
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
<redacted>  
<redacted>  
<redacted>  
<redacted>  
<redacted>  
     Formal Ruling 2011-06 
 
This is a formal ruling for  <redacted> regarding the applicability of sales tax to layaway sales 
and partial payment sales.   This ruling is based upon representations in your letter of <date>. 
 
FACTS 
You have described two types of delayed purchases, “layaway” and “partial payment.”   
 
Layaway.  Under the layaway plan, the customer pays 20 percent of the purchase price of the 
item, plus a non-refundable five percent layaway fee.  The purchase price is determined at the 
time of the initial payment.  <redacted> holds the item in inventory until the customer has 
completed four additional biweekly installment payments on the remainder of the purchase price.  
You state that “title and possession of the item remain with <redacted>until the customer has 
satisfied their payment obligations.”  <redacted> accounts for the purchase on the accrual 
method and recognizes the revenue on the sale at the time of the final payment and transfer of the 
item to the customer.   If the customer does not timely complete the transaction, all payments are 
returned to the customer, except the five percent layaway fee is retained by<redacted>. 
  
Partial Payment.  Under the partial payment plan, the customer pays 20 percent of the total 
purchase price of one order of several items.  The customer may then make additional payments 
at any time, and may also at any time change the items on order. <redacted>does not hold any 
item in inventory for the customer.  The customer may schedule delivery of any of the items if 
the customer has paid the full purchase price of that item to <redacted>; the purchase price is not 
determined until the customer asks to schedule delivery.  <redacted>recognizes the revenue on 
the sale at the time of the final payment and transfer of the item to the customer. 
 
 



DISCUSSION 
Vermont sales tax is imposed upon “retail sales in this state.”  32 V.S.A. § 9771.   The Vermont 
sales tax statutes do not contain rules specific to layaway or partial payment types of sales 
transactions.  Instead, the tax is simply imposed upon “the sales price charged for . . . tangible 
personal property.”  Id.  “Retail sale” is defined as “any sale . . . for any purpose other than for 
resale . . . ”  and  “sales price” is defined as “the total amount of consideration . . . for which 
personal property or services are sold.”  32 V.S.A. § 9701(4)(A), (5). 
 
With regard to the partial payment sales you describe, there is no known “sales price” until the 
time at which the customer identifies the item to be purchased and asks to schedule delivery.  As 
a result, no sales tax obligation arises on a partial sale until the time at which the sales price is 
known and charged. 
 
With regard to the layaway sales you describe, the sales price is known at the time the layaway is 
initiated.  The next question is then:  at what point is there a taxable retail “sale”?   A “sale” is 
generally defined as “the transfer of title to or possession of tangible personal property.”  Sales 
and Use Taxes: General Principles, Nagel and Rosen, Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., 
Arlington, VA, 1300-2nd T.M. (2008), § 1300.01 C.1., p. 101.   You state that in the layaway 
sale, title and possession of the item remain with <redacted> until the customer has satisfied the 
payment obligations.  Thus, under the general rule, there is no taxable “sale” until delivery of 
title and possession of the item to the customer.1  This result is similar to the rule for installment 
sales, which appear analogous to your layaway sales:  “sales taxes on installment sales are due at 
the time the sale is consummated.”  Id
 

. at § 1300.12 M., p. 1207.    

The nonrefundable five percent layaway fee is not part of the sales price charged for tangible 
personal property, since it is retained by <redacted>, regardless of whether the sale is 
consummated and regardless of whether the customer takes delivery of the item.   Under section 
9771, it is therefore not part of the “sales price” which forms the basis for computation of the 
sales tax on the transaction.  You ask what the result would be if the layaway fee were 
refundable.  If the fee were refundable, it would be part of the total amount of consideration 
charged for the item, since it would not be excluded under the definition of “sales price” in 
section 9701(4).  It would therefore be included in the basis for computation of the sales tax, and 
would be taxable at the time the sale is consummated. 
 
As a result of the foregoing analysis, the answers to your questions as stated in your letter are as 
follows: 
 
Layaway 
1.   For sales tax purposes, at what point in a layaway sale transaction does the taxable event 
occur? 
 
                                                      
1 This result also comports with the general approach of the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement 
(“SSTA”), to which the State of Vermont is a party, with regard to sourcing rules.  Section 311  
of the SSTA provides that for sourcing rules, “’receive’ and ‘receipt’ mean:  taking possession of 
tangible personal property . . . .”  This rule is adopted in Reg. § 1.9701(8)-2. 
 



     a.   Is <redacted>required to collect sales tax, based on the total purchase price of the item, at 
the time the customer makes the initial down payment?  NO 
     b.  Is <redacted> required to collect sales tax at the time, and based on the amount, of each 
layaway payment? NO 
     c.   Is <redacted>required to collect the sales tax, based on the total purchase price of the 
item, at the time when the final layaway payment is made? YES 
 
2.   Are the nonrefundable layaway fees subject to sales tax? NO 
      If taxable, at what point in the layaway sale transaction do the nonrefundable layaway fees 
become subject to tax?  N/A 
 
      a. Would the taxable event occur at the time in which the layaway fee is paid? N/A   
      b. Would the taxable event occur at the time in which the final layaway payment is made? 
N/A 
 
3.  Would a refundable layaway fee be subject to sales tax (i.e., a fee that would be refunded to 
the customer upon cancellation of the layaway transaction)?  YES  
      If taxable, at what point in the layaway sale transaction would the refundable layaway fee 
become subject to tax?  AT TIME OF FINAL PAYMENT AND DELIVERY 
 
        a.  Would the taxable event occur at the time in which the layaway feed is paid? NO 
        b.  Would the taxable event occur at the time in which the final layaway payment is made? 
YES 

 
Partial Payment 
1.  For sales tax purposes, at what point in a partial payment  transaction does the taxable event 
occur?  WHEN CUSTOMER IDENTIFIES ITEM FOR PURCHASE AND REQUESTS 
DELIVERY 
 
     a.  Is <redacted>required to collect sales tax, based on the total purchase price of the initial 
order, at the time the customer makes the initial down payment?  NO 
     b.  Is <redacted> required to collect sales tax at the time, and based on the amount, of each 
partial payment?  NO 
     c.  Is<redacted>required to collect the sales tax, based on the final purchase price of the item 
or items, at the time when the payment is applied to the purchase of the item and delivery is 
scheduled?  YES 
 
 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 
This ruling will be made public after deletion of the parties’ names and any information which 
may identify the parties.  A copy of this ruling showing the proposed deletions is attached, and 
you may request within 30 days that the Commissioner delete any further information that might 
identify the parties.  The final discretion as to deletions rests with the Commissioner. 
 
This ruling is issued solely to your firm and is limited to the facts presented, as affected by 
current statutes and regulations.  Other taxpayers may refer to this ruling, when redacted to 



protect confidentiality, to determine the department's general approach, but the Department will 
not be bound by this ruling in the case of any other taxpayer or in the case of any change in the 
relevant statutes or regulations. 
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