

Reminder - The Department has made Form 8879-VT optional for 
taxpayers who have completed IRS Form 8879.  Form 8879-VT is still 
required for state only filings.   Practitioners are required to retain signed 
copies of the IRS Form 8879 for three years.  This change was effective for 
tax year 2022.     



Personal Income Tax

Amended Personal Income Tax returns

• When filing an amended return by paper, please make sure you include 
all of the schedules submitted with the original return.  These schedules 
are required to process the return even if the information on the 
amended schedules did not change from the original filing.

• The Department is working with our software vendors to increase the 
number of vendors who support the electronic filing of amended returns. 
Please reach out to us if you would like us to contact your vendor.    



Electronic Filing Update

TY 2024 Update

• We have received 22 Letters of Participation from vendors for next 
year. 

• The Personal Income Tax, Corporate and Business Income Tax and 
the Fiduciary Income Tax forms for 2024 have been finalized.

• We are planning to start testing with the IRS in mid November.  

• You can reach the MEF Coordination team at 
tax.vendorsupport@vermont.gov.

mailto:tax.vendorsupport@vermont.gov


Electronic Filing Update

On our List!

• Scheduling of Estimated Payments for Personal Income Tax 
through MEF.

• Filing a standalone Homestead Declaration with a Vermont 
extension.  

• Revising the Payment Portal for Personal Income Tax.  

•  Electronic Delivery of the Property Tax Credit letter.  



Finance Division News

New Internship Program 

• Launched in August 2024 with Norwich University.

• Spring Semester of 2025 – We have expanded the program 
to several other colleges and universities throughout the 
state.   

 
• We had 11 applicants for the spring semester, and we are 

hoping to have at least two students start with us in January.    



Questions/Comments?



Contact Us

(802) 828-6815

Tax.Vermont.gov

We strive to provide 

user friendly systems, 

clear guidance, and 

easy ways to contact 

the Department when 

taxpayers need help.

Tax.preparer@vermont.gov 

mailto:Tax.preparer@vermont.gov


The 2024 Tax Symposium 
will resume at 2:55 p.m.






Paul Brodowski – Section Chief, Taxpayer Services
Abby Shepard – Executive Policy Advisor, Legal Division
Will Baker – Assistant Attorney General
Jake Feldman – Senior Fiscal Analyst, Office of the Commissioner

14
8

Panel Discussion
A Deeper Dive into 2024 Legislative Changes

Moderated by Rebecca Sameroff – Deputy Director



Vermont Department of Taxes 

2024 Fall Tax 
Symposium
Please tell us how we did!

Look in the chat or on 
our website for the
evaluation link.

Thank you
for attending
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