Taxation of Sales of Medical Marijuana and Related Paraphernalia

Tax: Sales and Use Tax

This fact sheet addresses the applicability of the Vermont Sales

Statutory References:
Title 32, Chapter 233
Title 18, Chapter 86

and Use Tax to sales of medical marijuana and related

paraphernalia from a registered dispensary.

Findings

Due to the regulated nature of the purchases of medical
marijuana, it is exempt from sales and use tax under the
prescription drug statutory definition. Pipes, vaporizers,
and other items classified as drug paraphernalia sold in

a medical marijuana dispensary are, however, subject to
sales and use tax because they do not meet the definition
of medical supplies. Medical marijuana is exempt from the
the Vermont Sales and Use Tax. Marijuana-related supplies
are subject to sales and use tax.

Background

Vermont sales tax applies to retail sales of several categories
of property and services, one of which is “tangible personal
property” or “TPP.” 32 V.S.A. § 9771(1). TPP is defined

as “personal property which may be seen, weighed,
measured, felt, touched or in any other manner perceived
by the senses.” 32 V.S.A. § 9701(7).

Vermont has legalized the therapeutic use of marijuana
when sold by a registered dispensary to certain patients
and their caregivers who are registered. 18 V.S.A. Chapter
86, Therapeutic Use of Cannabis. Marijuana (Cannabis)
meets the definition of TPP, and sales would be subject to
tax unless an exemption applies.

Rationale

The sales tax law exempts certain vendors from having to
collect the tax. Exempt vendors are listed in Section 9743,
and include “organizations which qualify for exempt status
under the provisions of Section 501(c)(3)” of the Internal
Revenue Code. Title 18 requires that a dispensary be
operated on a nonprofit basis, but it need not qualify under
501(c)(3). 18 V.S.A. § 4474e(b)(1). If a dispensary qualifies

for (501)(c)(3) status, however, this vendor exemption will
only apply to the dispensary if its prior year’s sales did not
exceed $20,000. 32 V.S.A. § 9743(3)(C). For purposes of this
fact sheet, it is assumed that the $20,000 threshold would

be exceeded, and therefore, the nonprofit vendor exemption
would not apply to the dispensary.

The sales tax law exempts certain items from the sales and
use tax. Exempt items are listed in Section 9741, and include
“drugs intended for human use, . . . and supplies . . ., used
in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering. . . .” 32
V.S.A. § 9741(2). An exempt “drug” is defined as follows:

... a compound, substance, or preparation . . .
that is:

(A) Recognized in the official United States
Pharmacopeia, official Homeopathic
Pharmacopeia of the United States, official
National Formulary, or in supplements to
any of them; or

(B) Intended for use in the diagnosis, cure,
mitigation, treatment, or prevention of
disease; or

(C) Intended to affect the structure or any
function of the body. 32 V.S.A. § 9701(29).

Marijuana is apparently not recognized in the United
States Pharmacopeia or the National Formulary.' It is
also not recognized in the Homeopathic Pharmacopeia
except in the form of a tincture with 65% alcohol, when
further attenuated and prescribed by a health care
provider with prescribing privileges.? So, marijuana does
not meet the definition in Subsection (A).

Marijuana does not, by itself, qualify as a “substance
intended for use in the mitigation of disease” under
Subsection (B), either. But when sold by a registered
dispensary to a registered patient or registered caregiver,
it is, in that context, a substance intended to relieve
symptoms of a debilitating condition. In that context, it is
a “drug” under the Subsection (B) definition, not based on
the product per se, but based on the use of the product.

! Per email of November 4, 2013, from Technical Services Scientist, Reference Materials Support, United States Pharmacopeial

Convention.

2 Per email of November 6, 2013, from Senior Scientist, Homeopathic Pharmacopeia Convention of the United States.
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The sales tax regulations further require that a drug be
either a “prescription drug” or an “over-the-counter drug.”
Department of Taxes Regulations (Regs.) § 1.9741(2)A.1,, 2.
Marijuana does not qualify as an over-the-counter drug
because an “over-the-counter drug” must “contain a label
that identifies the product as a drug as required by 21
C.ER. §201.66.” Reg. § 1.9741(2)A.2. A “prescription” is
defined in the regulations as follows:

“Prescription” means an order, formula or recipe
issued in any form of oral, written, electronic or
other means of transmission by a duly licensed
practitioner authorized by the laws of the state.
Regs. § 1.9741(2)A.1.

Although marijuana is not “prescribed” in the traditional
sense, the requirements of Title 18 are sufficiently similar
to meet the definition of “prescription” for purposes of

the sales tax exemption. To obtain therapeutic marijuana,
“a person must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical
condition by a health care professional.” 18 V.S.A. § 4473(a).
A “health care professional” is

[A]n individual licensed to practice medicine. . . .
certified as a physician’s assistant . . . or an
individual licensed as an advanced practice
registered nurse . . . [and] includes individuals
who are professionally licensed under
substantially equivalent provisions in New
Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York.

18 V.S.A. §4472(6).

The patient must then register with the Department of
Public Safety, and must designate a single registered
dispensary to be used for that patient. 18 V.S.A. § 4473.
Once registered, the patient, or the patient’s registered
caregiver, may obtain up to two ounces of therapeutic
marijuana in each 30-day period from the designated
registered dispensary. 18 V.S.A. §§ 4472(10); 4474b(a);
4474e(a), (k)(1)(B). The State, through the provisions in Title
18, thus authorizes the health care practitioner to certify a
patient for access to the drug otherwise unavailable by law.
In this regulated context, the authorization for purchase
and use of therapeutic marijuana is sufficiently similar to
e statutory definition of a “prescription” to qualify as a
prescription drug exempt from sales tax.

Do I Need an Exemption Certificate?

As noted above, the exemption is a use-based exemption
and not a product-based exemption. Items that qualify for
a use-based exemption may be sold without collection of
sales tax if the vendor first obtains an exemption certificate
from the purchaser. 32 V.S.A. § 9745(a). If a vendor fails to

possess an exemption certificate at the time of sale, the law
presumes the sale is taxable. Id.

The requirement for a certificate is discretionary, since

the law provides that the Commissioner “may” require
the vendor to obtain an exemption certificate for a use-
based exempt sale. In the case of a registered dispensary,
the Commissioner will not require exemption certificates
for authorized dispensary sales of marijuana, because

of patient confidentiality protections in Title 18. The
Commissioner will assume that the statutory presumption
of taxability is rebutted when the marijuana is sold by a
registered dispensary under the provisions of Title 18.

Are marijuana-related supplies taxable?

Title 18 also authorizes a registered dispensary to sell
marijuana-related supplies such as “pipes, vaporizers and
other items classified as drug paraphernalia,” 18 V.S.A. §
4474e(a)(1)(B). Sales of these items would not be exempt
from tax. The sales tax law exempts certain medical
“supplies” if they are “designed primarily to cure, correct,
or reduce the severity of human ailments. . . . Reg. §
1.19741(2) [emphasis added]. Supplies must also be items
“not normally used by persons absent illness or injury, and
... not capable of repeated usage.” Reg. § 19741(2)F.

Pipes, vaporizers and other items sold by the dispensary
are not designed primarily to cure, correct, or reduce the
severity of human ailments, are normally used by persons
absent illness or injury, and are capable of repeated usage.
They are in the nature of the items listed in the regulation
as not exempt. As a result, the supplies sold by a registered
dispensary are TPP subject to the sales tax.

To learn more about Vermont business taxes, see
our list of fact sheets at www.tax.vermont.gov or

contact the Department’s Business Tax Section
at tax.business@vermont.gov or (802) 828-2551.
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