

VERMONT

2013

Income Tax Return Booklet

Forms and Instructions

For Residents, Part-Year Residents & Nonresidents

This booklet contains:

Income tax forms, schedules, and instructions Page 6

Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Claim..... Page 27

Renter Rebate Claim Page 25

Tax Tables Page 46

Use Tax Information..... Page 8

Lifeline Information Page 37

Pharmacy Program
Information Page 35

For quick reference, see the Index on the back cover.

Go paperless. Go green. Choose direct deposit.

File electronically at www.tax.vermont.gov

File your 2014 Homestead
Declaration and Property
Tax Adjustment Claim
on-line free! See page 3



Your Contribution Matters

Use your tax refund or tax payment to help
Vermont be a better place for all of us.

These Vermont charitable funds need your generous support. Simply enter the amount of your gift on Line 29 on your Vermont Income Tax Return. You may contribute to more than one organization.



Item 29a on Form IN-111

Vermont Nongame Wildlife Fund

Preserve Vermont's wildlife heritage. This makes our state a beautiful and special place to live and adds quality to our lives. Your gift helps protect and restore Vermont's endangered wildlife including bald eagles, turtles, butterflies and bats.

Visit www.vtfishandwildlife.com or call (802) 241-3700



Item 29b on Form IN-111

Vermont Children's Trust Fund

Keep Vermont a great place to raise kids. Support community-based prevention programs for children, including after-school care, parenting education, teen leadership, literacy programs, preschool programs and substance abuse prevention.

Visit www.vtchildrenstrust.org or call (888) 475-5437



Vermont Veterans Fund

Help Vermont's nearly 60,000 honorably discharged veterans. The fund provides aid to veterans who are homeless, need long-term care or transportation. It also helps veterans apply for benefits and supports recognition programs.

Item 29c on Form IN-111

Visit www.veterans.vermont.gov or call (802) 828-3379

Your gifts are deductible on next year's federal tax return as a charitable contribution.

Taxpayer Assistance

For Information

On the web anytime, 24/7 at www.tax.vermont.gov



By phone 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. (802) 828-2865, option 1 (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in VT)

Check the status of:

- 2013 Income Tax Return and Refund
- 2013 Estimated Income Tax Payments
- 2014 Homestead Declaration
- 2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claim
- 2013 Renter Rebate Claim

For Services

On the web anytime, 24/7 at www.tax.vermont.gov

- E-File
- Homestead Declaration & Property Tax Adjustment
- VTPay

For Forms and Schedules

- On the web anytime, 24/7 at www.tax.vermont.gov
- By e-mail at taxforms@state.vt.us
- By phone at (802) 828-2515



2014 Due Dates

April 15

- 2013 Vermont Income Tax Return or extension of time to file 2013 Vermont Income Tax Return
- 2014 Homestead Declaration (late filing penalties apply after April 15)
- 2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claim (late filing fee of \$15 applies after April 15)

October 15

- 2013 Vermont Income Tax Return (extended filing)
- 2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claim (late filing final opportunity to file claim)
- 2013 Renter Rebate Claim (final opportunity to file claim)

Who Needs to File?

Income Tax

A 2013 Vermont Income Tax Return must be filed by a Full-Year or a Part-Year Vermont resident or a Nonresident if you are required to file a 2013 Federal Income Tax Return, and

• You earned or received \$100 or more in Vermont income,

OR

• You received gross income of \$1,000 or more as a nonresident.

Go to www.tax.vermont.gov for more information.

Homestead Declaration

A 2014 Homestead Declaration must be filed by every Vermont resident homeowner on their primary residence as of April 1.

Who is Eligible to File?

Property Tax Adjustment Claim

Vermont homeowners may be eligible for a credit against their 2014/2015 Vermont property tax. The 2014 property tax adjustment is based on 2013 household income and 2013/2014 property taxes. A homeowner may be eligible for an adjustment if they:

- Filed a Homestead Declaration on their property as their principal residence on April 1, 2014; and,
- Were domiciled in Vermont all of calendar year 2013; and,
- Were not claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer for tax year 2013.

Adjustments are not available for taxpayers with a household income greater than \$105,000.

Renter Rebate Claim

Vermont renters may be eligible for a rebate based on the portion of rent paid that exceeds an established percentage of household income. A renter may be eligible for a rebate if they:

- Were domiciled in Vermont for the entire calendar year 2013; and,
- Were not claimed in 2013 as a dependent of another taxpayer; and,
- Have household income in 2013 that does not exceed \$47,000; and,
- Are the only person in the household making a renter rebate claim; and,
- Rented in Vermont for all 12 months in 2013. See page 44 for the one exception.

Not included in your 2013 Vermont Income Tax Booklet.

The goal of the Vermont Department of Taxes is to provide Vermonters with a personal income tax booklet that is easy to read, understand, and navigate. To streamline the booklet, the following forms are not included:

- IN-117 VT Credit for Income Tax Paid to Other State or Canadian Province
- IN-119 VT Economic Incentive Income Tax Credits
- IN-153 VT Capital Gains Exclusion

All forms are available on the Department of Taxes website at www.tax.vermont.gov

General Instructions

Income Tax Due Date

The due date for the 2013 tax year is April 15, 2014. To receive a six-month extension of time to file your income tax return, file Form IN-151 on or before April 15, 2014. An extension only allows additional time to file your income tax return. It does not extend the due date for your tax payment. Interest and penalty accrue on any tax due from April 16 to the receipt of the payment of tax.

Timely Filing

Tax returns mailed through the U.S. Post Office are considered timely if received at the Department within 3 business days of the due date. Electronic filings transmitted on the due date are timely if you receive confirmation of your filing. If you bring the return to the Department, it must be delivered on or before the due date to be timely.

Filing After the April 15, 2014 Due Date

A Vermont income tax return may be filed up to 60 days after April 15, 2014, without being charged a late filing penalty, even if you have not filed an extension of time to file with the Vermont Department of Taxes. Filing the return on the 61st day after April 15, 2014, or later will result in the \$50 late file penalty.

If you have filed an extension, you will not be charged the \$50 late file penalty unless you fail to file by the October 15 extension date. An extended income tax return filed one or more days after October 15, 2014 will be charged the \$50 late file penalty.

NOTE: The late filing penalty applies even if you have a refund or no tax is due. If any tax is due, late payment penalty and interest charges also apply.

Interest and Late Payment Penalty

Tax paid after April 15, 2014, accrues interest and late payment penalty.

Use Whole Dollars

Round entries to the nearest whole dollar. The cents are preprinted with zeros.

Incomplete Forms

If information necessary to support a credit or benefit is missing, your filing may be processed but the credit denied. This may result in a bill or reduced refund. You will have an opportunity to supply the information. In some instances, your tax forms may be returned to you. The credit or benefit cannot be processed until the Department receives the missing document(s) or information.

Forms That Cannot Be Processed

If your filing is not acceptable for processing, the Department may return your paper forms back to you. The filing date of your return then becomes your resubmission date. The Department may also transfer your filing information onto acceptable forms. You may be assessed a \$25 processing fee that partially covers the costs of transferring the information. Examples of unacceptable filings are: forms marked "draft" or "do not file," forms not pre-approved by the Department, photocopies of forms, faxed forms, forms not written in blue or black ink or computer-generated forms submitted with forms printed by the Department.

Requests for Additional Information

You may be asked to supply additional information to clarify items on your Vermont income tax return. Such a request does not necessarily mean that you filed improperly or that you have been selected for an audit. These requests are a routine part of processing. Your return, however, cannot be processed until the information is received.

Offset - Your Income Tax Refund May Be Used to Pay (Offset) an Outstanding Bill

Your income tax refund will be taken to pay a bill you or your spouse/civil union partner owe to the Vermont Department of Taxes and/or other government agencies such as the Internal Revenue Service, Office of Child Support, Department of Corrections, Vermont courts, student loan agencies, Vermont State Colleges, and tax agencies of other states. You will receive notification if your refund is offset.

Injured Spouse Claims

To make an "injured spouse" claim, please send the following information **prior** to filing your return.

- **1.** The request letter;
- 2. Copy of Federal return 8379 (if you filed one with the IRS);
- **3.** Copy of Federal Schedules C and SE; and,
- **4.** Form 1099G for unemployment.

Mail to: Vermont Department of Taxes

ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit

PO Box 1645

Montpelier, VT 05601-1645

Financial Difficulties

If you cannot pay your entire Vermont income tax due, file your return on time and pay as much as you can. Then immediately write to the Department to apply for a payment plan. **Do not include this request with your return.** Send your request to:

Vermont Department of Taxes

ATTN: Compliance

PO Box 429

Montpelier, VT 05601-0429

You may be asked for financial information to determine the appropriate installment payment. Without a payment plan, unpaid income tax results in collection action which may include placement with a commercial collection agency, liens on your property, legal action, and/or loss or suspension of your professional license.

Claiming a Vermont Refund

You must file a Vermont Income Tax Return to receive a refund of Vermont withholding or estimated tax payments. You have up to 3 years from the due date of the return, including extensions to file.

Amending or Correcting Vermont Income Tax Return Information

You are required by Vermont law to file an amended Vermont return within 60 days if you become aware of a change to your Vermont income, file an amended return with the IRS or receive a notice of change from the IRS. A late filing penalty will be assessed if the amended Vermont return is not filed within the 60 days.

Check the Amended box on Form IN-111, Section 1, when filing an amended return for the applicable tax year.

NOTE: When amending for changes to your income, you must also amend your Schedule HI-144, Household Income, submitted with your Property Tax Adjustment Claim or Renter Rebate Claim.

Income Tax Form Instructions

FORM IN-111 Vermont Income Tax

Section 1 Taxpayer Information REQUIRED entries.

Print your information in blue or black ink on all forms and schedules being filed. The name and Social Security Number of your spouse/civil union partner must be entered when filing jointly.

Recomputed Federal Return

Check this box if the information for Federal line references is from a recomputed Federal return.

Deceased Taxpayer

Check the applicable box if the taxpayer or spouse/civil union partner died during 2013. Administrator or Executor: To claim an income tax refund on behalf of the deceased, attach the court certificate showing your appointment as administrator or executor or a copy of completed Federal Form 1310. Vermont Fiduciary Return of Income, Form FI-161, should be filed to report the income of an estate or trust. Call 802-828-6820 for information.

Line 1 **Vermont School District Code: REQUIRED entry.** For school district codes, go to www.tax.vermont.gov or page 14 of this booklet.

Vermont Residents: Use the 3-digit school district code for your residence on December 31, 2013.

Nonresidents: Enter 999 as your school district code.

Line 2 911 street address as of December 31, 2013.

Section 2 Tax Filing Information

Filing Status REQUIRED entry.

Check the box to show your Vermont filing status. For filing separately, check the applicable Box 8a or 8b and enter the Social Security Number of your spouse/civil union partner. The Vermont filing status must be the same as your Federal filing status except in the following two situations where Federal information may be recomputed for Vermont purposes:

- 1. Civil Union (available to same sex couples holding a valid civil union certificate): **Recomputed Federal** income tax information required.
- 2. Vermont Resident With a Non-Vermont Resident Spouse who has no Vermont income: Recomputed Federal income tax information may be used. Go to www.tax.vermont.gov, "Publications" to see Technical Bulletin 55. If you elect to file your Vermont income tax return married jointly, you cannot use Schedule IN-113, Part I to apportion income of the nonresident spouse. The credit for income tax paid to another state, however, is available.

Line 9 **Exemptions** Enter the number of exemptions claimed on your Federal return or your recomputed Federal return.

Section 3 Taxable Income

Line 10 **Adjusted Gross Income REQUIRED entry.** Enter the amount from your Federal return or, if applicable, from the recomputed Federal return.

Line 11 **Federal Taxable Income REQUIRED entry.** Enter the amount from your Federal return or, if applicable, from the recomputed Federal return.

> NOTE: If you have an entry on IN-111 for Lines 12a, 12b or 12c, calculate the actual Federal Taxable Income loss. From Federal return 1040, subtract Line 42 from Line 41 or Federal return 1040A, subtract Line 26 from Line 25. Check the box to the left of the entry line to show a loss and enter the amount on Line 11.

Additions to Federal Taxable Income

Line 12a Enter the Non-Vermont State and Local Obligations from Schedule IN-112, Part I, Line 3.

Line 12b **Federal Bonus Depreciation** Vermont does not recognize the bonus depreciation allowed under Federal law. Enter the difference between the depreciation calculated by standard MACRS methods and the depreciation calculated using the Federal bonus depreciation for assets placed in service in 2013. Go to www.tax.vermont.gov, "Publications" to see Technical Bulletin 44 for information on calculating the amount to add back to taxable income.

Line 12c	State and Local Income Tax Add Back If you filed a Federal 1040 Schedule A for 2013 and the deduction for state/local income taxes on Line 5a exceeds \$5,000, you are required to complete and submit Schedule IN-154. See page 23.	
Line 13	Federal Taxable Income with Additions	
	Add Lines 11, 12a, 12b and 12c and enter result. To indicate a loss, check the loss box to the left of the entry line.	
Subtraction	s from Federal Taxable Income (Go to www.tax.vermont.gov, "Publications" to view referenced Technical Bulletins.)	
Line 14a	Interest Income from U.S. Obligations Interest income from U.S. government obligations (such as U.S. Treasury Bonds, Bills, and Notes) is exempt from Vermont tax under the laws of the United States. Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Obligations on this line. See Technical Bulletin 24.	
Line 14b	Capital Gains Exclusion See Schedule IN-153 and instructions to calculate the capital gains exclusion for 2013. See Technical Bulletin 60. Complete and submit Schedule IN-153.	
Line 14c	Adjustment for Bonus Depreciation on Prior Year Property Enter the difference between the depreciation calculated by standard MACRS methods and the depreciation calculated at the Federal level. For information on calculating the amount that can be subtracted from taxable income, see Technical Bulletin 44.	
Line 14d	Add Lines 14a, 14b and 14c.	
Line 15	Vermont Taxable Income Subtract Line 14d from Line 13 and enter amount. If Line 14d is more than Line 13 enter "0".	
Section 4 V	ermont Income Tax	
Line 16	 Vermont Income Tax from Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedule Using the Vermont Taxable Income amount from Line 15, calculate your Vermont tax using the applicable table or schedule and enter result. If Line 15 is zero, tax is \$0. If Line 15 amount is less than \$75,000 - You may use the Vermont Tax Tables. If Line 15 amount is \$75,000 or more - Use the Vermont Rate Schedules on page 46. 	
Line 17	 Additions to Vermont Income Tax Complete and submit Vermont Schedule IN-112, Part II to report: Recapture of a Vermont tax credit; or, 24% of additional Federal tax on the following: Qualified Retirement Plan distributions including IRA, HSA & MSA Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit Lump-sum Distribution from Federal return 4972 	
Line 18	Vermont Income Tax with Additions Add Lines 16 and 17 and enter result	
Line 19	 Subtractions from Vermont Income Tax Complete and submit Vermont Schedule IN-112, Part II to claim: Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses (See page 9 for Low-Income Child and Dependent Care Credit.) Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled Investment Tax Credit (as defined in IRC Section 46) for Vermont-based portion only Farm Income Averaging Credit 	
Line 20	Vermont Income Tax Subtract Line 19 from Line 18 and enter result. If Line 19 is more than Line 18, enter zero.	
Line 21	Income Adjustment Enter 100.00% or complete and submit Schedule IN-113 and enter amount from Line 43.	
Line 22	Adjusted Vermont Income Tax Multiply Line 20 by the percentage on Line 21. If Line 21 is 100.00%, Line 2 will be the same as Line 20.	
Section 5 C	redits and Use Tax	
Line 23	Credit for Income Tax Paid To Other State or Canadian Province (For Full-Year and Some Part-Year Residents) Complete and submit Schedule IN-117 and enter the amount from the schedule here.	
Line 24	Vermont Tax Credits Complete and submit Schedule IN-112 Part IV and/or Schedule IN-119. Enter the amount from the applicable schedule here.	
Line 25	Total Vermont Credits Add Lines 23 and 24 and enter result.	
Line 26	Vermont Income Tax After Credits Subtract Line 25 from Line 22. If Line 25 is more than Line 22, enter zero.	

Line 27 Use Tax on Out of State Purchases

What is Use Tax?

If you purchased taxable items from an out-of-state business in 2013 that did not collect Vermont Sales Tax, **you** are liable for use tax on your purchases. This typically occurs when an item is purchased in a state that does not charge sales tax or when items are purchased over the internet. Use Tax is due at the same rate (6%) as the Vermont sales tax. For example, if you purchased a computer for \$1,500.00 over the internet from a business located outside of Vermont and sales tax was not collected, your use tax liability is \$90.00 (\$1,500.00 @ 6% = \$90.00).

Who is liable for the Use Tax?

Any resident or nonresident individual who purchased an item delivered to Vermont or used in Vermont that is subject to the Vermont sales tax and for which sales tax was not paid or less than a 6% sales tax was paid is required to pay the Vermont use tax. If you do not include an amount on Line 27, you must check the box to certify that you do not owe any Use Tax.

How to calculate the Use Tax.

Individual taxpayers have three options for calculating the use tax:

Option One – If you have accurate records of all of your purchases, multiply the value of all taxable purchases and rentals by 6% and report the amount on Line 27. (If you paid less than 6% on some of your purchases, include them in your calculation and reduce the tax by the amount you paid.)

Option Two – If you do not have accurate records of your purchases **and** you did not make any individual purchases greater than \$1,000,

USE TAX REPORTING TABLE Adjusted Gross Income NOTE: For each purchase Form IN-111, Line 10 is: Use Tax is: with a total invoice amount \$10,000 - 24,999 \$10. of \$1,000 or more, the use \$25,000 - 34,999 \$20. tax must be calculated \$35,000 - 49,999 \$28. exactly. If also using the \$50,000 - 64,999 Use Tax Reporting table, \$40. \$65,000 - 79,999 \$52. add the table amount to the \$80,000 - 99,999 \$65. calculated amount. Over \$99,999 Multiply by 0.08%

you may use the Use Tax Reporting Table. If you use the Use Tax Reporting Table, the Department will not assess additional Use Tax unless a purchase with a total invoice amount of \$1,000 is unreported.

Option Three – If you do not have accurate records but made at least one purchase greater than \$1,000, first calculate the tax on the individual purchases, and then use the Use Tax reporting table for your other purchases and enter the total of the two figures on Line 27.

NOTE: Use Tax on items purchased for a business must be reported on Form SU-451 or on Form SU-452. Businesses cannot use the Use Tax Reporting Table.

Line 28 Total Vermont Taxes Add Lines 26 and 27 and enter result.

Section 6 Voluntary Contributions

Learn more about voluntary contributions to these organizations in Vermont on page 2.

Section 7 Payments and Credits

Line 31a

From W-2, 1099, etc. Statements of Vermont Income Tax Withheld Enter the amount of Vermont income tax withheld. Attach the state copy of your W-2, Form 1099 or other payment statements to verify the amount. Failure to enter the withholding on this line and attach the payment statement(s) will delay processing of your return or you may not receive credit for the withholding against your Vermont tax. *NOTE:* To claim tax withheld on a real estate sale, use Line 31e. Nonresident partners, members or shareholders, use Line 31f for estimated taxes paid on your behalf by a business entity on Form WH-435.

Line 31b

From Forms IN-114 or IN-151 2013 Estimated Tax or Extension Payments Enter the amount of 2013 Vermont estimated income taxes you paid, the amount paid with Form IN-151, Extension of Time to File the 2013 return, and any 2012 Vermont refund credited towards your 2013 taxes. Call (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont) or (802) 828-2865 (local or out-of-state) or go to our website to look up the 2013 tax payments the Department has on record for you.

NOTE: Nonresident partners, members or shareholders, use Line 31f for estimated taxes paid on your behalf by a business entity on Form WH-435; for tax withheld on real estate transactions, use Line 31e.

Line 31c

Vermont Earned Income Tax Credit (For Full-Year And Part-Year Vermont Residents) Enter the amount from Schedule IN-112, Part III. Attach the completed Schedule IN-112 to Form IN-111.

Line 31d

Renter Rebate (For Full-Year Vermont Residents) If you are filing the Renter Rebate Claim with the income tax return, enter the renter rebate amount from Form PR-141, Line 9.

Line 31e

From Form RW-171, Vermont Real Estate Withholding If you sold real estate in Vermont during 2013 and the buyer withheld Vermont income tax from the sales price, enter the amount withheld shown on Form RW-171, Vermont Withholding Tax Return for Transfer of Real Property, Schedule A, Line 12. Do not enter this amount on Line 31a or 31b. For information on installment sales, go to *www.tax.vermont.gov* under "Publications", see Technical Bulletin 10.

Line 31f From Form WH-435, Estimated Payments Made on Your Behalf by a Business Entity.

Nonresidents enter the estimated income tax payments made on your behalf by a partnership, limited liability company, or S Corporation toward your 2013 Vermont income tax. The entity would have made these payments on Form WH-435. See Technical Bulletin 6. Do not enter this amount on Line 31a or 31b.

Line 31g Low Income Child & Dependent Care Credit (Vermont Residents Only)

If care expenses are from both accredited and non-accredited providers, complete the worksheet to calculate the credit.

Eligible taxpayers receive 50% of the Federal Child and Dependent Care Credit as a Vermont income tax credit instead of the 24% credit from Schedule IN-112. Taxpayers must meet the following requirements:

- Income of
 - less than \$30,000 Federal Adjusted Gross Income for taxpayers filing as Single, Head of Household, Married Filing Separately, Civil Union Filing Separately, or,
 - less than \$40,000 Federal Adjusted Gross Income for taxpayers filing as Married Filing Jointly, Civil Union Filing Jointly, Qualified Widow(er)
- Care in 2013 provided by a home or facility accredited by the Vermont Agency of Human Services. Include a copy of your Federal Form 2441. To determine if your care provider is accredited, go to the Department's

<u>L</u>	LOW INCOME CHILD & DEPENDENT CARE			
	WORKSHEET			
1.	Accredited care provider amount 1.			
2.	Total care amount 2.			
3.	Divide Line 1 by Line 2			
F	x = \$ x 50% = \$			

You may wish to also calculate your VT tax credit using 24% of the full Federal credit and compare to the credit calculated on this worksheet to determine which credit is best for you. NOTE: You cannot take both credits.

website at www.tax.vermont.gov or call the Department of Children and Families at (800) 649-2642.

1040A, Line 29)

Line 31h Total Payments and Credits Add Lines 31a through 31g.

Section 8 Refund

Line 34

Line 32Overpayment If Line 30 is less than Line 31h, you have a refund. Subtract Line 30 from Line 31h and enter result here. You can apply all or a portion of the overpayment towards your 2014 estimated payment or your property tax bill

Line 33a Credit to 2014 Estimated Tax Payment Enter the amount of your refund from Line 32 you want credited toward your 2014 income tax. Your income refund will be reduced by this amount.

Line 33b Credit to 2014 Homestead Property Tax Bill If your property is a declared homestead and you filed the 2013 income tax return on or before October 15, 2014, you may elect to use all or part of your refund to pay your homestead property tax bill. Your income refund will be reduced by this amount. The State will include an additional 1% to the refund credited to your property taxes.

Refund Amount Subtract Lines 33a and 33b from Line 32 and enter the result. This is the amount of the refund to be sent to you. If you owe interest and penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax payment, this amount will be subtracted from the refund. *Direct deposit is available for electronically filed returns.*

NOTE: If you owe taxes or a debt to another state agency, all or part of the refund may be taken to pay the bill.

Section 9 Amount You Owe

Line 35 If Line 30 is more than Line 31h, subtract Line 31h from Line 30 and enter the result.

Interest and Penalty on Underpayment of or Failure to Make Estimated Tax Payments Paying underpayment charges at the time of filing may reduce the amount that will be billed later. Use Worksheet IN-152 or IN-152A, available on our website, to calculate the charges. The paper worksheets can be obtained by calling (802) 828-2515. If you have a refund, the interest and penalty will be deducted. Estimated tax payments must either be: 1) equal to 100% of last year's tax liability OR 2) 90% of this year's tax liability. If tax liability due, less withholding, is less than \$500, you will not be subject to penalty or interest charges. In order to avoid underpayment of estimated tax, see instructions on Form IN-114.

Line 37 Total Add Lines 35 and 36. Enter the amount. This is the amount you owe. Payment options are:

- Credit card (a service fee may apply) or ACH debit, go to secure vermont gov/vtpay/user
- ACH debit also available for electronically filed returns.
- Check or money order payable to Vermont Department of Taxes.

Financial Difficulties see page 5

Section 10 S	ignatures		
Signature(s)	REQUIRED entry. Sign the return in the space provided. If filing your return jointly, both filers must sign.		
Date	Enter the date on which you sign the return.		
Age	Check this box at the applicable signature line if age 65 or older on December 31, 2013.		
Telephone Nu	imber Enter the number where you can be reached during the day.		
Disclosure Au	ithorization If you wish to give the Department authorization to discuss the information on your 2013 Vermont income tax return with your tax preparer, check this box and include the preparer's name.		
Preparer If you are a paid preparer, you must also sign the return, enter your Social Security Number or Preparer employed by a business, the EIN of the business.			
FILING THE F	RETURN		
047			

e-file: Go to our website at www.tax.vermont.gov for information on electronic filing. Some taxpayers may be eligible for FREE tax preparation and electronic filing of their return.

Paper Filing:

REFUND OR NO TAX DUE **BALANCE DUE** Attach your check to the lower left side of the return and mail to: Mail your return to: Vermont Department of Taxes Vermont Department of Taxes

PO Box 1779 PO Box 1881

Montpelier, VT 05601-1881 Montpelier, VT 05601-1779

FOLLOW THE PROCESSING OF YOUR RETURN

You can check the status of your return by going to secure.vermont.gov/TAX/refund OR by calling 1-866-828-2865 (in-state calls) or 802-828-2865 (local or out-of-state calls) and selecting option 1.

Vermont Tax Adjustments and Credits SCHEDULE IN-112

Who Must File Schedule IN-112

You must file Schedule IN-112 if you:

Have interest income from state and local obligations (Part I)

Have adjustments to your Vermont Tax (Part II)

Can claim the Vermont Earned Income Tax Credit (Part III)

Are claiming Vermont Income Tax Credits (Part IV)

Recapture of Federal Investment Tax Credit from Federal return 4255.

Tax on lump sum distributions from Federal return 4972.

Print your name and Social Security Number on this schedule. Please use blue or black ink to make all entries.

Part I Adju	ustments to Vermont Income
	Interest and dividend income from non-Vermont state and local obligations are taxable in Vermont. A Vermont obligation is one from the state of Vermont or a Vermont municipality.
Line 1	Enter the total interest and dividend income received from all state and local obligations exempted from Federal tax. From Federal return 1040-Line 8b or 1040A-Line 8b.
Line 2	Enter the interest and dividend income from Vermont obligations. This may have been paid directly to you or through a mutual fund or other legal entity that invests in Vermont state and local obligations. If you receive this income from a mutual fund that has only a portion of its assets invested in Vermont state and local obligations, enter only the amount for the Vermont obligation(s).
Line 3	Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. Enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 12a. This is the amount of interest and dividend income from non-Vermont state and local obligations that must be included in Vermont Taxable Income.
Part II Add	litions to Vermont Tax
Line 1	Tax on Qualified Plans and tax favored accounts, including IRA, HSA and MSA.

Line 6 Recapture of Vermont tax credit(s). Recapture occurs when a previously claimed credit is changed. Contact the Department at (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont) or (802) 828-2865 (local or out-of-state) for information on calculating the recapture amount.

Line 7 Add Lines 5 and 6. Enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 17.

Add Lines 1 through 3 and enter result.

Multiply Line 4 by 24% and enter result.

Line 2

Line 3

Line 4

Line 5

Subtraction	s from Vermont Tax		
Line 8	Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses from Federal return 1040, Line 48; 1040A, Line 29. Do not us this line if you qualify for the Low Income Child and Dependent Care Credit. You cannot take both credits.		
Line 9	Enter credit for the Elderly or the Disabled from Federal Schedule R.		
Line 10	Investment Tax Credit from return 3468. This credit is limited to the amount of investment tax credit attributable to the <i>Vermont-property</i> portion.		
Line 11	Vermont Farm Income Averaging Credit This credit is available to farmers who calculate Federal tax using Federal Schedule J. Complete the worksheet. VT FARM INCOME AVERAGING WORKSHEET 1. Calculate and enter here Federal income tax using Federal Schedule D, Federal Schedule D Worksheet, or Federal tax rate schedules as if Schedule J was not used. 1. \$		
Line 12	Add Lines 8 through 11. 2. Enter Federal tax from Federal Schedule J Line 23 2. \$		
Line 13	Multiply Line 12 by 24% and enter the result. 3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This is your VT Farm		
Line 14	Vermont-Based Business Solar Energy Investment Credit carry forward Unused Vermont-based business solar energy investment tax credit may be carried forward for five years following the year the credit is claimed. Go to www.tax.vermont.go under "Publications", see Technical Bulletin 45.		
Line 15	Add Lines 13 and 14. Enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 19.		
	mont Earned Income Tax Credit (For Full-Year and Part-Year Vermont Residents Only) Supporting Documents Required: Evidence of earned income such as W-2 or self-employment schedule(s). Eligibility questions A, B and C must be answered. The claim will be disallowed if the questions are not answered.		
Full-Year R			
Line 1	Enter the amount of your Federal earned income tax credit.		
Line 2	Multiply Line 1 by 32%. Enter the result and also enter on Form IN-111, Line 31c. This is your Vermont earne income tax credit.		
Part-Year R			
Line 3A	Enter the Federal amount of wages, salaries, tips, etc.		
Line 3B	Enter the portion of Federal wages, salaries, tips, etc. made while a Vermont resident.		
Lines 4A &	4B Other earned income includes income from a business, partnership or farm.		
Line 5A	Add Lines 3 and 4 in Column A and enter result.		
Line 5B	Add Lines 3 and 4 in Column B and enter result.		
Line 6	Divide Line 5, Column B by Line 5, Column A. Enter the result as a percentage carried out to two decimal places. This is the percentage of 2013 income earned in Vermont that is eligible for the Vermont earned income tax credit		
Line 7	Enter the amount of your Federal earned income tax credit.		
Line 8	Multiply Line 7 by 32% and enter result.		
Line 9	Multiply Line 8 by Line 6. Enter the result and also enter on Form IN-111, Line 31c. This is your Vermont earne income tax credit.		
	mont Income Tax Credits		
Line 1	Vermont Higher Education Investment Plan (VHEIP) The credit is available only for contributions to the 529 plan administered by VSAC. Go to www.tax.vermont.gov under "Publications, see Technical Bulletin 66.		
	You may be eligible for a tax credit on contributions made during calendar year 2013 to the Vermont Studer Assistance Corporation higher education investment plan. The tax credit equals 10% of the first \$2,500 c contributions per beneficiary. For jointly filed returns, the tax credit equals 10% of the first \$5,000 of contribution per beneficiary. For more information on the Vermont Higher Education Investment plan, go to the VSAC websit at www.vsac.org or call (800) 637-5860 Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.		
	Taxpayers receiving tax credit for Lines 2 - 5 through S corporations, LLCs, LLPs, or partnerships, enter the name of each entity and its FEIN on the schedule.		
Line 2	Charitable Housing A taxpayer making an investment in an eligible housing charity may receive a credit again Vermont income tax. The Commissioner of Housing and Community Affairs calculates the credit.		
Line 3	Qualified Sale of Mobile Home Park Please call the Department at (802) 828-2865 if you believe that yo qualify for this credit.		

- **Line 4**Research & Development Credit A taxpayer may receive a credit against Vermont income tax equal to 30% of the amount of federal tax credit allowed in the taxable year for research and development expenditures eligible under section 41(a) of the Internal Revenue code and which are made within Vermont. Any unused credit available may be carried forward up to ten years.
- Veteran Business Credit A qualified employer shall be eligible for a nonrefundable credit against their income tax liability in an amount equal to \$2,000 for each new full-time recently deployed employee hired after May 4, 2011 and before December 31, 2012 for a position, the majority of the duties of which are at a business location within Vermont. A recently deployed veteran may be eligible for a \$2,000 credit against Vermont personal income tax for the expenses associated with a start-up business in Vermont provided the business shows a net profit of at least \$3,000 in the year the credit is claimed. The recently deployed veteran must be a 50% or more owner of the start-up business. For more information, please go to our web site at www.tax.vermont.gov or call 1-866-828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont) or 802-828-2865 (local or out-of-state calls).
- **Line 6 Total Credits** Add entries from Lines 1-5 in Column C. Enter on Form IN-111, Line 24, unless you claim income tax credits on Schedule IN-119. For Schedule IN-119 filers, enter credit on the appropriate Schedule IN-119 line(s). Use amount calculated from Schedule IN-119 for entry on Form IN-111, Line 24.

SCHEDULE IN-113 Income Adjustment

WHO MUST FILE IN-113

You must file Schedule IN-113 if you are a nonresident or part-year resident and had Vermont income or a Vermont resident claiming income exempt from Vermont income tax.

- Nonresident: Complete both Parts I and II to determine the allocation of Vermont income. Go to www.tax.vermont.gov for definition of nonresident income.
- Resident: Complete Part II to adjust for the following income exempt from Vermont income tax: military pay, Federal Employment Opportunity Income up to July 1, 2013, railroad retirement income, Federal credit for Vermont portion of expenses that qualifies for the Americans with Disabilities Act, or bond/note income from qualified investments.
- **Part-Year Resident:** Part-year residents may, in some cases, be able to adjust Vermont income by both the Vermont percentage of income and claim a credit for income tax paid to another tax jurisdiction. The income tax paid must be for income earned in Vermont while a Vermont resident. Go to www.tax.vermont.gov for information.
- For Married Filing Separately or Civil Union Filing Separately, all income of the individual filing must be included in Column A, not just Vermont income. The adjustment calculation excludes the non-Vermont income.

 Supporting Documents Required: Copies of pages 1 and 2 of Federal income tax return and any Federal schedules reporting Vermont income or loss.

Dates of Vermont Residency in 2013 Enter the dates you lived in Vermont in 2013.

Name of State(s) During Non-Vermont Residency Write the names of the other states, Canadian provinces, or countries where you were a resident in 2013.

PART I (For Nonresidents and some Part-Year Vermont Residents)

Unless otherwise indicated in the line instruction, the Vermont portion is the income received from Vermont or received while a Vermont resident.

Lines 1 - 15, Column A Enter the income for these categories as shown on your Federal income tax return.

NOTE: For Line 3A - Use amount from 1040, Line 9a or 1040A, Line 9a.

For Lines 6A, 10A, and 12A - Use amount from Federal K-1 before recalculation for exclusion of bonus depreciation.

For Line 13A - Use amount reported on Federal income tax return.

For Line 15A - Use amounts from 1040, Lines 14 and 21.

Nonresidents: Use Line 15A to adjust for non-Vermont state and local obligations and U.S. obligation interest.

Line 15, Column A Examples of other income: gambling winnings including lotteries, raffles or lump-sum payment from sale of right to receive future lottery annuity; reimbursement this year for items itemized last year such as medical expenses; interest; income from rental of personal property; taxable distributions from Coverdell ESA or Qualified Tuition Plan, medical savings account or Archer MSA.

Lines 1 - 15, Column B Enter the Vermont portion for these categories from your Federal income tax return.

NOTE: For Line 3B - Use the amount of ordinary dividends received while a Vermont resident.

For Lines 6B, 10B, and 12B - Use amount from K-1VT before recalculation for exclusion of bonus depreciation.

For Line 13B - Enter total amount received for Vermont unemployment.

For Line 15B - Use the amount of other income earned or received from 1040, Lines 14 and 21 from Vermont sources.

Nonresidents: Do not include tax exempt interest here to adjust for non-Vermont state and local obligations and U.S. obligation interest.

Lines 17 - 25 Column A Enter the amount for these categories as shown on your Federal income tax return.

Lines 17 - 25, Column B Enter the portion of the deductions paid or incurred during your Vermont residency or resulting from Vermont income earned or received.

Line 26, Column A Enter the combined amounts of Educator Expenses from 1040, Line 23 or 1040A, Line 16, and Tuition and fees from 1040, Line 34 or 1040A, Line 19.

Line 26, Column B The Vermont portion of Educator Expenses and Tuition and fees during Vermont residency.

Line 27, Column A Enter deduction(s) to AGI that are included in the total on Federal return 1040, Line 36.

Line 27, Column B Enter the portion of the deductions paid or incurred during your Vermont residency or resulting from Vermont income earned or received.

PART II Adjustment for Vermont Exempt Income

- Line 32 If Part I is completed, enter the amount from Line 29. Otherwise, enter Adjusted Gross Income from Form IN-111,
- Line 33 Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents: Enter the amount from Part I, Line 31. Full-Year Residents: Enter 0.
- Line 34 Enter the amount of Vermont exempt military pay received in 2013 that is included in your Federal adjusted gross income. Exempt military pay is:
 - T. Wages earned from the armed services for full-time active duty outside of Vermont. You may be asked to provide the Required Supporting Documents: Copy of active duty orders.
 - Up to \$2,000 for National Guard or U.S. Reserve training pay earned in Vermont if your adjusted gross income for tax year 2013 is less than \$50,000. You may be asked to provide the Required Supporting **Documents:** Copy of DFAS form or certification statement from unit that all training was completed during the calendar year.
 - III. Student loan repayment can be taken only if the amount is included in your adjusted gross income. Enter the repayment benefit made under 10 U.S.C. Chapters 109 and 1609 for 2013 year. You may be asked to provide the Required Supporting Documents: Certification statement from armed services showing your name, address, social security number, amount of student loan repayment, and payment
- Line 35 **Federal Employment Opportunity** Repealed July 1, 2013. Enter the amount of wages or expenses required to be added back to Federal Adjusted Gross Income under IRC Sections 280C or 4 up to July 1.
- Enter the amount you received in 2013 for Regular Railroad Retirement Benefits (Tier 1) and Supplemental Line 36 Railroad Annuity Payments (Tier 2). This income is taxable at the Federal level, but exempt from Vermont income tax. If you receive social security that includes Tier 1 or Tier 2 benefits, enter only the portion included in your Federal adjusted gross income. You may be asked to provide the Required Supporting Documents: Copies of 1099, 1099RB, WP-4 or any other document you received showing payment of these benefits.
- Line 37 This adjustment, repealed January 1, 2013, is no longer available.
- Line 38 Enter the amount or the portion eligible for business expenses made to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act under Internal Revenue Code § 44 for a business located in Vermont. You may be asked to provide the **Required Supporting Documents:** Copy of Federal return.
- Line 39 This adjustment, repealed January 1, 2013, is no longer available.
- Line 40 The interest or income from a bond or note of: (1) Vermont Student Assistance Corporation (VSAC), (2) Build America, (3) Vermont Telecommunications Authority or (4) Vermont Public Power Supply Authority is exempt from Vermont income tax to the extent the interest or income is included in Federal Adjusted Gross Income. Enter the amount of interest or income from these sources that is also included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

VT SCHOOL DISTRICT CODES

Homeowners: For Form IN-111, use the school district code where you owned and resided on December 31, 2013. For Form HS-122, use the school district code where you own and reside on April 1, 2014.

Renters: Use the school district code where you rented on December 31, 2013. Check with your landlord or local school officials if you are not sure which code to use. Enter the school district code on Form IN-111 (if you are required to file that form) and Form PR-141.

Nonresidents: Enter 999 for the school district code on Form IN-111.

VT	
SCHOOL CODE	SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
001	ADDISON
002	ALBANY
003	ALBURGH
004	ANDOVER
005	ARLINGTON
006	ATHENS
255	AVERILL
256	AVERY'S GORE
007	BAKERSFIELD
008	BALTIMORE
009	BARNARD
010	BARNET
011	BARRE CITY
012 013	BARRE TOWN BARTON
014	BELVIDERE
015	BENNINGTON
016	BENSON
017	BERKSHIRE
018	BERLIN
019	BETHEL
020	BLOOMFIELD
021	BOLTON
022	BRADFORD
023	BRAINTREE
024	BRANDON
025	BRATTLEBORO
026	BRIDGEWATER
027	BRIDPORT
028	BRIGHTON
029	BRISTOL
030	BROOKFIELD
031	BROOKLINE
032	BROWNINGTON
033 252	BRUNSWICK BUEL'S GORE
034	BURKE
035	BURLINGTON
036	CABOT
037	CALAIS
038	CAMBRIDGE
039	CANAAN
040	CASTLETON
041	CAVENDISH
042	CHARLESTON
043	CHARLOTTE
044	CHELSEA
045	CHESTER
046	CHITTENDEN
047	CLARENDON
048	COLCHESTER
049	CODINTU
050	CORINTH
051 052	CORNWALL COVENTRY
053	CRAFTSBURY
054	DANBY
055	DANVILLE
056	DERBY
057	DORSET
058	DOVER
059	DUMMERSTON
060	DUXBURY
061	EAST HAVEN
062	EAST MONTPELIER
063	EDEN

e school district code on Form IN-			
	listrict code on Form IN-		
VT SCHOOL CODE	SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME		
064	ELMORE		
065	ENOSBURG		
066	ESSEX JUNCTION		
067	ESSEX TOWN		
070	FAIR HAVEN		
068	FAIRFAX		
069	FAIRFIELD		
071	FAIRLEE		
072	FAYSTON		
257	FERDINAND		
073	FERRISBURGH		
074	FLETCHER		
075	FRANKLIN		
076	GEORGIA		
<u>258</u>	GLASTENBURY		
077	GLOVER		
078	GOSHEN		
079	GRAFTON		
080	GRANBY		
081	GRAND ISLE		
082	GRANVILLE		
083	GREENSBORO		
084	GROTON		
085	GUILDHALL		
086	GUILFORD		
087	HALIFAX		
088	HANCOCK		
089	HARDWICK		
090	HARTFORD		
091	HARTLAND		
092	HIGHGATE		
093	HINESBURG		
093	HOLLAND		
095	HUBBARDTON		
096	HUNTINGTON		
097	HYDE PARK		
	IRA		
098			
099	IRASBURG		
100	ISLE LA MOTTE		
101	JAMAICA		
102	JAY		
103	JERICHO		
253	JERICHO ID		
104	JOHNSON		
<u> 185</u>	KILLINGTON		
105	KIRBY		
106	LANDGROVE		
107	LEICESTER		
108	LEMINGTON		
259	LEWIS		
109	LINCOLN		
110	LONDONDERRY		
111	LOWELL		
112	LUDLOW		
113	LUNENBURG		
114	LYNDON		
115	MAIDSTONE		
116	MANCHESTER		
117	MARLBORO		
118	MARSHFIELD		
119	MENDON		
120	MIDDLEBURY		
121	MIDDLESEX		
122	MIDDLETOWN SPRINGS		
123	MILTON		

MONKTON

VT			
SCHOOL SCHOOL DISTRICT NA			
125	MONTGOMERY		
126	MONTPELIER		
127	MORETOWN		
128	MORGAN		
129	MORRISTOWN		
130	MOUNT HOLLY		
131	MOUNT TABOR		
135	NEW HAVEN		
132	NEWARK		
133	NEWBURY		
134	NEWFANE		
136 137	NEWPORT CITY NEWPORT TOWN		
138	NORTH BENNINGTON ID		
140	NORTH HERO		
139	NORTHFIELD		
141	NORTON		
142	NORWICH		
143	ORANGE		
144	ORLEANS		
145	ORWELL		
146	PANTON		
147	PAWLET		
148	PEACHAM		
149	PERU		
150	PITTSFIELD		
151 152	PITTSFORD PLAINFIELD		
153	PLYMOUTH		
154	POMFRET		
155	POULTNEY		
156	POWNAL		
157	PROCTOR		
158	PUTNEY		
159	RANDOLPH		
160	READING		
161	READSBORO		
162	RICHFORD		
163	RICHMOND		
164	RIPTON		
165 166	ROCHESTER ROCKINGHAM		
167	ROXBURY		
168	ROYALTON		
169	RUPERT		
170	RUTLAND CITY		
171	RUTLAND TOWN		
172	RYEGATE		
173	SAINT ALBANS CITY		
174	SAINT ALBANS TOWN		
175	SAINT GEORGE		
176	SAINT JOHNSBURY		
<u>177</u> 178	SALISBURY SANDGATE		
179	SEARSBURG		
180	SHAFTSBURY		
254	SHAFTSBURY ID		
181	SHARON		
182	SHEFFIELD		
183	SHELBURNE		
184	SHELDON		
186	SHOREHAM		
187	SHREWSBURY		
260	SOMERSET		
188	SOUTH BURLINGTON		
189	SOUTH HERO		

VT	
VT SCHOOL	SCHOOL DISTRICT NAME
CODE	
190	SPRINGFIELD
191	STAMFORD
192	STANNARD
193	STARKSBORO
194	STOCKBRIDGE
195	STOWE
196	STRAFFORD
197	STRATTON
198	SUDBURY
199	SUNDERLAND
200	SUTTON
201	SWANTON
202	THETFORD
203	TINMOUTH
204	TOPSHAM
205	TOWNSHEND
206	TROY
207	TUNBRIDGE
208	UNDERHILL ID
209	UNDERHILL TOWN
210	VERGENNES
211	VERNON
212	VERSHIRE
213	VICTORY
214	WAITSFIELD
215	WALDEN
216	WALLINGFORD
217	WALTHAM
218	WARDSBORO
261	WARNER'S GRANT
219	WARREN
262	WARREN'S GORE
220	WASHINGTON
221	WATERFORD
222	WATERFORD
223	WATERVILLE
224	WEATHERSFIELD
225	WELLS DIVED
226	WELLS RIVER
227	WEST FAIRLEE
230	WEST HAVEN WEST RUTLAND
234 235	WEST RUTLAND WEST WINDSOR
228	WESTFIELD
229	WESTFIELD
231	112011 0112
232	WESTMINSTER WESTMORE
233	WESTON
236	WEYBRIDGE
237	WHEELOCK
238	WHITING
239	WHITINGHAM
240	WILLIAMSTOWN
241	WILLISTON
242	WILMINGTON
243	WINDHAM
244	WINDSOR
245	WINHALL
246	WINOOSKI
247	WOLCOTT
248	WOODBURY
249	WOODFORD
250	WOODSTOCK
251	WORCESTER
201	OINOLOTEIN

Personal Income Tax Return Booklet - Web version Pages 15-37 information

Forms on pages 15-37 of the printed Income Tax Return booklet have been removed from this document but are provided on our website.

<u>Click here</u> to go to the Individual Income Tax Resource Area.

Continued from page 13

Line 41	Add Lines 33 through 40 and enter result. This is the total amount of income not subject to Vermont income tax.
	No entry is needed on this line if you did not have entries on Lines 33 - 40.

Line 42 Subtract Line 41 from Line 32. This is the Vermont income subject to tax.

Line 43 Divide Line 42 by Line 32. Also enter on Form IN-111, Line 21.

Carry out to two decimal places. XX.XX%

Dealing with negatives

If Line 32 or 33 is a negative enter 100% If Line 41 or 42 is a negative enter 0% If Line 32 and 42 are a negative enter 0%

SCHEDULE IN-154 State/Local Income Tax Addback

Who must file Schedule IN-154?

If you itemized your deductions on your 2013 Federal return 1040 Line 40 and claimed more than \$5,000 in state and local income tax on Federal Schedule A, Line 5a.

or

You completed IN-154 for 2012 and you received a refund check for your state and local income taxes.

Do not file this form if you used the Federal Standard Deduction.

The amount of state and local income taxes in excess of \$5,000 deducted from federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year is required to be added back to Vermont Taxable Income. However, the amount is limited to that which will reduce total itemized deductions below the standard deduction.

PART A 2013 Federal Return 1040, Schedule A Deduction

Line 1 Enter amount of itemized deductions from Federal return 1040, Schedule A, Line 29.

Line 2 Enter allowable federal standard deduction for your filing status.

