
  
DEPARTMENT OF TAXES 

Filing the Vermont Homestead Declaration, Form HS-122, Section A 

By Vermont law, property owners whose homes meet the definition of a Vermont “homestead” must 

file a Homestead Declaration, Form HS-122, Section A, annually by April 15. Your property may be claimed as  

a “homestead” if you meet, or expect to meet, the following requirements: 

 You are a Vermont resident 
 You own and occupy a homestead as your domicile* as of April 1, 2016 

Note: If you meet these requirements, except that your homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, 2016, you 

may still claim it as a homestead if it is not leased for more than 182 days in the 2016 calendar year. 

*Domicile is a legal concept that has implications for Vermont income tax, the statewide education tax, and property tax adjustments. 
For the definition of “domicile,” see Vermont Reg. § 1.5811(11)(A)(i). 

 

Owners of housing subject to a housing subsidy covenant should have available the following information 
when filing the Homestead Declaration, per the appropriate lines on the screen shot below: 
 

 The property owner’s (Claimant’s) Social Security Number (SSN) 

 A1. The code of the Vermont school district in which the property is located, which is printed on the 
property tax bill, and is the middle three digits of the School Property Account Number (SPAN) 

 A3. The property’s SPAN from your property tax bill 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 

or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet. 
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This fact sheet presents Vermont tax information related to properties meeting both of the following conditions:  

1) Subject to a housing subsidy covenant; and 2) Occupied by the owner. Topics covered include the tax form 

that all owners of these properties must file annually, the Homestead Declaration, Form HS-122, Section A; 

other optional forms, including the Property Tax Adjustment Claim, Form HS-122, Section B; and 

understanding your property tax bill. 

Be sure to gather in advance all the information you need to fill out the forms you will be filing. 



  
DEPARTMENT OF TAXES 

Filing a Property Tax Adjustment Claim, Form HS-122, Section B 
 

The Vermont Property Tax Adjustment assists Vermont homeowners, whose household income is approximately 

$137,500 or less in 2015, in paying their property tax. In order to file a property tax adjustment claim, you must meet 

ALL of the following eligibility requirements:  
 

 Your property qualifies as a homestead, and you have filed a Homestead Declaration for the 2016 grand list 

 You were domiciled* in Vermont for the entire 2015 calendar year (*see note on previous page) 

 You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer for 2015 

 You have the property as your homestead as of April 1 

 You meet the “household income” criteria ($137,500 or less for calendar year 2015). Note that household 

income is not the same as federal taxable income. It includes all income, taxable and nontaxable, of everyone 

residing in the household at any time during the year. Be prepared to enter this information on the 

Household Income Schedule HI-144. 
 

 

If you are eligible to file a claim, use Form HS-122, Section B. Be sure to answer the eligibility questions on the form and 

have available the following information per the appropriate lines on the screen shot below:  

 

B4. Housesite Value, from your 2015/2016 property tax bill 

B5. Housesite Education Tax, from your 2015/2016 property tax bill 

B6. Housesite Municipal Tax, from your 2015/2016 property tax bill 

B7. Ownership Interest, from your property tax bill 

B8. Household Income, Schedule HI-144, which must be attached 

B10. Allocated Education Tax —when applicable, it’s provided by your housing trust  

B11. Allocated Municipal Tax —when applicable, it’s provided by your housing trust 
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DEPARTMENT OF TAXES 

Understanding Your Property Tax Bill 

Your property tax bill will change from year to year. There are many factors that are used to determine 

property tax, including the following: 
 

 Your municipality’s education tax rate(s) will increase or decrease due to a number of factors such 

as changes to your school district’s spending (spending per equalized pupil), base rate, and the 

municipality’s Common Level of Appraisal (CLA). 
 

 If you qualify, or previously qualified, for a property tax adjustment, your tax bill may change 

because of changes to your household income from year to year. 
 

 If you file your Homestead Declaration after the April 15 due date (April 18, 2016), you may be 

charged a penalty, and possibly a higher tax rate, by the town. Penalties will be indicated on your 

property tax bill. 
 

 Owner-occupied housing that is subject to a housing subsidy covenant must be valued at 60-70 

percent of the fair market value. 32 V.S.A. § 3481(1)(C).*   

   

        *32 V.S. A. § 3481 (1)(A) "Appraisal value" shall mean…  
 

          Subdivision (1)(C) effective January 1, 2015: 
 

       (C) For owner-occupied housing that is subject to a housing subsidy covenant, as defined in 27 V.S.A.         
§ 610, imposed by a governmental, quasi-governmental, or public purpose entity, that limits the price for 
which the property may be sold, the housing subsidy covenant shall be deemed to cause a material decrease 
in the value of the owner-occupied housing, and the appraisal value means not less than 60 and not more 
than 70 percent of what the fair market value of the property would be if it were not subject to the housing 
subsidy covenant. Every five years, starting in 2019, the Commissioner of Taxes, in consultation with the 
Vermont Housing Conservation Board, shall report to the General Assembly on whether the percentage of 
appraised valued used in this subdivision should be altered, and the reasons for his or her determination. 

 

For More Information 

Contact the lister in your town for further explanation about your property tax bill. 

For further assistance with filing the Homestead Declaration and a Property Tax Adjustment Claim, contact the 

Taxpayer Services Division at 802-828-2865 or toll-free at 866-828-2865. 
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Additional information is available on the Vermont Department of Taxes website at 

www.tax.vermont.gov  

http://www.tax.vermont.gov
https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes/
https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes

