
R E S I D E N T  •  N O N R E S I D E N T  •  P A R T - Y E A R  R E S I D E N T

Income Tax
APRIL 17, 2012  for filing  

- 2011 VT Income Tax Return   OR  
- Extension of Time to File 2011 VT Income Tax 		
	 Return

OCTOBER 15, 2012  to file extended 2011 VT Income Tax 
Return

Due dates falling on the weekend or official holiday are moved to the next 
business day.

Property Tax Adjustment Claim
APRIL 17, 2012  for filing 2012 Property Tax Adjustment 

claim  
SEPTEMBER 4, 2012  for final opportunity to file the 2012 

Property Tax Adjustment Claim.  Late filing penalty 
of $15 applies to claims filed between April 18 and 
September 4, 2012.

Renter Rebate Claim
APRIL 17, 2012  for filing 2011 Renter Rebate Claim  
SEPTEMBER 4, 2012  for final opportunity to file the 2011 

Renter Rebate Claim.

DUE DATES

2011 TAX LAW CHANGES

Vermont
2 0 1 1  I N C O M E  T A X  R E T U R N  B O O K L E T

Over 200,000 Vermont taxpayers e-filed last year!                  
Some were eligible for FREE use of online software and electronic filing.   These taxpayers received 
their refund in 5 business days or less and had the option to have the refund deposited directly into their 
bank account.

Homeowners – There is a free online filing service at our website for filing homestead or property tax adjustment 
claim. 

Go to our website for more information on efiling.

                     

  VERMONT

Income Tax
Capital Gain Exclusion   The capital gain exclusion has changed.  The 
flat exclusion for Tax Year 2011 is the amount of the capital gain but 
not to exceed $5,000 or 40% of Federal taxable income, whichever is 
less.  Capital gain on certain assets are eligible for exclusion at 40% 
of the capital gain on those assets or 40% of Federal taxable income, 
whichever is less. 

Credit For Income Tax Paid To Another State or Canadian 
Province   The calculation of this credit has changed to accommodate 
add-back and deductions by VT and other states to make the income 
comparable.  The calculation is done on new Schedule IN-117.

Offset Of Lottery Winnings for Taxes Owed  Beginning May 2011, 
lottery winnings can be applied to an outstanding tax bill. 

Credit for Veteran Start-Up Business  A credit up to $2,000 is 
available for eligible start-up expenses for a business owned by a 
recently deployed veteran.  For more information, go to our web page.

Household Income
Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction is reinstated as an 
allowable reduction for 2011 household income on Schedule HI-144 
used to calculate the 2012 Property Tax Adjustment or 2011 Renter 
Rebate.

Homesteads
Homestead Declaration  The penalty for failure to declare a homestead 
or declaring a property that is not a homestead is now 8% of the 
correct education property tax if the error resulted in a lower education 
property tax.  All other situations are 3% of correct education property 
tax.  Municipalities are granted discretion whether to impose the 
penalty.

Homestead Withdrawal  The 30-day notification requirement was 
repealed.  

Please go to our website for more information on when to file a 
declaration or withdrawal. 

DID YOU MAKE AN ONLINE OR CATALOG PURCHASE IN 2011?
Vermont law requires Use Tax to be paid on all taxable purchases when the vendor did not collect the Sales Tax. 
More than $20 million in tax revenue is not collected from taxable sales each year in Vermont. These uncollected 
revenues require higher tax rates on all Vermonters. To pay your 2011 Use Tax see the Instructions for IN-111, 
Line 27.

For more information about Vermont’s taxes, visit our new and improved website at http://tax.vermont.gov



Dear Fellow Taxpayer:

The duty of the Vermont Department of Taxes is to collect the proper amount of tax revenue in a timely 
and efficient manner to pay for the goods and services provided by State government.   The Vermont 
Department of Taxes strives to offer the highest level of service to all taxpayers, the individuals, 
businesses, property owners, and cities and towns that make Vermont great.  Beyond administering the 
tax system, the Department conducts policy and statistical analysis, and we serve as a partner to local 
governments to improve local property tax assessment practices. 

While our mission is defined by Vermont’s laws, our success is defined by Vermont’s taxpayers.  At 
the Department we feel it is important to be accountable to you, the Vermont taxpayer, and we have 
spent 2011 evaluating our policies, practices, and technologies to better serve you.  The Department, 
in coordination with the Agency of Administration, has developed four strategic goals for the coming 
year, and I am grateful for this opportunity to share these goals with you.  

First, we are striving to process taxes more efficiently.   We want to eliminate paper transactions and 
manual data entry as much as possible to increase convenience and turnaround times for you, and 
reduce errors.  Second, we want to improve our taxpayer outreach and education.  The cornerstone of 
this effort is a new website for the Department, with clear, consistent and relevant information to help 
you pay the right amount of tax.  This digital innovation is combined with renewed efforts to reach out 
and create a dialog with Vermont’s businesses.  Third, we want to reduce the tax gap.  Our outreach 
efforts are designed to support voluntary compliance, and it is only fair that at the same time we adopt 
the best practices in audit and collection.  Fourth, it is our goal to attract and support the best possible 
workforce to serve you better.  We have set measurable outcomes to mark our progress on these goals, 
and we will continue to refine our approach in the future.  

As the saying goes, taxes are at some level inevitable.  We are striving to make that experience as 
straightforward and fair as possible.  We hope that you notice our improvements, and we wish you a 
happy and prosperous 2012.    

	 Message from the Commissioner

Sincerely,

Mary N. Peterson
Commissioner of Taxes
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at http://tax.vermont.gov
FOR INFORMATION ON:

•	 Status of 2011 Income Tax Return and refund
•	 Status of 2012 Property Tax Adjustment Claim
•	 Homestead Declaration on record
•	 2011 Income Estimated Payments on record
•	 Status of 2011 Renter Rebate Claim

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE
We’re Here To Answer Your Questions

Electronic filing information.  Some taxpayers may be eligible for FREE tax preparation 
software and e-filing services

Free on-line filing for Property Tax Adjustment Claim, Homestead Declaration & Homestead 
Declaration Withdrawal

Homestead Declaration
and

Property Tax Adjustment
FILE ONLINE FOR

FREE!

Go to http://tax.vermont.gov to download Call (802) 828-2515 to order 
paper forms or schedules

•	 Locations and schedules for tax return preparation assistance
•	 Tax law changes and technical bulletins
•	 Filing checklist -- forms and schedules needed and order to complete
•	 Property tax adjustment calculator

CALL	1-866-828-2865 (toll-free in VT)
	 1-802-828-2865 (local & out-of-state)

Option 1

AUTOMATED INFORMATION

SERVICES AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE	 http://tax.vermont.gov

NEED A VT FORM OR SCHEDULE?

TO SPEAK WITH A DEPARTMENT REPRESENTATIVE	 Call between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

(866) 828-2865 (toll-free in VT)
(802) 828-2865 (local & out-of-state) Select Option 2, then Option 4}

Send an e-mail to taxforms@state.vt.us

For purposes of household income for property tax adjustment and renter rebate claims, income required to be reported on 
the Federal income tax return is also required to be reported as household income.  The following examples are authorized by 
existing law defining household income.  Examples of income related to Tropical Storm Irene that is required to be included in 
household income are:  Insurance covering profit loss for business operation disruption; Gross amount of loss of time payment 
(employee wages during the time of business disruption); and Cash/cash equivalent gifts to household exceeding $6,500.   
Examples of income that is not included in household income are:  Living expenses insurance reimbursement for loss of use 
of residential property/rental unit; Insurance proceeds for damage to property/rental unit (unless the property is depreciated 
to where the proceeds are required to be reported in income Federally); Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) 
payments; Grants to restore damaged property; Nongovernmental relief sources such as American Red Cross, United Way, 
VT Disaster Relief Fund, VT Irene Flood Relief Fund, churches, and the like.
Those who took in people displaced by Tropical Storm Irene do not include the displaced person’s income in the household 
income as long as this is a temporary living arrangement due to the storm and there is no rental agreement in place.    
Municipalities also may have abated a portion of the 2011/2012 property tax bill due to the property becoming uninhabitable 
due to Tropical Storm Irene.  The property tax adjustment claim will be based on the 2011/2012 property tax bill as originally 
issued without any reduction for abatement. 

TROPICAL STORM IRENE



GENERAL INCOME TAX INFORMATION

USE WHOLE DOLLARS 
Round entries to the nearest whole dollar.  The cents entry boxes are 
preprinted with zeros.  To round:  1 cent to 49 cents, enter the existing 
dollar amount (Example: enter $97.49 as $97).  For 50 cents to 99 
cents, enter the next higher dollar amount (Example: $97.50 as $98).

REQUESTS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
You may be asked to supply additional information to clarify items on 
your VT income tax form.  Such a request does not necessarily mean 
that you filed improperly or that you have been selected for an audit.  
These requests are a routine part of processing.  Your return, however, 
cannot be processed until the information is received. 

INCOMPLETE FORMS
If information necessary to support a credit or benefit is missing, your 
filing may be processed but the credit denied.  This may result in a 
bill or reduced refund.  You will have an opportunity to supply the 
information.  In some instances, your tax forms may be returned to 
you.  The credit or benefit cannot be processed until the Department 
receives the missing document or information.

FORMS THAT CANNOT BE PROCESSED
If your filing is not acceptable for our processing equipment, the 
Department may send your filing back to you which means the filing 
date is the resubmission date.  The Department may also transfer your 
filing information onto acceptable forms but you can be assessed a 
$25 processing fee that partially covers the costs of transferring the 
information.  Examples of unacceptable filings are:  forms marked 
“draft” or “do not file,” forms not pre-approved by the Department, 
photocopies of forms, faxed forms, writing in other than blue or black 
ink, mixing computer generated forms with forms printed by the 
Department.

TIMELY FILING
Tax forms mailed through the U.S. Post Office are considered timely 
if received at the Department within 3 business days of the due date.  
Electronic filings transmitted on the due date are timely if you receive 
confirmation of filing.   If you bring the return to the Department, it 
must be delivered on or before the due date to be timely. 

INCOME TAX DUE DATE
The due date for the 2011 tax year is April 17, 2012.  See below for 
information on extension of time to file the VT income tax form.

EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE YOUR VT INCOME TAX FORM
To receive a six-month 
extension of time to file your 
income tax form, file Form 
IN-151 on or before April 17, 
2012.  An extension only allows 
more time to file the income 
tax return.  It does not extend 
the due date for tax payment.  
Interest and penalty accrue on 
tax due from April 18 to the receipt of payment.

FILING AFTER THE APRIL 17, 2012 DUE DATE
A VT income tax form may be filed up to 60 days after April 17, 2012 
without being charged a late file penalty, even if you have not filed 
an extension of time to file with the VT Department of Taxes.  Filing 
the form on the 61st day after April 17, 2012 or later will result in the 
$50 late file penalty. 
If you have an extension you will not be charged the $50 late file 
penalty unless you fail to file by the October 15 extension date.  An 

extended income tax form filed one or more days after October 15, 
2012 is charged a $50 late file penalty. 
NOTE:  The late file penalty applies even if you have a refund or no 
tax is due.  Also, if any tax is due, a late payment penalty and interest 
charges also apply.

INTEREST AND LATE PAYMENT PENALTY
Tax paid after April 17, 2012 accrues interest and late payment penalty 
charges on the unpaid tax amount from April 18, 2012 until the date 
of payment.  Interest is 0.4% per month.  Penalty is 1% per month or 
portion of month, up to 25% of the unpaid amount. 

ESTIMATED INCOME TAX PAYMENTS 
If withholding plus tax credits 
are less than the income tax 
due, an individual should 
increase the amount withheld 
and/or make estimated 
payments.  Estimated 
payments are required when 
there is no withholding or 
insufficient withholding on income.
Exception:  Farmers or fishermen, as defined by the laws of the United 
States, are not required to make estimated payments.  If you are a 
farmer or fisherman and are billed for underpayment of estimated 
income tax, contact the Department.
Amount of Estimated Payments:  If the taxes withheld from your 
income are less than your income tax (reduced by any allowable 
credits), you may increase your withholding or make estimated tax 
payments in four equal installments.  Estimated payments (together 
with withholding and credits) must equal 100% of the previous year’s 
income tax or 90% of this year’s income tax.  If no income tax return 
was required or the tax liability was zero in the previous year, there 
are no underpayment charges.  Interest and penalty is billed on the 
difference between the estimated payment that should have been 
made each quarter and the payment actually made.  No interest and 
penalty will be assessed if your income tax from Line 26 of the VT 
income tax form, less withholding and credits, is less than $500 for 
the taxable year.  Examples:  (1) Your previous year tax was $800.  
This year it is $1200.  You had no withholding, but made four timely 
estimated payments of $150 each.  Estimated payments of $600 and $0 
withholding did not equal either the previous year’s tax or 90% of this 
year’s tax.  The tax due (Line 26 less withholding and credits) is more 
than $500.  Each estimated payment should have been $200 instead 
of the $150 estimated payment made.  You owe interest and penalty 
on $50 underpayment each quarter.  Penalty and interest accrue on 
the $50 from the due date of each payment to the date the tax is paid.  
(2) Your previous year tax was $800.  This year it is $400.  You had 
withholding of $100 but made no estimated payments.  Your total 
withholding of $100 and $0 estimated payments did not equal either 
the previous year’s tax or 90% of this year’s tax.  However, your tax 
(Line 26 less withholding and credits) is less than $500.  No interest 
or penalty will be assessed.  (3) Your previous year tax was $800.  
This year it is $1500.  You had withholding of $400 and made four 
timely estimated payments of $100 each.  Your total withholding and 
timely estimated payments equal $800, which is 100% of the previous 
year’s tax.  No interest or penalty will be assessed.  (4) Your previous 
year tax was $800.  This year it is $600.  You had withholding of 
$110, but made no estimated payments. Your $110 in withholding did 
not equal the previous year’s tax and is less than 90% of this year’s 
tax.  However, your tax (Line 26 less withholding and credits), is less 
than $500 ($600 - $110).  No interest or penalty will be assessed.  
(5)  Your previous year tax was $800.  This year it is $1000.  You 
had withholding of $300, but made no estimated payments.  You owe 
$700 tax.  The $300 withholding was less than the previous year’s tax 
and did not equal 90% of this year’s tax.  Each estimated payment 
should have been $200 instead of the $75 per quarter credit from 
withholding.  There is a $125 underpayment for each quarter.  Penalty 
and interest accrue on the $125 underpayment from the due date of 
each payment to the date the tax is paid. (6) Your previous year tax 
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NOTE:  An extension to file 
an income tax form does 
NOT apply to Homestead 
Declaration (HS-131) or 
Property Tax Adjustment Claim 
(HS-145) or Renter Rebate 
Claim (PR-141).

!

NOTE:  Making estimated 
payments is particularly 
important for recipients of income 
without withholding, VT residents 
working in another state, or non-
VT residents working in VT.

!



was $800.  This year it is $1000.  You had withholding of $300 and 
made one estimated payment of $800 in December.  Each estimated 
payment should have been a minimum of $200.  Your withholding 
covered $75 ($300/4) of the installment.  There is an underpayment 
of $125.  You owe interest and penalty on the $125 underpayment for 
the April, June and September due dates up to the December payment 
date.
Penalty & Interest Charges:  The underpayment or late payment in 
each quarter is assessed from the estimated payment due date to the 
date the tax is paid:
	 •	 Interest of 0.4% per month. 
	 •	 Penalty of 1% per month or portion of month.
Calculating the Charges:  
Use VT Worksheet IN-152 to 
calculate interest and penalty 
on the underpayment.  Enter the 
result on Form IN-111, Section 9, 
Line 36, and include the amount 
with your tax payment.  Payment at the time of filing may reduce 
the charges as they accrue up to the time of payment.  If you have 
an overpayment but owe underpayment charges, the charges are 
subtracted from the overpayment.  
Annualized Income Installment Method:  Taxpayers using the 
annualized method for Federal estimated payments should use 
IN-152A to calculate applicable interest and penalty.  Send a copy of 
all four pages of the completed Federal Form 2210.
Next Year:  If you made estimated payments for tax year 2011, the 
Department automatically sends you Form IN-114 voucher booklet 
for 2012 tax year.  Estimated payments are due April 15, June 15, 
September 15, 2012 and January 15, 2013.  To assure you do not 
owe more than $500 tax next year, you may wish to adjust your 
withholding, or make estimated payments, or both.

OFFSET - YOUR INCOME TAX REFUND USED TO PAY A BILL
Your income tax refund will be taken to pay a bill you or your spouse/
civil union partner owe to the VT Department of Taxes and other 
government agencies such as Internal Revenue Service, Office of 
Child Support, Department of Corrections, VT courts, student loan 
agencies, VT State Colleges, and tax agency of another state.  You 
will receive notification if your refund is offset.
Lottery winnings may be offset to pay tax liability owed to the 
Vermont Department of Taxes.  You will receive notification if such 
action will be taken.  

INJURED SPOUSE CLAIMS
 If your spouse/civil union partner owes money to a VT state or 
Federal agency or tax agency of another state and you file a joint tax 
return,  you may file an “injured spouse” claim for your portion of 
the refund.
You may receive the portion of the income tax refund equal to the 
percentage of your income to the combined income of you and your 
spouse/civil union partner.
To make an “injured spouse” claim, send the following information 
separately from your return (1) the request letter; (2) copy of Federal 
Form 8379, if one was filed with the IRS; (3) if self-employed, copy 
of Federal income tax return with Schedules C and SE.  Mail to:  VT 
Department of Taxes, ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit, PO Box 1645, 
Montpelier, VT  05601-1645.  Electronic filers must also send copies 
of income statements such as W-2, 1099, etc.
 You will receive a notice from the Department if the income tax 
refund is offset.  You have 30 days from the date on the notice to 
submit the injured spouse claim to the Department.

NET OPERATING LOSSES
No VT refund is available for a carryback.  The VT carryback or 
carryforward election for a net operating loss must be the same as 
elected for Federal purposes.

BONUS DEPRECIATION PROVIDED BY FEDERAL ECONOMIC 
STIMULUS ACTS IN 2008, 2009 AND 2010 ARE NOT ALLOWED 
FOR VT INCOME TAX PURPOSES.  
See instructions for Form IN-111, Line 12b on page 8 and Line 14c on 
page 8 to adjust for difference between Federal and VT depreciation 
amount.

CLAIMING A VT REFUND
You must file a VT income tax return to receive a refund of VT 
withholding or estimated payments.  You have up to 3 years from 
the due date of that tax year’s return, including extension.  Example:   
You did not file a return for tax year 2008 and now find that you are 
due a refund.  You file the 2008 return on August 10, 2012.  Tax year 
2008 return was due April 15, 2009.  The last date you could file and 
get a refund for the 2008 tax year was April 15, 2012.  You filed after 
the three year date and no refund is available.  If you had an extension 
of time to file on record with Vermont, the three year period runs to 
the extended due date.

AMENDING OR CORRECTING VT INCOME TAX RETURN 
INFORMATION

	 •	 Change to VT income  An amended return is due even if the 
change is not the result of filing an amended Federal income tax return 
or an adjustment made by the Internal Revenue Service.  For example, 
a nonresident or part-year resident may discover the amount of income 
taxable to VT is different from the amount originally reported.  The 
amended return must be filed within 3 years of the due date of the 
return, including extension.
	 •	 Change of Federal tax information by IRS  You are required 
to file an amended VT return within 60 days of notification by the 
Internal Revenue Service, even if this is past the 3-year limit, when 
adjustments to your Federal return affect your VT income tax.  These 
adjustments include, but are not limited to, changes in Federal taxable 
income, capital gains amount, earned income tax credit, the Federal 
tax credits passed through to VT tax, or any other change that affects 
your VT tax.  Attach a copy of all Federal forms showing changes 
to the VT amended return.  The IRS and VT Department of Taxes 
routinely share information.  Differences in the information on file 
with the IRS and the VT Department of Taxes, other than those 
allowed by VT law, are identified and may be audited.
	 •	 Filing an amended Federal tax return  You are required to 
file an amended VT return within 60 days of filing an amended return 
with the Internal Revenue Service if VT income is affected.  See 
Change of Federal tax information by IRS for examples of changes 
affecting VT income tax.

FORM FOR AMENDING VT INCOME TAX RETURN 
þ Check the Amended box on 
Form IN-111, Section 1, for 
the applicable tax year.  Enter 
the corrected amounts as if this 
were the original filing and also 
complete supporting schedules, 
even if there is no change to 
them.  Below Section 9, use 
the amended box to enter the 
amount originally refunded or paid to arrive at the amended amount 
of tax due or refund.  Please include a copy of Federal 1040X and its 
attachments with the Vermont amended return.  DO NOT send a copy 
of the original Vermont with the amended.
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NOTE:  The IN-152 and 
IN-152A worksheets are 
available on our website at 
http://tax.vermont.gov!

You are required by VT law to file an amended VT return within 60 days 
of:  1) becoming aware  of a  change to VT income; 2) filing an amended 
return with the IRS; or 3) receipt of a  notice of the change by the IRS.  
A late file penalty will be assessed if the amended VT return is not filed 
within the 60 days.

NOTE:  When amending for 
income change, Schedule 
HI-144, Household Income, used 
for a property tax adjustment 
claim or renter rebate claim must 
also be amended.

!



TAXPAYER ADVOCATE
The VT Department of Taxes offers free, confidential service when 
a taxpayer encounters difficulty resolving tax issues.  The Taxpayer 
Advocate can help if: 

	 •	 You are experiencing extreme economic harm or hardship 
from the Department’s action, or

	 •	 It is taking more than 180 days to resolve your tax issue, or

	 •	 You have not received a response or resolution to the problem 
by the date promised by the Vermont Department of Taxes.

The Taxpayer Advocate will listen to your situation, independently 
review the problem, help you understand what needs to be done to 
resolve it, keep you updated on the progress of your situation and stay 
with you until the problem is resolved.  Please note that the Taxpayer 
Advocate cannot override the provisions of the law.
To contact the Taxpayer Advocate:
Telephone:    802-828-2535	 Fax:	 802-828-5787
Email:	 taxpayeradvocate@state.vt.us 
Mail:	 Vermont Department of Taxes 
		  ATTN: Taxpayer Advocate  
		  PO Box 429 
		  Montpelier, VT  05601-0429

VT INCOME TAX DEFINITIONS
Adjusted Gross Income or AGI  means adjusted gross income on 
your  Federal income tax return filed or your recomputed Federal 
income tax return.
Adjusted VT Income Tax  means the VT tax calculated on VT 
Taxable Income as adjusted by certain additions, subtractions, and 
provisions for exempted income. 
Adjustments to VT Income Tax  are (1) Additions:  24% of the Federal 
tax on Qualified Retirement Plans including IRA, MSA and other 
tax favored accounts; Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit; 
and Federal tax on  qualified lump-sum distributions from Federal 
Form 4972; plus any VT tax credit recapture.  (2) Subtractions: 24% 
of the Federal tax credits for Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
(unless qualified for Low-Income Child & Dependent Care Credit); 
Credit for Elderly or Disabled; Investment Tax Credit attributable 
to the VT-property portion of the investment; and VT Farm Income 
Averaging Credit; Remaining 76% of Federal investment credit for 
VT-based business solar energy included in Investment Tax Credit or 
prior year carryforward.  (3) Percentage reduction of VT tax for VT 
exempt income and/or ratio of VT income to non-VT income from 
Schedule IN-113.
Domicile  is the place where you have your permanent home.  
Establishing a domicile depends on factors such as the location of 
residences owned or rented, the amount of time spent at the residences, 
the location of items considered of sentimental or financial value, 
how and where one’s living is earned, an investment in a business 
or profession in this state, place of voter registration, state issuing 
driver’s license and automobile registration, and the residence of the 
taxpayer’s immediate family.  No one factor is conclusive. 
You can have only one domicile.  Your domicile does not change 
unless you move to a new location with the intent to make it your 
permanent home.  If you move to a new location but only intend 
to stay a limited time, your domicile does not change.  For more 
information, see Department Regulation 1.5811.
Nonresident  means, for purposes of income tax, an individual who 
is neither domiciled in VT nor has maintained a permanent place of 
abode in VT and the individual was present in VT for less than 183 
days of the taxable year.
Part-Year Resident  means, for purposes of income tax, an individual 
who meets the criteria for Residency during a portion of the taxable 
year.

Recomputed Federal Income Tax Return  means a Federal income 
tax return prepared for VT purposes only.  You use the recomputed 
amounts where the VT return requires Federal line information. See 
Filing Status instructions on page 7 for information on when to do a 
recomputed Federal income tax return. 
Residency  means, for purposes of income tax, an individual who 
in that portion of the taxable year (1) is domiciled in VT; or (2) 
maintains a permanent place of abode and is present in VT for more 
than a combined total of 183 days of the taxable year.
Resident  means, for purposes of income tax, an individual who meets 
the criteria for Residency.
Taxable Year  means the calendar year.  Call the Department if you 
are a fiscal year filer.
VT Income of Residents  means the Adjusted Gross Income of a 
Resident less the following:
	 •	 Income exempted from state taxation under the laws of the 

United States 
	 •	 Certain military pay (see page 47)
	 •	 Payment by the State of VT to a family for the support of 

an eligible person with a developmental disability as defined 
by section 8722(2) of Title 18 of VT Statutes Annotated and 
when included in Federal adjusted gross income (see page 47)

	 •	 Wages received under Federal incentive work programs if 
wages are required as part of Federal adjusted gross income 
under Section 280C of the Internal Revenue Code (see 
page 47)

	 •	 Railroad Retirement Income Tier I and Tier II (see page 47)
	 •	 Expenditures or expenses incurred on VT property to meet the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (see page 47)
	 •	 Bond interest from VT Telecommunications Authority, VT 

Student Assistance Corporation, or VT Build America (see 
page 47)

VT Income of Nonresidents  means the sum of the following items 
to the extent the items are required to be included in Federal adjusted 
gross income:
	 •	 Rents and royalties from ownership of property located in VT
	 •	 Gains from the sale or exchange of VT property, including the 

sale of timber or timber rights
	 •	 Wages, salaries, commissions, or other income received for 

services performed in VT.  Excluded from VT tax are certain 
military pay (see page 47) and income received for a dramatic 
performance in a commercial film to the extent such income 
would be excluded from personal income tax in the state of 
residence

	 •	 Income from every business, trade, profession, or occupation 
conducted in VT, including money received (1) under an 
agreement not to compete with a business operation in VT, 
(2) for goodwill associated with the sale of a VT business, or 
(3) for contractual services associated with the sale of a VT 
business unless it is shown that the compensation for services 
does not constitute income from the sale of the business

	 •	 VT income previously deferred under a nonqualified deferred 
compensation plan and income derived from such previously 
deferred income 

	 •	 Lottery winnings from ticket(s) purchased in VT for VT 
Lottery, Tri-State Lottery, or PowerBall

Not included in VT income for a nonresident is income from activities 
necessary to create or maintain a web page or Internet site.  For more 
information, go to http://tax.vermont.gov
VT Income of Part-Year Residents  means any income described in 
VT Income of Nonresidents and all items earned or received during 
the period of VT residency described in VT Income of Residents.
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VT Taxable Income  means Federal taxable income with (1) the 
addition of interest, dividends or other distributions from non-VT 
state and local obligations to the extent this income is excluded 
from Federal adjusted gross income; the capital gain deferral in a 
previous year for investment in a qualified business upon disposition 
of the taxpayer’s interest in the business; the difference between 
depreciation using standard MACRS on assets qualified for 2011 
Federal bonus depreciation and the reported Federal depreciation on 
those qualified assets as a result of VT disallowance of the bonus 
depreciation; state and local income taxes deduction on Form 1040, 
Schedule A in excess of $5,000; with (2) the subtraction of interest 
income from U.S. government obligations to the extent such income 
is included in Federal adjusted gross income; capital gains exclusion; 
and as a result of VT disallowance of the bonus depreciation, the 
difference between depreciation using standard MACRS on assets 
qualified for 2008, 2009 and 2010 Federal bonus depreciation and the 
reported Federal depreciation on those qualified assets.

INCOME TAX FORM INSTRUCTIONS

FORM IN-111   
VT INCOME TAX

REQUIREMENT TO FILE A 2011 VT INCOME TAX RETURN 
A 2011 VT income tax return must 
be filed by a Full-Year or Part-
Year VT resident or a Nonresident 
if you are required to file a 
2011 Federal income tax return, 
and	
	 •	 You earned or received $100 or more in VT income,  OR
	 •	 You received gross income of $1,000 or more as a nonresident 

from sources on page 6.
NOTE:  Forms HS-145 or PR-141 are not required to be filed with the 
VT income tax return.
PLEASE do not make marks in boxes that you intend to leave blank.

Section 1  Taxpayer Information  REQUIRED entries.  Print 
your information in blue or black ink on all forms and schedules 
being filed.  The name and Social Security Number of your spouse/
civil union partner must be entered whether you are filing jointly or 
separately.  For filing separately, check the applicable Box 7a or 7b 
and enter the information in that section.