	Standard
Single	6,100
Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying Widow(er)	12,200
Married Filing Separately	6,100
Head of Household	8,950



For those born before January 2, 1949 or blind and entry on Federal Return 1040, Line 39a is			
1	2	3	4
7,600	9,100	n/a	n/a
13,400	14,600	15,800	17,000
7,300	8,500	n/a	n/a
10,450	11,950	n/a	n/a

Line 3	Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.
Line 4	Enter amount of state and local income taxes from Federal return 1040, Schedule A, Line 5a. If your itemized deductions are limited, go to the Department's website for further instructions.
Line 5	Allowable state and local income taxes deduction.
Line 6	Subtract Line 5 from Line 4.
PART B A	djustment for Recapture of Excess 2012 Addback
Line 7	Enter amount from your 2013 Federal return 1040, Line 10. If entry is zero, skip Parts B and C and enter the lesser amount of Line 3 or Line 6 on Form IN-111, Line 12c.
Line 8	Enter the lesser amount from 2012 Vermont Schedule IN-154, Line 3 or Line 6.
Line 9	Enter the lesser of Line 7 or Line 8.
Line 10	Subtract Line 9 from the lesser of Line 3 or Line 6. This is the 2013 addback amount. Enter this amount on Form IN-111, Line 12c. If the difference is less than zero, check the box at Form IN-111, Line 12c to indicate a negative number.

Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment

FORM HS-122 SECTION A Vermont Homestead Declaration

THE HOMESTEAD DECLARATION must be filed each year. The Declaration identifies the property as the homestead of a **VERMONT RESIDENT.** The property is taxed at the homestead education property tax rate. A different education property tax rate applies to nonresidential properties.

Nonresidential property is property used for commercial purposes or a second home, camp, summer cottage; or property not owned and occupied on April 1 as a principal residence; or property not declared as a homestead.

A property may be classified as both homestead and nonresidential. The property tax bill will show a homestead education property tax rate and a nonresidential education property tax rate.

You must file a declaration if you:

- 1. Expect to be a Vermont resident on April 1, 2014 AND
- **2.** Own and occupy the Vermont property as your principal residence on April 1, 2014 The declaration must be filed even if it is late.
 - Joint ownership only one owner occupant should file.
 - Owners with a life estate interest who occupy the dwelling as their primary residence must file.
 - Trusts may qualify for a homestead, see Reg. §1.5401(7) Homestead for more information.
 - A residence, held by an estate which was the homestead of the decedent at the time of death, may file a
 homestead if not rented.

Homestead Declarations received by April 15, 2014 are considered timely, classified as homesteads on the grand list and taxed at the homestead education property tax rate.

Homestead Declarations received **after April 15, 2014** may be assessed, by the town, a 3% or 8% penalty of the education property tax.

- 3% if the nonresidential rate is higher than the homestead education property tax rate.
- 8% if the nonresidential rate is lower than the homestead education property tax rate.

SOLD your property before April 1, 2014? If you filed a Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Claim before April 1, 2014, you must withdraw the declaration and claim using Form HS-122W. Form HS-122W is available on our website at *www.tax.vermont.gov*

Line-By-Line Instructions

Claimant Information: Enter your Social Security Number, name and address. If applicable, enter the Social Security Number and name of your spouse/civil union partner. Enter your date of birth. Example: March 27, 1948 is entered as 03 27 1948

Location of Homestead: Enter the physical location (street, road name) Examples: 123 Maple Street or 276 Route 12A Please DO NOT enter a post office box or write "same," "see above" or the city/town name.

- **Line A1 Vermont School District Code:** Enter the 3-digit school district code where you pay education property tax as of April 1, 2014. Most towns print the code on the property tax bill. A school district code chart is available in this booklet.
- **Line A2 Legal Residence:** Enter the town or city name of your legal residence as of April 1, 2014. If there is both a city and town with the same name, please specify. Examples: Barre City or Barre Town, St. Albans City or St. Albans Town
- **SPAN (School Property Account Number):** This is a unique 11-digit identification number assigned by the town or city and is printed on the property tax bill. It is very important to verify your SPAN. The property tax adjustment is credited to the property tax bill for this SPAN.
- **Line A4 Business Use of Home:** Enter percentage of the dwelling used for business. Leave blank if there is no business use or the business use is 25% or less.
- **Line A5** Rental Use of Home: Enter the percentage of the dwelling that is rented. All rental use is required to be reported even if it is under 25%.
- Line A6

 Business or Rental Use of Improvements and Other Buildings on the Property Check the applicable "Yes" or "No" box. Check the "Yes" box if any improvements or other buildings are rented out or used for business.

Lines A7-A10 Special Situations: Check situation applicable.

FORM HS-122 SECTION B Property Tax Adjustment Claim

To be eligible for a **PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT**

- 1. The property must be declared as your homestead;
- 2. You were domiciled in Vermont for the entire 2013 calendar year;
- 3. You own and occupy the property as your principal residence on April 1, 2014;
- 4. You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer for the 2013 tax year; and,
- 5. You meet the household income criteria of \$105,000 or less.

Due Date - APRIL 15, 2014

Property Tax Adjustment Claims received **between April 16 and October 15, 2014** will have a \$15 late filing fee deducted from the property tax adjustment.

2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claims filed after October 15, 2014 cannot be accepted.

Incomplete claims are considered not filed.

Receipt Date

Forms mailed through the U. S. Post Office are considered timely if received by the Department within 3 business days of the due date. If you file electronically, the receipt date is the transmission date. If you bring the form to the Department in person, it must be on or before the due date.

HOMEOWNER DECEASED before April 1, 2014? If claim was not filed jointly with another owner before April 1, 2014, the claim must be withdrawn using Form HS-122W. The right to file a property tax adjustment claim is personal to the claimant and does not survive the claimant's death.

PURCHASED a home as your primary residence on or before April 1, 2014? You must file Form HS-122 Section A and B to make a property tax adjustment claim. You can file online at www.tax.vermont.gov.

Amending Form HS-122 An error on the 2014 Form HS-122 may be corrected up to October 15, 2014. After that date, only household income may be amended.

INJURED SPOUSE CLAIMS: To make an "injured spouse" claim, send the following information **prior** to filing your claim;

- **1.** The request letter;
- **2.** Copy of Federal return 8379 (if you filed one with the IRS); and,
- **3.** Documentation of your ownership interest.

Mail information to:

Vermont Department of Taxes

ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit

PO Box 1645

Montpelier VT 05601-1645

The Department will notify you if the property tax adjustment is taken to pay a bill. You have 30 days from the date on the notice to submit the injured spouse claim to the Department.

Line-By-Line Instructions

Complete Schedule HI-144 first to determine if you meet the household income criteria.

Schedule HI-144 must be submitted with Form HS-122. See instructions for Line B9 Mobile Home Lot Rent, Lines B10 & B11 Allocated Property Tax from Land Trust, Cooperative, or Nonprofit Mobile Home Park and B12 & B13, the education and municipal tax on a property whose housesite value is less than 2 acres and crosses town boundaries. Additional documents may be required.

Lines B1 – B3 Eligibility Questions: Check the appropriate "Yes" or "No" box to answer the eligibility questions. ALL eligibility questions must be answered.

Information for Lines B4-B6 is found on your 2013/2014 property tax bill.

Line B4 Housesite Value: Enter the assessed housesite value shown on the 2013/2014 property tax bill. See the instructions under Special Situations for information on new construction or purchase of a new home.

Line B5 Housesite Education PropertyTax: Enter the education property tax shown on the 2013/2014 property tax bill.

Line B6 Housesite Municipal Tax: Enter the municipal property tax shown on the 2013/2014 property tax bill.

Line B7 Ownership Interest: If you and the members of the household own and occupy the property as your principal residence, enter 100.00%. See the instructions under Special Situations if there is another owner(s) that does not live in the household or you live in a duplex.

Line B8	Household Income: Enter the amount calculated on Schedule HI-144, Line y.
Line B8a	If you are amending your Household Income Schedule, please mark the box with an "X".
Line B9	Lot Rent for a Mobile Home: If you rent a lot in a privately owned mobile home park, obtain Form LC-142, Landlord's Certificate, from your landlord and enter the amount of allocable rent from Line 16.
Lines B10 -	B11 Allocated Tax from Land Trust, Cooperative or Nonprofit Mobile Home Park: Enter the amount of education and municipal property tax shown on the statement issued to you by the land trust, cooperative or

nonprofit mobile home park.

Lines B12 – B13 Property Tax from Contiguous Property: If you own contiguous property, you can use the property taxes from that parcel if the property tax bill for your dwelling has under 2 acres or part of the dwelling or a building, such as

MAXIMUM 2014 PROPERTY TAX ADJUSTMENT IS \$8,000

The property tax adjustment will appear as a state payment on your 2014/2015 property tax bill.

Signature: Sign the property tax adjustment claim.

Date: Enter the date you sign the claim.

Disclosure Authorization: Check this box if you wish to give the Vermont Department of Taxes authorization to discuss this claim with your tax preparer. Be sure the tax preparer's name is included.

Preparer: If you are a paid preparer, you must sign this claim, enter your Social Security Number or PTIN, and if employed by a business, include the EIN of the business. If someone other than the Homeowner prepared this claim without charging a fee, the preparer's signature is optional.

If mailing this return, send to:

a garage, is on the contiguous property.

Vermont Department of Taxes PO Box 1881 Montpelier, VT 05601-1881

SCHEDULE HI-144 Household Income Schedule

Domicile Please refer to Department regulation 1.5811 www.tax.vermont.gov/legalregs.shtml

Homeowner Is a person who owns and occupies the housesite as his or her primary residence.

Household Income means modified adjusted gross income, but not less than zero, received in a calendar year by:

all persons of a household while members of that household:

and

the spouse of the claimant who is not a member of that household and who is not legally separated from the claimant, unless the spouse is at least 62 years of age and has moved to a nursing home or other care facility with no reasonable prospect of returning to the homestead.

