
Veterans who own their home and declare a Vermont homestead may be 
eligible for a property tax exemption. The exemption reduces the assessed 
value of the homestead, lowering the veteran’s property taxes.  
 

State law mandates a minimum $10,000 property tax exemption for veterans in 
both the municipal and education grand list. Cities and towns may vote to  

increase the exemption up to $40,000 in the municipal grand list. The value of  

a veteran’s homestead will be reduced by the amount of the exemption.  

Veterans are eligible for the exemption in one of three circumstances: 
 

 Disability compensation for 50% or higher disability; or 

 Non-Service connected pension (“improved pension”); or 

 Military retirement pay for a permanent medical military retirement. 
 

If a veteran’s disability qualifies him/her, and the spouse or child for this exemption, the Veterans Administration  

will issue a letter starting with the line “This is a summary of benefits you currently receive from the Department  

of Veterans Affairs.” Then you should submit a written application for this property tax exemption to the Vermont 
Office of Veterans Affairs by May 1 of each year. 

  DEPARTMENT OF TAXES 

  

Veterans and Property Taxes: What You Should Know 
This fact sheet summarizes the information veterans and their tax preparers need to ensure that veterans receive 
available property tax assistance through the Property Tax Exemption and Property Tax Adjustment Claim options. 

 
 

Household Income Issue When Claiming a Property Tax Adjustment 

We’re Here to Help! 

Like other homeowners, veterans may qualify for a property 
tax adjustment. This Property Tax Adjustment Claim is made 
in conjunction with the Homestead Declaration. The state 
education property tax may then be adjusted based on a 
percentage of household income.  Note: When completing the 
Property Tax Adjustment Claim, be sure to enter the housesite  

value and property taxes as shown in the housesite section of  

your property tax bill.  
 

 

For more information, refer to related fact sheets on our 

website at www.bit.ly/vtfactsheets 

Important Note! 

Household Income is different from the income 
reported on the income tax forms. It includes both 
taxable and nontaxable income. Social Security, 
nontaxable pensions, some gifts, and benefits paid by 
the Veterans Administration are considered part of 
Household Income and need to be reported on Line b 
of the Vermont Household Income Schedule HI-144. 

 

For claims made after January 1, 2012, 
the requirement that a veteran must 
have served in a period of war to be 
eligible has been removed. Now, any 
veteran who meets the eligibility 
criteria may apply for this property 
tax exemption. 

Note: The surviving spouses of veterans 
who had previously qualified for this  
exemption may also be eligible. 

 

Need help with the Exemption for Veterans? 

Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs 
 

118 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602 
 

 

(888) 666-9844 toll-free in VT 
 

 

(802) 828-3379 local 
 

 

Website: www.veterans.vermont.gov     

Need help with the Property Tax Adjustment 
Claim and Household Income? 

 

 

 

Vermont Department of Taxes 
133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 

 

(802) 828-2865  or toll-free at (866) 828-2865   

Email: tax.individualincome@vermont.gov 

Forms on our website: www.bit.ly/vttaxforms   

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statute, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet. 
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