Recomputed Federal Return   Check this box if the information for 
Federal line references is from a recomputed Federal return.  Because 
VT and IRS routinely share information, checking the recomputed 
Federal return box alerts the Department to expect differences 
between the IRS filing and VT filing.  See Filing Status in Section 2 
for two situations where the Federal return may be recomputed.
Amended Return   Check here ONLY if you are filing an 
AMENDED 2011 income tax return.  See AMENDING OR 
CORRECTING VT RETURN INFORMATION on page 5.
Deceased Taxpayer   Check the applicable box if the taxpayer 
or spouse/civil union partner died during 2011.  Administrator or 
Executor:  Use Form IN-111 to report the decedent’s income from the 
beginning of 2011 to date of death.  To claim an income tax refund 
on behalf of the deceased, attach one of the following documents 
to Form IN-111: the court certificate showing your appointment as 
administrator or executor (this is not needed if you are a surviving 
spouse); a completed Form 176 (Statement of Claimant to Refund 
Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer); or a copy of completed Federal 
Form 1310.  VT Fiduciary Return of Income; Form FI-161, should be 
filed to report the income of an estate or trust.  Call 802-828-6820 for 
information.

Line 1  VT School District Code:  REQUIRED 
entry.
For school district codes, go to 
http://tax.vermont.gov or page 14 of this booklet.
VT Residents:  Use the 3-digit school district 
code for your residence on December 31, 2011.
Nonresidents:  Enter 999 as your school district 
code.
Line 2  City/Town of Legal Residence  Enter 
your legal residence as of December 31, 2011.  
If you live where there is both a city and town 
with the same name, specify city or town.  For 
example:  Rutland City or Rutland Town.

Section 2  Tax Filing Information
Filing Status  REQUIRED entry.   Check the box to show your VT 
filing status.  The VT filing status  must be the same as your Federal 
filing status except in the following two situations where Federal 
information may be recomputed for VT purposes:
	 1.	 CIVIL UNION or CIVIL MARRIAGE (available to same sex 
couples holding a valid civil union or marriage license): Recomputed 
Federal income tax information required. 
       2.   VT RESIDENT WITH A NON-VT RESIDENT SPOUSE 
WHO HAS  NO VT INCOME:  Recomputed Federal income tax 
information may be used.  See Technical Bulletin #55.  If you elect 
to file your VT income tax return married jointly, you cannot use 
Schedule IN-113, Part I  to apportion income of the nonresident 
spouse.  The credit for income tax paid to another state, however, is 
available.
To recompute:   Check the box at the upper right corner of IN-111 
to show that you are using recomputed Federal return information.  
 Check  the box for your applicable VT filing status.  If filing 
separately, enter the other person’s name and Social Security number 
in the space provided on Line 7.  Complete a Federal return for VT 
purposes only that uses the exemptions, deductions and rules allowed 
by the IRS as if you filed using the VT filing status. Exemptions 
and deductions must be reasonably allocated if filing separately.  For 
instance, one taxpayer cannot claim all exemptions and deductions.  
Mark the recomputed Federal return as “Recomputed for VT 
purposes” and attach a copy of it along with a copy of the Federal 
return actually filed with the IRS.  Enter the recomputed Federal 
return information where VT requires Federal information. 
Line 9  Exemptions  Enter the number of exemptions claimed on 
your Federal return or your recomputed Federal return.
NOTE:  Federal Forms 1040EZ and 1040NR-EZ only, enter zero if 
you are claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer in 2011.  Enter 
“1” if you are Single.  Enter “2” if you are Married Filing Jointly or 
Civil Union Filing Jointly. 
Section 3  Taxable Income
Line 10  Adjusted Gross Income  REQUIRED entry.  Enter 
the amount from your Federal return or, if applicable, from the 
recomputed Federal return.
Line 11 Federal Taxable Income  REQUIRED entry.  Enter 
the amount from your Federal return or, if applicable, from the 
recomputed Federal return.
NOTE:  If Federal Taxable Income is zero but you have an entry for 
Lines 12a, 12b or 12c calculate the actual loss amount from Federal 
Form 1040, subtract Line 42 from Line 41 or Federal Form 1040A, 
subtract Line 26 from Line 25.   Check the box to the left of the 
entry line to show a loss and enter the amount on Line 11.

Lines 12-14 modify Federal Taxable Income for purposes of arriving 
at Vermont Taxable Income.
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Additions to Federal Taxable Income
Line 12a  Enter the Non-VT State and Local Obligations from 
Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part I, Line 3.  
Line 12b  Federal Bonus Depreciation   The Small Business Jobs 
Act of 2010 extended the bonus depreciation to property put into 
service in 2011. VT does not recognize the bonus depreciation for 
VT income tax purposes. The depreciation must be recalculated 
without the bonus depreciation using standard MACRS method. 
Enter the difference between the depreciation calculated by standard 
MACRS methods and the depreciation calculated using the Federal 
bonus depreciation for assets placed in service in 2011. Go to 
http://tax.vermont.gov, “Publications” to see Technical Bulletin 44 for 
information on calculating the amount to add back to taxable income.
Line 12c  State and Local Income Tax Add Back  If you filed a 
Federal 1040 Schedule A for the 2011 tax year and the deduction for 
state/local income taxes exceeds $5,000, you need to complete and 
submit Schedule IN-154.  See page 48.
Line 13  Federal Taxable Income with Additions  Add Lines 11, 
12a, 12b and 12c and enter result.  To show a loss,  check the loss 
box to the left of the entry line.
Subtractions from Federal Taxable Income
Line 14a  Interest Income from U.S. Obligations  Interest income 
from U.S. government obligations (such as U.S. Treasury Bonds, 
Bills, and Notes) is exempt from VT tax under the laws of the United 
States.  Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Obligations on 
this line. 
Interest income is exempt when received directly from the U.S. 
Treasury or from a trust, partnership, or mutual fund that invests in 
direct obligations of the U.S. government.
 Income from the sale of U.S. government obligations is taxable 
in VT.  Income from repurchase agreements, securities of FNMA, 
FHMC, or GNMA or other investments that are not direct obligations 
of the U.S. government are also taxable.  See Technical Bulletin 24 
for more information.
Supporting Documentation Required:  No attachment to return 
required.  However, obtain statements for your tax records in the 
event the Department requests such documentation.  Acceptable 
statements are Federal Schedule B or other listing with amount and 
description.  Summary information from a K-1 or just a statement 
“U.S. government securities” without further identification is not 
acceptable.
Line 14b  Capital Gain Exclusion  See Schedule IN-153 and 
instructions to calculate the capital gains exclusion for 2011.  See 
page 48 and also Technical Bulletin 60 on our website under 
“Publications”.  Complete and submit Schedule IN-153.
Line 14c  Adjustment for Bonus Depreciation on 2008, 2009 
or 2010  Property  Enter the difference between the depreciation 
calculated by standard MACRS methods and the depreciation 
calculated at the Federal level.  For information on calculating the 
amount that can be subtracted from taxable income, see Technical 
Bulletin 44 on our website under “Publications”.
Line 14d  Add Lines 14a, 14b and 14c.
Line 15  VT Taxable Income  Subtract Line 14d from Line 13 and 
enter amount.  If Line 14d is more than Line 13, enter “0”.
Section 4  VT Income Tax 
Line 16  VT Income Tax from Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedule  
Using the VT Taxable Income amount from Line 15, calculate your 
VT tax using the applicable table or schedule and enter result.
	 •	 If Line 15 is zero, tax is $0.
	 •	 If Line 15 amount is less than $75,000 - You may use VT Tax 

Tables.
	 •	 If Line 15 amount is $75,000 or more - Use VT Rate Schedules.

Line 17  Additions to VT Income Tax  Complete and submit VT 
Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part II to report: 
	 •	 recapture of a VT tax credit; or 
	 •	 24% of additional Federal tax on the following:
		  -	 Qualified Retirement Plan distributions including IRA, 

HSA & MSA
		  -	 Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit
		  -	 Lump-sum Distribution from Federal Form 4972
Line 18  VT Income Tax with Additions  Add Lines 16 and 17 and 
enter result
Line 19  Subtractions from VT Income Tax  Complete and submit 
VT Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part II to receive credit for:
	 •	 Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses (See page 10 

for Low-Income Child and Dependent Care Credit.)
	 •	 Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled
	 •	 Investment Tax Credit (as defined in IRC Section 46) for 

VT-based portion only	
	 •	 Farm Income Averaging Credit
	 •	 Additional credit for VT-based business solar energy 

investment 
Line 20  VT Income Tax  Subtract Line 19 from Line 18 and enter 
result.  If Line 19 is more than Line 18, enter zero. 
Line 21  Income Adjustment  Enter 100.00% or percent from 
Schedule IN-113, Line 43.   Entry of less than 100.00% requires 
completing and submitting Schedule IN-113.
Examples of income adjustment less than 100.00%:
	 •	 You were a nonresident or part-year resident in 2011.   See 

pages 6-7 for details on non-resident and part-year resident 
income and Section 2 Tax Filing Information, Nonresident 
Spouse.

	 •	 You received exempt income as defined under VT Income of 
Residents on page 6.

Line 22  Adjusted VT Income Tax  Multiply Line 20 by the 
percentage on Line 21.  If Line 21 is 100.00%, Line 22 will be the 
same as Line 20.  An entry other than 100.00% requires completion 
and submission of Schedule IN-113.
Section 5  Credits and Use Tax 
Line 23  Credit for Income Tax Paid To Other State or Canadian 
Province  (FOR FULL-YEAR AND SOME PART-YEAR 
RESIDENTS) Complete and submit Schedule IN-117 and enter the 
amount from the schedule here.
Line 24  VT Tax Credits  Complete and submit Schedule IN-112 VT 
Calculation C and/or Schedule IN-119.  Enter the amount from  the 
applicable schedule here. 
Line 25  Total VT Credits  Add Lines 23 and 24 and enter result.
Line 26  VT Income Tax After Credits  Subtract Line 25 from Line 
22.  If Line 25 is more than Line 22, enter zero.
Line 27  Use Tax  (FOR FULL-YEAR AND PART-YEAR 
RESIDENTS)  Use this line to report Use Tax on purchases made 
for your personal use.  Business purchases must be reported on Form 
SU-451 or Form SU-452.
If you buy an item that would have been subject to VT Sales Tax but 
did not pay the Sales Tax and the item was used in VT, you owe Use 
Tax.  You acquire a Use Tax obligation when buying goods on the 
Internet, over the telephone, by mail order, or from a business that 
did not collect the VT Sales and Use Tax, or when buying in states 
or countries that do not have or do not appropriately collect the Sales 
Tax.  
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Commonly purchased items that 
give rise to Use Tax liability are:
E l e c t r o n i c  e q u i p m e n t ; 
Appliances; Furniture & home 
furnishings; Building materials; 
Cabinetry; Jewelry; Downloads 
of movies (purchased or rented), music, books or ringtones; 
Computer software (packaged or downloaded); Computer hardware 
& accessories; Books (hard copy or downloaded); Magazines (hard 
copy or downloaded); Auto & truck parts & accessories; Sporting 
goods (including but not limited to bicycles, treadmills, boats); CDs 
and DVDs; pet food or pet products.
Use Tax is the same rate as the State Sales Tax.  Use Tax does not 
include the local option Sales Tax.  The tax is on the selling price 
which includes shipping and handling charges.
Examples:  (1) In May 2011, you paid $200 for software delivered 
by download to your computer.  The company charged no Sales Tax.  
You owe $12 Use Tax ($200 x 6%)  (2) In July 2011, you purchased 
books from a mail-order company that shipped the books to your VT 
home.  The charge for the books was $100 plus $7.50 shipping.  The 
company did not charge the VT Sales Tax.  You owe $6.45 Use Tax 
($100 + $7.50 = $107.50 x 6%).
You may use the optional Use Tax Reporting Table that bases your 
Use Tax liability on 0.08% of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
provided that the cost of each item is less than $1,000.

If you have no Use Tax to report, leave Line 27 blank or enter 0 
(zero).
If you use the Use Tax Reporting Table, the Department will not 
assess additional Use Tax unless a purchase with a total invoice 
amount of $1,000 is unreported.
Use Tax on items purchased for a business must be reported on Form 
SU-451 or on Form SU-452 for a one-time purchase.  Businesses 
cannot use the optional Use Tax Reporting Table.
Because proof of Sales Tax paid is required to register an ATV, dirt 
bike, boat, snowmobile or airplane, use Form SU-452.  This form is 
available on the Department website, or by calling (802) 828-2515 or 
through the VT Department of Motor Vehicles.  For more information 
or assistance, call the Department at (802) 828-2551.
Line 28  Total VT Taxes  Add Lines 26 and 27 and enter result.
Section 6  Voluntary Contributions
Enter the amount on the line(s) for the fund(s) to which you wish to 
contribute.  Your refund will be reduced, or your payment increased, 
by this amount.
 Your refund or payment must cover all contribution amounts or 
no contribution is made.  Example:  Your return calculations show 
a $60 refund and you make a $30 contribution - $10 to each fund.  
Upon processing, the Department discovers a math error and your 
refund is now $25.  The refund is less than the $30 contribution.  You 
will receive the $25 as an income tax refund and no contributions are 
made. 

Line 29a  VT Nongame Wildlife Fund Contribution 
The Nongame Wildlife Fund was created to preserve our state’s 
natural wildlife heritage that makes Vermont a special and unique 

place to live. Many species benefit from your gift, including loons, 
songbirds, frogs, turtles, bald eagles and butterflies.
This is a convenient way to select wildlife for charitable giving.  This 
gift is deductible on next year’s Federal tax return as a charitable 
contribution.  Thank you for caring and giving a “voice” to many of 
VT’s rarest creatures.
To learn more, visit www.vtfishandwildlife.com  and you can receive 
a loon decal and annual newsletter featuring projects sponsored by 
the Nongame Wildlife Fund, by contacting Nongame and Natural 
Heritage Program, VT Fish & Wildlife Department, 103 South Main 
Street, Waterbury, VT 05671-0501 or call (802) 241-3700.

Line 29b  Children’s Trust Fund (VCTF) Contribution 
This fund supports community-based prevention programs for 
children in Vermont. Examples include:  after school care, parenting 
education, teen leadership, literacy programs, preschool programs, 
mentoring initiatives, and substance abuse prevention programs.  
Prevention programs help reduce the likelihood of many problems, 
such as:   child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, juvenile 
delinquency, truancy, school drop-outs, teenage pregnancy, substance 
abuse and other high-risk behaviors; all the things we hope to protect 
our children from – as individuals, and as a society.
To learn more, visit www.vtchildrenstrust.org, or call/write:  VCTF, 
19 Marble Ave, Burlington, VT 05401, (888) 475-5437.

Line 29c  VT Veterans’ Fund
The VT Veterans Fund supports our nearly 60,000 honorably 
discharged veterans.  It helps veterans who are homeless, need long-
term care, or need transportation.  It also helps veterans apply for 
benefits and supports recognition programs. You can show we care 
for our veterans by making a tax deductible contribution which will 
be used within VT.  For more information, contact VT Office of 
Veterans Affairs, 118 State St., Montpelier, VT 05620-4401 or call 
(802) 828-3379.  Thank you.
Section 7  Payments and Credits
Line 31a  From W-2, 1099, etc. 
Statements of VT Income Tax 
Withheld  Enter the amount of VT 
income tax withheld.  Attach the state 
copy of your W-2, Form 1099 or 
other payment statements to verify the 
amount.  Failure to enter the withholding on this line and to attach the 
payment statement(s) will delay processing of your return or you may 
not receive credit for the withholding against your VT tax.  NOTE:  
To claim tax withheld on a real estate sale, use Line 31e.  Nonresident 
partners, members or shareholders use Line 31f for estimated taxes 
paid on your behalf by a business entity on Form WH-435.
Line 31b  From Forms IN-114 or IN-151  2011 Estimated Tax or 
Extension Payments  Enter the amount of 2011 VT estimated income 
taxes you paid, the amount paid with Form IN-151, Extension of Time 
to File the 2011 return, and any 2010 VT refund credited towards 
2011 taxes.  Call (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in VT) or (802) 828-2865 
(local or out-of-state) or go to our website for the amount of 2011 tax 
payments the Department has on record.  See page 4 for more details 
on estimated income tax payments.   NOTE:  Nonresident partners, 
members or shareholders use Line 31f for estimated taxes paid on 
your behalf by a business entity on Form WH-435; tax withheld on a 
real estate transaction, use Line 31e.
Line 31c  VT Earned Income Tax Credit  (FOR FULL-YEAR AND 
PART-YEAR VT RESIDENTS)  Enter the amount from Schedule 
IN-112, VT Calculation B.  Attach the completed Schedule IN-112 
to Form IN-111.
Line 31d  Renter Rebate  (FOR 
FULL-YEAR VT RESIDENTS 
ONLY) If you are filing the Renter 
Rebate Claim with the income 
tax return, enter the renter rebate 
amount from Form PR-141, Line 9.  
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NO Use Tax is due on 
purchases of food, clothing, 
medical prescription drugs, or 
newspapers.!

USE TAX REPORTING TABLE

	$10,000	 -	 24,999	 $10.00
	$25,000	 -	 34,999	 $20.00
	$35,000	 -	 49,999	 $28.00
	$50,000	 -	 64,999	 $40.00
	$65,000	 -	 79,999	 $52.00
	$80,000	 -	 99,999	 $65.00
Over $99,999		  Multiply by 0.08%

NOTE:  For each purchase 
with a total invoice amount 
of $1,000 or more, the use 
tax must be calculated 
exactly.  If also using the 
Use Tax Reporting table, 
add the table amount to the 
calculated amount. 

Adjusted Gross Income 
Form IN-111, Line 10 is:	 Use Tax is:

To get credit  for 
V T  w i t h h o l d i n g , 
you must enter the 
amount on Line 31a.!

The Renter Rebate from 
Line 31d can be refunded 
or used to pay 2011 VT 
tax.  It cannot be applied to 
2012 income taxes.

!

http://www.vtfishandwildlife.com
http://www.vtchidlrenstrust.org/


NOTE:  The Renter Rebate Claim is not required to be filed with the 
income tax form. 
Line 31e  From Form RW-171, VT Real Estate Withholding  If 
you sold real estate in VT during 2011 and the buyer withheld VT 
income tax from the sales price, enter the amount withheld shown 
on Form RW-171, VT Withholding Tax Return for Transfer of Real 
Property, Schedule A, Line 12.  Include a copy of the first two pages 
of your Federal income tax return and any Federal schedule that 
documents the income or loss from the VT sale.  Do not enter this 
amount on Line 31a or 31b.
NOTE:  It is the Tax Department’s practice to allocate real estate 
withholding in proportion to each seller’s share of the proceeds. 
If you claim a credit of Vermont real estate withholding on your 
Vermont Income Tax return that is not proportionate to your share 
of the proceeds as reported on your Federal Income Tax Return, the 
Department may adjust the amount of real estate withholding claimed 
on your Vermont Income Tax Return. If you believe you are entitled to 
claim real estate withholding in an amount that is not proportionate to 
your share of the proceeds, please provide supporting documentation.
For installment sales:  You must report the balance of your gain to 
VT on future returns or elect to pay VT 6% tax on the entire gain in 
the year of the sale.  If you choose the 6% tax, include a letter with 
the return asking for the “6% Tax Elect Out for VT Purposes”, attach 
a copy of Federal Form 6252, and do not include the gain from the 
sale on Schedule IN-113, Line 7.  Call (802) 828-2776 if you need 
assistance completing this portion of the VT return.
Line 31f From Form WH-435, Estimated Payments Made on 
Your Behalf by a Business Entity Payments for Nonresident 
Partner, Member, or Shareholder  (NONRESIDENTS ONLY) 
Enter the estimated income tax payments made on your behalf by a 
partnership, limited liability company, or S corporation toward your 
2011 VT income tax.  The entity would have made these payments on 
Form WH-435.  If the payments exceed your VT income tax liability, 
you may be entitled to a refund.  Title 32 V.S.A. §§5914 and 5920 
allow the entity, at its option, to recover any excess payment from 
you.  You may wish to contact the entity to determine if a composite 
filing has been done or is required. Call (802) 828-5723 if you need 
information on WH-435 payments.  See Technical Bulletins 5 & 6.  
Do not enter this amount on Line 31a or 31b.
Line 31g  Low Income Child & Dependent Care Credit  (FULL 
YEAR VT RESIDENTS ONLY)   If care expenses are from both 
accredited and nonaccredited providers, complete this worksheet to 
calculate the credit.

Eligible taxpayers receive 50% of the Federal Child and Dependent 
Care Credit as a VT income tax credit instead of the 24% credit from 
Schedule IN-112.  Taxpayers must meet the following requirements:
	 •	 Income of
		  -	 less than $30,000 Federal Adjusted Gross Income for 

taxpayers filing as Single, Head of Household, Married 
Filing Separately, Civil Union Filing Separately, or,

		  -	 less than $40,000 Federal Adjusted Gross Income for 
taxpayers filing as Married Filing Jointly, Civil Union Filing 
Jointly, Qualified Widow(er)

and
	 •	 Care in 2011 provided by a home or facility accredited by the 

VT Agency of Human Services.  Include a copy of your Federal 
Form 2441.  To determine if your care provider is accredited, 
go to the Department’s website at http://tax.vermont.gov or 
call (800) 649-2642.

Line 31h  Total Payments and Credits  Add Lines 31a through 31g 
and enter result.
Section 8  Refund
Line 32  Overpayment  If Line 30 is less than Line 31h, you have a 
refund.  Subtract Line 30 from Line 31h and enter result here.  This is 
the amount by which your payments and credits exceed your income 
tax, use tax and voluntary contribution entries.  You can apply all or a 
portion of the overpayment towards 2012 estimated payment or your 
property tax bill.
Line 33a  Credit to 2012 Estimated Tax Payment  Enter the amount 
of refund from Line 32 you want credited toward your 2012 income 
tax.  Your income refund will be reduced by this amount.
Line 33b  Credit to 2012 Homestead Property Tax Bill  If your 
property is a declared homestead  and you filed the 2011 income tax 
return on or before September 4, 2012, you may elect to use all or part 
of your refund to pay your homestead property tax bill. Your income 
refund will be reduced by this amount.  The State will include an 
additional 1% to the refund credited to your property taxes. 
Line 34  Refund Amount  Subtract Lines 33a and 33b from Line 32 
and enter the result.  This is the amount of the refund to be sent to you.  
If you owe interest and penalty for underpayment of estimated income 
tax payment, this amount will be subtracted from the refund.  Direct 
deposit is available for electronically filed returns.  NOTE:  If you 
owe taxes or a debt to another state agency, all or part of the refund 
may be taken to pay the bill.  See page 5 for information on offset of 
income tax refunds. 
Section 9  Amount You Owe
Line 35  If Line 30 is more than Line 31h.   Subtract Line 31h from 
Line 30 and enter result. 
Line 36  Interest and Penalty on Underpayment of or Failure to 
Make Estimated Tax Payments  Paying charges at the time of filing 
may reduce the amount of charges that would be billed later.  Use 
Worksheet IN-152 or IN-152A, available on our website, to calculate 
the charges.  The paper worksheets can be obtained by calling 
(802) 828-2515.  If you have a refund, the interest and penalty will be 
deducted.  See page 4 for more information and examples.
Line 37  Total  Add Lines 35 and 36.  Enter amount.  This is the 
amount you owe.     
Payment options are:
- Credit card (a service fee may apply), go to  
	 https://secure.vermont.gov/vtpay/user
- ACH debit is available for electronically filed returns.  
- Check or money order payable to VT Department of Taxes.  

FINANCIAL DIFFICULTIES 
If you cannot pay your entire VT income tax, file the return on 
time and pay as much as you can.  Then immediately write to the 
Department to apply for a payment plan.  Do not include this request 
with your return.  Send the request to:  VT Department of Taxes, 
ATTN:  Compliance, PO Box 429, Montpelier, VT  05601-0429.
You may be asked for financial information to determine the 
appropriate installment payments.  Without a payment plan, unpaid 
income tax results in collection action that may include placement 
with a commercial collection agency, liens on your property, legal 
action, or loss or suspension of a professional license.
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1.	 Accredited care provider amount . . . . . .       1.________________________
	
2.	 Total care amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   2.________________________
	
3.	 Divide Line 1 by Line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . .               3.________________________

$___________ x __________ = $___________ x 50% =  $ ____________
	 Federal Credit	 Line 3 above	 Eligible Credit	 Low Income Credit
	 (1040, Line 48;			   IN-111, Line 31g.
	 1040A, Line 29)			 
You may wish to also calculate your VT tax credit using 24% of the full Federal credit 
and compare to the credit calculated on this worksheet to determine which credit is 
best for you.  NOTE:  You cannot take both credits.

LOW INCOME CHILD & DEPENDENT CARE 
WORKSHEET

https://secure.vermont.gov/vtpay/user


Section 10  Signatures  
Signature  REQUIRED entry.  Sign the return in the space provided.  
If filing this form jointly, both filers must sign. 
Date  Write the date on which the form was signed.
Occupation  Enter your occupation.  If filing jointly, enter both filers’ 
occupations.
Age   Check this box at the applicable signature line if age 65 or 
older on December 31, 2011.
Disclosure Authorization  If you wish to give the Department 
authorization to discuss the information on your 2011 VT income 
tax return with your tax preparer,  check this box and include the 
preparer’s name.
Preparer  If you are a paid preparer, you must also sign the return, 
enter your Social Security Number or PTIN and, if employed by a 
business, the EIN of the business.  If someone other than the filer(s) 
prepared the return without charging a fee, then that preparer’s 
signature is optional.
FILING THE RETURN
efile:  
Go to our web at http://tax.vermont.gov for information on electronic 
filing.  Some taxpayers may be eligible for FREE preparation and 
electronic filing of their return.  
Paper Filing:  
If you expect a refund or no tax is due - from the booklet, place the 
white address label on the envelope or use your own envelope.  If you 
do not have an address label, mail the return to VT Department of 
Taxes, PO Box 1881, Montpelier, VT 05601-1881.
If you owe tax - staple the check to the lower left side of the return.  
From the tax booklet, place the pink address label on the envelope or 
your own envelope.  If you do not have an address label, mail to VT 
Department of Taxes, PO Box 1779, Montpelier, VT 05601-1179. 
FOLLOW THE PROCESSING OF YOUR RETURN
You can track your return by calling 1-866-828-2865 (in-state 
calls) or 802-828-2865 (local or out-of-state calls) OR by going to  
https://secure.vermont.gov/TAX/refund  

SCHEDULE IN-112   
VT TAX ADJUSTMENTS and CREDITS

WHO MUST FILE SCHEDULE IN-112
You must file Schedule IN-112 if you: 

•	 Have interest income from state and local obligations (VT 
Calculation A Part I)

•	 Have adjustments to your Vermont Tax (VT Calculation A 
Part II)

•	 Can claim the Vermont Earned Income Tax Credit (VT 
Calculation B)

•	 Are claiming Vermont Income Tax Credits (VT 
Calculation C)

Print your name and social security number on this schedule.  Use 
blue or black ink to make all entries. 
VT Calculation A  Adjustments to VT Income 
Part I  Income from State and Local Obligations
INTEREST AND DIVIDEND INCOME FROM NON-VT STATE 
AND LOCAL OBLIGATIONS ARE TAXABLE IN VT.  A VT 
obligation is one from the State of VT or a VT municipality.
Line 1  Enter the total interest and dividend income received from all 
state and local obligations exempted from Federal tax. 
Line 2  Enter the interest and dividend income from VT obligations.  
This may have been paid directly to you or through a mutual fund 
or other legal entity that invests in VT state and local obligations. If 

you receive this income from a mutual fund that has only a portion 
of its assets invested in VT state and local obligations, enter only the 
amount for the VT obligation(s).
Line 3  Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 
12a.  This is the amount of interest and dividend income from non-
VT state and local obligations that must be included in VT Taxable 
Income. 
 Part II Adjustments to VT Tax
Additions to VT Tax
Line 4  Tax on Qualified Plans and tax favored accounts, including 
IRA, HSA and MSA.
Line 5  Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit from Federal 
Form 4255. 
Line 6  Tax on lump sum distributions from Federal Form 4972.
Line 7  Add Lines 4 through 6 and enter result.
Line 8  Multiply Line 7 by 24% and enter result. 
Line 9  Recapture of Vermont tax credit(s).  Recapture occurs when 
a previously claimed credit is changed.  Contact the Department at 
(866) 828-2865 (toll-free in VT) or (802) 828-2865 (local or out-of-
state) for information on calculating the recapture amount. 
Line 10  Add Lines 8 and 9.  Also enter result on Form IN-111, 
Line 17.
Subtractions from VT Tax
Line 11  Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses from 
Federal Form 1040, Line 48; 1040A, Line 29.  Do not use this line if 
you qualify for the Low Income Child and Dependent Care Credit.  If 
the Federal tax credit is based on care provided by accredited and non-
accredited providers, complete the Low Income Child & Dependent 
Care Worksheet on page 10 to determine if the Low Income credit 
or 24% of the total Federal tax credit is more beneficial to you.  You 
cannot take both credits.
Line 12  Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled from Federal 
Schedule R.
Line 13  Investment Tax Credit from Form 3468.  This credit is 
limited to the amount of investment tax credit attributable to the 
VT-property portion.  This line includes 24% of the VT-based 
business solar energy investment.  See Line 17 to claim the remaining 
76% for a VT-based business solar energy investment.
Line 14  VT Farm Income Averaging Credit  This credit is available 
to farmers who calculate Federal tax using Federal Schedule J.  
Complete the worksheet below.