Household Members include you, your spouse/civil union partner, roommates, and family members (including children) even if they file their own income tax returns and are not considered dependents. Exceptions - The following are not considered household members:

- A person who is not related to any member of the household and who is living in the household under a written homesharing agreement pursuant to a nonprofit homesharing program authorized by the Vermont Department of Disability, Aging and Independent Living.
- A person living in the household who is a bona fide employee hired to provide personal care to an unrelated household member.
- A person who resides with the claimant for the primary reason of providing attendant care services or homemaker or companionship services with or without compensation that allows the claimant to remain in his or her home or avoid institutionalization. The claimant must be disabled or 62 years of age or older as of December 31, 2013.

Members of the household for a portion of the year. You must include the income received by all persons residing in the home or apartment, during the period they resided in the home or apartment.

Household Income Lines a-m on Schedule HI-144 list the items of income that are required to be reported for Household Income.

Report your income under Column 1, Claimant. Your spouse/civil union partner income is reported under Column 2.

Exceptions applying to spouse/civil union partner - (1) Unless you are legally separated, your spouse/civil union partner's income must be included even if that person is not living with you; and **(2)** Income of a spouse who is age 62 or older and has moved permanently to a nursing home or other care facility is not included.

Report income from all others who resided in your house or apartment under Column 3, Other Persons.

Exclusions: The following are not part of household income:

- Payments by the State of Vermont for foster care pursuant to Chapters 49 and 55 of Title 33
- Payments by the State of Vermont to a family for the support of an eligible person with a developmental disability
- Payments by the State of Vermont or an agency designated in Title 18 Section 8907 for adult foster care payments (formerly "difficulty of care" payments)
- Surplus food or other relief in kind supplied by a government agency
- The first \$6,500 of income received (earned or unearned) by a person who qualifies as a dependent of the claimant under the Internal Revenue Code **and** who is the claimant's parent or disabled adult child
- The first \$6,500 of income earned, such as wages, salaries, tips, etc., by a full-time student who qualifies as a dependent of the claimant (all unearned income must be reported)
- The first \$6,500 of gifts of cash and/or cash equivalents received by all household members
- Distributions from the contributions to a ROTH IRA (distributions from the earnings of the ROTH IRA are to be reported in household income)
- Gifts from a nongovernmental source, such as aid provided by the Red Cross, Salvation Army, a church, to assist paying a living expense for example, fuel, utilities, rent

Line-By-Line Instructions

Household Income Line a Cash public assistance and relief Enter all payments from the State of Vermont Agency of Human Services except for foster care payments, difficulty of care payments, food stamps and fuel assistance. The first \$6,500 of refugee settlement payment is excluded. Line b Social Security, railroad retirement, and veterans' benefits (taxable and nontaxable) Enter payments from Social Security as reported in Box 5 of your SSA-1099 (this box adjusts for any repayment of Social Security benefits you were required to make) or from Federal return 1040. Line 20a or 1040A. Line 14a. Social Security benefits also include SSI and SSD payments. Enter all railroad retirement from RRB-1099 and veterans' benefits. Line c Unemployment compensation and workers' compensation Enter the full unemployment compensation shown on Federal Form 1099-G plus any workers' compensation you received. Line d Wages, salaries, tips, etc. Enter the income shown in Box 1 of the W-2. Also report Federal Form 1099-MISC issued for nonemployee compensation if this is income not included as part of Line h. Business Income. See exclusions in Household Income section before completing this line. Interest and dividends Enter the income required to be reported on Lines 8a and 9a of Federal returns 1040 or Line e 1040A; or on Line 2 of Federal return 1040EZ plus the nontaxable interest not required to be reported on Federal return 1040EZ. Line f Interest on U.S., state, or municipal obligations Enter the income reported on Line 8b of Federal return 1040 or 1040A and all interest income from federal, state or municipal government bonds. This includes interest taxed at the Federal level but exempted for Vermont income tax purposes and interest not taxed at the Federal level. Alimony, support money, child support, cash and cash equivalent gifts Enter the total received for alimony, Line g child support and other support money. Support money includes payment of housing expenses for household member, or other financial assistance that makes it possible for the household member to live in the homestead or rental unit. Also gifts of cash or cash equivalent received by household members must be reported. Cash equivalent includes stocks, bonds, treasury obligations, certificates of deposit or other instruments convertible to cash. Line h **Business income** Enter income attributable to a business. If there is a business loss, enter zero (0). For taxpayers

filing Married Filing Jointly, where both spouses have business income or loss from sole proprietorships, enter the amount from Federal return 1040, Line 12, or enter zero (0) if Line 12 is negative, in the Claimant column.

Line i Capital gain Report nontaxable gains from sale of home and gains from Federal return 1040 Schedule D: Add Lines 6 and 14 and subtract this amount from Line 16. If Line 16 is smaller than total of Lines 6 and 14, enter zero. For Federal return 1040A, use Line 10 but not less than zero. For purposes of household income, a capital loss carryforward cannot offset a current year capital gain.

Exception: A business loss may offset a capital gain on the sale of the business' property provided (1) the loss and capital gain are for the same business; and (2) the Internal Revenue Service requires the capital gain to be reported; and (3) the business loss and capital gain from the sale of the business' property both occurred in the 2013 tax year. If the offset of the capital gain by the loss creates a negative amount, enter zero (0). A capital loss cannot offset business income.

Line j Taxable pensions, annuities, IRAs, and retirement fund distributions. Enter the income from retirement, deferred compensation plans and annuities as reported on Federal return 1040, Lines 15b and 16b; or Federal return 1040A, Lines 11b and 12b. Household income includes non-qualified distributions from retirement and deferred compensation plans and both taxable and nontaxable federal pension and annuity benefits.

Line k Rental and Royalty income Enter the income from each rental property you own as reported on Federal Schedule E, Part I. Each rental property stands on its own. A loss generated by one property may not be used to reduce income from a different property. See Technical Bulletin 56 for the proper treatment of rental income and losses. Room and board payments made to you by member(s) of the household are rental income and must be reported on this line. Report royalty income from Federal Form 1099-MISC, 1099-S, K-1 or Schedule E, Part I.

Line 1 Income from Partnerships, S Corporations, LLCs, Farms, Trusts and Estates Federal Schedule K-1 pass-through income as required to be reported on Federal return 1040, Schedules E and/or F. Report ordinary business income, rental income and guaranteed payments from K-1 on this line. The loss from one K-1 cannot offset income from another K-1. A loss is reported as zero. See Line i instructions for the only provision allowing netting of a business loss.

Line mOther income Sources of other income include, but are not limited to, prizes and awards, gambling or lottery winnings, director's fees, employer allowances, taxable refunds from Federal return 1040, Line 10, allowances received by dependents of armed service personnel and military subsistence payments (BAH, FSA), loss of time insurance, cost of living adjustment paid to federal employees, and other gains from Federal return 1040, Line 14. Report on this line income reported to you by Federal Form 1099-MISC or W-2G.

Line n Add items a through m by column. Carry those amounts over to the top of the next page.

Adjustments to Income:

Line o

The following adjustments to household income may be made for each member of the household.

Social Security and Medicare Tax Withheld and Self-Employment Tax on Income Reported Social Security and Medicare payroll tax payments are deducted from household income, but only to the extent that the salary and wages are included in household income. For example, individuals with deferred compensation, military pay or allocated tips, the W-2 reported Social Security and Medicare payments are not correct for the calculation of household income on the HI-144.

- **1. Deferred compensation** If you made a deferred compensation contribution for the tax year, the amount of the contribution is not included in the Federal adjusted gross income as stated in Box 1 on your W-2 form. The Social Security and Medicare taxes on the W-2 must be reduced for the purposes of reporting household income on the HI-144. To report the correct value on Line o, multiply the amount stated in Box 1 on the W-2 by 7.65%.
- **2. Military pay** Multiplying the amount stated in Box 1 on the W-2 by 7.65% provides the correct value for this deduction.
- **3. Allocated tips** In addition to the figures included on the W-2, add the Social Security and Medicare payments you made as the result of completing Federal Form 4137.

Self-Employed Social Security and Medicare Taxes Paid Self-employed claimants may subtract from household income the amount from Federal Schedule SE, Section A, Line 5 or Section B, Line 12 that represents the Social Security and Medicare taxes paid for 2013 for income reported on HI-144. For income not required to be reported upon which Social Security and Medicare taxes were paid, multiply the income not reported on HI-144 by 15.3% and subtract the result from the Federal Schedule SE amount. The amount of Social Security and Medicare taxes reported on this line includes the allowable deduction for one-half self-employment tax on Federal return 1040 Line 27. You may be asked for a copy of your Federal Schedule SE.

Line pChild support paid Report only those payments for which receipts or other evidence of payment is available. This evidence may include cancelled checks or a statement from the Office of Child Support in addition to the name and social security number of the parent receiving the payment.

Line q Allowable Adjustments from Federal return 1040 or return 1040A The following expenses may be subtracted from income.

- Certain business expenses of reservists Line 24 from Federal return 1040
- Alimony paid Line 31a from Federal return 1040
- Tuition and fees Line 34 from Federal return 1040 or Line 19 from Federal return 1040A
- Self-employed health insurance deduction Line 29 from Federal return 1040
- Health savings account deduction Line 25 from Federal return 1040

Household Income. Add Line t and Line x. Enter this figure on HS-122 or PR-141.

