
Who is eligible to file a claim? 
In order to file a property tax adjustment claim, you must 
meet ALL of the following eligibility requirements: 
•	 Your property qualifies as a homestead, and you have 

filed a Homestead Declaration for the 2017 grand list
•	 You were domiciled* in Vermont for the entire 2016 

calendar year
•	 You were not claimed as a dependent of another 

taxpayer for 2016
•	 You have the property as your homestead as of  

April 1
•	 You meet the “household income” criteria (e.g. 

$141,000 or less for calendar year 2016) 

* Domicile is a legal concept that has implications for Vermont 
income tax, the statewide education tax, and property tax 
adjustments. For the definition of “domicile,” see Vermont  
Regulation § 1.5811(11)(A)(i) found at www.bit.ly/vttaxregs.

What is a Homestead?
Homestead Declarations (HS-122) must be filed each 
year so that you are correctly assessed the homestead tax 
rate on your property. A “homestead” is the principal 
dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the dwelling. It 
is your responsibility as the property owner to claim the 
property as a homestead if you meet, or expect to meet, the 
following requirements: 

•	You are a Vermont resident 
•	You own and occupy a homestead as your 			 

	 domicile as of April 1, 2017. 
Note: If you meet these requirements, except that your 
homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, 2017, you may 
still claim it as a homestead if it is not leased for more than 
182 days in the 2017 calendar year.

What forms are needed to file a claim? 
You need the following two forms to file an adjustment 
claim. Claims can be filed when electronically filing an  
income tax return or can be separately filed at   
https://secure.vermont.gov/hd/index.    

1.	 Form HS-122: 
•	 Section A: Homestead Declaration
•	 Section B: Property Tax Adjustment Claim 

2. 	Schedule HI-144: Household Income
The form and schedule require different types of 
information as described below and on the next page. 

How do I file each form? 
Homestead Declaration, HS-122, Section A
When filing this form, you need to have available the 
following:
•	 The property’s School Property Account Number 

(SPAN) printed on your property tax bill;
•	 Your Social Security Number; and
•	 The code of the Vermont school district in which the 

property is located. This is found on your property tax 
bill. 

Important reminders:
•	 If you are filing an income tax extension, be sure that 

the Homestead Declaration is filed by the April due 
date.

•	 Sign the Homestead Declaration at the end of section 
B on the reverse side of the form.

•	 For declarations received after the April due date, you 
may receive a penalty of up to 8% of the education tax 
owed. This penalty is assessed by your municipality.

•	 Only one property tax adjustment claim is allowed per 
household per year.

DEPARTMENT OF TAXES

Property Tax Adjustment for 2017/2018 Property Taxes
The Vermont Property Tax Adjustment assists many Vermont homeowners with 
paying their property taxes. You may be eligible for a property tax adjustment 
on your 2017/2018 property taxes if your property qualifies as a homestead and 
you meet the eligibility requirements described in this fact sheet. The maximum 
adjustment for the 2017/2018 property tax bill is $8,000.00. This fact sheet provides 
guidance on who can file, how to file, and frequently asked questions.

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.

Iss. 06/2014  •  Rev. 01/2017 •  Pub. FS-1038

Page 1 of 2

File Your Property Tax Adjustment online through myVTax! Learn how to file your Property Tax Adjustment Claim online 
by viewing our videos and guides at www.tax.vermont.gov.

The Property Tax Adjustment 
Claim for 2017 is due April 18 

and no later than Oct. 16. There 
is a $15 late fee after April 18. 

www.bit.ly/vttaxregs
https://secure.vermont.gov/hd/index
www.tax.vermont.gov


Property Tax Adjustment Claim, HS-122 Section B 
When filing an adjustment claim, you need to enter the 
following information from your property tax bill:
•	 Housesite Value
•	 Housesite Education Property Tax
•	 Housesite Municipal Tax

Important reminders:
•	 You must answer the eligibility questions and enter 

Household Income from HI-144 before the claim can 
be processed. 

•	 For adjustment claims received after the April 
due date, a $15 late filing fee is deducted from the 
property tax adjustment. 

•	 No adjustment claims will be accepted after the 
October due date. Incomplete adjustment claims are 
considered  
not filed.

Other information and forms may be needed, if applicable 
to your situation, such as:
•	 Lot Rent for Mobile Home
•	 Tax from Land Trust, Cooperative, or Nonprofit 

Mobile Home Park
•	 Property Tax from Contiguous Property
•	 Ownership Interest (percentage of ownership). For 

example, if there is an owner who doesn’t reside 
in the home on April 1, enter the percentage of 
ownership of the owner(s) who does reside there.

Household Income, Schedule HI-144 
Household income is different from the income reported 
on income tax forms. It includes all sources of income of 
any persons living in your household, including children, 
for any period of time during 2016. It includes both taxable 
and nontaxable income, such as the following: 
•	  Social Security
•	 Veterans’ benefits
•	 Some  nontaxable pensions
•	 Support money

Here’s a short checklist of what you need:
•	 Names and Social Security Numbers of all persons 

who lived with you and had income 
•	 All sources and amounts of income of those persons 

while living with you 
•	 Any allowable adjustments from the federal income 

tax return

Frequently Asked Questions 
What if I lease my home on April 1, 2017,  and it ends up 
being leased for more than 182 days in 2017?  
You must withdraw your Homestead Declaration and your 
Property Tax Adjustment. 
What happens when a homeowner dies before April 1, 
2017?  
If the claim was filed by a single owner, the claim must be 
withdrawn using Form HS-122W.

What can I do if I make a mistake when filing HS-122? 
Contact the Vermont Department of Taxes for instructions.

What happens if I jointly own my home with my spouse, 
make an adjustment claim, and my spouse owes money 
to a Vermont state agency? 
The Department will notify you if the property tax 
adjustment will be used to pay money owed to a Vermont 
state agency. If your spouse is responsible for the bill and 
you are not, you have 30 days from the date of the notice 
to submit an “injured spouse” claim. You may receive the 
portion of the adjustment equal to the percentage of your 
ownership of the homestead. See the the instructions in 
the 2016 Income Tax Return Booklet in our website forms 
section.

If I am in the process of divorcing my spouse, how do I 
file an adjustment claim if the divorce is not finalized  
and we are not legally separated? 
When this situation occurs and the residence is jointly 
owned, you are required to include your spouse’s income 
on Schedule HI-144 and are limited to an adjustment 
proportioned to your ownership of the residence. You may 
wish to consult a tax professional regarding limitations to 
these claims in the case of separation or divorce.
Contact us 
For more information about filing a property adjustment 
claim, see the instructions in the 2016 Income Tax Return 
Booklet at www.tax.vermont.gov or contact the Vermont 
Department of Taxes at 802-828-2865 or 866-828-2865 (toll-
free).
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For more information on the Property Tax 
Adjustment Claim, see 32 V.S.A., §§ 6061-6075 at 

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32

File your Renter Rebate Claim online  
at www.myVTax.vermont.gov.

Visit our website at www.tax.vermont.gov  
for forms and more fact sheets.

http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/2014-HI-144-web.pdf
www.tax.vermont.gov
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32