Line 15  Add Lines 11 through 14.
Line 16  Multiply Line 15 by 24% and enter result. 
Line 17  VT-Based Business Solar Energy Investment Credit (as 
defined by Section 48 of Internal Revenue Code).  For Tax Year 2011, 
VT allows 100% of the Federal credit, with certain restrictions, for a 
VT-based business solar energy investment.  On Line 13, taxpayers  
report the Federal investment tax credit for a VT-based business solar 
energy investment.  Twenty-four percent of the investment tax credits 
are calculated on Line 16.  On Line 17, taxpayers report the remaining 
76% of the credit. NOTE:  For VT-based business solar energy 
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1.	 Calculate and enter here Federal income tax using Federal
	 Schedule D, Federal Schedule D Worksheet, or Federal 
	 tax rate schedules as if Schedule J was not used..  1. $______________
		  less
2.	 Enter Federal tax from Federal Schedule J Line 23.2. $______________
3.	 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.  This is your VT Farm
	 Income Averaging Credit.  Enter the result on
	 Schedule IN-112, Part II, Line 14. . . . . . . . . . . . . .               3. $______________

VT FARM INCOME AVERAGING WORKSHEET

http://tax.vermont.gov
https://secure.vermont.gov/TAX/refund


investment made on or after October 1, 2009, the credit is limited 
to project costs not covered by grants or similar funding from any 
public or private program that assists in providing capital investment 
for a renewable energy project.  For credits initially claimed for 2011, 
a certificate from the Clean Energy Development Board must be 
submitted with your return. (For more information about the Business 
Solar Tax Credit Certificate, contact the Clean Energy Development 
Board.)
Unused VT-based business solar energy investment tax credit may 
be carried forward no more than five years following the year the 
credit is claimed (retroactive to credit claimed in tax year 2008).  See 
Technical Bulletin 45 on our website under “Publications”.  
Line 18  Add Lines 16 and 17.  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 19.
VT Calculation B  VT Earned Income Tax Credit  (FOR FULL-
YEAR AND PART-YEAR VT RESIDENTS ONLY)
Taxpayers Not Eligible for credit:
	 •	 Nonresidents of VT
	 •	 Those with filing status of Married Filing Separately or Civil 

Union Filing Separately
	 •	 Those not eligible to receive the Federal Earned Income Tax 

Credit
Supporting Documents Required:  Evidence of earned income such 
as W-2 or self-employment schedule(s).  Part-Year Residents must 
also file Schedule IN-113.
Complete the Federal earned income tax credit worksheet before 
doing the VT calculation.  A taxpayer must be allowed the Federal 
earned income tax credit to be eligible for the VT earned income tax 
credit.  Vermont uses the Federal earned income tax credit definitions 
and rules.
 Eligibility questions A and B must be answered.  The claim will be 
disallowed if the questions are not answered.
For Line 1 or Line 7:  Use entry from Federal Form 1040, Line 64a; 
or Form 1040A, Line 38a; or Form 1040EZ, Line 8a.
Full-Year Residents Only
Line 1  Enter the amount of your Federal earned income tax credit.
Line 2  Multiply Line 1 by 32%. Enter the result and also enter on 
Form IN-111, Line 31c.  This is your VT earned income tax credit.
Part-Year Residents Only
Line 3  Enter the amount of wages, salaries, tips, etc. from Schedule 
IN-113, Part I, Line 1, Columns A and B respectively.
Line 4  Other earned income includes income from a business, 
partnership, or farm.  Add the amounts on Schedule IN-113, Part I, 
Lines 6, 10, and 12, Columns A and B respectively. 
Line 5, Column A  Add Lines 3 and 4 in Column A and enter result.
Line 5, Column B  Add Lines 3 and 4 in Column B and enter result.
Line 6  Divide Line 5, Column B by Line 5, Column A.  Enter the 
result as a percentage carried out to two decimal places.  This is the 
percentage of 2011 income earned in VT that is eligible for the VT 
earned income tax credit.
	 Example	 $1,200 (Line 5, Column B)	 =  .3636 or 36.36% 
			   $3,300 (Line 5, Column A)  
	 NOTE:  Adjustment can never be more than 100.00%.
Line 7  Enter the amount of your Federal earned income tax credit.
Line 8  Multiply Line 7 by 32% and enter result.
Line 9  Multiply Line 8 by Line 6. Enter the result and also enter on 
Form IN-111, Line 31c.  This is your VT earned income tax credit.

VT Calculation C  VT Income Tax Credits
Line 1  VT Higher Education Investment Plan (VHEIP) 
The credit is available only for contributions to the 529 plan 
administered by VT Student Assistance Corporation.  See Technical 
Bulletin 33 on our website under “Publications”.
You may be eligible for a tax credit on contributions made during 
calendar year 2011 to the VT Student Assistance Corporation higher 
education investment plan.  The tax credit equals 10% of the first 
$2,500 of contributions per beneficiary.  For jointly filed returns, each 
spouse can contribute to a beneficiary’s account and each spouse may 
claim the credit for his or her contributions.  Contributions made by 
another person not listed as the account owner (except spouses filing 
jointly) are not eligible for the credit.

Example:  Canute and Olga, husband and wife, file a joint 
income tax return.  Canute opens a VHEIP account for Junior, 
a grandchild, with a $2,500 contribution in 2011.  Canute 
also opens a VHEIP account for Sissy, a grandchild, with 
a $1,000 contribution in 2011.  Olga contributes $1,000 to 
Junior’s account and contributes $3,000 to Sissy’s account.  
The total tax credit is $700.  Attributable to Canute’s 
contribution is $350 (10% of $2,500 to Junior’s account 
and 10% of $1,000 to Sissy’s account; attributable to Olga’s 
contribution is $350 (10% of $1,000 to Junior’s account 
and 10% of $2,500 maximum for Sissy).  The contributions 
may come from the spouse’s joint bank account or their 
individual accounts.
Example:  Ollie and Lena, husband and wife, use married 
filing separate status. Ollie opens a VHEIP account for 
Olaf, his son, with a $2,500 contribution in 2011.  Ollie 
also opens a VHEIP account for Frieda, his daughter, with a 
$1,000 in 2011.  Lena contributes $1,000 to Olaf’s account 
and $3,000 to Frieda’s account.  Ollie’s tax credit is $350 
(10% of $1,000 + 10% of $2,500 max).  Since Lena is not 
a named account holder and filing separately, she cannot 
claim a credit.
Example:  Briget opens an account for Arkin, her son.  She 
contributes $2,500 to the account in 2011.  Uncle Jim also 
makes a $1,000 contribution to Arkin’s account.  Briget’s 
contribution provides a $250 tax credit for her.  Since Uncle 
Jim is not the owner of the account, he cannot claim a credit. 

For more information on the VT Higher Education Investment plan, 
go to the VSAC website at www.vsac.org or call (800) 637-5860 
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Taxpayers receiving tax credit for Lines 2 - 5 through 
S corporations, LLCs, LLPs, or partnerships, enter the name of 
each entity and its FEIN on the schedule.
Line 2  Commercial Film Production  A taxpayer may receive a 
credit against VT income tax if the taxpayer’s state of residence also 
taxes income received from a dramatic performance in a commercial 
film production.  The credit equals the difference between the income 
taxed at the VT tax rate and the income taxed at the other state’s 
highest personal income tax rate. 
Line 3  Charitable Housing  A taxpayer making an investment in an 
eligible housing charity may receive a credit against VT income tax.  
The credit is the difference between the net income that would have 
been earned by the charitable threshold rate and the actual net income 
received, but not more than 3% of the average outstanding principal 
balance of the investment during the taxable year.  The Commissioner 
of Housing and Community Affairs calculates the credit.
Line 4  Qualified Sale of Mobile Home Park  A taxpayer may 
receive a credit against VT income tax equal to 7% of the taxpayer’s 
gain subject to Federal income tax on a qualified sale of a mobile 
home park.  A qualified sale means the sale is made to a group made 
up of a majority of the mobile home park tenants or to a nonprofit 
organization representing such group.  Credit exceeding the tax 
liability may be carried forward for up to three years.
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Line 5  Veteran Business Credit    A “recently deployed veteran” 
(as defined by 32 V.S.A. §5930nn(d)(4)) may be eligible for a $2,000 
credit against VT personal income tax for the expenses associated with 
a start-up business in VT (as defined by 32 V.S.A. §5930nn(d)(1)), 
provided the business shows a net profit of at least $3,000 in the year 
the credit is claimed.  The recently deployed veteran must be a 50% or 
more owner of the start-up business.  For more information, please go 
to our web site at http://tax.vermont.gov or call 1-866-828-2865 (toll 
free in VT) or 802-828-2865 (local or out-of-state calls).    
Line 6  Total Credits  Add entries from Lines 1-5 in Column C.  
Enter on Form IN-111, Line 24, unless you claim income tax credits 
on Schedule IN-119.  For Schedule IN-119 filers, enter credit on the 
appropriate Schedule IN-119 line(s).  Use amount calculated from 
Schedule IN-119 for entry on Form IN-111, Line 24.

SCHEDULE IN-113   
INCOME ADJUSTMENT

Supporting Documents Required:  Copies of pages 1 and 2 of Federal 
income tax return and any Federal schedules reporting VT income or 
loss. 
 If you recomputed the Federal return for VT purposes only, use the 
recomputed amounts and send a copy of the Federal income tax return 
filed with the IRS and the recomputed return for VT tax purposes. 
WHO MUST FILE IN-113-You must file Schedule IN-113 if you 
are a nonresident or part-year resident and had VT income or a VT 
resident claiming income exempt from VT income tax: 
Nonresident:  Complete both Parts I and II to determine the allocation 
of Vermont income. See page 6 for a definition of nonresident VT 
income.
Resident:  Complete Part II to adjust for the following income 
exempt from VT income tax:  military pay, Federal Employment 
Opportunity Income, railroad retirement income, income for support 
of developmentally disabled persons, Federal credit for VT portion of 
expenses to meet Americans with Disability, nonresident commercial 
film income, or bond/note income from qualified investments.

NOTE:  A return filed as Married Filing Jointly by a VT 
resident with a spouse who is not a VT resident and had 
no VT income cannot use Part I of Schedule IN-113.  The 
income tax paid by the non-resident spouse is a credit  for 
income taxes paid to another tax jurisdiction.  See Schedule 
IN-117, and Technical Bulletin #55.

Part-Year Resident:  Part-Year Residents may, in some cases, be 
able to adjust VT income by both the VT percentage of income and 
claim a credit for income tax paid to another tax jurisdiction. The 
income tax paid must be for income earned in VT while a VT resident.  
See page 6 for a definition of part-year VT income.
 For Married Filing Separately or Civil Union Filing Separately, all 
income of the individual filing must be included in Column A -- not 
just VT income.  The adjustment calculation excludes the non-VT 
income.
PART I  (For Nonresidents and some Part-Year VT Residents)
Unless otherwise indicated in the line instruction, the VT portion is 
the income received from VT or received while a VT resident. 
Lines 1 - 15, Column A  Enter the income for these categories as 
shown on your Federal income tax return.
NOTE:	 For Line 3A - Use amount from 1040, Line 9a or 1040A, 

Line 9a.
		  For Lines 6A, 10A, and 12A - Use amount from Federal K-1 

before recalculation for exclusion of bonus depreciation.
		  For Line 13A - Use amount reported on Federal income tax 

return.
		  For Line 15A - Use amounts from 1040, Lines 14 and 21.

Nonresidents:  Use this line to adjust for non-VT state and 
local obligations and U.S. obligation interest.

Line 15, Column A  Examples of other income:  gambling winnings 
including lotteries, raffles or lump-sum payment from sale of right 
to receive future lottery annuity; reimbursement this year for items 
itemized last year such as medical expenses; interest; income from 
rental of personal property; taxable distributions from Coverdell ESA 
or Qualified Tuition Plan, medical savings account or Archer MSA.
Lines 1 - 15, Column B  Enter the VT portion for these categories 
from your Federal income tax return.
NOTE:	 For Line 3B - Use the amount of ordinary dividends 

received while a VT resident.
		  For Lines 6B, 10B, and 12B - Use amount from K-1VT 

before recalculation for exclusion of bonus depreciation.
	 	 For Line 13B - Use amount received while a VT resident.  

See instructions for Line 17B for examples of how to calculate 
the VT portion.

		  For Line 15B - Use the amount of other income earned or 
received from 1040, Lines 14 and 21 from Vermont sources.

Nonresidents:  Use this line to adjust for non-VT state and 
local obligations and U.S. obligation interest.

Line 15, Column B  Enter the portion of Other Income earned or 
received from VT sources. 
Line 17, Column A  Enter the Federal adjustment for Keogh, SEP, 
or SIMPLE deduction from 1040 Line 28; IRA deduction from 1040, 
Line 32 or 1040A, Line 17.
Line 17, Column B  Enter the VT portion.  This is determined by 
using the percentage of VT earned income to the amount of earned 
income reported on the Federal return.  Examples:  (1) Charles moves 
to VT in July.  His total Federal wages are $20,000.  Charles is a VT 
resident for six months.  He earned $10,000 in VT.  The VT portion 
is 50% as he earned 50% of his income in VT.  Charles has an IRA 
deduction of $1,000.  The amount to enter in this column is 50% of 
$1,000 or $500.  For a joint return, use the same allocation method, 
but do a separate calculation for each spouse.  (2) Charlene lives in 
NH and earns her income in VT.  Her total Federal and VT wages are 
$20,000 with an IRA deduction of $1,000.  The amount to enter in this 
column is $1,000.  (3) Chuck lives in NH and earns income in VT.  
His total Federal wages are $20,000 with $15,000 from VT.  He has 
a $1,000 IRA deduction.  The amount to enter in this column is 75% 
($15,000/$20,000) of $1,000 or $750.
See examples for Line 17, Column B for proration of deductions to 
VT for Lines 18, 19, 21, 23, 24, and 26.
Line 18, Column A  Enter the amount for Student Loan Interest from 
1040, Line 33 or 1040A, Line 18.
Line 18, Column B  Enter the portion of Student Loan Interest paid 
while a VT resident.
Line 19, Column A  Enter the amount of expenses for reservists, 
performing artists or fee-basis government officials from 1040, 
Line 24. 
Line 19, Column B  Enter the portion of the Employee Deductions 
paid or incurred while a VT resident.
Line 20, Column A  Enter the combined amounts of self-employment 
tax from 1040, Line 27; self-employed health insurance from 1040, 
Line 29.
Line 20, Column B  Enter the VT portion of these self-employment 
deductions.  Entries are based on where tax or insurance was imposed.
Line 21, Column A  Enter the deduction amount for Health Savings 
Account from 1040, Line 25.
Line 21, Column B  Enter the VT portion paid while a VT resident.
Line 22, Column A  Enter the amount for moving expenses from 
1040, Line 26. 
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	 VT 	   
	SCHOOL	 SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
	 CODE	
	 001  	 ADDISON  
	 002  	 ALBANY
	 003  	 ALBURGH
	 004  	 ANDOVER
	 005  	 ARLINGTON 
	 006  	 ATHENS 
	 255	 AVERILL 
	 256	 AVERY’S GORE 
	 007  	 BAKERSFIELD
	 008  	 BALTIMORE
	 009  	 BARNARD 
	 010  	 BARNET
	 011  	 BARRE CITY 
	 012  	 BARRE TOWN
	 013  	 BARTON
	 014  	 BELVIDERE
	 015  	 BENNINGTON 
	 016  	 BENSON 
	 017  	 BERKSHIRE 
	 018  	 BERLIN
	 019  	 BETHEL 
	 020  	 BLOOMFIELD
	 021  	 BOLTON  
	 022  	 BRADFORD
	 023  	 BRAINTREE
	 024  	 BRANDON 
	 025  	 BRATTLEBORO
	 026  	 BRIDGEWATER 
	 027  	 BRIDPORT
	 028  	 BRIGHTON
	 029  	 BRISTOL 
	 030  	 BROOKFIELD 
	 031  	 BROOKLINE 
	 032  	 BROWNINGTON
	 033  	 BRUNSWICK
	 252  	 BUEL’S GORE
	 034  	 BURKE 
	 035  	 BURLINGTON 
	 036  	 CABOT
	 037  	 CALAIS 
	 038  	 CAMBRIDGE
	 039  	 CANAAN 
	 040  	 CASTLETON
	 041  	 CAVENDISH
	 042  	 CHARLESTON
	 043  	 CHARLOTTE 
	 044  	 CHELSEA
	 045  	 CHESTER
	 046  	 CHITTENDEN
	 047  	 CLARENDON
	 048  	 COLCHESTER
	 049  	 CONCORD
	 050  	 CORINTH
	 051  	 CORNWALL
	 052  	 COVENTRY
	 053  	 CRAFTSBURY
	 054  	 DANBY
	 055  	 DANVILLE 
	 056  	 DERBY 
	 057  	 DORSET
	 058  	 DOVER 
	 059  	 DUMMERSTON
	 060  	 DUXBURY 
	 061  	 EAST HAVEN
	 062  	 EAST MONTPELIER
	 063  	 EDEN

	 VT 	   
	SCHOOL	 SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
	 CODE	
	 064  	 ELMORE 
	 065  	 ENOSBURG
	 066  	 ESSEX JUNCTION
	 067  	 ESSEX TOWN
	 070  	 FAIR HAVEN
	 068  	 FAIRFAX
	 069  	 FAIRFIELD
	 071  	 FAIRLEE
	 072  	 FAYSTON 
	 257	 FERDINAND
	 073  	 FERRISBURGH
	 074  	 FLETCHER
	 075  	 FRANKLIN 
	 076  	 GEORGIA
	 258	 GLASTENBURY 
	 077  	 GLOVER
	 078  	 GOSHEN
	 079  	 GRAFTON
	 080  	 GRANBY
	 081  	 GRAND ISLE
	 082  	 GRANVILLE
	 083  	 GREENSBORO
	 084  	 GROTON
	 085  	 GUILDHALL
	 086  	 GUILFORD
	 087  	 HALIFAX
	 088  	 HANCOCK
	 089  	 HARDWICK
	 090  	 HARTFORD 
	 091  	 HARTLAND
	 092  	 HIGHGATE
	 093  	 HINESBURG
	 094  	 HOLLAND
	 095  	 HUBBARDTON 
	 096  	 HUNTINGTON
	 097  	 HYDE PARK
	 098  	 IRA
	 099  	 IRASBURG
	 100  	 ISLE LA MOTTE 
	 101  	 JAMAICA
	 102  	 JAY
	 103  	 JERICHO
	 253  	 JERICHO ID
	 104  	 JOHNSON
	 185  	 KILLINGTON
	 105  	 KIRBY
	 106  	 LANDGROVE
	 107  	 LEICESTER
	 108  	 LEMINGTON 
	 259	 LEWIS
	 109  	 LINCOLN  
	 110  	 LONDONDERRY
	 111  	 LOWELL  
	 112  	 LUDLOW 
	 113  	 LUNENBURG
	 114  	 LYNDON  
	 115  	 MAIDSTONE
	 116  	 MANCHESTER
	 117  	 MARLBORO
	 118  	 MARSHFIELD
	 119  	 MENDON 
	 120  	 MIDDLEBURY
	 121  	 MIDDLESEX
	 122  	 MIDDLETOWN SPRINGS
	 123  	 MILTON   
	 124  	 MONKTON

	 VT 	   
	SCHOOL	 SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
	 CODE	
	 125  	 MONTGOMERY
	 126	 MONTPELIER
	 127  	 MORETOWN
	 128  	 MORGAN 
	 129  	 MORRISTOWN
	 130  	 MOUNT HOLLY
	 131  	 MOUNT TABOR
	 135  	 NEW HAVEN
	 132  	 NEWARK 
	 133  	 NEWBURY
	 134  	 NEWFANE
	 136  	 NEWPORT CITY
	 137  	 NEWPORT TOWN
	 138  	 NORTH BENNINGTON ID
	 140  	 NORTH HERO    
	 139  	 NORTHFIELD
	 141  	 NORTON  
	 142  	 NORWICH
	 143  	 ORANGE 
	 144  	 ORLEANS
	 145  	 ORWELL 
	 146  	 PANTON  
	 147  	 PAWLET  
	 148  	 PEACHAM
	 149  	 PERU      
	 150  	 PITTSFIELD
	 151  	 PITTSFORD
	 152  	 PLAINFIELD
	 153  	 PLYMOUTH
	 154  	 POMFRET
	 155  	 POULTNEY
	 156  	 POWNAL 
	 157  	 PROCTOR
	 158  	 PUTNEY  
	 159  	 RANDOLPH
	 160  	 READING 
	 161  	 READSBORO
	 162  	 RICHFORD
	 163  	 RICHMOND
	 164  	 RIPTON   
	 165  	 ROCHESTER
	 166  	 ROCKINGHAM
	 167  	 ROXBURY
	 168  	 ROYALTON
	 169  	 RUPERT
	 170  	 RUTLAND CITY
	 171  	 RUTLAND TOWN
	 172  	 RYEGATE
	 173  	 SAINT ALBANS CITY
	 174  	 SAINT ALBANS TOWN
	 175  	 SAINT GEORGE
	 176  	 SAINT JOHNSBURY
	 177  	 SALISBURY
	 178  	 SANDGATE
	 179  	 SEARSBURG
	 180  	 SHAFTSBURY
	 254  	 SHAFTSBURY ID
	 181  	 SHARON 
	 182  	 SHEFFIELD
	 183  	 SHELBURNE
	 184  	 SHELDON
	 186  	 SHOREHAM
	 187  	 SHREWSBURY
	 260	 SOMERSET
	 188  	 SOUTH BURLINGTON
	 189  	 SOUTH HERO    

	 VT 	   
	SCHOOL	 SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
	 CODE	
	 190  	 SPRINGFIELD
	 191  	 STAMFORD
	 192	 STANNARD
	 193	 STARKSBORO
	 194	 STOCKBRIDGE
	 195  	 STOWE   
	 196  	 STRAFFORD
	 197  	 STRATTON
	 198  	 SUDBURY
	 199  	 SUNDERLAND
	 200  	 SUTTON  
	 201  	 SWANTON
	 202  	 THETFORD
	 203  	 TINMOUTH
	 204  	 TOPSHAM
	 205  	 TOWNSHEND
	 206  	 TROY      
	 207  	 TUNBRIDGE
	 208  	 UNDERHILL ID
	 209  	 UNDERHILL TOWN
	 210  	 VERGENNES
	 211  	 VERNON 
	 212  	 VERSHIRE
	 213  	 VICTORY 
	 214  	 WAITSFIELD
	 215  	 WALDEN 
	 216  	 WALLINGFORD
	 217  	 WALTHAM
	 218  	 WARDSBORO
	 261	 WARNER’S GRANT
	 219  	 WARREN 
	 262	 WARREN’S GORE
	 220  	 WASHINGTON
	 221  	 WATERBURY
	 222  	 WATERFORD
	 223  	 WATERVILLE
	 224  	 WEATHERSFIELD
	 225  	 WELLS    
	 226  	 WELLS RIVER
	 227  	 WEST FAIRLEE
	 230  	 WEST HAVEN 
	 234  	 WEST RUTLAND
	 235  	 WEST WINDSOR
	 228  	 WESTFIELD
	 229  	 WESTFORD
	 231  	 WESTMINSTER
	 232  	 WESTMORE
	 233  	 WESTON 
	 236  	 WEYBRIDGE
	 237  	 WHEELOCK
	 238  	 WHITING  
	 239  	 WHITINGHAM
	 240  	 WILLIAMSTOWN
	 241  	 WILLISTON
	 242  	 WILMINGTON
	 243  	 WINDHAM
	 244  	 WINDSOR
	 245  	 WINHALL 
	 246  	 WINOOSKI
	 247  	 WOLCOTT
	 248  	 WOODBURY
	 249  	 WOODFORD
	 250  	 WOODSTOCK
	 251  	 WORCESTER

VT SCHOOL DISTRICT CODES
	 Homeowners:   For Form IN-111, use the school district code where you owned and resided on December 31, 2011.  For Form HS-145, use 
the school district code where you own and reside on April 1, 2012.  
	 Renters:  Use the school district code where you rented on December 31, 2011.  Check with your landlord or local school officials if you are 
not sure which code to use.   Enter the school district code on Form IN-111 (if you are required to file that form) and Form PR-141. 
	 Nonresidents:  Enter 999 for the school district code on Form IN-111.



10.	 ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (Federal Form 1040–Line 37; 1040A–Line 21; 1040EZ–Line 4). 	 10. 

11.	 FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME  (Federal Form 1040–Line 43; 1040A–Line 27;  
	 1040EZ–Line 6)  If the Federal amount is zero, see instructions on page 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	 11.

ADDITIONS:
12a.	 Income from Non-VT State and Local Obligations (Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part I, Line 3)	 12a.

12b.	 Bonus Depreciation for 2011 allowed under Small Business Jobs Act of 2010. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     12b.

12c.	 Add Back of State and Local Income Taxes (Schedule IN-154, Line 10). . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	 12c.

13.	 FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME WITH ADDITIONS (Add Lines 11, 12a, 12b, and 12c) . . . .   	 13.

SUBTRACTIONS:
14a.	 Interest Income from U.S. Obligations . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   14a.

14b.	 Capital Gains Exclusion (From Schedule IN-153, Line 22). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    14b.

14c.	 Adjustment for 2008, 2009 & 2010 Bonus Depreciation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     14c.

14d.	 Add Lines 14a, 14b, and 14c. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             14d.

15.	 VT TAXABLE INCOME 
	 (Subtract Line 14d from Line 13.  If Line 14d is more than Line 13, enter zero.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     15.

State2.  City/Town of Legal Residence on 12/31/20111.  VT School District Code

InitialTaxpayer’s 
Last Name

First 
Name

Mailing Address 
(Number and Street/ 
Road or PO Box)

City/Town
ZIP 
Code -State

Initial
Spouse or 
CU Partner 
Last Name

First 
Name

9.	 EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED (Federal Form 1040–Line 6d; 1040A–Line 6d; 1040EZ/1040NR-EZ–enter 0, 1, or 2). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         9.

15

PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK DEPT USE ONLYDUE DATE: April 17, 2012

16.	 VT INCOME TAX FROM VT TAX TABLE OR TAX RATE SCHEDULE on Line 15 amount . . . . . .     16.

17.	 ADDITIONS TO VT INCOME TAX (Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part II, Line 10) . . . . . . . . . .         17.

18.	 VT INCOME TAX WITH ADDITIONS (Add Lines 16 & 17)	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      . . . . . . . . . . 18.

19.	 SUBTRACTIONS FROM VT INCOME TAX (Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation A, Part II, Line 18). . .  19.

20.	 VT INCOME TAX (Subtract Line 19 from Line 18)  If Line 19 is more than Line 18, enter zero . . . . . . . .       20.

21.	 INCOME ADJUSTMENT (Schedule IN-113, Line 43 OR 100.00%). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21.

22.	 ADJUSTED VT INCOME TAX (Multiply Line 20 by Line 21)	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      . . . . . . . . . . 22.

Form IN-111

c	
Check here if using 
RECOMPUTED Federal 
Return information

Continued on back   *
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Enter Spouse or 
CU Partner Social 
Security Number

Check if 
taxpayer died 
during 2011

Check if Spouse 
or CU Partner died 
during 2011

Check here if this 
is an AMENDED 
return

If filing jointly, 
Spouse or CU Partner 
Social Security Number --

--

Taxpayer’s Social 
Security Number --

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

0 0., ,

%.

*111111100*
* 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 *

Enter Spouse or CU Partner full namec 
Single
3 c 

Head of
Household

4 c 
Married
Filing
Jointly

5 c 
CU Partner
Filing
Jointly

6 c 
Married
Filing
Separately

7a c 
CU 
Filing
Separately

7b c 
Qualifying Widow(er)
with dependent 
children

8
FILING STATUS

Income Tax Return2011
VERMONT

FORM

IN-111

0 0., ,	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss
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ap

le 
W
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/10
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er
e

2

1

3

VT
 In

co
m

e T
ax

4

0 0., , 0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0., , 0 0

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., , 0 0

0 0., ,	 If negative                           
ç	check 
	 here

0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0

0 0., , 0 0



	 31a.	 From W-2, 1099, etc. VT Tax Withheld. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  31a.
	 31b.	 From VT Form IN-114 Estimated Tax for 2011 and/or  
		  Form IN-151, Extension with payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 31b.

	 31c.	 Earned Income Tax Credit (Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation B).. . . . . . .31c.

	 31d.	 Renter Rebate (Form PR-141, Line 9). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      . . . . . . 31d.
	 31e.	 From VT Form RW-171 VT Real Estate Withholding (see  
		  instructions on page 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               31e.
	 31f.	 From VT Form WH-435 Estimated Income Tax Payment  
		  made by Business Entity for Nonresident Partner,   
		  Member, or Shareholder (see page 10). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   31f.

	 31g.	 Low Income Child & Dependent Care Credit 
		  (See instructions on page 10). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              . . . . . . .31g.

31h.	 TOTAL PAYMENTS AND CREDITS (Add Lines 31a through 31g) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31h.

0 0

30.	 TOTAL OF VT TAXES & VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS (Add Line 28 and Line 29d). . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              30.

23.	 24.	 25.
		  CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX PAID TO OTHER	 VT TAX CREDITS (Schedule IN-112, 	 TOTAL VT CREDITS
		  STATE OR CANADIAN PROVINCE	 VT Calculation C, Line 6 OR Schedule IN-119)	 (Add Lines 23 and 24)
		  (Schedule IN-117, Line 21)

26.	 VT INCOME TAX AFTER CREDITS (Subtract Line 25 from Line 22.  If Line 25 is more than Line 22, enter zero.) . . 26.

27.	 USE TAX (See pages 8-9 for instructions and chart). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                27.

