
What is the Vermont Use Tax?
Use tax must be paid by the purchaser of an item subject 
to sales tax in Vermont when 1) the purchase is made from 
a vendor that is not registered with the state of Vermont to 
collect sales tax and 2) therefore, does not collect the tax. 
Use tax has the same rate, rules, and exemptions as sales 
tax. Generally, use tax must be paid by the purchaser when 
the following occurs: 

•	 The purchase is made in another state that does 		
	 not impose a sales tax.
•	 The purchase is made from an internet vendor 		
	 (you should note if tax is charged during the 		
	 checkout process or on the receipt).
•	 The purchase is not consumed in Vermont, but 
	 it is received, stored, or operated in Vermont. 		 	 	

Another situation in which use tax is owed occurs when 
the vendor collects sales tax from the purchaser using 
a lower rate than Vermont’s 6% rate. In this case, the 
purchaser owes the difference between the two rates. For 

example, the vendor may be located in a state where the 
sales tax is 4% and the purchaser paid the tax at that rate. 
The purchaser must then pay to Vermont the difference of 
2% on the purchase price in the form of use tax. 

Who Must Pay the Use Tax?
Use tax must be paid by any resident or nonresident 
individual when the following occurs: 

1) You purchased an item subject to Vermont Sales Tax 
from a vendor that was not required to collect the 
sales tax on the item; and 

2) therefore, the vendor did not charge sales tax; and
3) the purchased item was delivered to Vermont or used 

in Vermont.

Filing and Paying Use Tax
You may report and pay any use tax owed when you file 
Form IN-111, Vermont Income Tax Return, by completing 
Line 27 on the return. Otherwise, you must check the box 
to “certify” that you owe no use tax.
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Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.
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Vermont Use Tax for Individual Taxpayers
This fact sheet provides information on the Vermont Use Tax, including how to calculate, file, and pay the proper 
amount of tax. It is important for you to have a good understanding of use tax because individual taxpayers have the 
responsibility to pay use tax on purchases when they are not charged sales tax on the Vermont Income Tax Return. If use 
tax is not owed, then you must “certify” on the return that they do not owe use tax.
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Calculating Use Tax 
If you keep accurate records of your purchases, you 
may simply calculate use tax by multiplying the 6% 
rate by the purchase prices. Note: Price includes any 
shipping/delivery charge.

If you do not keep accurate records, you should do 
the following: 

•	 For all individual purchases of less than $1,000 
each, use the Use Tax Reporting Table to 
estimate use tax.

•	 For individual purchases that cost $1,000 or more 
each, calculate the exact use tax using the 6% 
rate.

•	 If you make both types of purchases, determine 
total use tax by adding the amount from the Use 
Tax Reporting Table for the total of all purchases 
that cost less than $1,000 to the exact amount 
you’ve calculated for purchases of $1,000 or 
more. 

USE TAX REPORTING TABLE FOR TAX YEAR 2016
ADJUSTED GROSS 

INCOME USE TAX IS: ADJUSTED GROSS 
INCOME USE TAX IS:

$10,000-$14,999 $20 $55,000-$59,999 $110
$15,000-$19,999 $30 $60,000-$64,999 $120
$20,000-$24,999 $40 $65,000-$69,999 $130
$25,000-$29,999 $50 $70,000-$74,999 $140
$30,000-$34,999 $60 $75,000-$79,999 $150
$35,000-$39,999 $70 $80,000-$84,999 $160
$40,000-$44,999 $80 $85,000-$89,999 $170
$45,000-$49,999 $90 $90,000-$94,999 $180
$50,000-$54,999 $100 $95,000-$99,999 $190

AGI $100,000 or more, multiply by 0.20% (.0020)

For each individual purchase of $1,000 or more, you must calculate 
the exact tax by multiplying the amount of the purchase by 6% (.06). 
If you are using the reporting table for other purchases of less than 
$1,000 each, add the use tax from the table to the exact tax for your 
individual purchases to determine total tax owed.



Examples to Calculate Use Tax
The following are examples where use tax is owed by the purchaser. If there are questions about situations not given here, 
please contact the Department at the number listed below. 

Example 1: You purchased an item for $30 that is taxable in Vermont from a seller located in the state of New Hampshire, 
which has no sales tax, and brought the item back to Vermont. Since no sales tax was charged at the point of sale, you 
must pay use tax on the purchase price of the item. Calculate use tax by multiplying the price by 6% or .06. For this 
example, use tax is $1.80, but you must round the figure to the nearest whole dollar (or $2.00 in this example) and enter it 
into Form IN-111, Line 27.

Example 2: You purchased an item for $200 that is taxable in Vermont with a seller on the internet and had it 
shipped to you for $10 to a Vermont address. If no sales tax is charged at the point of sale, then you must pay use tax on 
the purchase price plus the delivery charge. Calculate use tax by multiplying the total price of $210 by 6% or .06. For this 
example, use tax is $12.60. but round the figure to the nearest whole dollar (or $13.00 for this example) and enter into Form 
IN-111, Line 27.

Example 3:  You purchase an item that is taxable in Vermont from another state or country, and you have it shipped 
to Vermont. You don’t intend to keep the item in Vermont but store it in Vermont briefly before you ship it to another 
destination outside the state. Even though you have not used or consumed the item in Vermont, you owe use tax on the 
purchase price plus delivery charge because you received the item in Vermont. 

Example 4—Calculating Vermont Use Tax:  As you work through your Vermont income tax return, you realize that you 
owe use tax on purchases you’ve made during the tax year, but you have not kept good records and have no idea exactly 
how much use tax you owe. 

Purchases less than $1,000: You purchased several individual items subject to sales tax in Vermont over the internet where 
no sales tax was charged and also a few items in New Hampshire, a state which does not charge sales tax. Each of these 
individual items, including shipping charges where applicable, cost less than $1,000. Because you are not sure of the cost 
of each item purchased, you cannot determine the exact amount of use tax and must use the Use Tax Reporting Table 
to estimate the tax. The table estimates the tax based on your adjusted gross income and not the total amount of your 
purchases. This example will suppose that your adjusted gross income is $42,500, and so you determine that according to 
the table, you owe use tax of $80. 

Purchases of $1,000 or more: You also purchased a large appliance for $1,200, plus a delivery charge of $50, in New 
Hampshire and was not charged sales tax. The total for this purchase was $1,250. For purchases of $1,000 or more, you 
must calculate exact use tax by multiplying the total cost of $1,250 by 6% or .06, which is $75. 

Totaling the cost: To determine total use tax owed, add the tax from the Use Tax Reporting Table for your individual items 
that cost less than $1,000 to the tax you’ve calculcated on your item that costs $1,000 or more. Use tax for this example is 
$80 + $75 = $155, which you must then file and pay on your Vermont income tax return.

Contact Us
For questions about the Vermont Use Tax, please call (802) 828-2865 or (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont).

Please Note: Sales and use tax also applies to any shipping and delivery charge on the item purchased. 

Page 2 of 2

https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes

