
Businesses Subject to the Rooms Tax
Following is a noninclusive list of types of businesses 
which must charge tax:

•	Hotels, motels, inns, bed & breakfasts
•	Rental cottages, condominiums, campsites, and 
ski lodges

•	Rooms in homes, homes, second homes, and 
other types of accommodation owned by private 
individuals for which a rental fee is charged

What Is a Hotel?
Hotel accommodations are subject to the Vermont 
Rooms Tax. A hotel is broadly defined as an 
establishment that holds itself out to the public by 
offering sleeping accommodations for a charge. This 
includes rooms in private houses and other types 
of privately owned lodging if you rent out your 
accommodations for 15 days or more in a calendar 
year. Please note that the first 14 days are also taxable.

What Is Not a Hotel?
The following are not considered hotels and therefore 
are not required to collect the rooms tax:

	 •	Hospitals, nursing homes, homes for the aged, or 	
		 	 retirement communities certified under Chapter 	
		 	 151 of Title 8
	 •	Facilities operated by any Vermont or Federal 	 	
		 	 institution, except the Vermont Department of 		
		 	 Forests, Parks and Recreation
	 •	Dormitories or living quarters provided by a 	 	
		 	 summer camp or a school to children attending 	
			  the school
	 •	Hotels operated by a nonprofit corporation, with 	

			  certain exclusions

What Is Subject to Rooms Tax?
Any charge by a hotel that gives a person the right 
to use rooms, furnishings, or services of the hotel is 
subject to the rooms tax. The tax applies whether or 
not the room contains sleeping accommodations, as 
long as it is located in an establishment that is defined 
as a “hotel.”

For example, a conference room located within a hotel 
that is rented out is subject to the rooms tax. The 
rental provided use of a room in a hotel, even though 
the room was not used for sleeping accommodations.
Optional services, other than the use of the room, 
are not subject to the rooms tax as long as the service 
charge is separately stated on the guest’s bill. 

There are three classifications of occupancy:

•	 Daily: Day-to-day rentals are subject to rooms 		
	 tax.
	 •	 Long-term rental (no lease agreement): Rentals 	
	 	 are exempt after 30 days of continuous 		 	
	 	 occupancy. The occupancy does not have 	 	
	 	 to be in the same room, but must be in the same 	
	 	 hotel. On the 31st day, the renter is considered 		
	 	 a permanent resident and the charge for the 	 	
	 	 room rental is no longer subject to tax.  However, 	
	 	 the first 30 days are subject to the rooms tax. 
	 •	 Pre-existing lease agreement for at least 30 		
		  days that creates a landlord-tenant relationship 	
		  between parties: A rental that meets this 	 	
	 	 definition is exempt from the date of lease 	 	
	 	 agreement.		
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Vermont Rooms Tax for Businesses
Businesses need to know the circumstances in which the Vermont Rooms Tax applies to them. This fact sheet is 
a continuation of the “Vermont Meals and Rooms Tax for Businesses,” providing further details for businesses 
renting rooms and collecting tax.  For more detailed information, you should refer to Vermont tax law and 
the Vermont Department of Taxes website at www.tax.vermont.gov for fact sheets, regulations, and technical 
bulletins on the topics presented here.

Please note:
Forfeited deposits are subject to the rooms tax.

Please note:
The charge for a dormitory room rented out by a 
school to persons other than students is taxable.
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Rentals by Private Individuals
People who own property in Vermont often rent 
rooms in their homes, the entire home, or other types 
of lodging to visitors. If you own and rent any of 
these types of accommodations to guests for 15 days 
or more, consecutive or nonconsecutive, in a calendar 
year, you must collect and remit the rooms tax. Any 
meals served are subject to meals tax. Please note that 
the first 14 days are also taxable. The tax applies to a 
rental that is made to one renter or multiple renters 
over the course of a year. For more details,
 see the fact sheet “Renting a Room with a View?”  
at www.bit.ly/vtfactsheets.

Coupons and Gift Certificates
If you honor a coupon at your place of business and 
receive reimbursement from the coupon issuer in the 
amount of the discount, tax is due on the full cost. If 
you honor a coupon and are not reimbursed by the 
coupon issuer, then the tax is due on the final cost to 
the customer. The same is true if you offer a special or 
reduced price to customers. 

No rooms tax is collected at the time of purchase of 
the gift certificate. Gift certificates are treated like 
cash. When used, the hotel collects the rooms tax on 
the total amount of the room charge, not the amount 
due after the certificate is used.

Are Tips Taxable?  
Generally, tips are not taxable, but there are exceptions. 
“Tip” means either: 

1.	 a sum of money gratuitously and voluntarily left by a 
customer for service, or  

2.	 a charge for service that is indicated by the seller on 	
the bill, invoice or charge statement that:	  

	 a. does not exceed 20% of the total charges and 
	 b. is separately accounted for and fully distributed to 

service employees, in addition and supplemental 
to normal salary and wages, which must meet 
or exceed state and federal minimum wage 
requirements. 

The exceptions 
Tips in excess of 20% must be reported as taxable, even if 
fully distributed to service employees. If any portion of 
the tip is retained by the operator, rather than by service 

employees, the portion retained becomes a part of the 
charge to the customer and is thus subject to tax. For meals 
and rooms tax purposes, business owners and operators 
are not service employees, even when they perform 
functions typically performed by service employees.

Operating More Than One Location
You will have just one Vermont Business Tax Account, 
but each location must obtain its own license and will 
file its own meals and rooms tax return. To obtain the 
additional licenses, register for each separate location.

Know Tax Law and Regulations
Business owners are expected to be familiar with 
state tax laws and regulations applicable to their 
businesses. For more information, please see the 
following:

32 V.S.A. Chapter 233  
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32

Meals and Rooms Tax Regulations
www.bit.ly/vttaxregs

Technical Bulletins on Sales and Use Tax
www.bit.ly/vttechbulls

Fact Sheets
www.bit.ly/vtfactsheets 

Vermont Meals and Rooms Tax for Businesses, 
Vermont Meals Tax for Businesses, Local Option Tax: 
What is It and When Does It Apply?, Renting Your 
Room with a View? (rentals by private individuals), 
What Caterers Should Know about Vermont Business 
Taxes, What Nonprofits Need to Know About 
Vermont Business Taxes, How to Register Online for a 
Vermont Business Tax Account, and other fact sheets 
on a variety of topics
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To learn more about Vermont business taxes, 
visit www.tax.vermont.gov or contact the 

Department’s Business Tax Section at  
tax.business@vermont.gov   
or (802) 828-2551, option 3.

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32
https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes
www.tax.vermont.gov
mailto:tax.business@vermont.gov