28.	 TOTAL VT TAXES (Add Lines 26 and 27). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      28.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Preparers cannot use return information for purposes other than preparing returns.

Keep a copy for your records.

Preparer’s
Use Only

Preparer’s signature 	 Date	 Preparer’s
		  SSN or
		  PTIN
Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) and address		  EIN

		  Preparer’s Telephone Number

Check here if authorizing the VT Department of Taxes to discuss this return and attachments with your preparer.

Form IN-111

35.	 If Line 30 is more than Line 31h, subtract Line 31h from Line 30.  See page 10 for instructions on tax due.. . . . . . .      35.

36.	

--
--

c

c

+ + =

+ =

0 0.,

0 0.,

0 0.,0 0.,0 0.,

0 0.,

Enter amount from Line 22 _ ______________________________

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

0 0., ,

*111111200*
* 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 0 0 *

Nongame Wildlife Fund Children’s Trust Fund VT Veterans’ Fund

	 Original refund received_ ___________ 	 Refund due now________________ 	 Original payment_ _____________	 Amount due now_____________
For amended 
returns only

Interest and Penalty on Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax (Worksheet IN-152 or 152A) 37.	 Add Lines 35 and 36	37.
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Signature	 Date	 Occupation	 Telephone Number (optional)
			    	

Signature.  If a joint return, BOTH must sign.	 Date	 Occupation

Check if age
65 or older

.,

0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0., , 0 0

0 0
0 0

0 0

0 0
0 0
0 0

0 00 00 0

29a.	 29b.	 29c.	 29d.

32.	 OVERPAYMENT  If Line 30 is less than Line 31h, subtract Line 30 from Line 31h. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      32.

33a.	 REFUND TO BE CREDITED TO 2012 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT
	 Amount on 31d cannot be credited to 2012 estimated tax payment. . . . . . .        33a.

33b.	 REFUND TO BE CREDITED TO 2012 PROPERTY TAX BILL. 33b.

34.	 REFUND AMOUNT  (Subtract Lines 33a and 33b from Line 32). . . . . .     . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34.

5454



SEE PAGE 15

(IN-111, SIDE 1)



SEE PAGE 16

(IN-111, SIDE 2)



ADDITIONS TO VT TAX:
4.	 Tax on Qualified Plans including  IRA (1040-Line 58 or  

Form 5329), HSA (Form 8889) and MSA (Form 8853). . . . . . . . .         4.

5.	 Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  5.

6.	 Tax from Federal Form 4972-Line 7 or 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   6.

7.	 Add Lines 4 through 6. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   7.

8.	 Multiply Line 7 by 24%.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                8.

9.	 Recapture of VT Credits (See instructions). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   9.

10.	 Add Lines 8 and 9.  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 17. . . . . . . . . .         . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10.

SUBTRACTIONS FROM VT TAX:
11.	 Credit for Child & Dependent Care Expenses  

(1040-Line 48; 1040A-Line 29). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           11.

12.	 Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled (Federal Schedule R). . . . .     12.

13.	 Investment Tax Credit - VT-based only. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     13.

14.	 VT Farm Income Averaging Credit (From worksheet on page 11).14.

15.	 Add Lines 11 through 14. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                15.

16.	 Multiply Line 15 by 24%. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               16.

17.	 VT-based Business Solar Energy Credit.  See page 11. . . . . . . . .         17. 
c New Credit          c Carryforward

18.	 Add Lines 16 and 17.  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 19. . . . . . . .       . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .18.

PART I	 INCOME FROM STATE AND LOCAL OBLIGATIONS (See instructions on page 11)

1.	 Total interest and dividend income from all state and local obligations exempt from federal tax . . . . . . . . . . .          1.

2.	 Interest and dividend income from VT state and local obligations included in Line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   2.

3.	 INCOME FROM NON-VT STATE AND LOCAL OBLIGATIONS TO BE ADDED TO VT TAXABLE 
	 INCOME.  Subtract Line 2 from Line 1, but not less than zero.  ENTER ON FORM IN-111, LINE 12a.. . . .    3.

Schedule IN-112

VT CALCULATION A.	 Adjustments to Income or VT Tax

PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK	 ATTACH TO FORM IN-111 

Calculations B and C on back

Taxpayer’s Social Security NumberTaxpayer’s Last Name First Name Initial --

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,

., , 0 0

0 0., ,
., , 0 0

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

0 0., ,

*111121100*
* 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 0 0 *

PART II	 ADJUSTMENTS TO VT INCOME TAX
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VT Tax Adjustments 
and Credits

2011
VERMONT

SCHEDULE

IN-112



FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS:  Answer eligibility questions above and complete Lines 1 and 2
1.   Earned income tax credit from Federal Form 1040-Line 64a; 1040A-Line 38a; or 1040EZ-Line 8a. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 1.

2.   VT EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT  (Multiply Line 1 by 32%).  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 31c. . . . . .      è  2. 0 0.,
PART-YEAR RESIDENTS:    Answer eligibility questions above and complete Lines 3-9

	 A. Federal Amount $	 B. VT Portion $

3.	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. (Schedule IN-113, Line 1) . . . . . . . .       3.	 3.

4.	 Other earned income (Schedule IN-113, 
	 Lines  6, 10 & 12). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 4.	 4.

5.	 Total earned income  (Add Lines 3 & 4) . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5.	 5.

6.	 Earned income tax credit adjustment  (Divide Line 5B by Line 5A and enter here, but not more than 100%) . . . . . . . . . . . . .            6.

7.	 Earned income tax credit from Federal Form 1040-Line 64a;  
1040A-Line 38a; or, 1040EZ-Line 8a. . . . . .     . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.

8.	 Multiply Line 7 by 32% and enter the result here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      8.

9.	 VT EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT  (Multiply Line 8 by Line 6).  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 31c.. . è   9.

Schedule IN-112

VT CALCULATION B.  VT Earned Income Tax Credit	 For FULL-YEAR residents and PART-YEAR residents only
		  Taxpayers filing Married Filing Separately or Civil Union Filing Separately are not eligible.

VT CALCULATION C. VT Income Tax Credits.  See instructions on page 12.	

., ., 0 00 0

., 0 00 0.,
0 0	 Check to                           

ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss., 0 0.,

0 0.,

0 0.,
0 0.,

0 0.,
%.

*111121200*
* 1 1 1 1 2 1 2 0 0 *
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Enter figures in Column A from your 
federal worksheet and Schedule IN-113.

For VT Portion, enter income earned 
while a VT resident as shown on Schedule  
IN-113, Column B, Lines 1, 6, 10, & 12.

ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONS - MUST BE ANSWERED

A. Enter number of qualifying children	 B.  Were you (or your spouse if filing a joint return) at least age 25 but under age 65 at the end of 2011?  c Yes  c No
	 If you answered “No” and do not have any qualifying children, you do not qualify for Earned Income Tax Credit.

2011 Contribution

	1.	 VT Higher Education Investment (32 V.S.A. §5825a). .  1. 0 0.,0 0., TIMES (x)    .10 =

	2.	 Commercial Film Production (32 V.S.A. §5826). . 2.

	3.	 Charitable Housing (32 V.S.A. §5830c). . . . . . . . .        3.

	4.	 Qualified Sale of Mobile Home Park  
		  (32 V.S.A. §5828). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         4.

	5.	 Veteran Business Credit (32 V.S.A. §5930nn). . . .   5.

	6.	 TOTAL CREDITS (Add Column C, Lines 1-5).  If you have credits from Schedule IN-119 (see page 48), this 
		  amount is entered on Schedule IN-119.  If you do NOT have credits from Schedule IN-119, enter this amount on  
		  Form IN-111, Line 24. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             6.

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,NOT AVAILABLE

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,
0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

Credit
Column C

Earned in 2011
Column A

Carryforward 
Column B Column CEQUALS (=)PLUS (+)

If credits from more than one business entity, fill out a separate Schedule IN-112, VT Calculation C for each entity.

Credits for Lines 2-5 earned through an S-Corporation, LLC, LLP, or Partnership, enter name and FEIN of the entity.

Name of
entity_____________________________________________________ 	 FEIN:

0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,NOT AVAILABLE



SEE PAGE 19

(IN-112, SIDE 1)



SEE PAGE 20

(IN-112, SIDE 2)



	1.	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   1.	 1.

	2.	 Taxable interest. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           2.	 2.

	3.	 Ordinary dividends. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        3.	 3.

	4.	 Taxable refunds of state and local  
		  income taxes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             4.	 4.

	5.	 Alimony received. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         5.	 5.

	6.	 Business income or loss. . . . . . .      	 6. 	 6.

	7.	 Capital gain or loss. . . . . . . . . . .          	 7.   	 7.

	8.	 Taxable IRA distributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  8.	 8.

	9.	 Taxable pensions and annuities . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              9.	 9.

10.	Partnerships/S Corporations, 
		  and LLCs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 	 10.	  10.

11.	Rents, royalties, estates, 
		  trusts, etc. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 	 11. 	 11.

12.	Farm income or loss. . . . . . . . . .         	 12. 	 12.

13.	Unemployment compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              13.	 13.

14.	Taxable social security. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    14.	 14.

15.	Other: Specify____________. . .  	 15.	 15. 
		  (See instructions on page 13)

16.	TOTAL INCOME 
		  (Add Lines 1–15). . . . . . . . . . . .           	 16.	 16.

IN
CO

ME
 

Schedule IN-113

Income Adjustment 
Calculations

2011
VERMONT

Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Must Complete Parts I and II
Full-Year Residents with Adjustments Complete Part II only

PART I.	 Enter figures as they appear on your federal return or recomputed federal return in Column A and list the VT portion in 
Column B. See instructions starting on page 13.

A.  Federal Amount $ B.  VT Portion $

PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK	 ATTACH TO FORM IN-111

Be sure to put your name and Social Security number at the top of this page.
Attach copies of pages 1 and 2 of your filed or recomputed federal tax return and this schedule to your VT return.

continued on back

Taxpayer’s Social Security Number
Taxpayer’s Last Name First Name Initial --

0 0., , 0 0., ,
0 0., , 0 0., ,

0 0., , 0 0., ,
0 0., , 0 0., ,
0 0., , 0 0., ,
0 0., , 0 0., ,
0 0., , 0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., , 0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., , 0 0., ,

0 0., , 0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss0 0., , 0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., ,0 0., ,

0 0., ,0 0., ,
	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., ,0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., ,0 0., ,

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss 0 0., ,0 0., ,

*111131100*
* 1 1 1 1 3 1 1 0 0 *

SCHEDULE

IN-113

23



32.	 Adjusted Gross Income   If Part I completed, enter Line 29.
	 Otherwise, enter amount from Form IN-111, Line 10.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   	 32.

33.	 Non-VT Income (Line 31 above) . . . . . . . . . . .           	 33.

Part-Year Residents:  For Lines 34-40, enter only income included in Part I, Line 30

34.	 Military pay. Number of months on active duty ______  
	 (See instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      34.

35.	 Federal Employment Opportunity income adjustment. . . . . . . .         35.

36.	 Railroad Retirement income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             36.

37.	 VT State payments to a family for support of developmentally
	 disabled person(s) (See instructions on page 47). . . . . . . . . . . . .              37.

38.	 Americans with Disabilities Credit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        38.

39.	 Nonresident Commercial Film Income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     39.

40.	 Bond/note interest income from . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          40.
	 c  VSAC      c  Build America      c  VT Telecommunication Authority bond/note interest 

41.	 Total (Add Lines 33-40) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          	 41.

42.	 VT income (Subtract Line 41 from Line 32). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           	 42.

43.	 INCOME ADJUSTMENT % (Divide Line 42 by Line 32) Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 21.  (See instructions). . . . . . . . . .          è   43.

29.	 Adjusted Gross Income (Subtract Line 28A from Line 16A). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 29.

30.	 VT Portion of AGI (Subtract Line 28B from Line 16B). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  	 30.

31.	 Non-VT Income (Subtract Line 30 from Line 29).  Also enter on Part II, Line 33 below. . . . . . . . .        	 31.

Dates of VT residency in 2011: From___________  to_____________     Name of state(s), Canadian province or country during non-VT residency:________________

Schedule IN-113

AD
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PART II. Adjustment for VT Exempt Income

Carried forward from

A.  Federal Amount $ B.  VT Portion $

______________________________________	 ________________________________
	 Line 16A	 Line 16B

%.

*111131200*
* 1 1 1 1 3 1 2 0 0 *
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Schedule IN-113, page 2

	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., ,
	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., ,
	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., ,

(Full-year VT residents enter 0 on Line 33)0 0	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss ., ,

0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0
	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss ., ,

0 0	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss ., ,

0 0	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss ., ,

0 0., ,0 0., ,

0 0., ,0 0., ,
0 0., ,0 0., ,

., , 0 00 0., ,

., ,., , 0 00 0
0 0., ,0 0., ,
0 0., ,0 0., ,

., , 0 00 0., ,
0 0., ,0 0., ,
0 0., ,0 0., ,
0 0., ,0 0., ,

0 0., ,0 0., ,

17.	 IRA (1040-Line 32; 1040A-Line 17); Keogh/SEP/SIMPLE 
	 (1040- Line 28): 

Self_________________ 17.Spouse_ _______________ 	 17.	 17.

18.	 Student Loan Interest (1040-Line 33; 1040A-Line 18). . . . . . . .         18.	 18.
19.	 Employee Deductions:  Reservists, Performing Artists,  
	 Fee-basis Gov’t Officials (1040-Line 24). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   19.	 19.
20.	 Self-Employment Deductions:  Tax (1040-Line 27), and
	 Health Insurance (1040-Line 29). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          20.	 20.

21.	 Health Savings Account (1040-Line 25). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    21.	 21.

22.	 Moving Expenses (1040-Line 26). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         22.	 22.

23.	 Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings (1040-Line 30) . . . . . . . .       23.	 23.

24.	 Alimony Paid (1040-Line 31a) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           24.	 24.

25.	 Domestic Production Activities (1040-Line 35) . . . . . . . . . . . . .              25.	 25.
26.	 Educator Expenses (1040-Line 23; 1040A-Line 16), and  
	 Tuition & Fees (1040-Line 34; 1040A-Line 19). . . . . . . . . . . . .              26.	 26.

27.	 Deductions not listed above but included on 1040-Line 36. . . . .      27.	 27.

28.	 TOTAL ADJUSTMENTS (Add Lines 17 – 27) . . . . . . . . . . . .             28.	 28.



SEE PAGE 23

(IN-113, SIDE 1)



SEE PAGE 24

(IN-113, SIDE 2)



	 1.	 Name of state or Canadian province.  Use standard two-letter abbreviation.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 1.

	 2.	 Enter Adjusted Gross Income taxed in another state or  
Canadian province and also subject to VT income tax.     
This entry cannot be more than entry on  
Form IN-111, Line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	 2.

	 3.	 2011 Bonus Depreciation add back taxed in another state 
or Canadian province AND taxed in VT . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               3.

	 4.	 Non-VT state/local obligations taxed in another state or 
Canadian province AND taxed in VT.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 4.

	 5.	 Add Lines 2-4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5.

	 6.	 Bonus Depreciation subtracted from income in another  
state or Canadian province in TY 2011 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                6.

	 7.	 U. S. Government interest income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    7.

	 8.	 Add Lines 6 & 7. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8.

	 9.	 Modified Adjusted Gross Income for income taxed in other state or Canadian province AND  
taxed in VT (Subtract Line 8 from Line 5). . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9.

	10.	 Adjusted Gross Income from  
Form IN-111, Line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	 10.

	11.	 Non-VT state/local obligations from Form IN-111, 
Line 12a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       11.

	12.	 Bonus Depreciation from Form IN-111, Line 12b. . . . . .      12.

	13.	 Add Lines 10-12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13.

	14.	 U. S. Government interest income from  
Form IN-111, Line 14a. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            14.

	15.	 Bonus Depreciation from Form IN-111, Line 14c.. . . . . .       15.

	16.	 Add Lines 14 & 15.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16.

	17.	 Subtract Line 16 from Line 13. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17.

18.	 VT income tax from Form IN-111, Line 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . .             . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18.

	19.	 Computed tax credit (Divide .Line 9 by Line 17 and multiply result by Line 18).  Result cannot be more than 100% of VT tax. 
Line 9		  __________________________           x  Line 18 _______________________

		  Line 17	 . . . . . . . . . . . . 19.

	20.	 Income tax paid to another state or Canadian province based on 
modified adjusted gross income from Line 9 above.. . . . . . .      . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20.

	21.	 VT CREDIT for income tax paid to another state or Canadian province.   
Enter the lesser of Line 19 or Line 20.  Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 23. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   21.

27

., , 0 0

., , 0 0

Schedule IN-117

ATTACH TO FORM IN-111

Taxpayer’s Last Name First Name Initial
Taxpayer’s Social Security Number

--

*111171100*
* 1 1 1 1 7 1 1 0 0 *

VT Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Other State or Canadian Province

2011
VERMONT

SCHEDULE 

IN-117

0 0., ,

0 0., ,

., , 0 0

0 0., ,

For residents and some Part-Year Residents ONLY.
You must complete a separate Schedule IN-117 for each state or Canadian province.  
See instructions on page 47.

PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

., , 0 0

0 0., ,
., , 0 0

0 0., ,
0 0., ,

0 0., ,

., , 0 0

., , 0 0

0 0., ,

0 0., ,	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss

0 0., ,	 Check to                           
ç	indicate 	
	 loss
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ALL eligibility questions must be answered.   You must have rented all 12 months in 2011.  See instructions on page 50 for exception.
Q1.	 Were you domiciled (legal resident) in VT all of calendar year 2011?. . . . . .       c Yes, Go to Q2.	 c No, STOP.  You are not eligible.

Q2.	 Were you claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer in 2011?. . . . . . . . . . .            c Yes, STOP.  You are not eligible.	 c No, Go to Q3.

Q3.	 Did you rent in VT all 12 months in calendar year 2011?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 c Yes, Complete this form	 c No, STOP.  You are not eligible.

	 Before doing rebate calculation, complete Household Income (Schedule HI-144).   
	 YOU MUST ATTACH SCHEDULE HI-144 AND THE LC-142 TO THIS FORM.REBATE CALCULATION

Form PR-141

Must Be Filed With:	 Household Income (Schedule HI -144) and Landlord’s Certificate (LC-142)

0 0.,

0 0.,
0 0.,

0 0.,

0 0 %.

Location of rental property

number, street / road name  (DO NOT use PO Box, “same”, or Town name)

	 Month	 Day	 Year
Claimant’s
Date of Birth

Spouse or CU Partner 
Social Security Number --Claimant’s Social 

Security Number --

*111411100*
* 1 1 1 4 1 1 1 0 0 *

FORM

PR-141
Renter Rebate Claim2011

VERMONT FOR HOUSEHOLD INCOME OF $47,000 OR LESS
For the year Jan. 1–Dec. 31, 2011

31

DUE DATE: April 17, 2012 (Claims allowed up to Sept. 4, 2012) PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK

%.

Keep a copy for your records.
MAIL TO:  VT Department of Taxes, PO Box 1881, Montpelier, VT  05601-1881

0 0.,
If Line 6 Household Income is:	 $0 – 9,999	 $10,000 – 24,999	 $25,000 – 47,000
Enter this % on Line 7:	 2.0%	 4.5%	 5.0%

Signature	 Date	 Telephone Number (optional)
			    	

Signature.  If a joint return, BOTH must sign.	 Date

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Preparers cannot use return information for purposes other than preparing returns.

Preparer’s
Use Only

Preparer’s signature 	 Date	 Preparer’s
		  SSN or
		  PTIN
Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) and address		  EIN

		  Preparer’s Telephone Number

Check here if authorizing the VT Department of Taxes to discuss this return and attachments with your preparer.

--
--

2.  City/Town of Legal Residence on 12/31/2011	 State
1.	 VT School 

District Code

InitialClaimant’s 
Last Name

First 
Name

Mailing Address 
(Number and Street/ 
Road or PO Box)

City/Town
Zip 
Code -State

Initial
Spouse or 
CU Partner 
Last Name

First 
Name

3.	ALLOCABLE RENT (LC-142, Line 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            3.

4.	HOME USE.  If more than 25% of this rental is used for business, see instructions. 
	 If no business use, enter 100.00% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   4.

5.	ALLOWABLE RENT FOR REBATE CLAIM (Multiply Line 3 by Line 4). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             5.

6.	HOUSEHOLD INCOME (Schedule HI-144, Line y)  If more than $47,000, you are not eligible..6.

		  c  Check here if AMENDED SCHEDULE HI-144, Household Income, is attached.  See instructions.

7.	MAXIMUM PERCENTAGE OF INCOME FOR RENT. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              7.

8.	MAXIMUM RENT FOR HOUSEHOLD INCOME (Multiply Line 6 by Line 7 and enter result here). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.
If Line 8 is more than Line 5, you do not qualify for a renter rebate.  

9.	RENTER REBATE AMOUNT (Subtract Line 8 from Line 5 and enter result here.)  If result is zero, you do not qualify 
	 for a rebate.  If filing this form with the VT Income Tax Return, also enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 31d.. . . . . . . . . .         è  9.

MAXIMUM REBATE AMOUNT IS $8,000.

5454



The Renter Rebate Program refunds to eligible renters the portion of rent paid 
that exceeds an established percentage of household income. 
Do NOT file a renter rebate if you rent a lot for your mobile home from a 
nonprofit mobile home park or cooperative.  See instructions for HS-145.
TENANTS ARE TO RECEIVE THE LANDLORD’S CERTIFICATE 
BY 
Date	 If Landlord has
January 31, 2012 or before......................................2 or more residential units
Upon tenant request............................................................... 1 residential unit
Submit a completed Landlord’s Certificate, LC-142, for each rental unit you 
occupied in calendar year 2011.
UNABLE TO GET A LANDLORD CERTIFICATE? You may still 
file a renter rebate claim. Complete a Landlord’s Certificate including your 
landlord’s name, address, and telephone number, attach copies of your 
cancelled checks or receipts for rent paid, and attach a letter explaining why 
you could not get a Landlord’s Certificate. To obtain a Landlord’s Certificate, 
contact the Department at 802-828-2515, or e-mail taxforms@state.vt.us or 
fax to 802-828-2701.
REBATE CLAIM DUE DATES:  APRIL 17, 2012 but claims may be filed 
up to SEPTEMBER 4, 2012.   Claims may be filed separately from your 
income tax return, Form IN-111.  Returns filed after September 4th cannot 
be accepted. 
RECEIPT DATE  The Department considers a renter rebate claim timely 
filed when it is mailed through the U.S. Post Office and the Department 
receives it within 3 business days of the due date. If you bring the renter 
rebate claim to the Department in person, you must deliver it on or before the 
return due date.
REQUESTS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION  You may be asked 
to supply additional information to clarify items on your claim. The request 
does not mean you filed improperly or that your claim has been selected for 
an audit.
MISSING INFORMATION OR INCOMPLETE FILING  Claims that 
are incomplete or are missing information are not considered filed. The 
information must be provided by the September 4 filing deadline or our 
request date, whichever is later.  Information received after that time cannot 
be accepted.
OFFSET / INJURED SPOUSE CLAIMS  Does your spouse/civil union 
partner owe a VT tax or money to a state agency and you filed a joint renter 
rebate claim? The renter rebate will be used to pay the bill.  If your spouse/
civil union partner is the one responsible for the tax, file an “injured spouse” 
claim for your portion of the renter rebate. You may receive the portion of 
the renter rebate equal to the percentage of your income to the combined 
income of you and your spouse/civil union partner.  To make an “injured 
spouse” claim, send the following information separate from your return 
(1) the request letter; and (2) copy of Federal Form 8379 (if you filed one 
with the IRS) to: VT Department of Taxes, ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit, 
PO Box 1645, Montpelier VT 05601-1645.
The Department will notify you if the renter rebate is taken to pay the bill. 
You have 30 days from the date on the notice to submit the injured spouse 
claim to the Department.
AMENDING or CHANGING RENTER REBATE INFORMATION  
Correcting household income is the only amendment or change allowed. See 
page 52 for more information.
ELIGIBILITY FOR RENTER REBATE  You must meet ALL of the 
following eligibility requirements:
	 •	 You were a legal resident of VT for the entire calendar year 2011; 

and
	 •	 You were not claimed in 2011 as a dependent of another taxpayer; 

and
	 •	 Your household income in 2011 did not exceed $47,000; and
	 •	 You are the only person in the household making a renter rebate 

claim; and
	 •	 You rented in VT for all 12 months in 2011.  See page 50 for the one 

exception.
DECEASED RENTER:  A claim cannot be filed on behalf of a deceased 
person.  The right to file a renter rebate claim is personal to the Claimant and 
does not survive the Claimant’s death.
NURSING OR RESIDENTIAL CARE HOME:  The Renter Rebate Claim 
is for room occupancy charge only. Services such as heat, electricity, personal 
services, medical services, etc., must be deducted.  Generally, the room 
charge is 25% of the total charges to the person.  For a percentage greater 
than 25%, a breakout of costs must be provided.  Payments by Medicaid on 
behalf of the Claimant to the nursing home are not part of rent paid.

NOTE: A person residing in a nursing or residential care home that owns a 
homestead with a sibling or spouse can claim a renter rebate if the sibling or 
spouse does not make a property tax adjustment claim.

LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Complete Schedule HI-144 FIRST.  If Line y is more than $47,000, you are 
ineligible.
Supporting Documents Required:  Schedule HI-144 and LC-142
Claimant’s Date of Birth  Enter your date of birth (you are the claimant).  
Example: March 31, 1946, enter as 03 31 1946.
Claimant Information  Enter your name, your spouse/civil union partner 
name (if applicable), mailing address and Social Security number(s). The 
rebate is issued to the name(s) and address on record. The Claimant is 
the leaseholder or the person responsible for the rent. Only one claim per 
household is allowed.
Line 1  VT School District Code  Go to the table on page 14 and select the 
three-digit school district code for the town where you lived on December 
31, 2011.
Line 2  Legal Residence  Enter your legal residence as of December 31, 
2011. Your legal residence is where you live and may be different from your 
mailing address. If you live where there is both a city and town with the same 
name, please specify the one in which you reside. For example: St. Albans 
City or St. Albans Town.
Location of Rental Property  Enter the physical location of the homestead. 
Examples: 133 Main Street, Apt 2C; 425 Farm Road;   210 US RT 7N     DO 
NOT enter post office box, “same”, “see above,” or the town name.
Eligibility Questions  ALL questions must be answered or the claim cannot 
be processed.  Check the appropriate “Yes” or “No” box for Q1, Q2 and Q3 
to determine your eligibility.
Rebate Calculation
Only the rent paid during the calendar year is eligible for a renter rebate.  
Property tax on the rental unit can no longer be used.  
Line 3  Allocable Rent  Enter from Landlord’s Certificate, LC-142, Line 16. 
Allocable rent is based on rent paid in a calendar year.  MORE THAN ONE 
LANDLORD’S CERTIFICATE: Add Line 16 from each certificate and 
enter on this line.  File all LC-142s with your claim.  If the landlord certificate 
at Line 6 indicates items are included in rent and Line 11 on the landlord 
certificate is left blank, the allowable rent will automatically be reduced by 
50% except rental in nursing homes, community care, assisted living, and like 
facilities and boarding houses will be reduced by 75%.  
Line 4  Home Use  If you use more than 25% of your rental unit’s floor space 
for business purposes, the allowable rent amount is adjusted. The percentage 
of business use is generally the same percentage used on your Federal income 
tax return when there is more than 25% business use. To calculate business 
use, divide the square feet used for business by the total square feet in the 
rental unit. Example:  You use an 11’ x 12’ room for an office and inventory 
storage. Your rental unit is 484 square feet (including the business use). Your 
business use is 11 x 12 = 132 sf / 484 = .27 or 27% business use. Entry on 
Line 4 for home use is 73.00 (100% - 27%).
If the rental unit is used solely as your home, or business use is 25% or less, 
enter 100.00% on Line 4.
Line 5  Allowable Rent for Rebate Claim  Multiply Line 3 by Line 4.  
Line 6  Household Income  Enter the amount from Schedule HI-144, Line y.  
See page 52 for definition of household income.
Line 7  Maximum Percentage of Income for Rent  Use the chart to 
find your household income group and applicable percentage.  Enter that 
percentage here.
Line 8  Maximum Allowable Rent for Household Income  Multiply Line 6 
by Line 7.  If Line 8 is more than or the same as Line 5, you are not eligible.
Line 9  Renter Rebate Amount  Subtract Line 8 from Line 5.  This is your 
2011 renter rebate. If you are filing the renter rebate claim with your 2011 VT 
income tax return, also enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 31d.  You 
will be issued one check combining any income refund or rebate due you.

NOTE:  A Renter Rebate cannot exceed $8,000. 
Signature  Sign the claim.
Date  Write the date on which the claim form was signed.
Disclosure Authorization  If you wish to give the Department authorization 
to discuss your 2011 Renter Rebate Claim with your tax preparer,  check 
this box and include the preparer’s name.
Preparer  If you are a paid preparer, you must also sign the claim, enter your 
Social Security number or PTIN and, if employed by a business, the EIN of 
the business. 
If someone other than the filer(s) prepared the return without charging a fee, 
then that preparer’s signature is optional.

Form PR-141

Instructions for Form PR-141  Renter Rebate Claim
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ALL eligibility questions must be answered.       You must own and occupy the property as your home on April 1, 2012.
	 4.	 Were you domiciled in (legal resident of) VT all of calendar year 2011?. . . . . . . . . . . . .            c Yes, Go to Line 5.	 c No, STOP
	 5.	 Were you claimed as a dependent in 2011 by another taxpayer?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   c Yes, STOP	 c No, Go to Line 6.
	 6.	 Do you anticipate selling your VT housesite on or before April 1, 2012?. . . . . . . . . . . . .            c Yes, STOP	 c No, CONTINUE

	Amounts for Lines 7 - 9 are found on your 2011/2012 property tax bill.
	 7.	 Housesite Value . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                       7.

	 8.	 Housesite Education Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  . . . . .. 8.

	 9.	 Housesite Municipal Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  . . . . .. 9.

	10.	 Ownership Interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                       . . . . . . .. .  10.

	11.	 Household Income (Schedule HI-144, Line y). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  . . 11. 
		  c  Check here if AMENDED SCHEDULE HI-144, Household Income, is attached.  See instructions.

Select ONE of the applicable line sets:  Line 12 OR Lines 13-14 OR Lines 15-16.  See instructions on reverse side for details.
		  Lot Rent
12.	 Mobile Home Lot Rent (LC-142, Line 16). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                     . . . . .12.
		  OR   Allocated Property Tax from Land Trust, Cooperative, or Nonprofit Mobile Home Park
	13.	 Allocated Education Tax. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   . . . . .13.

14.	 Allocated Municipal Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  . . . . .14.
		  OR   Property Tax from contiguous property if housesite has less than 2 acres
	15.	 Education Tax on contiguous property. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        . . . . .15.

16.	 Municipal Tax on contiguous property. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        . . . . .16.

0 0.,

MAXIMUM ADJUSTMENT AMOUNT IS $8,000.

0 0.,

0 0.,
0 0.,

0 0.,

0 0., ,

0 0 %.
0 0.,
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Claimant Social 
Security Number

Spouse or CU Partner 
Social Security Number ----

Form HS-145

FORM

HS-145
Property Tax

Adjustment Claim
DUE DATE: April 17, 2012  (Claims allowed up to September 4, 2012 but late filing penalties apply)	 PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK

2012
VERMONT

*121451100*
* 1 2 1 4 5 1 1 0 0 *

Location of 
Homestead

number, street / road name  (Do not use PO Box, “same”, or Town name)

- -3.	 SPAN Number
	 (REQUIRED) (From your 2011/2012 property tax bill)

	Month	 Day	 Year
Claimant ’s
Date of Birth

Preparer’s signature Date

Firm’s 
name and 
address Preparer’s Phone No.

Claimant Signature	 Date	 Spouse or CU Partner Signature	 Date

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Preparers cannot use return information for purposes other than preparing returns.

SIGN 
HERE

Preparer’s
Use Only

Check here if authorizing the VT Department of Taxes to discuss this return and attachments with your preparer.
Preparer’s 
SSN or 
PTIN

Preparer’s 
EIN

State2.  City/Town of Legal Residence on 04/01/2012
1.	 VT School 

District Code

Claimant ’s 
Last Name

City/Town

InitialFirst 
Name

Mailing Address 
(Number and Street/ 
Road or PO Box)

Zip 
Code -State

Spouse or 
CU Partner 
Last Name

InitialFirst 
Name

0 0.,
0 0.,

Mail to:  VT Department of Taxes, PO Box 1881, Montpelier, VT  05601-1881
This form can be filed on-line at http://tax.vermont.gov5454



Instructions for Form HS-145
	 Property Tax Adjustment Claim
You may be eligible for an adjustment of your homestead property tax if:  
(1) the property is your declared homestead;  (2) you were a VT resident 
for the entire 2011 calendar year;  (3) you own and occupy the property as 
your principal residence as of April 1, 2012;  (4) you are not claimed as a 
dependent of another taxpayer for the 2011 tax year; and (5) you meet the 
household income criteria.   
See page 51 in the 2011 tax year income tax booklet for information on 
property held by a trust, holders of a life estate, and homesteads located on 
a farm. 
Also see Definitions, Special Situations, Ownership Situations and Buying 
and Selling Property sections starting at page 49 of the 2011 tax year income 
tax booklet. 
Selling Your Property Before April 1, 2012  If you filed a claim before 
April  1, 2012, you must notify the Department of the sale and withdraw 
the claim using Form HS-132.  Withdrawal can be done at the time of the 
property sale closing and is available through the free, online filing program 
at http://tax.vermont.gov
Deceased Homeowner  See page 50 of the 2011 tax year income tax booklet. 
Buying A Home On Or Before April 1, 2012  You must file Form HS-131, 
Homestead Declaration, by April 17, 2012 to make a  property tax adjustment 
claim.  Declaring the new property as a homestead can be done at the time of 
the property closing and is available through the free, online filing program 
at http://tax.vermont.gov
Due Date -  APRIL 17, 2012   Property Tax Adjustment Claims may also 
be filed between April 18 and September 4, 2012; however, a $15 late filing 
penalty is deducted.  
2012 Property Tax Adjustment Claims filed after September 4, 2012 cannot 
be accepted.
Receipt Date   Forms mailed through the U. S. Post Office are considered 
timely if received by the Department within 3 business days of the due date.  
If you file electronically, the receipt date is the transmission date.  If you 
bring the form to the Department in person, it  must be  on or before the due 
date.
Extension of Time   There is NO extension of time to file Form HS-145.  See 
page 52 of the 2011 tax year income tax booklet on calculating household 
income when you have an extension of time for your income tax return.
Amending Form HS-145   An error on the 2012 Form HS-145 may be 
corrected up to September 4, 2012.  After that date, only household income 
may be amended.  See page 52 for information on amending household 
income.
OFFSET / INJURED SPOUSE CLAIMS If your spouse or civil union 
partner has a bill for VT tax or from VT state agency and you filed  jointly, 
the property tax adjustment will be used to pay the bill. If you are not 
responsible for the bill, file an “injured spouse” claim.  You may receive the 
portion of the property tax adjustment equal to your ownership percentage 
of the homestead.  To make an “injured spouse” claim, send the following 
information separate from your claim (1) the request letter; (2) copy of 
Federal Form 8379 (if you filed one with the IRS); (3) documentation of your 
ownership interest to: VT Department of Taxes, ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit, 
PO Box 1645, Montpelier VT  05601-1645.

LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Complete Schedule HI-144 first to determine if you meet the household 
income criteria.
Schedule HI-144 must be submitted with Form HS-145.  See instructions for 
Line 12 and Lines 13 & 14 for additional documents that may be required.
Claimant Information:  Enter your Social Security number, name and 
address.  If applicable, enter the Social Security number and name of your 
spouse/civil union partner.  Enter your date of birth.  Example:  March 27, 
1948 date of birth is entered as 03 27 1948
Location of Homestead  Enter the physical location (street, road name)  
Examples: 123 Maple Street      276 Route 12A    Please do not use a post 
office box or write in “same,” “see above” or the city/town name.
Line 1  VT School District Code  Enter the 3-digit school district code 
where you pay education property tax as of April 1, 2012.  Most towns print 
the code on the property tax bill.  A school district code chart is available 
at http://tax.vermont.gov or in the income tax booklet.  Be sure to use the 
school district code for the physical location of the homestead as this may be 
different from the town used in your mailing address.

Line 2  Legal Residence  Enter the town or city name of your legal residence 
as of April 1, 2012.  If there is both a city and town with the same name, 
please specify.  Examples:  Barre City or Barre Town    St. Albans City or 
St. Albans Town
Line 3  SPAN (School Property Account Number)  This is a unique 
11-digit identification number assigned by the town or city and is printed on 
the property tax bill.  It is very important to verify your SPAN.  The property 
tax adjustment is credited to the property tax bill for this SPAN.
Lines 4 - 6  Eligibility Questions    Check the appropriate “Yes” or “No” 
box to answer the eligibility questions.  ALL eligibility questions must be 
answered or the claim cannot be processed.  
 Information for Lines 7 - 9  is found on your property tax bill.
Line 7  Housesite Value  Enter the value assessed by the town or city as of 
April 1, 2011 and found on the 2011/2012 property tax bill.  See page 51 of 
the 2011 tax year income tax booklet for information on new construction or 
purchase of a new home.
Line 8  Housesite Education Tax   Enter the education property tax as 
shown on your 2011/2012 property tax bill.
Household Income less than $90,000 - the education property tax eligible 
for adjustment is based on the tax assessed or tax on $500,000 equalized 
housesite value, whichever is less.
Household Income $90,000 or more - the education property tax eligible 
for adjustment is based on the tax assessed or tax on $200,000 equalized 
housesite value, whichever is less.
Line 9  Municipal Tax   Homeowners with $47,000 or less household 
income may be eligible for adjustment on municipal property tax.  Enter the 
municipal property tax as shown on your 2011/2012 property tax bill.
Line 10  Ownership Interest  If you and the members of the household own 
and occupy the property as your principal home, enter 100.00%.  If there is 
another owner(s) that does not live in the household or you live in a duplex, 
see page 51 of the 2011 tax year income tax booklet for more information.
Line 11  Household Income  Enter the amount calculated on Schedule 
HI-144, Line y.  See page 52 of the 2011 tax year income tax booklet on 
calculating household income when you have an extension of time for your 
income tax return.
Select ONE of the applicable line sets:  Line 12 OR Lines 13-14 OR 
Lines 15-16.  Line 12  Lot Rent for a Mobile Home   If you rent a lot in a 
for-profit mobile home park, obtain Form LC-142, Landlord Certificate, and 
enter the amount of allocable rent from LC-142, Line 16.   
Lines 13 - 14  Allocated Tax from Land Trust, Cooperative or Nonprofit 
Mobile Home Park  Enter the amount of education and municipal property 
tax shown on the statement issued to you by the land trust, cooperative or 
nonprofit mobile home park.
Lines 15 – 16  Property Tax from Contiguous Property  If you own 
contiguous property, you can use the property taxes from that parcel if the 
property tax bill for your dwelling has under 2 acres or part of the dwelling or 
a building such as garage is on the contiguous property.  Example:  (1)  Your 
dwelling is on .75 acre of land and you own 5 acres contiguous to the dwelling 
land.  The property taxes on 1.25 acres  can be entered here and is eligible for 
property tax adjustment.  (2)  Your dwelling is on 1 acre and your garage is on 
3 acres that is contiguous to your dwelling.  The property taxes on the garage 
and 1 acre can be entered here and is eligible for property tax adjustment.   
 

MAXIMUM 2012 PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT IS $8,000
The property tax adjustment will appear as a credit on your 2012/2013 
property tax bill.  
Signature  Sign the property tax adjustment form.
Date   Write the date you signed this form.
Disclosure Authorization   Check this box if you wish to give the Vermont 
Department of Taxes authorization to discuss this form with your tax preparer.  
Be sure the tax preparer’s name is included. 
Preparer  If you are a paid preparer, you must sign this form, enter your 
Social Security number or PTIN, and if employed by a business, include the 
EIN of the business.  If someone other than the Homeowner prepared this 
form without charging a fee, the preparer signature is optional.

Form HS-14536
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	a.	 Cash public assistance and relief . . . . . . . . . . .          a.

	b.	 Social security/railroad retirement/veteran’s  
		  benefits, taxable and nontaxable. . . . . . . . . .         b.

	c.	 Unemployment compensation/worker’s  
		  compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         c.

	d.	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc.  (See instructions  
		  for dependent’s exempt income.). . . . . . . . . . .          d.

	e.	 Interest and dividends. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   e.

	 f.	 Interest on U.S., state, and municipal  
		  obligations, taxable and nontaxable. . . . . . . .        f.

	g.	 Alimony, support money, child support,  
		  cash gifts. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             g.
	h.	 Business income.  If the amount is a loss,  
		  enter zero.  See instructions for 
		  offsetting a loss.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       h.
	 i.	 Capital gains, taxable and nontaxable.    
		  If the amount is a loss, enter zero.   
		  See instructions for offsetting a loss.. . . . . . .       i.
	 j.	 Taxable pensions, annuities, IRA and other  
		  retirement fund distributions.  
		  See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       j.
	k.	 Rental and royalty income.  If the amount 
		  is a loss, enter zero.  See instructions for 
		  offsetting a loss.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       k.
	 l.	 Farm/partnerships/S corporations/LLC/ 
		  Estate or Trust income.  If the amount is a  
		  loss, enter zero.  See Line i instructions  
		  for only exception to offset a loss.. . . . . . . . .         l.
	m.	 Other income (See instructions for examples  
		  of other income). 
		  Please specify. ___________________. . . . .     m.

	n.	 TOTAL INCOME:   
		  Add Lines a through m. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 n.

InitialOther Person #1 
Last Name

First 
Name

For the year Jan. 1–Dec. 31, 2011
PRINT in BLUE or BLACK INK
This schedule must be attached to Renter Rebate Claim (Form PR-141) OR Property Tax Adjustment Claim (Form HS-145)
Read instructions before completing schedule.

Schedule HI-144

List the names and Social Security Numbers of all other persons (other than a Spouse or CU Partner) who had income and lived with you during 2011.   Include their 
income in Column 3.  If you have more than two “Other Persons” living in your household, record the names and social security numbers on a separate sheet of paper 
and include with the filing.

continued on back

Claimant’s Last Name First Name Initial

Spouse or CU Partner Last Name First Name Initial
Spouse or CU Partner Social Security Number

--

Claimant’s Social Security Number

--

*111441100*
* 1 1 1 4 4 1 1 0 0 *
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1. Claimant 2. Spouse/CU Partner 3. Other Persons

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

IN
CO

ME
Household Income2011

VERMONT

SCHEDULE

HI-144

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,
0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

InitialOther Person #2 
Last Name

First 
Name

Other Person #2 
Social Security 
Number --Other Person #1 

Social Security 
Number --



	o.	 See instructions  Enter Social Security and Medicare 
		  tax withheld on wages.  Self-Employed: Enter self- 
		  employment tax from Federal Schedule SE.  This 
		  entry may differ from W-2/1099 or Federal Schedule  
		  SE amount if these taxes are paid on income not  
		  required to be reported on Schedule HI-144. 
		  Attach W-2 and/or Federal Schedule SE if not 
		  included with income tax filing.. . . . . . . . . . . . . .              o.

	p.	 Child support paid.  You must attach proof 
		  of payment.  See instructions.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               p.

		  Support paid to: ___________________________________________________ 	 SSN: _____________________________

	q.	 Allowable Adjustments from Federal Form 1040 or 1040A
q1.	 Business Expenses for Reservists  
	 (1040, Line 24). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  q1.

q2.	 Alimony paid (1040, Line 31a). . . . . . .      q2.

q3.	 Tuition and Fees (1040, Line 34 or  
	 1040A, Line 19) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 q3.

q4.	 Self-employed health insurance  
	 deduction (1040, Line 29). . . . . . . . . . .          q4.

	r.	 Add Lines o, p and total of Lines q1 to q4 for  
		  each column. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             r.

	s.	 Subtract Line r from Line n of each column.   
		  If a negative amount, enter zero (0). . . . . . . . . . .            s.

	 t.	 Add all three amounts from Line s.  If a negative amount, enter zero (0). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      t.

	u.	 Enter interest and dividend income from 
		  Lines e and f. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            u.

	v.	 Add all three amounts from Line u. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  v.

	w.	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . w.

	x.	 Subtract Line w from Line v.  If Line w is more than Line v, enter zero (0). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  x.

	y.	 HOUSEHOLD INCOME.  Add Line t and Line x.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    y.

Schedule HI-144, page 2

Schedule HI-144

RENTERS: 
If Line y Household Income is $47,000 or less, you may be eligible for a renter rebate.  Complete Form PR-141.  This schedule must 
be filed with the Renter Rebate Claim.  Claims are due April 17, 2012 but can be filed up to September 4, 2012.

If Household Income is more than $47,000, you do not qualify for a renter rebate.

HOMEOWNERS: 
	 Form HS-145 , Property Tax Adjustment Claim, must be filed each year.

Homeowners with Household Income up to $97,000 on Line y should complete Form HS-145.  You may be eligible for a property 
tax adjustment.  This schedule must be filed with the HS-145.

Form HS-145 Due Date - April 17, 2012.  Homeowners filing a completed HS-145 and HI-144 between April 18 and September 4, 
2012 may still qualify for a property tax adjustment.  A $15 late filing penalty will be deducted from the adjustment.

1. Claimant 2. Spouse/CU Partner 3. Other Persons

*111441200*
* 1 1 1 4 4 1 2 0 0 *
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0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,

1.  Amount from Line n, Column 1
$

2.  Amount from Line n, Column 2
$

3.  Amount from Line n, Column 3
$

0 01 0 000 .,

AD
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0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,
0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,

0 0.,

0 0.,
0 0.,

0 0.,0 0., 0 0.,
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Vermont Pharmacy Programs
Vermont has several pharmacy programs to help uninsured Vermonters and those enrolled in Medicare pay for 
prescription medications.  Eligibility for these programs is based on income, age, and disability.  In the past, 
the pharmacy application has been included in the state tax packet; however, due to updates and the size of the 
application, the pharmacy application is no longer being included in tax packets.

If you ARE ALREADY ENROLLED in one of the state pharmacy programs (VPharm, VHAP Pharmacy, 
VScript, or Healthy Vermonters Program), you do not need to do anything at this time.  We will send you an 
application when your current coverage needs to be reviewed. 

If you ARE NOT ALREADY ENROLLED in one of the state pharmacy programs and you want to apply, 
you can do one of the following:

	 •	 Complete the section below and return it in the tax department’s envelope provided and we will mail you 
an application; or  

	 •	 Call Member Services for Green Mountain Care at 1-800-250-8427 to request an application be mailed 
to you; or 

	 •	 Go to www.GreenMountainCare.org to see if you qualify and to print an application.

Again, if you are already enrolled in one of our state pharmacy programs, 
you do not need to reapply at this time. If you have any questions, call 

Member Services for Green Mountain Care

1-800-250-8427    (TDD: 1-888-834-7898)

Name_______________________________________________________________	 Social Security No.________________________________

Mailing Address _______________________________________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone __________________________________________   	 c Home	 c Cell	 c Work

   Last	 First	 MI
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INCOME (Total, You and Spouse or CU Partner combined)
a.	Cash public assistance/welfare. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            a._____________________
b.	Social Security/railroad retirement/veteran’s benefits, taxable and nontaxable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     b._____________________
c.	 Unemployment compensation/worker’s compensation. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          c._____________________
d.	Wages, salaries, tips, etc.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                d._____________________
e.	 Interest and dividends. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    e._____________________
f.	 Interest on U.S., state and municipal obligations, taxable and nontaxable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           f._____________________
g.	Alimony, support money/child support. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                     g._____________________
h.	Business income: If you have a loss, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               h._____________________
i.	 Capital gains, taxable and nontaxable. If you have a loss, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                i._____________________
j.	 Pensions and annuities, taxable and nontaxable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               j._____________________
k.	Rental income: If you have a loss, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 k._____________________
l.	 Farm/partnership/Subchapter S income: If you have a loss, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               l._____________________
m.	Other income. Please specify. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             m._____________________
n.	SUBTOTAL: Add Lines a through m. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      n._____________________
o.	LESS adjustments to income from Federal Form 1040, Line 36 or 1040A, Line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  o._____________________
p.	TOTAL INCOME: Subtract Line o from Line n and enter the result here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         p._____________________

cnr  Official Use Only

OR

Lifeline
You may be eligible for a credit of at least $13.00 toward payment of your monthly Vermont basic telephone 
charge. To apply, return this form by June 15, 2012.  You must reapply for the credit each year.

2011 VERMONT 

I declare under penalties of perjury this application is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge. If prepared by a person other than the applicant, this declaration further  
provides that under 32 V.S.A. §5901 this information has not been and will not be used for any other purpose, or made available to any other person other than for the preparation of this  
application unless a separate valid consent form is signed by the applicant and retained by the preparer. I authorize the VT Department of Taxes to disclose this information 
and other information necessary to process the Lifeline Credit to the Secretary of Human Services.

__________________________________________________________________________	 _______________________________________________________________________
Subscriber’s signature	 Date	 Signature of preparer if other than taxpayer	 Date

__________________________________________________________________________	 _______________________________________________________________________
Spouse or Civil Union Partner signature (if filing jointly)	 Date	 Address of preparer

Social Security Number

Application for Lifeline
Telephone Service Credit

If you will be UNDER 65 on June 15, 2012.
Complete this checklist to see if you are eligible:

Are you a Vermont resident?  c Yes c No

Will you be younger than 65 on June 15, 2012?  c Yes c No
Was your 2011 household income for you and your spouse less than 
$22,065 (from Income section below, Line p.)?  c Yes c No

If you answer “Yes” to all questions, you are eligible.

If you will be 65 or OLDER by June 15, 2012.
Complete this checklist to see if you are eligible:

Are you a Vermont resident?  c Yes c No

Will you be at least 65 by June 15, 2012?  c Yes c No
Was your 2011 household income for you and your spouse less than 
$25,743 (from Income section below, Line p.)?  c Yes c No

If you answer “Yes” to all questions, you are eligible.

– –
– –

Yours

Spouse or 
CU Partner

Yours

Spouse or 
CU Partner

Birthdate
	 Month	 Day	 Year

Sex
F/M

45

Your Name_ _________________________________________________	 Spouse or CU Partner Name_________________________________________________

Name on phone bill____________________________________________	 Name of your telephone company_____________________________________________

Street, P.O. Box or RD___________________________________________________________________________

City_ __________________________________________	 State________	 Zip Code_________________________

The following section must be filled out completely or your application will be returned and benefits will be delayed.

Telephone Number

–



What is the Lifeline Telephone Credit?
The Lifeline program provides a credit of at least $13.00 
on the monthly telephone bills of income-eligible Vermont 
residents.

Who is eligible for the Lifeline Telephone Credit?
Two groups of Vermont residents with telephone service 
are eligible for the credit.  You are eligible if you reside in 
Vermont, have phone service, and 
	 •	 you will be 65 or older by June 15, 2012 and your 

household income is less than $25,743;
	 OR
	 •	 you are under 65 and your household income is less 

than $22,065
You need to submit an application for Lifeline credit each 
year.

What income must be included?
You must include your Adjusted Gross Income (Federal 
Form 1040, Line 37; or 1040A, Line 21; or 1040EZ, 
Line 4).  This is before deduction of any loss from a trade 
or business, partnership, small business corporation, rental 
property or capital loss.  This is added to all other taxable 
and nontaxable income such as alimony, support money, 
cash public assistance and relief, cost of living allowance, 
serviceman’s dependent allowances, gross amount of 
pensions and annuities, railroad retirement benefits, Social 
Security payment, veteran’s benefit act payments, nontaxable 
interest received from Federal or state instrumentality, 
unemployment and worker’s compensation, gross amount 
of “lost time” insurance and total capital gains.  It does 
not include gifts from nongovernmental sources, food 
stamps, relief in kind supplied by a government agency, 
or payments made by the State for foster care or care of a 
developmentally disabled person.  

When and how do you apply?
All eligible telephone subscribers should mail the completed 
application on or before June 15, 2012 to: 

Vermont Department of Taxes
133 State Street

Montpelier, VT  05633-1401
Electronic submissions are not accepted.  
The application may be submitted with your Vermont tax 
forms.  If you are not required to file, you may send just this 
application to the VT Department of Taxes.

The VT Agency of Human Services processes your 
application.  Your telephone company will receive notice 
of your eligibility and apply the credit to the telephone 
account of the name and telephone number you write on 
this application.  It is very important the information on the 
application matches the information with your telephone 
company.  Before mailing your application, check your 
telephone bill for the spelling of your name and your 
telephone number.  If it is convenient, attach a copy of your 
telephone bill to this application.

When will the Lifeline Credit begin?
If this is the first time you applied for the Lifeline credit, it 
may take up to three (3) months for the credit to appear on 
your telephone bill.

Do all telephone companies participate in Lifeline?
No.  Only the companies listed below must offer the Lifeline 
discount.  Other companies may offer a Lifeline discount, 
but are not required to do so and do not get reimbursed for 
their Lifeline costs.  Cell phone companies currently do not 
offer the Lifeline credit.

Participating Telephone Companies
FairPoint Telecom
FairPoint Northern New England
Franklin Telephone
Ludlow TDS
Northfield TDS
Perkinsville TDS
Shoreham Telephone
Sovernet Communications
Topsham Telephone
Vermont Telephone
Waitsfield-Champlain Valley Telecom

How can I get answers to my questions about Lifeline?
For help completing this application:
	 •	 Seniors call the Senior HelpLine at 1-800-642-5119 

to reach your local area agency on aging;
	 •	 Under 65 call the AHS Economic Services Division 

(formerly PATH) at 1-800-479-6151.	
Persons who receive Reach Up, Food Stamps, Medicaid, or 
Fuel Assistance benefits may be eligible to apply year-round 
for Lifeline through the AHS Economic Services Division.  
For questions about the credit call the Economic Services 
Division Benefits Service Center at 1-800-479-6151.

Instructions for Lifeline Telephone Service Credit

YOU MUST REAPPLY FOR LIFELINE EACH YEAR.
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Line 22, Column B  The VT portion for moving expenses are 
expenses incurred for a move into VT.
Line 23, Column A  Enter the amount for penalty on early withdrawal 
of savings from 1040, Line 30. 
Line 23, Column B  The VT portion of penalty on early withdrawal 
of savings is the penalty imposed during VT residency.
Line 24, Column A  Enter the amount for Alimony from 1040, 
Line 31a. 
Line 24, Column B  The VT portion is the alimony paid during VT 
residency.
Line 25, Column A  Enter the amount for Domestic Production 
Activities from 1040, Line 35.
Line 25, Column B  If you used the Domestic Production Activities 
deduction, go to http://tax.vermont.gov or contact the Department for 
instructions on calculating the VT portion. 
Line 26, Column A  Enter the combined amounts of Educator 
Expenses from 1040, Line 23 or 1040A, Line 16, and Tuition and fees 
from 1040, Line 34 or 1040A, Line 19. 
Line 26, Column B  The VT portion of Educator Expenses and 
Tuition and fees during VT residency.
Deductions not listed but included on 1040, Line 36
Line 27, Column A  Enter deduction(s) to AGI that are included in the 
total on Form 1040, Line 36.  Examples:  repayment of supplemental 
unemployment compensation, certain attorney or court costs for 
unlawful discrimination claim.  See Federal instructions for Form 
1040, Line 36 for other deductions and more information.
Line 27, Column B  Enter the portion of the deductions paid or 
incurred during your VT residency or resulting from VT income 
earned or received.
Dates of VT Residency in 2011  Enter the dates you lived in VT in 
2011.
Name of State(s) During Non-VT Residency  Write the names of 
the other states, Canadian provinces, or countries where you were a 
resident in 2011.
PART II  Adjustment for VT Exempt Income
Line 32  If Part I completed, enter the amount from Line 29.  
Otherwise, enter Adjusted Gross Income from Form IN-111, Line 10. 
Line 33  Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents: Enter the amount 
from Part I, Line 31.  Full-Year Residents:  Enter 0.
Line 34  Enter the amount of VT exempt military pay received in 
2011 that is included in your Federal adjusted gross income.  Exempt 
military pay is:

	 I.	 Wages earned from the armed services for full-time 
active duty outside of VT.  Supporting Documents Required:  
Copy of active duty orders.
	 II.	 Up to $2,000 for National Guard or U.S. Reserve 
training pay earned in VT if your adjusted gross income for 
tax year 2011 is less than $50,000.  Supporting Documents 
Required:  Copy of DFAS form or certification statement from 
unit that all training was completed during the calendar year.
	 III.	 Student loan repayment can be taken only if the amount 
is included in your adjusted gross income.  Enter the repayment 
benefit made under 10 U.S.C. Chapters 109 and 1609 for 2011 
year.  Supporting Documents Required:  Certification statement 
from armed services showing your name, address, social security 
number, amount of student loan repayment, and payment date.

 Deployed members of the National Guard or U.S. Reserve may 
be eligible for exemption of both full-time military pay and monthly 
training.

 Persons assigned by their employer to work on a military project 
are not members of the armed services. 
Line 35  Federal Employment Opportunity  Enter the amount of 
wages or expenses required to be added back to Federal AGI under 
IRC Sections 280C or 44.
Line 36  Enter the amount you received in 2011 for Regular Railroad 
Retirement Benefits (Tier 1) and Supplemental Railroad Annuity 
Payments (Tier 2).  This income is taxable at the Federal level, but 
exempt from VT income tax.  If you receive social security that 
includes Tier 1 or Tier 2 benefits, enter only the portion included 
in your Federal adjusted gross income.  Supporting Documents 
Required:  Copy of 1099, 1099RB, WP-4 or any other document you 
received showing payment of these benefits.  
Line 37  Enter the amount paid by the State of VT to a family for 
the support of an eligible person with a developmental disability, 
as defined in 18 V.S.A. §8722(2).  This exclusion does not apply to 
income of caretakers or contractors hired by the family or guardian of 
the person with a developmental disability, even if the payment comes 
directly from the State.   This amount may be excluded only if the 
payment is included in your adjusted gross income.
Line 38  Enter the amount or the portion eligible for business expenses 
made to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act under 
Internal Revenue Code §44 for a business located in VT.  Supporting 
Documents Required:  Copy of Federal form.
Line 39  (For Nonresidents Only)  Enter the amount of VT income 
earned for a dramatic performance in a commercial film production 
that is excluded from income tax in your state of legal residence.
Line 40  The interest or income from a bond or note of  (1) VT 
Telecommunications Authority; (2) Vermont Student Assistance 
Corporation (VSAC); OR (3) VT Build America bonds is exempt 
from VT income tax to the extent the interest or income is included 
in Federal Adjusted Gross Income.  Enter the amount of interest 
or income from these sources that is also included in your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income.
Line 41  Add Lines 33 through 40 and enter result. This is the total 
amount of income not subject to VT income tax.    No entry is 
needed on this line if you did not have entries on Lines 33 - 40.
Line 42  Subtract Line 41 from Line 32. This is the VT income subject 
to tax. 
Line 43  Divide Line 42 by Line 32.  Also enter on Form IN-111, 
Line 21. 
 Carry out to two decimal places.
	 Example:	 (Line 42)  $  4,000	=      .2222 x 100 = 22.22% 
			   (Line 32)  $18,000
NOTE:  If Line 42 (VT income) equals or exceeds Line 32 (adjusted 
gross income), enter 100.00%.  Also enter 100.00% on Form IN-111, 
Line 21.
	 If Line 32, 33, 41, or 42 is negative, go to the Department 
website at http://tax.vermont.gov or call 866-828-2865 (toll-free in 
VT) or 802-828-2865 for instructions.

SCHEDULE  IN-117 
CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX PAID TO OTHER 

STATE OR CANADIAN PROVINCE  
(FOR FULL-YEAR AND SOME PART-YEAR VT RESIDENTS ONLY)

Print your name and social security number on this schedule.  Use 
blue or black ink to make all entries.
See Technical Bulletin 38 if you have capital gain, business income, 
or made adjustments to arrive at Federal Adjusted Gross Income.   
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PART-YEAR RESIDENTS – Go to our website at 
http://tax.vermont.gov or contact the Department for information 
on how to file for income earned in another state while a Vermont 
resident.
A credit may be allowed against 2011 VT income tax for income tax 
paid in 2011 tax year to another state or Canadian province on income 
that is taxed by both VT and the other taxing jurisdiction.  
Supporting Documents Required:  Copy of 2011 income tax return 
filed in the other state(s).  For Canadian province(s), copy of 2011 
provincial income tax return filed, copy of Federal Form 1116 
(Foreign Tax Credit) and copy of Revenue Canada income tax return.  
Convert amounts on Canadian returns to U.S. dollars. 

Line 1  Enter the name of the state or Canadian province where you 
paid income tax.  Use the standard two-letter abbreviation. 
Line 2  For other state or Canadian province - Negative taxable 
income, enter the negative amount and check the loss box.  Positive 
Adjusted Gross Income and taxable income, enter the Adjusted Gross 
Income.   The Adjusted Gross Income for the other state or Canadian 
province cannot exceed the amount on Form IN-111, Line 10.  
Lines 3 through 9  Adjustments for bonus depreciation, non-VT state 
and local obligations, and U.S. government interest income are made 
to create the income comparable to the Adjusted Gross Income used 
for Vermont income tax purposes.
Line 10   Enter the Adjusted Gross Income from IN-111, Line 10.  
NOTE:  If negative VT taxable income, enter zero.    
Lines 11 through 16    Adjustments for bonus depreciation, non-VT 
state and local obligations, and U.S. government interest income are 
made to make the income comparable to the other state or Canadian 
province.
Line 17  Subtract Line 16 from Line 13.  If Line 16 is greater than 
Line 13, enter zero.
Line 18  Enter the Vermont income tax calculated on Form IN-111, 
Line 20.
Line 19  Divide Line 9, Modified Adjusted Gross Income for the 
other state or Canadian province by Line 17, Modified Adjusted Gross 
Income for Vermont, and multiply that result by Line 18.
Line 20  Enter the amount of income tax paid to the other state or 
Canadian province.  This amount is income tax paid to the state or 
Canadian province; not the amount of withholding.  City and county 
tax paid to the other state is not allowed.  Credit for the Canadian 
provincial income tax does not include the portion used as a foreign 
credit on Federal Form 1040. 
Line 21  Enter the lesser of Line 19 or 20.  This is your credit for 
income tax paid to another state or Canadian province.  If this is the 
only state or province, also enter on Form IN-111, Line 23.  Otherwise, 
see instructions for “More Than One State or Province.”

SCHEDULE  IN-119 
VT TAX CREDITS

Schedule IN-119 is not included in this booklet.  Use Schedule 
IN-119 if you have a tax credit not listed on Schedule IN-112, 
VT Calculation C.  This schedule may be downloaded at 

http://tax.vermont.gov in the “Forms” section, or mailed to you by 
calling 802-828-2515.  See tax credit information on our website for 
more information.

SCHEDULE  IN-153 
CAPITAL GAINS EXCLUSION

Schedule IN-153 is not included in this booklet.  Use Schedule 
IN-153 to calculate the amount of capital gains excluded from VT 
income tax.  The schedule and instructions may be downloaded at 
http://tax.vermont.gov in the “Forms” section, or mailed to you by 
calling 802-828-2515.  

SCHEDULE  IN-154 
STATE/LOCAL INCOME TAX ADDBACK

Schedule IN-154 is not included in this booklet.  Use Schedule 
IN-154 if you filed Federal Form 1040 Schedule A for tax year 2011 
and the deduction for state/local income taxes is more than $5,000.  
Also, if you received a 2010 refund reported on 1040 Line 10, use 
this form to adjust the amount added back last year.  The schedule 
and instructions can be downloaded at http://tax.vermont.gov in the 
“Forms” section or mailed to you by calling 802-828-2515.

EDUCATION PROPERTY TAX RATES, 
HOMESTEAD DECLARATION, AND 

PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT 
(FOR VT RESIDENTS ONLY)

Properties on Vermont grand lists are classified as homestead or 
nonresidential and are taxed at different tax rates.

A homestead is property owned and occupied on April 1 as the 
principal home of a Vermont resident and declared as a homestead 
with the Vermont Department of Taxes.

Nonresidential property is property used for commercial purposes or 
a second home, camp, summer cottage; or property not owned and 
occupied on April 1 as a homestead; or property not declared as a 
homestead.

A property may be classified as both homestead and nonresidential.  
The property tax bill will show a homestead education property tax 
rate and a nonresidential education property tax rate.  

FORM HS-131, VERMONT HOMESTEAD DECLARATION
Form HS-131 is not included in this booklet.  Please go to our 
website at http://tax.vermont.gov where you can file online or 
download in the “Forms” section.  Call (802) 828-2515 to have the 
form mailed to you.  
The Vermont Homestead Declaration filed in 2010 or 2011 remains on 
record until the property is sold or the use is changed.  A declaration 
should be filed when you:

•	 Purchase a property 
to be used as your 
homestead   The 
declaration can be filed 
at the time of closing.  
Otherwise, it should be 
filed by the April due date of the applicable grand list year.  
For instance, you buy your home in October 2011.  You can 
file at the time of the closing or wait until April 2012 due date. 
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More Than One State Or Province?
•	 Complete a Schedule IN-117 for each state or province.  Do NOT 

combine the income and credit of all states or provinces on one 
Schedule IN-117.

•	 Add Line 20 from each Schedule IN-117 to calculate the tax credit 
entry on Form IN-111, Line 23.

•	 Attach all Schedules IN-117 and the supporting documents required. 

NOTE:  A new owner of 
the homestead must file 
his or her own Homestead 
Declaration.!



	 NOTE:  The property tax adjustment remains with the 
property.  The allocation of the seller’s property tax adjustment 
is determined at the closing.  

•	 Change the use of the property on the previously filed 
declaration  If the business or rental use of the property 
increases or decreases, file a new declaration.  The declaration 
with the change can be filed as soon as you make the change 
and the Department will hold the new declaration for the 
appropriate grand list year.  Otherwise, you need to file the 
new declaration by the April 15 date.

When a portion of the property is the homestead and a portion is 
used for business purposes or rented, the following rules apply for 
reporting the use on Form HS-131, Homestead Declaration:

	 Business Use:  If no part of the homestead is used for business 
or the business use is 25% or less of the homestead, the entire 
property is taxed at the homestead education property tax rate.  More 
than 25% business use of the homestead - enter the appropriate 
percentage.  The business use is the same as reported on your 
Federal income tax return.  Examples for calculating business 
use:  (a) 1,800 square foot home with 635 square feet used as a 
home office and inventory storage.  There is 35.28% of business 
use (635/1800); round the business use to 35%.  The business use 
portion will be taxed at the nonresidential education property tax 
rate.  (b) 1,200 square foot home with 250 square feet used as a 
home office.  There is 20.83% business use (250/1200); round the 
business use to 21%.  Because the business use is less than 25%, the 
entire property will be taxed at the homestead education property tax 
rate.

	 Rental Use:  The portion of your home that you rent to another 
person is not part of your home and is taxed at the nonresidential 
education tax rate.  All rental use must be reported.  There is no 
25% allowance for rentals.  The rental use percentage is the same as 
reported on your Federal income tax return.  Example for calculating 
rental use:  1,800 square foot home with 400 square feet rented 
out.  There is 22.22% rental use (400/1,800); round the rental use to 
22%.  Seventy-eight percent of the homestead will be taxed at the 
homestead education property tax rate and twenty-two percent at the 
nonresidential education property tax rate.

FORM HS-132, NOTICE TO WITHDRAW VERMONT HOMESTEAD 
DECLARATION
Form HS-132 is not included in this booklet.  Please go to our 
website at http://tax.vermont.gov where you can file online or 
download in the “Forms” section.  Call (802) 828-2515 to have the 
form mailed to you. 
Withdrawal of the Homestead 
Declaration should be filed when:

•	 Property Is Sold  The 
seller must withdraw 
the declaration when 
transferring the title of 
the homestead to another owner.  NOTE:  The property tax 
adjustment remains with the property.  The allocation of the 
seller’s property tax adjustment is determined at the closing.  

	 Selling includes conveyance of the property to a trust, an 
estate, or creation of a life estate.  

	 You can complete the notice and file with the Department at 
the time of the closing.  

•	 Property Is No Longer A Homestead 
•	 Property Is Owned By Estate  If the property is the decedent’s 

homestead at the time of death, the property now owned by an 
estate may retain homestead classification on the grand list 
until the following April 1 provided the property is not rented.  
For example, the owner dies in 2011.  The property is not 
rented.  The property remains classified as a homestead until 
April 1, 2012.  	

•	 Declaration Submitted In Error .

FORM HS-145, PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT CLAIM
Eligibility A homeowner eligible for an adjustment is one who 
(1) owned and occupied the property as his or her principal home on 
April 1, 2012; (2) was a VT resident all of calendar year 2011; (3) was 
not claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer for tax year 2011; and 
(4) has household income of $97,000 or less in 2011.  
Application of Adjustment  The town receives notification of the 
adjustment amount that is credited to the property tax bill.  The town 
issues the homeowner a bill for the balance due.  
Adjustment Calculation Basis  The 2012 property tax adjustment is 
based on 2011 household income and the 2011/2012 property taxes.  
Claiming an Adjustment  To make a property tax adjustment claim, 
complete Form HS-145 and Schedule HI-144.  See instructions on 
page 36.
Due Dates  
On or before April 17, 2012 is a timely filed Form  HS-145.  When 
filed by the due date, eligible homeowners receive a credit on their 
2012/2013 property tax bill on July 1, 2012.   

Between April 18 and September 4, 2012 is a late filed Form HS-145.  
However, eligible homeowners can still receive a credit on their 
2012/2013 property tax bill that is applied on September 15, 2012.  A 
$15 late filing penalty is deducted.

After September 4, 2012 the filing of Form HS-145 cannot be 
accepted.   
Receipt Date  A return mailed through the U.S. Post Office will be 
considered timely if it is received by the Department within 3 business 
days of the due date.  If you file electronically, the receipt date is the 
date of transmission.  If you bring the return to the Department in 
person, the Department must receive the return on or before the due 
date.
Extension of Time   No extension of time to file Form HS-145 is 
available.  Form HS-145 must be filed no later than September 4, 
2012.  

Do You Have An Extension of Time to File Your VT Income Tax 
Return?  See page 52 for information on completing Schedule HI-144 
when your income tax return is under extension and you are unable to 
determine your household income.
Property Tax Adjustment Calculation by Household Income
$47,000 or less Household Income  Eligible homeowners receive 
an adjustment to education property tax based on a percentage of 
household income OR the education property tax on $15,000, 
whichever is more.  Some homeowners may also be eligible for an 
additional adjustment on the municipal property tax.
$47,001 to $89,999 Household Income  Eligible homeowners receive 
an adjustment to education property tax based on a percentage of 
household income.  No adjustment is available for education property 
taxes on equalized housesite value exceeding $500,000.  
$90,000 or more Household Income  Eligible homeowners receive 
an adjustment to education property tax based on a percentage of 
household income.   No adjustment is available for education property 
taxes on equalized housesite value exceeding $200,000.  Generally, 
the calculation for homeowners with household income of $97,000 or 
more is zero adjustment.

Maximum property tax adjustment for 2012 is $8,000
DEFINITIONS FOR PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT
Allocable Mobile Home Lot Rent  means rent paid for a lot in a for-
profit mobile home park and supported by Form LC-142, Landlord’s 
Certificate.
Allowable Property Tax  means the property tax on the portion of the 
housesite you own and occupy as a home.  If the housesite is owned 
by you and another person(s), see Ownership Situtations on page 50.
Cooperative  means a housing corporation organized under 11 V.S.A. 
Chapter 14. 49

NOTE:  A new owner of 
the homestead must file 
his or her own Homestead 
Declaration.!



Domiciled  means, for purposes of declaring a VT homestead, that 
VT is your home state, and you own and occupy the property as your 
principal home on April 1, 2012.  For purposes of the property tax 
adjustment program, the homeowner must also have been domiciled 
in VT for all of calendar year 2011.  For factors considered in 
determining domicile, see VT Department of Taxes Regulation 
1.5811.
Education Property Tax Allocated from Land Trust, Co-Op or 
Nonprofit Mobile Home Park  means the education property tax on 
the portion of land owned by one of the above entities that is part of 
your housesite. 
Eligible Education Property Tax means, for purposes of the property 
tax adjustment program, the education property tax assessed on the 
housesite or the education property tax on the maximum housesite 
value, whichever is less.
Homeowner  means a person who owns and occupies the housesite 
as his or her principal home.  Homeowner also means a person who 
meets the eligibility requirements for a property tax adjustment.  Only 
one claim for property tax adjustment per household is allowed and 
the claim must be from the owner who lives in the property.  Husband 
and wife owners are considered as one homeowner.  See definition of 
Joint Homeowners.
Homestead  means your principal home and improvements and 
contiguous land.  NOTE:  A separate parcel contiguous to your 
homestead requires a separate Form HS-131, Homestead Declaration, 
for each parcel.
Household Members and Household Income   See page 52.
Housesite  means the portion of the homestead that is owned 
and occupied by the homeowner as his/her primary home plus 
improvements and up to 2 acres of land.
Joint Homeowners  means more than one person owns the homestead.  
All owners may or may not occupy the homestead.  Only one claim 
for property tax adjustment per household is allowed and the claim 
must be from eligible owner(s) living in the property.  See Ownership 
Situations.
Land Trust  means a nonprofit corporation or community land trust 
exempt under Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.  The 
corporation’s purpose must be the creation or retention of affordable 
housing for lower income Vermonters and its bylaws must require that 
such housing be maintained affordable for lower income Vermonters 
on a perpetual basis.
Legal Separation  means, for purposes of the property tax adjustment 
program, a status granted by a court order similar to an order granting 
absolute divorce or civil union dissolution.  A preliminary order in a 
divorce or civil union dissolution may also be accepted as evidence of 
legal separation.  The Department will use the terms of the court as the 
basis to determine eligibility and the adjustment amount.
Life Estate  means an interest in the property conveyed through a deed 
and recorded in the town records.

Municipal Property Tax Allocated from Land Trust, Co-Op or 
Nonprofit Mobile Home Park  means the municipal property tax on 
the portion of land owned by one of the above entities that is part of 
your housesite. 

Nonprofit Mobile Home Park  means a corporation exempt under 
Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or its wholly-owned 
subsidiary, which has as its purpose the preservation of housing for 
low income families; or a housing cooperative organized under 11 
V.S.A. Chapter 14.

Nonresidential Property  means property used for commercial, rental, 
business, second home, camp or vacation purposes; or property not 
properly declared as a homestead.

Spouse  means the husband, wife or civil union partner of the 
homeowner. 

SPECIAL SITUATIONS
Deceased Homeowner 
	 Property Tax Adjustment:  An estate cannot make a property 
tax adjustment claim on behalf of a deceased homeowner.  If a 
homeowner files a property tax adjustment claim but dies prior to 
April 1, the estate must withdraw the claim.  The estate is responsible 
to repay any adjustment issued.  If the homeowner filed a property tax 
adjustment claim between January and March 31 and dies after April 
1, the commissioner may pay the adjustment to the town on behalf of 
another member of the household with ownership interest.  
	 Homestead Declaration:  If the spouse/civil union partner of the 
deceased homeowner or another owner occupies the property as his or 
her principal residence, a new HS-131, Homestead Declaration, must 
be filed if the homeowner died prior to April 1.  
An estate may continue classification of the property as a homestead 
until the following April provided the property was the deceased 
homeowner’s homestead at the time of death and the property is 
not rented.  The estate must file Form HS-132, Notice to Withdraw 
Vermont Homestead Declaration, the following April.
Delinquent Property Tax  The 2012 property tax adjustment applies 
to the current year property tax.  The municipality may use any 
remaining adjustment towards penalty, interest or prior year property 
taxes.
Nursing Home or Residential Care  If the homeowner is age 62 
or older and another owner who also lived in the homestead is the 
homeowner’s spouse/civil union partner or sibling and has moved 
indefinitely from the homestead to a nursing home or residential care 
facility, the homeowner makes the property tax adjustment claim with 
100% ownership interest provided that the spouse/civil union partner 
or sibling does not make a Renter Rebate Claim or the spouse/civil 
union partner or sibling does not make a property tax adjustment 
claim for the same homestead.
If the homeowner has moved to a nursing home or residential care 
facility, a property tax adjustment claim may be made if there is a 
reasonable likelihood that the homeowner will be returning to the 
homestead and provided that the homeowner does not make a Renter 
Rebate Claim.  The Department may ask for a doctor’s certificate to 
help determine whether the nursing home or residential care facility 
is a temporary location.
Renting at the End of the Year  If you owned a VT homestead in 
2011, sold the homestead before April 1, 2011, did not receive a 
property tax adjustment on the property sold, and rented between the 
date of the sale and December 31, 2011, you may be eligible for a 
renter rebate on rent paid in 2011.  A renter rebate is available to those 
persons with household income of $47,000 or less.  NOTE:   This is 
the only situation where a renter rebate can be claimed for less than 
12 months rental.
OWNERSHIP SITUATIONS
Homeowner Age 62 or Older in 2011  If the homeowner shares 
ownership of the homestead with his or her descendant(s), the 
homeowner may claim 100% ownership interest on the property tax 
adjustment claim, even if the other owners (descendants) do not live 
in the homestead.  A letter of explanation may be requested.
Divorced or Legally Separated Joint Owners  If you are (1) divorced 
or legally separated from your spouse/civil union partner, and (2) the 
name of the spouse/civil union partner from whom you are divorced 
or legally separated remains on the deed, and (3) you are awarded 
possession of the home, you claim as ownership percentage the 
property taxes for which you are responsible under the final divorce 
decree or court order.  If the divorce decree or court order does not 
specify responsibility for the property taxes, the person residing in the 
homestead uses 50% ownership interest.  The person not living in the 
homestead cannot make a property tax adjustment claim.  Examples:  
(a) Dan and Lynn are divorced/legally separated but both names 
remain on the deed.  Lynn is granted possession of the homestead 
and full responsibility for all the property taxes.  Lynn claims 100% 
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ownership on the property tax adjustment.  (b) Ethan and Myrna are 
divorced/legally separated but both names stay on the deed.  Myrna 
is given possession of the homestead and Ethan has responsibility for 
all the property taxes.  Myrna cannot make a property tax adjustment 
claim as she is not responsible for the property taxes.  Ethan cannot 
make a property tax adjustment claim as he does not occupy the 
homestead as his principal residence.  (c) Paul and Robert are 
divorced/legally separated but both names remain on the deed.  Robert 
is given possession of the homestead.  The divorce decree/court order 
does not specify who is responsible for the property taxes on the 
homestead.  Robert claims 50% as ownership interest on the property 
tax adjustment claim.  Paul cannot make a property tax adjustment 
claim as he does not occupy the homestead as his principal residence.   
The Department may ask for a copy of the portions of the court 
documents showing the court, date filed, signature page, and the 
homestead related provisions.    
Duplex Housing  WHEN BOTH OWNERS OCCUPY THE 
BUILDING AS THEIR PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, the eligible 
housesite education property tax is the tax on the portion owned 
by each homeowner.  If the town issues a property tax bill to each 
homeowner for his or her portion of the homestead, use the housesite 
value, housesite property tax and 100% ownership interest.  If the 
property tax bill is for the total property, pro rate the housesite value, 
housesite property tax and ownership interest.  Examples:  (a) Jack and 
Jill own a duplex and each occupies half as their principal residence.  
The town sends them separate property tax bills for their units.  Jack 
and Jill complete the property tax adjustment claim using the housesite 
value and property tax on the property tax bill and 100% ownership 
interest.  (b) Sally and Sara own a duplex and each occupies half as 
her principal residence.  The town sends one property tax bill for the 
whole parcel.  Sally and Sara use one-half of the housesite value and 
property tax on the property tax bill and 100% ownership interest.   
WHEN BOTH OWNERS DO NOT OCCUPY THE DUPLEX AS 
THEIR PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, the owner occupying the duplex 
as his or her principal residence must pro rate for the other owner’s 
interest.  Examples:  (a) Tom and Jerry own a duplex.  Tom owns and 
occupies his portion of the duplex as his principal residence.  Jerry 
rents out his portion.  The town issues a property tax bill to each 
owner for his portion of the homestead.  Tom may make a property 
tax adjustment claim and uses the housesite value and property tax 
but must use 50% ownership to adjust for Jerry’s ownership interest 
in Tom’s portion of the duplex.  (b) Dick and Jane own a duplex.  
The town issues a single property tax bill for the whole parcel.  Dick 
occupies his portion of the duplex as his principal residence, Jane does 
not.  He may make a property tax adjustment claim and uses one-half 
of the housesite value and property tax and must use 50% ownership 
to adjust for Jane’s ownership interest in Dick’s portion of the duplex.  
Entity Ownership  Property owned by a C or S corporation, 
partnership, or limited liability company cannot be claimed as an 
individual’s homestead and is not eligible for property tax adjustment.  
There is an exception for a homestead located on a farm.  See 
Regulation 1.5401.
Life Estate  A person who holds a life estate interest in a property 
that he or she occupies as a principal residence may make a property 
tax adjustment claim as if the life estate holder was the owner of the 
property when the life estate was established.  The deed does not 
have to be attached to the property tax adjustment claim but must be 
available for review upon Department request.
Shared Ownership of the Homestead  When a homestead is owned 
by someone(s) other than the homeowner making a property tax 
adjustment claim and are member(s) of the household, the ownership 
interest is the combined ownership percentage of the household.  
Example:  (a) James, Grace and Lucinda jointly own the homestead 
and all occupy the homestead as their principal residence.  The 
ownership interest is 100%.  (b) Tim and Al own a home.  Tim 
occupies the property as his principal residence; Al does not live 
there.  The ownership interest on Tim’s property tax adjustment claim 
is 50% to adjust for Al’s ownership interest in the property.   

Trust Ownership  A property owned by a trust is not a homestead 
unless the trust is (1) revocable, or becomes irrevocable solely by 
reason of the grantor’s death; (2) the property is the principal residence 
of the grantor; and (3) the grantor is the sole beneficiary of the trust.  
The term “sole beneficiary” is satisfied if the homeowner and the 
spouse/civil union partner of the spouse are the only beneficiaries 
of the trust.  A property owned by an irrevocable trust cannot be a 
homestead except as stated in (1) above.  The trust document does not 
have to be attached to the property tax adjustment claim but must be 
available for review upon Department request.
BUYING and SELLING PROPERTY 
NOTE:   The property tax adjustment stays with the property.  The 
allocation of the seller’s property tax adjustment is determined at the 
closing.
Buying after April 1, 2011  For property purchased as your principal 
residence, you need to file a 2012 Homestead Declaration.  If you 
are eligible to make a 2012 property tax adjustment claim and if the 
property was declared as a homestead, use the seller’s property tax 
bill.  If the property was not a homestead in 2011, ask the town for the 
housesite value and the property taxes on the housesite as if it was a 
homestead in 2011.
Property Transactions between July 1, 2011 and March 31, 2012 
A new law effective July 1, 2010 requires the Seller to notify 
the Department of the sale of a homestead and to withdraw the 
Homestead Declaration.   The Seller uses Form HS-132 to withdraw 
the declaration.  The Seller may complete and file Form HS-132 with 
the Department at the time of the closing.   
If the property is purchased for use as a homestead and will be owned 
and occupied by the owner on April 1, 2012, the Buyer files his or 
her own Homestead Declaration on Form HS-131.  The Buyer may 
complete and file Form HS-131 with the Department at the time of 
the closing.   The Buyer may also be eligible for a 2012 property tax 
adjustment. The property tax adjustment may be claimed by filing 
Form HS-145 with Schedule HI-144.  See page 36.    
Property Transactions after April 1, 2012  The Seller must file 
Form HS-132 to withdraw the Homestead Declaration.  The Buyer is 
responsible for filing his or her own Homestead Declaration on Form 
HS-131.  See page 48 for information on Form HS-131.       
NOTE:  Unless agreed otherwise by the Buyer and Seller, any 
property tax adjustment paid on behalf of the Seller is treated as a 
payment of property tax by the Seller and allocated at closing. 
NEW CONSTRUCTION
New homestead construction where the property was built after 
April 1, 2011 and is owned and occupied as a principal residence on 
April 1, 2012, file Form HS-131 Homestead Declaration.  Eligible 
homeowners may make a 2012 property tax adjustment claim.  The 
claim will be based on the value as of April 1, 2011 of the parcel, site 
improvements or structures in existence and up to two acres of land.    

SCHEDULE HI-144 
HOUSEHOLD INCOME

Complete this schedule before completing Form HS-145, Property 
Tax Adjustment Claim, or Form PR-141, Renter Rebate Claim to 
determine your eligibility for a Property Tax Adjustment or a Renter 
Rebate.
Homeowners:  If your total household income is $97,000 or less, you 
may be eligible for a property tax adjustment.
Renters:  If your total household income is $47,000 or less, you may 
be eligible for a Renter Rebate. 
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Due Dates.  This schedule must be filed with Form HS-145 or PR-141 
by APRIL 17, 2012.   Claims filed between April 18 and September 4, 
2012 are late but will be accepted.  Claims filed after September 4th 
cannot be accepted.  NOTE:  A $15 late filing penalty applies to the 
property tax adjustment claim.  
Do You Have An Extension of Time to File Your VT Income 
Tax Return?   If you are unable 
to determine your household 
income by the due date (for 
instance, K-1 statements or 
other income information is 
not available yet), use the best 
information available.  You do 
not need to break the income into categories in this instance.  Enter the 
amount on Line m of Schedule HI-144.  Then complete Form HS-145, 
Property Tax Adjustment Claim, or PR-141, Renter Rebate Claim, 
and submit to the Department no later than September 4, 2012.  You 
are responsible for filing an amended Schedule HI-144 when you file 
the income tax return.  The change in household income may result 
in additional adjustment or rebate or a bill for overpayment of an 
adjustment or rebate already issued.
Amending or Changing Your Household Income. You can 
change the household income reported on the Schedule HI-144 that 
accompanied the original filing of Form HS-145 or Form PR-141 
provided the change is made within three years of the April 15 due 
date.  
To amend household income, complete HS-145 or PR-141 and check 
the amend box on Line 11 on the HS-145 or Line 6 on the PR-141.  All 
the entries on HS-145 or PR-141 must be the same as originally filed 
except the household income amount.  Complete Schedule HI-144, 
Household Income, for the appropriate year with the new household 
income information. 
Examples of when household income needs to be amended include: 
(1)  you received a corrected K-1 that increases or decreases the 
amount reported on HI-144; (2) you received a late W-2; (3) the IRS 
made changes to your income; (4) you estimated household income 
because you were filing your income tax return under an extension. 
Remember to correct the adjustment for Social Security and Medicare 
taxes withheld on Line o to correspond with the corrected amounts.
Household Members include you, your spouse/civil union partner, 
roommates, and family members (including children) even if they 
file their own income tax returns and are not considered dependents.  
A spouse from whom you are not legally separated is considered a 
member of the household and you must include his or her income.  
Exceptions - The following are not considered household members:  
	 •	 A person who is not related to any member of the household 

and who is living in the household under a written homesharing 
agreement pursuant to a nonprofit homesharing program 
authorized by the VT Department of Disability, Aging and 
Independent Living.

	 •	 A person living in the household who is a bona fide employee 
hired to provide personal care to an unrelated household 
member. 

