
DEPARTMENT OF TAXES

Property Transfer Tax Surcharge for the Clean Water Fund
This fact sheet explains the property transfer tax surcharge for the Clean Water Fund.

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. Vermont            
tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, or court       
decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.
Iss. 10/2016 • *Surcharge sunset date 7/01/2018 • Pub. FS-1123

Clean Water Surcharge on Property Transfers
For Vermont property transfer closings on or after June 
17, 2015, there is a Clean Water surcharge* of 0.2% on the 
value of property subject to the property transfer tax.   
32 V.S.A. § 9602a. Revenue generated by the surcharge is 
deposited in the Clean Water Fund.  

The surcharge is on the value of the property where the 
1.25% rate currently applies, with one exception (see 
chart below). When combined, the property transfer tax 
rate and the surcharge will total 1.45%.

You can file and pay using Form PT-172 or on the 
electronic property transfer tax return filing system 
(ePTTR). Both are available on the Department website 
at www.tax.vermont.gov.
All property transfers made on or after June 17, 2015, 
must use the new form and pay the surcharge, if 
applicable.  
Transferees that fail to pay the correct amount of 
property transfer tax or the surcharge may be subject   
to further billing with penalties and interest.

Special Rates for Some Transfers
Special rates apply to the following transfers:

1. The first $100,000 of value for a purchasers principal 
residence is subject to the property transfer tax rate of 
0.5%. The surcharge does not apply to the first $100,000 
of value. Any amount over $100,000 will be assessed at 
1.25% plus the 0.2% surcharge for a total of 1.45%, which 
includes property transfer tax and the surcharge (see 
chart below).

2. If the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage 
funded in part with a homeland grant through the 
Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund, or 
if the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage 
that the Vermont Housing and Finance Agency or U.S. 
Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has 
committed to make or purchase: 

•	 Property transfer tax does not apply to the first 
$110,000 of value. 

•	 Property transfer tax applies to the value between 
$110,000 and $200,000. The rate to be used here is 
1.25%.

•	 Property transfer tax and the surcharge both apply 
to the value over $200,000. The total rate is 1.45%  
(see chart below).

When to Apply the Property Transfer Tax and the Clean Water Surcharge

Type of Property Value Taxed 0.5% Property 
Transfer Tax

1.25% Property 
Transfer Tax

0.2% Clean Water 
Surcharge

 Not Principal Residence All X X

 Principal Residence
$0 - $100,000 X

Marginal Value > $100,000 X X

Principal Residence  
purchased with VHFA, VCTF, 

or USDA Assistance

$0 - $110,000

$110,000 - $200,000 X

Marginal Value > $200,000 X X
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