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Vermont Sales Tax Exemption Certificate
for

REGISTRABLE MOTOR VEHICLES  
OTHER THAN CARS AND TRUCKS

32 V.S.A. § 9741(12)

Form
S-3V

This form must be completed in duplicate for every sale on which no Purchase and Use tax or Sales 
tax is charged.  The seller must retain one copy and send the other to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
PO Box 547
Montpelier, VT  05601-0547

Buyer's Name				    SSN or FEIN

Address				    Telephone Number

City	 State	 ZIP Code

BUYER

Seller's Name

Address

City	 State	 ZIP Code

SELLER

SIGNATURE
I certify the above vehicle will be registered with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles.  
Purchase and Use Tax under 32 V.S.A., Chapter 219, will be paid at the time of registration.  
Therefore, this purchase is exempt from Sales Tax.

Signature of Buyer or Authorized Agent	 Title	 Date

Make	 Date of Sale

Model	 Sales Price

Vehicle ID Number	 Trade-In Allowance

Description	 Net Sales Price

ITEM PURCHASED
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FORM S-3V Instructions    
Vermont Sales Tax Exemption Certificate for

Registrable Motor Vehicles Other Than Cars and Trucks

General Information 
Please print in BLUE or BLACK ink only.

This form need not be completed if the dealer collects the Sales Tax or Purchase and Use Tax.

A motor vehicle is subject to either Purchase and Use tax (32 V.S.A., Chapter 219) or the Sales and Use tax 
(32 V.S.A., Chapter 233).

Purchase and Use Tax
If the vehicle will be registered with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, Purchase and 
Use tax is due.  The tax is payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles at the time of registration.  
Registration of the vehicle exempts the transaction from sales tax.

Sales and Use Tax
When the vehicle will not be registered with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles by the 
dealer, sales tax should be collected by the seller unless this certificate is completed.  If the buyer 
registers the vehicle within three (3) years from date of purchase, any sales tax paid is refundable 
to the buyer.

Exemption Certificate
This exemption certificate must be filled out by any buyer of a motor vehicle who intends to register 
the vehicle with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles within 90 days.  This exemption 
certificate covers all motor vehicles that are registrable by the Department of Motor Vehicles except 
cars and trucks.  It includes, but is not limited to, all-terrain vehicles, motorcycles, heavy equipment 
(backhoes, ditch diggers), tractors, and trailers pulled by a motor vehicle.

Buyer’s Responsibility
The buyer certifies intention to register the motor vehicle with the Vermont Department of Motor 
Vehicles as a true statement.  If the vehicle remains unregistered for at least 90 days, the buyer is 
liable for the Sales and Use tax.

Seller’s Responsibility
The seller must collect Purchase and Use tax or Sales and Use tax on sales of motor vehicles unless 
this exemption certificate is completed and retained.

Accepting an Exemption Certificate in “Good Faith”

	 The buyer must present to the seller an accurate and properly executed exemption certificate for 
the exempted sale. The responsibility is on the seller to determine if the buyer is submitting the 
exemption certificate in “good faith.” This requires the seller to be familiar with Vermont Sales and 
Use Tax law and regulations, including exemptions, that apply to the seller’s business. If the buyer 
provides a certificate that is not valid, i.e., the item purchased does not qualify for the exemption, 
this is not in good faith and the seller should not accept the certificate.  When the seller accepts the 
certificate in good faith, the seller is not liable for collecting and remitting Vermont Sales Tax.
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	 An exemption certificate is received at the time of sale in good faith when all of the following 
conditions are met:

•	 The certificate contains no statement or entry which the seller knows, or has reason to 
know, is false or misleading.

•	 The certification is on an exemption form issued by the Vermont Department of Taxes 
or a form with substantially identical language.

•	 The certificate is signed, dated and complete (all applicable sections and fields completed).

•	 The property purchased is of a type ordinarily used for the stated purpose, or the exempt 
use is explained.

Burden of Proof
The burden of proof is on the seller to demonstrate the certificate was taken in good faith.  If the 
seller cannot provide an exemption certificate showing that the sale was exempt, the Department 
will seek to collect tax from the seller.  If, however, the seller can prove the buyer’s claim for the 
exemption was false, the Department will seek to collect the tax from the buyer.

Retaining the Exemption Certificate
Sellers must retain exemption certificates for at least three years from the date of the sale covered 
by the certificate to document why the tax was not collected from the buyer.

Other types of exemption certificates that may be applicable are available on our website at 
tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/nonprofit-and-exempt-organizations/exemption-certificates/.

Form S-3A may apply for agricultural machinery and equipment, including vehicles, used 
predominantly (75% or more), for eligible agricultural purposes.  

See tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/sales-and-use-tax/exemptions/agricultural-equipment.

For questions regarding how these exemption certificates may be properly applied, please 
contact the Vermont Department of Taxes at (802) 828-2551.

Sending Copies
The seller must send copies of completed Forms S-3V to the Vermont Department of Taxes each 
quarter.  Mail copies to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
PO Box 547
Montpelier, VT  05601-0547

http://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/nonprofit-and-exempt-organizations/exemption-certificates/
http://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/sales-and-use-tax/exemptions/agricultural-equipment