	 •	 A person who resides with the claimant for the primary 
reason of providing attendant care services or homemaker or 
companionship services with or without compensation that 
allows the claimant to remain in his or her home or avoid 
institutionalization and the claimant is disabled or was at least 
62 years of age as of December 31, 2011.

Members of the household for a portion of the year.  You must 
include the income received by any person during the time he or 
she resided in the house or apartment.   For example, Joe lived in 
the household from September to December of 2011.  Joe’s annual 
income was $30,000 but he received $21, 000 during the time he lived 
in the household.  $21,000 is the amount that must be included in the 
household income.    

Household Income   Lines a-m on Schedule HI-144 list the items of 
income that are required to be reported for Household Income. 
Report your income under Column 1, Claimant.  
Your spouse/civil union partner income is reported under Column 2.  
Exceptions applying to spouse/civil union partner - (1)  Unless you 
are legally separated, your spouse/civil union partner’s income must 
be included even if that person is not living with you; and (2) Income 
of a spouse who is age 62 or older and has moved permanently to a 
nursing home or other care facility is not included.  
Income from all others who resided in your house or apartment under 
Column 3, Other Persons.
Exclusions:  The following are not part of household income: 
	 •	 Payments by the State of Vermont for foster care pursuant to 

Chapters 49 and 55 of Title 33.
	 •	 Payments by the State of Vermont to a family for the support 

of an eligible person with a developmental disability.
	 •	 Payments by the State of Vermont or an agency designated in 

Title 18 Section 8907 for adult foster care payments (formerly 
“difficulty of care” payments). 

	 •	 Surplus food or other relief in kind supplied by a government 
agency.

	 •	 The first $6,500 of income received (earned or unearned) by 
a person who qualifies as a dependent of the claimant under 
the Internal Revenue Code and who is the claimant’s parent or 
disabled adult child.

	 •	 The first $6,500 of income earned, such as wages, salaries, 
tips, etc., by a full-time student who qualifies as a dependent 
of the claimant (all unearned income must be reported)

	 •	 The first $6,500 of gifts of cash and cash equivalents received 
by all household members.

	 •	 Distributions from the contributions to a ROTH IRA 
(distributions from the earnings of the ROTH IRA are to be 
reported in household income). 

	 •	 Gifts from a nongovernmental source, such as aid provided by 
the Red Cross, Salvation Army, a church, to assist paying a 
living expense - for example, fuel, utilities, rent.   

Contact the Department of Taxes or go to our website for information 
on when the income of a grantor to a trust may need to be included. 

LINE BY LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Line a  Cash public assistance and relief  Enter all payments from 
the State of Vermont Agency of Human Services except for foster 
care payments, difficulty of care payments and fuel assistance. The 
first $6,500 of refugee settlement payment is excluded.
Line b  Social security, railroad retirement, and veterans’ benefits 
(taxable and nontaxable)  Enter payments from Social Security 
as reported in Box 5 of your SSA-1099 (this box adjusts for any 
repayment of Social Security benefits you were required to make) 
or from Federal Form 1040, Line 20a or 1040A, Line 14a.  Social 
Security benefits also includes SSI and SSD payments.  Enter all 
railroad retirement from RRB-1099 and veterans’ benefits.     
Line c  Unemployment compensation and workers’ compensation  
Enter the full unemployment compensation shown on Federal Form 
1099-G plus any workers’ compensation you received.
Line d  Wages, salaries, tips, etc.  Enter the income shown in 
Box 1 of the W-2.  Also report Federal Form 1099-MISC issued for 
nonemployee compensation if this is income not included as part 
of Line h, Business Income.  See exclusions in Household Income 
section before completing this line.  
Line e  Interest and dividends  Enter the income required to be 
reported on Lines 8a  and 9a of Federal Forms 1040 or 1040A; or 
on Line 2 of Federal Form 1040EZ plus the nontaxable interest not 
required to be reported on Federal Form 1040EZ.  
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Line f  Interest on U.S., state, or municipal obligations  Enter the 
income reported on Line 8b of Federal Form 1040 or 1040A and all 
interest income from federal, state or municipal government bonds.  
This includes interest taxed at the Federal level but exempted for VT 
income tax purposes and interest not taxed at the Federal level.    
Line g  Alimony, support money, child support, cash and cash 
equivalent gifts  Enter the total received for alimony, child support 
and other support money. Support money includes payment of housing 
expenses for household member, or other financial assistance that 
makes it possible for the household member to live in the homestead or 
rental unit. Also gifts of cash or cash equivalent received by household 
members must be reported.  However, $6,500 of the combined total 
of the gifts received by all household members is excluded.  Cash 
equivalent includes stocks, bonds, treasury obligations, certificates of 
deposit or other instruments convertible to cash. 
Line h  Business income  Enter income attributable to a business.  If 
there is a business loss, enter zero (0).  You cannot offset the loss of 
one business against the income of another business.  Each Schedule C 
stands on its own.  Do NOT use the aggregate amount on Federal 
Form 1040 Line 12.  You can offset a business loss against a capital 
gain if it occurred in the same tax year and for the same business.  See 
Technical Bulletin #56.
Line i  Capital gain  Report gains from Federal Form 1040 
Schedule D:   Add Lines 6 and 14 and subtract this amount from 
Line 16.  If Line 16 is smaller than total of Lines 6 and 14, enter 
zero.  For Federal Form 1040A, use Line 10 but not less than zero. 
For purposes of household income, a capital loss carryforward cannot 
offset a current year capital gain.
		  Exception:  A business loss may offset a capital gain on the 

sale of the business’ property provided (1) the loss and capital 
gain are for the same business; and (2) the Internal Revenue 
Service requires the capital gain to be reported; and (3) the 
business loss and capital gain from the sale of the business’ 
property both occurred in the 2011 tax year. If the offset of the 
capital gain by the loss creates a negative amount, enter zero 
(0).  A capital loss cannot offset business income. 

Line j  Taxable pensions, annuities, IRAs, and retirement 
fund distributions  Enter the income from retirement, deferred 
compensation plans and annuities as reported on Federal Form 
1040, Lines 15b and 16b; or Federal Form 1040A, Lines 11b and 
12b.  Household income includes non-qualified distributions from 
retirement and deferred compensation plans and both taxable and 
nontaxable federal pension and annuity benefits. 
Line k  Rental and Royalty income  Enter the income from each 
rental property you own as reported on Federal Schedule E, Part I.  
Each rental property stands on its own.  A loss generated by one 
property may not be used to reduce income from a different property.  
See Technical Bulletin #56 for the proper treatment of rental income 
and losses. Room and board payments made to you by member(s) 
of the household is rental income and must be reported on this line.  
Royalty income  -  Report income from Federal Form 1099-MISC, 
1099-S, K-1 or Schedule E, Part I.
Line l  Income from Partnerships, S Corporations, LLCs, 
Farms, Trusts and Estates  Federal Schedule K-1 pass-through 
income as required to be reported on Federal Form 1040, Schedules 
E and/or F.  Report ordinary business income, rental income and 
guaranteed payments from K-1 on this line.  The loss from one K-1 
cannot offset income from another K-1.  A loss is reported as zero.  
See Line i instructions for the only provision allowing netting of a 
business loss.
Line m  Other income  Sources of other income include, but are not 
limited to, prizes and awards, gambling or lottery winnings, director’s 
fees, employer allowances, taxable refunds from Federal Form 
1040, Line 10, allowances received by dependents of armed service 
personnel and military subsistence payments (BAH, FSA), loss of 
time insurance, cost of living adjustment paid to federal employees, 
and other gains from Federal Form 1040, Line 14.  Report on this line 
income reported to you by Federal Form 1099-MISC or W-2G. 

Line n  Add items a through m by column. Carry those amounts over 
to the top of the next page.
ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME:  The following adjustments to household 
income may be made for each member of the household for whom 
such item of income was reported.
Line o  Social Security and Medicare Tax Withheld and Self-
Employment Tax on Income Reported
Social Security and Medicare Taxes  If these taxes are withheld 
from your income, they may 
be subtracted from household 
income to the extent the income 
is included.  Generally, the Social 
Security and Medicare taxes 
withheld is found on your W-2.  
Do NOT use the W-2 withholding 
amount for:
	 (1) Deferred compensation contributions or other compensation 
not included in Federal adjusted gross income but with respect to 
which Social Security and Medicare taxes were withheld.  Because 
the deferred compensation contribution is not reported in household 
income, the Social Security and Medicare taxes on the W-2 must be 
reduced for this adjustment.  For 2011, multiply the taxable income 
in Box 1 of the W-2 by 5.65% and use this amount.  Example: You 
contribute $5,000 to a deferred compensation plan.  Your W-2 Box 1 
shows $50,000 taxable income and $55,000 taxable for Social Security 
and Medicare taxes in Boxes 3 and 5.  The deferred compensation 
contribution is not reported in household income.  Multiply $50,000 
by 5.65%.  The resulting $2,825 is the Line o adjustment entry for this 
household member’s income; NOT the W-2 amounts.       
	 (2) Portions of income not required to be reported in household 
income upon which Social Security and Medicare taxes were 
withheld.  Example:  The first $6,500 of income earned by a full-time 
student qualified as your dependent is not required to be reported in 
household income.  The student earns $10,000.  Because $6,500 of the 
income is not included in household income, for 2011 multiply $3,500 
by 5.65%.  The resulting $198 is the Line o adjustment entry for this 
household member’s income; NOT the W-2 amounts.    
Self-Employed Social Security and Medicare Taxes Paid  Self-
employed claimants may subtract from household income the amount 
from Federal Schedule SE, Line 6 or 13 that represents the Social 
Security and Medicare taxes paid for 2011 for income reported on 
HI-144.  For income not required to be reported upon which Social 
Security and Medicare taxes were paid, multiply the income not 
reported on HI-144 by 11.3% and subtract the result from the Federal 
Schedule SE amount.  The amount of Social Security and Medicare 
taxes reported on this line includes the allowable deduction for one-
half self-employment tax on Federal Form 1040 Line 27.  You may be 
asked for a copy of your Federal Schedule SE. 
Line p  Child support paid  Report only those payments for which 
receipts or other evidence of payment is available. This evidence 
may include cancelled checks or a statement from the Office of Child 
Support in addition to the name and social security number of the 
parent receiving the payment.
Line q  Allowable Adjustments from Federal Form 1040 or Form 
1040A  The following expenses may be subtracted from income. They 
should be entered on Line q.
	 •	 Certain business expenses of reservists - Line 24 from Federal 

Form 1040
	 •	 Alimony paid - Line 31a from Federal Form 1040
	 •	 Tuition and fees - Line 34 from Federal Form 1040 or Line 19 

from Federal Form 1040A
	 •	 Self-employed health insurance deduction – Line 29 from 

Federal Form 1040
Line s  Subtract the total adjustments on Line r from the total income 
on Line n for each column. The adjustments for any individual in 
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your household cannot exceed the income of that individual.  If Line 
n minus Line r is negative, enter zero (0).
Line t  Add columns 1, 2, and 3 and enter sum. Entry cannot be less 
than zero (0).
Line u  Enter the total of interest and dividends for all household 
members reported on Lines e and f in each column.
Line v  Add the three columns on Line u.

Line w  No entry required. For purposes of calculating the property 
tax adjustment or renter rebate, household income is increased by the 
household total of interest and dividend income greater than $10,000.
Line x  Subtract Line w from Line v. If Line w is more than Line v, 
enter zero (0).
Line y  Household Income.  Add Line t and Line x. Enter this figure 
on HS-145 or PR-141.
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2011 VT Rate Schedules

Example:  VT Taxable Income is $82,000 (Form IN-111, Line 15).  Filing Status is Married Filing Jointly.  Use Schedule Y-1.  Base Tax is 
$3,226.00.  Subtract $75,000 from $82,000.  Multiply the result ($7,000) by 6.8%.  Add this amount ($476.00) to Base Tax ($3,226.00) for 
VT Tax of $3,702.00.  Enter $3,702.00 on Form IN-111, Line 16.

	 0	 46,250	 0.00	 3.55%	 0
	 46,250	 75,000	 1,642.00	 6.80%	 46,250

TAXABLE INCOME UNDER $75,000 USE THE TAX TABLES
	 75,000	 119,400	 3,597.00	 6.80%	 75,000
	 119,400	 193,350	 6,616.00	 7.80%	 119,400
	 193,350	 379,150	 12,384.00	 8.80%	 193,350
	 379,150	 -	 28,735.00	 8.95%	 379,150

	 If VT Taxable	 But Not	 VT Base	 Plus	 of the
	 Income is Over	 Over	 Tax is		  amount over

Schedule Z 
Use if your filing status is:

Head of Household

Schedule Y-2
Use if your filing status is:

Married Filing Separately; or Civil Union Filing Separately

	 0	 28,825	 0.00	 3.55%	 0
	 28,825	 69,675	 1,023.00	 6.80%	 28,825
	 69,675	 75,000	 3,801.00	 7.80%	 69,675

TAXABLE INCOME UNDER $75,000 USE THE TAX TABLES
	 75,000	 106,150	 4,216.00	 7.80%	 75,000
	 106,150	 189,575	 6,646.00	 8.80%	 106,150
	 189,575	 -	 13,988.00	 8.95%	 189,575

	 If VT Taxable	 But Not	 VT Base	 Plus	 of the
	 Income is Over	 Over	 Tax is		  amount over

	 75,000	 139,350	 3,226.00	 6.80%	 75,000
	 139,350	 212,300	 7,602.00	 7.80%	 139,350
	 212,300	 379,150	 13,292.00	 8.80%	 212,300
	 379,150	 -	 27,975.00	 8.95%	 379,150

	 0	 57,650	 0.00	 3.55%	 0
	 57,650	 75,000	 2,047.00	 6.80%	 57,650

TAXABLE INCOME UNDER $75,000 USE THE TAX TABLES

	 If VT Taxable	 But Not	 VT Base	 Plus	 of the
	 Income is Over	 Over	 Tax is		  amount over

Schedule Y-1
Use if your filing status is:

Married Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er); or Civil Union Filing Jointly

Schedule X
Use if your filing status is:

Single

	 0	 34,500	 0.00	 3.55%	 0
	 34,500	 75,000	 1,225.00	 6.80%	 34,500

TAXABLE INCOME UNDER $75,000 USE THE TAX TABLES
	 75,000	 83,600	 3,979.00	 6.80%	 75,000
	 83,600	 174,400	 4,564.00	 7.80%	 83,600
	 174,400	 379,150	 11,646.00	 8.80%	 174,400
	 379,150	 -	 29,664.00	 8.95%	 379,150

	 If VT Taxable	 But Not	 VT Base	 Plus	 of the
	 Income is Over	 Over	 Tax is		  amount over



   0 - 1,000
	 0	 100	 0	 0	 0	 0
	100	 200	 5	 5	 5	 5
	200	 300	 9	 9	 9	 9
	300	 400	 12	 12	 12	 12
	400	 500	 16	 16	 16	 16
	500	 600	 20	 20	 20	 20
	600	 700	 23	 23	 23	 23
	700	 800	 27	 27	 27	 27
	800	 900	 30	 30	 30	 30
	900	 1,000	 34	 34	 34	 34

	1,000					   
	1,000	 1,100	 37	 37	 37	 37
1,100	 1,200	 41	 41	 41	 41
1,200	 1,300	 44	 44	 44	 44
1,300	 1,400	 48	 48	 48	 48
1,400	 1,500	 51	 51	 51	 51
1,500	 1,600	 55	 55	 55	 55
1,600	 1,700	 59	 59	 59	 59
1,700	 1,800	 62	 62	 62	 62
1,800	 1,900	 66	 66	 66	 66
1,900	 2,000	 69	 69	 69	 69

	2,000					   
2,000	 2,100	 73	 73	 73	 73
2,100	 2,200	 76	 76	 76	 76
2,200	 2,300	 80	 80	 80	 80
2,300	 2,400	 83	 83	 83	 83
2,400	 2,500	 87	 87	 87	 87
2,500	 2,600	 91	 91	 91	 91
2,600	 2,700	 94	 94	 94	 94
2,700	 2,800	 98	 98	 98	 98
2,800	 2,900	 101	 101	 101	 101
2,900	 3,000	 105	 105	 105	 105

	3,000					   
	3,000	 3,100	 108	 108	 108	 108
3,100	 3,200	 112	 112	 112	 112
3,200	 3,300	 115	 115	 115	 115
3,300	 3,400	 119	 119	 119	 119
3,400	 3,500	 122	 122	 122	 122
3,500	 3,600	 126	 126	 126	 126
3,600	 3,700	 130	 130	 130	 130
3,700	 3,800	 133	 133	 133	 133
3,800	 3,900	 137	 137	 137	 137
3,900	 4,000	 140	 140	 140	 140

	4,000					   
	4,000	 4,100	 144	 144	 144	 144
4,100	 4,200	 147	 147	 147	 147
4,200	 4,300	 151	 151	 151	 151
4,300	 4,400	 154	 154	 154	 154
4,400	 4,500	 158	 158	 158	 158
4,500	 4,600	 162	 162	 162	 162
4,600	 4,700	 165	 165	 165	 165
4,700	 4,800	 169	 169	 169	 169
4,800	 4,900	 172	 172	 172	 172
4,900	 5,000	 176	 176	 176	 176

	5,000					   
	5,000	 5,100	 179	 179	 179	 179
5,100	 5,200	 183	 183	 183	 183
5,200	 5,300	 186	 186	 186	 186
5,300	 5,400	 190	 190	 190	 190
5,400	 5,500	 193	 193	 193	 193
5,500	 5,600	 197	 197	 197	 197
5,600	 5,700	 201	 201	 201	 201
5,700	 5,800	 204	 204	 204	 204
5,800	 5,900	 208	 208	 208	 208
5,900	 6,000	 211	 211	 211	 211

	6,000					   
6,000	 6,100	 215	 215	 215	 215
6,100	 6,200	 218	 218	 218	 218
6,200	 6,300	 222	 222	 222	 222
6,300	 6,400	 225	 225	 225	 225
6,400	 6,500	 229	 229	 229	 229
6,500	 6,600	 233	 233	 233	 233
6,600	 6,700	 236	 236	 236	 236
6,700	 6,800	 240	 240	 240	 240
6,800	 6,900	 243	 243	 243	 243
6,900	 7,000	 247	 247	 247	 247

	7,000					   
7,000	 7,100	 250	 250	 250	 250
7,100	 7,200	 254	 254	 254	 254
7,200	 7,300	 257	 257	 257	 257
7,300	 7,400	 261	 261	 261	 261
7,400	 7,500	 264	 264	 264	 264
7,500	 7,600	 268	 268	 268	 268
7,600	 7,700	 272	 272	 272	 272
7,700	 7,800	 275	 275	 275	 275
7,800	 7,900	 279	 279	 279	 279
7,900	 8,000	 282	 282	 282	 282

	8,000	 				  
8,000	 8,100	 286	 286	 286	 286
8,100	 8,200	 289	 289	 289	 289
8,200	 8,300	 293	 293	 293	 293
8,300	 8,400	 296	 296	 296	 296
8,400	 8,500	 300	 300	 300	 300
8,500	 8,600	 304	 304	 304	 304
8,600	 8,700	 307	 307	 307	 307
8,700	 8,800	 311	 311	 311	 311
8,800	 8,900	 314	 314	 314	 314
8,900	 9,000	 318	 318	 318	 318

	9,000	 				  
9,000	 9,100	 321	 321	 321	 321
9,100	 9,200	 325	 325	 325	 325
9,200	 9,300	 328	 328	 328	 328
9,300	 9,400	 332	 332	 332	 332
9,400	 9,500	 335	 335	 335	 335
9,500	 9,600	 339	 339	 339	 339
9,600	 9,700	 343	 343	 343	 343
9,700	 9,800	 346	 346	 346	 346
9,800	 9,900	 350	 350	 350	 350
9,900	 10,000	 353	 353	 353	 353

	10,000					   
	10,000	 10,100	 357	 357	 357	 357
10,100	 10,200	 360	 360	 360	 360
10,200	 10,300	 364	 364	 364	 364
10,300	 10,400	 367	 367	 367	 367
10,400	 10,500	 371	 371	 371	 371
10,500	 10,600	 375	 375	 375	 375
10,600	 10,700	 378	 378	 378	 378
10,700	 10,800	 382	 382	 382	 382
10,800	 10,900	 385	 385	 385	 385
10,900	 11,000	 389	 389	 389	 389

11,000					   
11,000	 11,100	 392	 392	 392	 392
11,100	 11,200	 396	 396	 396	 396
11,200	 11,300	 399	 399	 399	 399
11,300	 11,400	 403	 403	 403	 403
11,400	 11,500	 406	 406	 406	 406
11,500	 11,600	 410	 410	 410	 410
11,600	 11,700	 414	 414	 414	 414
11,700	 11,800	 417	 417	 417	 417
11,800	 11,900	 421	 421	 421	 421
11,900	 12,000	 424	 424	 424	 424

12,000					   
12,000	 12,100	 428	 428	 428	 428
12,100	 12,200	 431	 431	 431	 431
12,200	 12,300	 435	 435	 435	 435
12,300	 12,400	 438	 438	 438	 438
12,400	 12,500	 442	 442	 442	 442
12,500	 12,600	 446	 446	 446	 446
12,600	 12,700	 449	 449	 449	 449
12,700	 12,800	 453	 453	 453	 453
12,800	 12,900	 456	 456	 456	 456
12,900	 13,000	 460	 460	 460	 460

13,000					   
13,000	 13,100	 463	 463	 463	 463
13,100	 13,200	 467	 467	 467	 467
13,200	 13,300	 470	 470	 470	 470
13,300	 13,400	 474	 474	 474	 474
13,400	 13,500	 477	 477	 477	 477
13,500	 13,600	 481	 481	 481	 481
13,600	 13,700	 485	 485	 485	 485
13,700	 13,800	 488	 488	 488	 488
13,800	 13,900	 492	 492	 492	 492
13,900	 14,000	 495	 495	 495	 495

14,000					   
14,000	 14,100	 499	 499	 499	 499
14,100	 14,200	 502	 502	 502	 502
14,200	 14,300	 506	 506	 506	 506
14,300	 14,400	 509	 509	 509	 509
14,400	 14,500	 513	 513	 513	 513
14,500	 14,600	 517	 517	 517	 517
14,600	 14,700	 520	 520	 520	 520
14,700	 14,800	 524	 524	 524	 524
14,800	 14,900	 527	 527	 527	 527
14,900	 15,000	 531	 531	 531	 531

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

*  This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status
** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status
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	15,000					   
	15,000	 15,100	 534	 534	 534	 534
15,100	 15,200	 538	 538	 538	 538
15,200	 15,300	 541	 541	 541	 541
15,300	 15,400	 545	 545	 545	 545
15,400	 15,500	 548	 548	 548	 548
15,500	 15,600	 552	 552	 552	 552
15,600	 15,700	 556	 556	 556	 556
15,700	 15,800	 559	 559	 559	 559
15,800	 15,900	 563	 563	 563	 563
15,900	 16,000	 566	 566	 566	 566

16,000					   
16,000	 16,100	 570	 570	 570	 570
16,100	 16,200	 573	 573	 573	 573
16,200	 16,300	 577	 577	 577	 577
16,300	 16,400	 580	 580	 580	 580
16,400	 16,500	 584	 584	 584	 584
16,500	 16,600	 588	 588	 588	 588
16,600	 16,700	 591	 591	 591	 591
16,700	 16,800	 595	 595	 595	 595
16,800	 16,900	 598	 598	 598	 598
16,900	 17,000	 602	 602	 602	 602

17,000					   
17,000	 17,100	 605	 605	 605	 605
17,100	 17,200	 609	 609	 609	 609
17,200	 17,300	 612	 612	 612	 612
17,300	 17,400	 616	 616	 616	 616
17,400	 17,500	 619	 619	 619	 619
17,500	 17,600	 623	 623	 623	 623
17,600	 17,700	 627	 627	 627	 627
17,700	 17,800	 630	 630	 630	 630
17,800	 17,900	 634	 634	 634	 634
17,900	 18,000	 637	 637	 637	 637

18,000					   
18,000	 18,100	 641	 641	 641	 641
18,100	 18,200	 644	 644	 644	 644
18,200	 18,300	 648	 648	 648	 648
18,300	 18,400	 651	 651	 651	 651
18,400	 18,500	 655	 655	 655	 655
18,500	 18,600	 659	 659	 659	 659
18,600	 18,700	 662	 662	 662	 662
18,700	 18,800	 666	 666	 666	 666
18,800	 18,900	 669	 669	 669	 669
18,900	 19,000	 673	 673	 673	 673

19,000					   
19,000	 19,100	 676	 676	 676	 676
19,100	 19,200	 680	 680	 680	 680
19,200	 19,300	 683	 683	 683	 683
19,300	 19,400	 687	 687	 687	 687
19,400	 19,500	 690	 690	 690	 690
19,500	 19,600	 694	 694	 694	 694
19,600	 19,700	 698	 698	 698	 698
19,700	 19,800	 701	 701	 701	 701
19,800	 19,900	 705	 705	 705	 705
19,900	 20,000	 708	 708	 708	 708

20,000					   
20,000	 20,100	 712	 712	 712	 712
20,100	 20,200	 715	 715	 715	 715
20,200	 20,300	 719	 719	 719	 719
20,300	 20,400	 722	 722	 722	 722
20,400	 20,500	 726	 726	 726	 726
20,500	 20,600	 730	 730	 730	 730
20,600	 20,700	 733	 733	 733	 733
20,700	 20,800	 737	 737	 737	 737
20,800	 20,900	 740	 740	 740	 740
20,900	 21,000	 744	 744	 744	 744

21,000					   
21,000	 21,100	 747	 747	 747	 747
21,100	 21,200	 751	 751	 751	 751
21,200	 21,300	 754	 754	 754	 754
21,300	 21,400	 758	 758	 758	 758
21,400	 21,500	 761	 761	 761	 761
21,500	 21,600	 765	 765	 765	 765
21,600	 21,700	 769	 769	 769	 769
21,700	 21,800	 772	 772	 772	 772
21,800	 21,900	 776	 776	 776	 776
21,900	 22,000	 779	 779	 779	 779

22,000					   
22,000	 22,100	 783	 783	 783	 783
22,100	 22,200	 786	 786	 786	 786
22,200	 22,300	 790	 790	 790	 790
22,300	 22,400	 793	 793	 793	 793
22,400	 22,500	 797	 797	 797	 797
22,500	 22,600	 801	 801	 801	 801
22,600	 22,700	 804	 804	 804	 804
22,700	 22,800	 808	 808	 808	 808
22,800	 22,900	 811	 811	 811	 811
22,900	 23,000	 815	 815	 815	 815

	23,000					   
23,000	 23,100	 818	 818	 818	 818
23,100	 23,200	 822	 822	 822	 822
23,200	 23,300	 825	 825	 825	 825
23,300	 23,400	 829	 829	 829	 829
23,400	 23,500	 832	 832	 832	 832
23,500	 23,600	 836	 836	 836	 836
23,600	 23,700	 840	 840	 840	 840
23,700	 23,800	 843	 843	 843	 843
23,800	 23,900	 847	 847	 847	 847
23,900	 24,000	 850	 850	 850	 850

24,000					   
24,000	 24,100	 854	 854	 854	 854
24,100	 24,200	 857	 857	 857	 857
24,200	 24,300	 861	 861	 861	 861
24,300	 24,400	 864	 864	 864	 864
24,400	 24,500	 868	 868	 868	 868
24,500	 24,600	 872	 872	 872	 872
24,600	 24,700	 875	 875	 875	 875
24,700	 24,800	 879	 879	 879	 879
24,800	 24,900	 882	 882	 882	 882
24,900	 25,000	 886	 886	 886	 886

25,000					   
25,000	 25,100	 889	 889	 889	 889
25,100	 25,200	 893	 893	 893	 893
25,200	 25,300	 896	 896	 896	 896
25,300	 25,400	 900	 900	 900	 900
25,400	 25,500	 903	 903	 903	 903
25,500	 25,600	 907	 907	 907	 907
25,600	 25,700	 911	 911	 911	 911
25,700	 25,800	 914	 914	 914	 914
25,800	 25,900	 918	 918	 918	 918
25,900	 26,000	 921	 921	 921	 921

26,000					   
26,000	 26,100	 925	 925	 925	 925
26,100	 26,200	 928	 928	 928	 928
26,200	 26,300	 932	 932	 932	 932
26,300	 26,400	 935	 935	 935	 935
26,400	 26,500	 939	 939	 939	 939
26,500	 26,600	 943	 943	 943	 943
26,600	 26,700	 946	 946	 946	 946
26,700	 26,800	 950	 950	 950	 950
26,800	 26,900	 953	 953	 953	 953
26,900	 27,000	 957	 957	 957	 957

	27,000					   
	27,000	 27,100	 960	 960	 960	 960
27,100	 27,200	 964	 964	 964	 964
27,200	 27,300	 967	 967	 967	 967
27,300	 27,400	 971	 971	 971	 971
27,400	 27,500	 974	 974	 974	 974
27,500	 27,600	 978	 978	 978	 978
27,600	 27,700	 982	 982	 982	 982
27,700	 27,800	 985	 985	 985	 985
27,800	 27,900	 989	 989	 989	 989
27,900	 28,000	 992	 992	 992	 992

28,000					   
28,000	 28,100	 996	 996	 996	 996
28,100	 28,200	 999	 999	 999	 999
28,200	 28,300	 1003	 1003	 1003	 1003
28,300	 28,400	 1006	 1006	 1006	 1006
28,400	 28,500	 1010	 1010	 1010	 1010
28,500	 28,600	 1014	 1014	 1014	 1014
28,600	 28,700	 1017	 1017	 1017	 1017
28,700	 28,800	 1021	 1021	 1021	 1021
28,800	 28,900	 1024	 1024	 1025	 1024
28,900	 29,000	 1028	 1028	 1032	 1028

29,000					   
29,000	 29,100	 1031	 1031	 1038	 1031
29,100	 29,200	 1035	 1035	 1045	 1035
29,200	 29,300	 1038	 1038	 1052	 1038
29,300	 29,400	 1042	 1042	 1059	 1042
29,400	 29,500	 1045	 1045	 1066	 1045
29,500	 29,600	 1049	 1049	 1072	 1049
29,600	 29,700	 1053	 1053	 1079	 1053
29,700	 29,800	 1056	 1056	 1086	 1056
29,800	 29,900	 1060	 1060	 1093	 1060
29,900	 30,000	 1063	 1063	 1100	 1063

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

*  This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status
** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status
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30,000					   
30,000	 30,100	 1067	 1067	 1106	 1067
30,100	 30,200	 1070	 1070	 1113	 1070
30,200	 30,300	 1074	 1074	 1120	 1074
30,300	 30,400	 1077	 1077	 1127	 1077
30,400	 30,500	 1081	 1081	 1134	 1081
30,500	 30,600	 1085	 1085	 1140	 1085
30,600	 30,700	 1088	 1088	 1147	 1088
30,700	 30,800	 1092	 1092	 1154	 1092
30,800	 30,900	 1095	 1095	 1161	 1095
30,900	 31,000	 1099	 1099	 1168	 1099

31,000					   
31,000	 31,100	 1102	 1102	 1174	 1102
31,100	 31,200	 1106	 1106	 1181	 1106
31,200	 31,300	 1109	 1109	 1188	 1109
31,300	 31,400	 1113	 1113	 1195	 1113
31,400	 31,500	 1116	 1116	 1202	 1116
31,500	 31,600	 1120	 1120	 1208	 1120
31,600	 31,700	 1124	 1124	 1215	 1124
31,700	 31,800	 1127	 1127	 1222	 1127
31,800	 31,900	 1131	 1131	 1229	 1131
31,900	 32,000	 1134	 1134	 1236	 1134

32,000					   
32,000	 32,100	 1138	 1138	 1242	 1138
32,100	 32,200	 1141	 1141	 1249	 1141
32,200	 32,300	 1145	 1145	 1256	 1145
32,300	 32,400	 1148	 1148	 1263	 1148
32,400	 32,500	 1152	 1152	 1270	 1152
32,500	 32,600	 1156	 1156	 1276	 1156
32,600	 32,700	 1159	 1159	 1283	 1159
32,700	 32,800	 1163	 1163	 1290	 1163
32,800	 32,900	 1166	 1166	 1297	 1166
32,900	 33,000	 1170	 1170	 1304	 1170

33,000					   
33,000	 33,100	 1173	 1173	 1310	 1173
33,100	 33,200	 1177	 1177	 1317	 1177
33,200	 33,300	 1180	 1180	 1324	 1180
33,300	 33,400	 1184	 1184	 1331	 1184
33,400	 33,500	 1187	 1187	 1338	 1187
33,500	 33,600	 1191	 1191	 1344	 1191
33,600	 33,700	 1195	 1195	 1351	 1195
33,700	 33,800	 1198	 1198	 1358	 1198
33,800	 33,900	 1202	 1202	 1365	 1202
33,900	 34,000	 1205	 1205	 1372	 1205

34,000					   
34,000	 34,100	 1209	 1209	 1378	 1209
34,100	 34,200	 1212	 1212	 1385	 1212
34,200	 34,300	 1216	 1216	 1392	 1216
34,300	 34,400	 1219	 1219	 1399	 1219
34,400	 34,500	 1223	 1223	 1406	 1223
34,500	 34,600	 1228	 1227	 1412	 1227
34,600	 34,700	 1235	 1230	 1419	 1230
34,700	 34,800	 1242	 1234	 1426	 1234
34,800	 34,900	 1249	 1237	 1433	 1237
34,900	 35,000	 1256	 1241	 1440	 1241

35,000					   
35,000	 35,100	 1262	 1244	 1446	 1244
35,100	 35,200	 1269	 1248	 1453	 1248
35,200	 35,300	 1276	 1251	 1460	 1251
35,300	 35,400	 1283	 1255	 1467	 1255
35,400	 35,500	 1290	 1258	 1474	 1258
35,500	 35,600	 1296	 1262	 1480	 1262
35,600	 35,700	 1303	 1266	 1487	 1266
35,700	 35,800	 1310	 1269	 1494	 1269
35,800	 35,900	 1317	 1273	 1501	 1273
35,900	 36,000	 1324	 1276	 1508	 1276

36,000					   
36,000	 36,100	 1330	 1280	 1514	 1280
36,100	 36,200	 1337	 1283	 1521	 1283
36,200	 36,300	 1344	 1287	 1528	 1287
36,300	 36,400	 1351	 1290	 1535	 1290
36,400	 36,500	 1358	 1294	 1542	 1294
36,500	 36,600	 1364	 1298	 1548	 1298
36,600	 36,700	 1371	 1301	 1555	 1301
36,700	 36,800	 1378	 1305	 1562	 1305
36,800	 36,900	 1385	 1308	 1569	 1308
36,900	 37,000	 1392	 1312	 1576	 1312

37,000					   
37,000	 37,100	 1398	 1315	 1582	 1315
37,100	 37,200	 1405	 1319	 1589	 1319
37,200	 37,300	 1412	 1322	 1596	 1322
37,300	 37,400	 1419	 1326	 1603	 1326
37,400	 37,500	 1426	 1329	 1610	 1329
37,500	 37,600	 1432	 1333	 1616	 1333
37,600	 37,700	 1439	 1337	 1623	 1337
37,700	 37,800	 1446	 1340	 1630	 1340
37,800	 37,900	 1453	 1344	 1637	 1344
37,900	 38,000	 1460	 1347	 1644	 1347

38,000					   
38,000	 38,100	 1466	 1351	 1650	 1351
38,100	 38,200	 1473	 1354	 1657	 1354
38,200	 38,300	 1480	 1358	 1664	 1358
38,300	 38,400	 1487	 1361	 1671	 1361
38,400	 38,500	 1494	 1365	 1678	 1365
38,500	 38,600	 1500	 1369	 1684	 1369
38,600	 38,700	 1507	 1372	 1691	 1372
38,700	 38,800	 1514	 1376	 1698	 1376
38,800	 38,900	 1521	 1379	 1705	 1379
38,900	 39,000	 1528	 1383	 1712	 1383

39,000					   
39,000	 39,100	 1534	 1386	 1718	 1386
39,100	 39,200	 1541	 1390	 1725	 1390
39,200	 39,300	 1548	 1393	 1732	 1393
39,300	 39,400	 1555	 1397	 1739	 1397
39,400	 39,500	 1562	 1400	 1746	 1400
39,500	 39,600	 1568	 1404	 1752	 1404
39,600	 39,700	 1575	 1408	 1759	 1408
39,700	 39,800	 1582	 1411	 1766	 1411
39,800	 39,900	 1589	 1415	 1773	 1415
39,900	 40,000	 1596	 1418	 1780	 1418

40,000					   
40,000	 40,100	 1602	 1422	 1786	 1422
40,100	 40,200	 1609	 1425	 1793	 1425
40,200	 40,300	 1616	 1429	 1800	 1429
40,300	 40,400	 1623	 1432	 1807	 1432
40,400	 40,500	 1630	 1436	 1814	 1436
40,500	 40,600	 1636	 1440	 1820	 1440
40,600	 40,700	 1643	 1443	 1827	 1443
40,700	 40,800	 1650	 1447	 1834	 1447
40,800	 40,900	 1657	 1450	 1841	 1450
40,900	 41,000	 1664	 1454	 1848	 1454

	41,000					   
41,000	 41,100	 1670	 1457	 1854	 1457
41,100	 41,200	 1677	 1461	 1861	 1461
41,200	 41,300	 1684	 1464	 1868	 1464
41,300	 41,400	 1691	 1468	 1875	 1468
41,400	 41,500	 1698	 1471	 1882	 1471
41,500	 41,600	 1704	 1475	 1888	 1475
41,600	 41,700	 1711	 1479	 1895	 1479
41,700	 41,800	 1718	 1482	 1902	 1482
41,800	 41,900	 1725	 1486	 1909	 1486
41,900	 42,000	 1732	 1489	 1916	 1489

42,000					   
42,000	 42,100	 1738	 1493	 1922	 1493
42,100	 42,200	 1745	 1496	 1929	 1496
42,200	 42,300	 1752	 1500	 1936	 1500
42,300	 42,400	 1759	 1503	 1943	 1503
42,400	 42,500	 1766	 1507	 1950	 1507
42,500	 42,600	 1772	 1511	 1956	 1511
42,600	 42,700	 1779	 1514	 1963	 1514
42,700	 42,800	 1786	 1518	 1970	 1518
42,800	 42,900	 1793	 1521	 1977	 1521
42,900	 43,000	 1800	 1525	 1984	 1525

43,000					   
43,000	 43,100	 1806	 1528	 1990	 1528
43,100	 43,200	 1813	 1532	 1997	 1532
43,200	 43,300	 1820	 1535	 2004	 1535
43,300	 43,400	 1827	 1539	 2011	 1539
43,400	 43,500	 1834	 1542	 2018	 1542
43,500	 43,600	 1840	 1546	 2024	 1546
43,600	 43,700	 1847	 1550	 2031	 1550
43,700	 43,800	 1854	 1553	 2038	 1553
43,800	 43,900	 1861	 1557	 2045	 1557
43,900	 44,000	 1868	 1560	 2052	 1560

44,000					   
44,000	 44,100	 1874	 1564	 2058	 1564
44,100	 44,200	 1881	 1567	 2065	 1567
44,200	 44,300	 1888	 1571	 2072	 1571
44,300	 44,400	 1895	 1574	 2079	 1574
44,400	 44,500	 1902	 1578	 2086	 1578
44,500	 44,600	 1908	 1582	 2092	 1582
44,600	 44,700	 1915	 1585	 2099	 1585
44,700	 44,800	 1922	 1589	 2106	 1589
44,800	 44,900	 1929	 1592	 2113	 1592
44,900	 45,000	 1936	 1596	 2120	 1596

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

*  This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status
** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status
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45,000					   
45,000	 45,100	 1942	 1599	 2126	 1599
45,100	 45,200	 1949	 1603	 2133	 1603
45,200	 45,300	 1956	 1606	 2140	 1606
45,300	 45,400	 1963	 1610	 2147	 1610
45,400	 45,500	 1970	 1613	 2154	 1613
45,500	 45,600	 1976	 1617	 2160	 1617
45,600	 45,700	 1983	 1621	 2167	 1621
45,700	 45,800	 1990	 1624	 2174	 1624
45,800	 45,900	 1997	 1628	 2181	 1628
45,900	 46,000	 2004	 1631	 2188	 1631

46,000					   
46,000	 46,100	 2010	 1635	 2194	 1635
46,100	 46,200	 2017	 1638	 2201	 1638
46,200	 46,300	 2024	 1642	 2208	 1642
46,300	 46,400	 2031	 1645	 2215	 1649
46,400	 46,500	 2038	 1649	 2222	 1656
46,500	 46,600	 2044	 1653	 2228	 1662
46,600	 46,700	 2051	 1656	 2235	 1669
46,700	 46,800	 2058	 1660	 2242	 1676
46,800	 46,900	 2065	 1663	 2249	 1683
46,900	 47,000	 2072	 1667	 2256	 1690

47,000					   
47,000	 47,100	 2078	 1670	 2262	 1696
47,100	 47,200	 2085	 1674	 2269	 1703
47,200	 47,300	 2092	 1677	 2276	 1710
47,300	 47,400	 2099	 1681	 2283	 1717
47,400	 47,500	 2106	 1684	 2290	 1724
47,500	 47,600	 2112	 1688	 2296	 1730
47,600	 47,700	 2119	 1692	 2303	 1737
47,700	 47,800	 2126	 1695	 2310	 1744
47,800	 47,900	 2133	 1699	 2317	 1751
47,900	 48,000	 2140	 1702	 2324	 1758

48,000					   
48,000	 48,100	 2146	 1706	 2330	 1764
48,100	 48,200	 2153	 1709	 2337	 1771
48,200	 48,300	 2160	 1713	 2344	 1778
48,300	 48,400	 2167	 1716	 2351	 1785
48,400	 48,500	 2174	 1720	 2358	 1792
48,500	 48,600	 2180	 1724	 2364	 1798
48,600	 48,700	 2187	 1727	 2371	 1805
48,700	 48,800	 2194	 1731	 2378	 1812
48,800	 48,900	 2201	 1734	 2385	 1819
48,900	 49,000	 2208	 1738	 2392	 1826

49,000					   
49,000	 49,100	 2214	 1741	 2398	 1832
49,100	 49,200	 2221	 1745	 2405	 1839
49,200	 49,300	 2228	 1748	 2412	 1846
49,300	 49,400	 2235	 1752	 2419	 1853
49,400	 49,500	 2242	 1755	 2426	 1860
49,500	 49,600	 2248	 1759	 2432	 1866
49,600	 49,700	 2255	 1763	 2439	 1873
49,700	 49,800	 2262	 1766	 2446	 1880
49,800	 49,900	 2269	 1770	 2453	 1887
49,900	 50,000	 2276	 1773	 2460	 1894

50,000					   
50,000	 50,100	 2282	 1777	 2466	 1900
50,100	 50,200	 2289	 1780	 2473	 1907
50,200	 50,300	 2296	 1784	 2480	 1914
50,300	 50,400	 2303	 1787	 2487	 1921
50,400	 50,500	 2310	 1791	 2494	 1928
50,500	 50,600	 2316	 1795	 2500	 1934
50,600	 50,700	 2323	 1798	 2507	 1941
50,700	 50,800	 2330	 1802	 2514	 1948
50,800	 50,900	 2337	 1805	 2521	 1955
50,900	 51,000	 2344	 1809	 2528	 1962

51,000					   
51,000	 51,100	 2350	 1812	 2534	 1968
51,100	 51,200	 2357	 1816	 2541	 1975
51,200	 51,300	 2364	 1819	 2548	 1982
51,300	 51,400	 2371	 1823	 2555	 1989
51,400	 51,500	 2378	 1826	 2562	 1996
51,500	 51,600	 2384	 1830	 2568	 2002
51,600	 51,700	 2391	 1834	 2575	 2009
51,700	 51,800	 2398	 1837	 2582	 2016
51,800	 51,900	 2405	 1841	 2589	 2023
51,900	 52,000	 2412	 1844	 2596	 2030

52,000					   
52,000	 52,100	 2418	 1848	 2602	 2036
52,100	 52,200	 2425	 1851	 2609	 2043
52,200	 52,300	 2432	 1855	 2616	 2050
52,300	 52,400	 2439	 1858	 2623	 2057
52,400	 52,500	 2446	 1862	 2630	 2064
52,500	 52,600	 2452	 1866	 2636	 2070
52,600	 52,700	 2459	 1869	 2643	 2077
52,700	 52,800	 2466	 1873	 2650	 2084
52,800	 52,900	 2473	 1876	 2657	 2091
52,900	 53,000	 2480	 1880	 2664	 2098

53,000					   
53,000	 53,100	 2486	 1883	 2670	 2104
53,100	 53,200	 2493	 1887	 2677	 2111
53,200	 53,300	 2500	 1890	 2684	 2118
53,300	 53,400	 2507	 1894	 2691	 2125
53,400	 53,500	 2514	 1897	 2698	 2132
53,500	 53,600	 2520	 1901	 2704	 2138
53,600	 53,700	 2527	 1905	 2711	 2145
53,700	 53,800	 2534	 1908	 2718	 2152
53,800	 53,900	 2541	 1912	 2725	 2159
53,900	 54,000	 2548	 1915	 2732	 2166

54,000					   
54,000	 54,100	 2554	 1919	 2738	 2172
54,100	 54,200	 2561	 1922	 2745	 2179
54,200	 54,300	 2568	 1926	 2752	 2186
54,300	 54,400	 2575	 1929	 2759	 2193
54,400	 54,500	 2582	 1933	 2766	 2200
54,500	 54,600	 2588	 1937	 2772	 2206
54,600	 54,700	 2595	 1940	 2779	 2213
54,700	 54,800	 2602	 1944	 2786	 2220
54,800	 54,900	 2609	 1947	 2793	 2227
54,900	 55,000	 2616	 1951	 2800	 2234

55,000					   
55,000	 55,100	 2622	 1954	 2806	 2240
55,100	 55,200	 2629	 1958	 2813	 2247
55,200	 55,300	 2636	 1961	 2820	 2254
55,300	 55,400	 2643	 1965	 2827	 2261
55,400	 55,500	 2650	 1968	 2834	 2268
55,500	 55,600	 2656	 1972	 2840	 2274
55,600	 55,700	 2663	 1976	 2847	 2281
55,700	 55,800	 2670	 1979	 2854	 2288
55,800	 55,900	 2677	 1983	 2861	 2295
55,900	 56,000	 2684	 1986	 2868	 2302

	56,000					   
	56,000	 56,100	 2690	 1990	 2874	 2308
56,100	 56,200	 2697	 1993	 2881	 2315
56,200	 56,300	 2704	 1997	 2888	 2322
56,300	 56,400	 2711	 2000	 2895	 2329
56,400	 56,500	 2718	 2004	 2902	 2336
56,500	 56,600	 2724	 2008	 2908	 2342
56,600	 56,700	 2731	 2011	 2915	 2349
56,700	 56,800	 2738	 2015	 2922	 2356
56,800	 56,900	 2745	 2018	 2929	 2363
56,900	 57,000	 2752	 2022	 2936	 2370

57,000					   
57,000	 57,100	 2758	 2025	 2942	 2376
57,100	 57,200	 2765	 2029	 2949	 2383
57,200	 57,300	 2772	 2032	 2956	 2390
57,300	 57,400	 2779	 2036	 2963	 2397
57,400	 57,500	 2786	 2039	 2970	 2404
57,500	 57,600	 2792	 2043	 2976	 2410
57,600	 57,700	 2799	 2047	 2983	 2417
57,700	 57,800	 2806	 2054	 2990	 2424
57,800	 57,900	 2813	 2061	 2997	 2431
57,900	 58,000	 2820	 2067	 3004	 2438

58,000					   
58,000	 58,100	 2826	 2074	 3010	 2444
58,100	 58,200	 2833	 2081	 3017	 2451
58,200	 58,300	 2840	 2088	 3024	 2458
58,300	 58,400	 2847	 2095	 3031	 2465
58,400	 58,500	 2854	 2101	 3038	 2472
58,500	 58,600	 2860	 2108	 3044	 2478
58,600	 58,700	 2867	 2115	 3051	 2485
58,700	 58,800	 2874	 2122	 3058	 2492
58,800	 58,900	 2881	 2129	 3065	 2499
58,900	 59,000	 2888	 2135	 3072	 2506

59,000					   
59,000	 59,100	 2894	 2142	 3078	 2512
59,100	 59,200	 2901	 2149	 3085	 2519
59,200	 59,300	 2908	 2156	 3092	 2526
59,300	 59,400	 2915	 2163	 3099	 2533
59,400	 59,500	 2922	 2169	 3106	 2540
59,500	 59,600	 2928	 2176	 3112	 2546
59,600	 59,700	 2935	 2183	 3119	 2553
59,700	 59,800	 2942	 2190	 3126	 2560
59,800	 59,900	 2949	 2197	 3133	 2567
59,900	 60,000	 2956	 2203	 3140	 2574

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

*  This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status
** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status
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If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

If Taxable
Income is...	 And your filing status is...	
At Least	 But Less	 Single	 Married	 Married 	 Head of 
	 Than		  filing	 filing	 house- 
			   jointly* 	 sepa-	 hold 
				    rately** 
		  Then your VT Tax is...	

*  This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status
** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

If your taxable income is $75,000 or more, 
please go to the tax rate schedules.
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60,000					   
60,000	 60,100	 2962	 2210	 3146	 2580
60,100	 60,200	 2969	 2217	 3153	 2587
60,200	 60,300	 2976	 2224	 3160	 2594
60,300	 60,400	 2983	 2231	 3167	 2601
60,400	 60,500	 2990	 2237	 3174	 2608
60,500	 60,600	 2996	 2244	 3180	 2614
60,600	 60,700	 3003	 2251	 3187	 2621
60,700	 60,800	 3010	 2258	 3194	 2628
60,800	 60,900	 3017	 2265	 3201	 2635
60,900	 61,000	 3024	 2271	 3208	 2642

61,000					   
61,000	 61,100	 3030	 2278	 3214	 2648
61,100	 61,200	 3037	 2285	 3221	 2655
61,200	 61,300	 3044	 2292	 3228	 2662
61,300	 61,400	 3051	 2299	 3235	 2669
61,400	 61,500	 3058	 2305	 3242	 2676
61,500	 61,600	 3064	 2312	 3248	 2682
61,600	 61,700	 3071	 2319	 3255	 2689
61,700	 61,800	 3078	 2326	 3262	 2696
61,800	 61,900	 3085	 2333	 3269	 2703
61,900	 62,000	 3092	 2339	 3276	 2710

62,000					   
62,000	 62,100	 3098	 2346	 3282	 2716
62,100	 62,200	 3105	 2353	 3289	 2723
62,200	 62,300	 3112	 2360	 3296	 2730
62,300	 62,400	 3119	 2367	 3303	 2737
62,400	 62,500	 3126	 2373	 3310	 2744
62,500	 62,600	 3132	 2380	 3316	 2750
62,600	 62,700	 3139	 2387	 3323	 2757
62,700	 62,800	 3146	 2394	 3330	 2764
62,800	 62,900	 3153	 2401	 3337	 2771
62,900	 63,000	 3160	 2407	 3344	 2778

63,000					   
63,000	 63,100	 3166	 2414	 3350	 2784
63,100	 63,200	 3173	 2421	 3357	 2791
63,200	 63,300	 3180	 2428	 3364	 2798
63,300	 63,400	 3187	 2435	 3371	 2805
63,400	 63,500	 3194	 2441	 3378	 2812
63,500	 63,600	 3200	 2448	 3384	 2818
63,600	 63,700	 3207	 2455	 3391	 2825
63,700	 63,800	 3214	 2462	 3398	 2832
63,800	 63,900	 3221	 2469	 3405	 2839
63,900	 64,000	 3228	 2475	 3412	 2846

64,000					   
64,000	 64,100	 3234	 2482	 3418	 2852
64,100	 64,200	 3241	 2489	 3425	 2859
64,200	 64,300	 3248	 2496	 3432	 2866
64,300	 64,400	 3255	 2503	 3439	 2873
64,400	 64,500	 3262	 2509	 3446	 2880
64,500	 64,600	 3268	 2516	 3452	 2886
64,600	 64,700	 3275	 2523	 3459	 2893
64,700	 64,800	 3282	 2530	 3466	 2900
64,800	 64,900	 3289	 2537	 3473	 2907
64,900	 65,000	 3296	 2543	 3480	 2914

65,000					   
65,000	 65,100	 3302	 2550	 3486	 2920
65,100	 65,200	 3309	 2557	 3493	 2927
65,200	 65,300	 3316	 2564	 3500	 2934
65,300	 65,400	 3323	 2571	 3507	 2941
65,400	 65,500	 3330	 2577	 3514	 2948
65,500	 65,600	 3336	 2584	 3520	 2954
65,600	 65,700	 3343	 2591	 3527	 2961
65,700	 65,800	 3350	 2598	 3534	 2968
65,800	 65,900	 3357	 2605	 3541	 2975
65,900	 66,000	 3364	 2611	 3548	 2982

66,000					   
66,000	 66,100	 3370	 2618	 3554	 2988
66,100	 66,200	 3377	 2625	 3561	 2995
66,200	 66,300	 3384	 2632	 3568	 3002
66,300	 66,400	 3391	 2639	 3575	 3009
66,400	 66,500	 3398	 2645	 3582	 3016
66,500	 66,600	 3404	 2652	 3588	 3022
66,600	 66,700	 3411	 2659	 3595	 3029
66,700	 66,800	 3418	 2666	 3602	 3036
66,800	 66,900	 3425	 2673	 3609	 3043
66,900	 67,000	 3432	 2679	 3616	 3050

67,000					   
67,000	 67,100	 3438	 2686	 3622	 3056
67,100	 67,200	 3445	 2693	 3629	 3063
67,200	 67,300	 3452	 2700	 3636	 3070
67,300	 67,400	 3459	 2707	 3643	 3077
67,400	 67,500	 3466	 2713	 3650	 3084
67,500	 67,600	 3472	 2720	 3656	 3090
67,600	 67,700	 3479	 2727	 3663	 3097
67,700	 67,800	 3486	 2734	 3670	 3104
67,800	 67,900	 3493	 2741	 3677	 3111
67,900	 68,000	 3500	 2747	 3684	 3118

68,000					   
68,000	 68,100	 3506	 2754	 3690	 3124
68,100	 68,200	 3513	 2761	 3697	 3131
68,200	 68,300	 3520	 2768	 3704	 3138
68,300	 68,400	 3527	 2775	 3711	 3145
68,400	 68,500	 3534	 2781	 3718	 3152
68,500	 68,600	 3540	 2788	 3724	 3158
68,600	 68,700	 3547	 2795	 3731	 3165
68,700	 68,800	 3554	 2802	 3738	 3172
68,800	 68,900	 3561	 2809	 3745	 3179
68,900	 69,000	 3568	 2815	 3752	 3186

69,000					   
69,000	 69,100	 3574	 2822	 3758	 3192
69,100	 69,200	 3581	 2829	 3765	 3199
69,200	 69,300	 3588	 2836	 3772	 3206
69,300	 69,400	 3595	 2843	 3779	 3213
69,400	 69,500	 3602	 2849	 3786	 3220
69,500	 69,600	 3608	 2856	 3792	 3226
69,600	 69,700	 3615	 2863	 3799	 3233
69,700	 69,800	 3622	 2870	 3807	 3240
69,800	 69,900	 3629	 2877	 3815	 3247
69,900	 70,000	 3636	 2883	 3822	 3254

70,000					   
70,000	 70,100	 3642	 2890	 3830	 3260
70,100	 70,200	 3649	 2897	 3838	 3267
70,200	 70,300	 3656	 2904	 3846	 3274
70,300	 70,400	 3663	 2911	 3854	 3281
70,400	 70,500	 3670	 2917	 3861	 3288
70,500	 70,600	 3676	 2924	 3869	 3294
70,600	 70,700	 3683	 2931	 3877	 3301
70,700	 70,800	 3690	 2938	 3885	 3308
70,800	 70,900	 3697	 2945	 3893	 3315
70,900	 71,000	 3704	 2951	 3900	 3322

71,000					   
71,000	 71,100	 3710	 2958	 3908	 3328
71,100	 71,200	 3717	 2965	 3916	 3335
71,200	 71,300	 3724	 2972	 3924	 3342
71,300	 71,400	 3731	 2979	 3932	 3349
71,400	 71,500	 3738	 2985	 3939	 3356
71,500	 71,600	 3744	 2992	 3947	 3362
71,600	 71,700	 3751	 2999	 3955	 3369
71,700	 71,800	 3758	 3006	 3963	 3376
71,800	 71,900	 3765	 3013	 3971	 3383
71,900	 72,000	 3772	 3019	 3978	 3390

72,000					   
72,000	 72,100	 3778	 3026	 3986	 3396
72,100	 72,200	 3785	 3033	 3994	 3403
72,200	 72,300	 3792	 3040	 4002	 3410
72,300	 72,400	 3799	 3047	 4010	 3417
72,400	 72,500	 3806	 3053	 4017	 3424
72,500	 72,600	 3812	 3060	 4025	 3430
72,600	 72,700	 3819	 3067	 4033	 3437
72,700	 72,800	 3826	 3074	 4041	 3444
72,800	 72,900	 3833	 3081	 4049	 3451
72,900	 73,000	 3840	 3087	 4056	 3458

73,000					   
73,000	 73,100	 3846	 3094	 4064	 3464
73,100	 73,200	 3853	 3101	 4072	 3471
73,200	 73,300	 3860	 3108	 4080	 3478
73,300	 73,400	 3867	 3115	 4088	 3485
73,400	 73,500	 3874	 3121	 4095	 3492
73,500	 73,600	 3880	 3128	 4103	 3498
73,600	 73,700	 3887	 3135	 4111	 3505
73,700	 73,800	 3894	 3142	 4119	 3512
73,800	 73,900	 3901	 3149	 4127	 3519
73,900	 74,000	 3908	 3155	 4134	 3526

74,000					   
74,000	 74,100	 3914	 3162	 4142	 3532
74,100	 74,200	 3921	 3169	 4150	 3539
74,200	 74,300	 3928	 3176	 4158	 3546
74,300	 74,400	 3935	 3183	 4166	 3553
74,400	 74,500	 3942	 3189	 4173	 3560
74,500	 74,600	 3948	 3196	 4181	 3566
74,600	 74,700	 3955	 3203	 4189	 3573
74,700	 74,800	 3962	 3210	 4197	 3580
74,800	 74,900	 3969	 3217	 4205	 3587
74,900	 75,000	 3976	 3223	 4212	 3594
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