Line r	Add Lines o, p, and the total of Lines q1 to q5 for each column.
Line s	Subtract the total adjustments on Line r from the total income on Line n for each column. The adjustments for any individual in your household cannot exceed the income of that individual. If Line n minus Line r is negative, enter zero (0).
Line t	Add columns 1, 2, and 3 and enter sum. Entry cannot be less than zero (0).
Line u	For claimants under the age of 65 as of December 31, 2013, enter the total of interest and dividends for all household members reported on Lines e and f in each column.
Line v	Add the three columns on Line u.
Line w	For purposes of calculating the property tax adjustment or renter rebate, household income is increased by the household total of interest and dividend income greater than \$10,000.
Line x	Subtract Line w from Line v. If Line w is more than Line v, enter zero (0).

SPECIAL SITUATIONS

Line v

Deceased Homeowner

Property Tax Adjustment: An estate cannot make a Property Tax Adjustment Claim on behalf of a deceased homeowner. If a homeowner files a Property Tax Adjustment Claim, but dies prior to April 1, the estate must withdraw the claim using Form HS-122W. The estate is responsible to repay any adjustment issued. If the homeowner filed a Property Tax Adjustment Claim between January and March 31 and dies after April 1, the commissioner may pay the adjustment to the town on behalf of another member of the household with ownership interest.

An estate may continue classification of the property as a homestead until the following April provided the property was the deceased homeowner's homestead at the time of death and the property is not rented.

Delinquent Property Tax The 2014 property tax adjustment applies to the current year property tax. The municipality may use any remaining adjustment towards penalty, interest or prior year property taxes.

Nursing Home or Residential Care If the homeowner is age 62 or older and another owner who also lived in the homestead is the homeowner's spouse/civil union partner or sibling and has moved indefinitely from the homestead to a nursing home or residential care facility, the homeowner makes the Property Tax Adjustment Claim with 100% ownership interest provided that the spouse/civil union partner or sibling does not make a Renter Rebate Claim or the spouse/civil union partner or sibling does not make a Property Tax Adjustment Claim for the same homestead.

If the homeowner has moved to a nursing home or residential care facility, a Property Tax Adjustment Claim may be made if there is a reasonable likelihood that the homeowner will be returning to the homestead and provided that the homeowner does not make a Renter Rebate Claim. The Department may ask for a doctor's certificate to help determine whether the nursing home or residential care facility is a temporary location.

Renting at the End of the Year If you owned a Vermont homestead in 2013, sold the homestead before April 1, withdrew or did not file a Property Tax Adjustment Claim and rented between the date of the sale and December 31, you may be eligible for a renter rebate for rent paid in 2013. To qualify for a renter rebate, your household income must be \$47,000 or less. **NOTE:** This is the only situation where a renter rebate can be claimed for less than 12 months.

OWNERSHIP SITUATIONS

Homeowner Age 62 or Older in 2013 If the homeowner shares ownership of the homestead with his or her descendant(s), the homeowner may claim 100% ownership interest on the Property Tax Adjustment Claim, even if the other owners (descendants) do not live in the homestead. A letter of explanation may be requested.

Divorced or Legally Separated Joint Owners If you are (1) divorced or legally separated from your spouse/civil union partner, and (2) the name of the spouse/civil union partner from whom you are divorced or legally separated remains on the deed, and (3) you are awarded possession of the home, you claim as ownership percentage the property taxes for which you are responsible under the final divorce decree or court order. If the divorce decree or court order does not specify responsibility for the property taxes, the person residing in the homestead uses 50% ownership interest. The person not living in the homestead cannot make a Property Tax Adjustment Claim.

The Department may ask for a copy of the portions of the court documents showing the court, date filed, signature page, and the homestead related provisions.

Duplex Housing BOTH OWNERS OCCUPY THE BUILDING AS THEIR PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, the eligible housesite education property tax is the tax on the portion owned by each homeowner. If the town issues a property tax bill to each homeowner for his or her portion of the homestead, use the housesite value, housesite property tax and 100% ownership interest. If the property tax bill is for the total property, prorate the housesite value, housesite property tax and ownership interest.

BOTH OWNERS DO NOT OCCUPY THE DUPLEX AS THEIR PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, the owner occupying the duplex as his or her principal residence must prorate for the other owner's interest.

Entity Ownership Property owned by a C or S corporation, partnership, or limited liability company cannot be claimed as an individual's homestead and is not eligible for property tax adjustment. There is an exception for a homestead located on a farm. See Regulation 1.5401.

Life Estate

A person who holds a life estate interest in a property that he or she occupies as a principal residence may make a Property Tax Adjustment Claim as if the life estate holder was the owner of the property. The deed does not have to be attached to the Property Tax Adjustment Claim but must be available for review upon Department request.

Trust Ownership A dwelling owned by a trust is not the homestead of the beneficiary unless

The claimant is the sole beneficiary of the trust and:

1. The claimant or the claimant's spouse was the grantor of the trust, and the trust is revocable or became irrevocable solely by reason of the grantor's death;

or

2. The claimant is the parent, grandparent, child, grandchild or sibling of the grantor, the claimant is mentally disabled or severely physically disabled, and the grantor's modified adjusted gross income is included in the household income calculation.

The term "sole beneficiary" is satisfied if the homeowner and the spouse/civil union partner are the only beneficiaries of the trust. A property owned by an irrevocable trust cannot be a homestead except as stated in (1) above. The trust document does not have to be attached to the Property Tax Adjustment Claim but must be available for review upon Department request.

BUYING and SELLING PROPERTY

Buying after April 1, 2013 For property purchased as your principal residence, you need to file a 2014 Homestead Declaration. If you are eligible to make a 2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claim and the property was declared as a homestead, use the seller's property tax bill. If the property was not a homestead in 2013, ask the town for the housesite value and the property taxes on the housesite as if it was a homestead in 2013.

Property Transactions after April 1, 2014 The property tax adjustment stays with the property. In the case of the sale or transfer of a residence, any property tax adjustment amounts related to that residence shall be allocated to the seller at closing unless the parties agree otherwise.

NEW CONSTRUCTION

New homestead construction that was built after April 1, 2013 and is owned and occupied as a principal residence on April 1, 2014, must file Form HS-122 Homestead Declaration. Eligible homeowners may make a 2014 Property Tax Adjustment Claim. The claim will be based on the value of the parcel as of April 1, 2013.

Taxpayer Advocate

The Vermont Department of Taxes offers free, confidential service when a taxpayer encounters difficulty resolving tax issues. The Taxpayer Advocate can help if:

- You are experiencing extreme economic hardship from the Department's action, or
- It is taking more than 180 days to resolve your tax issue, or
- You have not received a response or resolution to the problem by the date promised by the Vermont Department of Taxes

The Taxpayer Advocate will listen to your situation, independently review the problem, help you understand what needs to be done to resolve it and keep you updated on the progress of your situation. Please note that the Taxpayer Advocate cannot override the provisions of the law.

To contact the Taxpayer Advocate: Mail: ATTN: Taxpayer Advocate

Telephone: 802-828-6848 Vermont Department of Taxes

Fax: 802-828-5787 133 State Street

Email: taxpayeradvocate@state.vt.us Montpelier, VT 05633-1401

2013 VT Rate Schedules

Schedule X
Use if your filing status is:
Single

If VT Taxable	But Not	VT Base	Plus	of the
Income is Over	Over	Tax is		amount over
0	36,250	0.00	3.55%	0
36,250	75,000	1,287.00	6.80%	36,250
TAXABLE II	NCOME UND	ER \$75,000 U	SE THE TA	X TABLES
75,000	87,850	3,922.00	6.80%	75,000
87,850	183,250	4,796.00	7.80%	87,850
183,250	398,350	12,237.00	8.80%	183,250
398,350	-	31,166.00	8.95%	398,350

Schedule Y-2
Use if your filing status is:
Married Filing Separately; or Civil Union Filing Separately

If VT Taxable Income is Over	But Not Over	VT Base Tax is	Plus	of the amount over
0	30,275	0.00	3.55%	0
30,275	73,200	1,075.00	6.80%	30,275
73,200	75,000	3,994.00	7.80%	73,200
TAXABLE II	NCOME UND	ER \$75,000 U	SE THE TA	X TABLES
75,000	111,525	4,134.00	7.80%	75,000
111,525	199,175	6,983.00	8.80%	111,525
199,175	-	14,696.00	8.95%	199,175

Schedule Y-1
Use if your filing status is:
Married Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er); or Civil Union Filing Jointly

If VT Taxable Income is Over	But Not Over	VT Base Tax is	Plus	of the amount over
0	60,550	0.00	3.55%	0
60,550	75,000	2,150.00	6.80%	60,550
TAXABLE II	NCOME UND	ER \$75,000 U	SE THE TA	X TABLES
75,000	146,400	3,132.00	6.80%	75,000
146,400	223,050	7,987.00	7.80%	146,400
223,050	398,350	13,966.00	8.80%	223,050
398,350	-	29,392.00	8.95%	398,350

Schedule Z
Use if your filing status is:
Head of Household

If VT Taxable Income is Over	But Not Over	VT Base Tax is	Plus	of the amount over
0	48,600	0.00	3.55%	0
48,600	75,000	1,725.00	6.80%	48,600
TAXABLE II	NCOME UND	ER \$75,000 U	SE THE TA	X TABLES
75,000	125,450	3,521.00	6.80%	75,000
125,450	203,150	6,951.00	7.80%	125,450
203,150	398,350	13,012.00	8.80%	203,150
398,350	-	30,189.00	8.95%	398,350

Example: VT Taxable Income is \$82,000 (Form IN-111, Line 15). Filing Status is Married Filing Jointly. Use Schedule Y-1. Base Tax is \$3,132. Subtract \$75,000 from \$82,000. Multiply the result (\$7,000) by 6.8%. Add this amount (\$476) to Base Tax (\$3,132) for VT Tax of \$3,608. Enter \$3,608 on Form IN-111, Line 16.

2013 VT Tax Tables

If Taxal		And	your fili	ng statu	s is	If Taxal Income		And	your fili	ng statu	s is	If Taxal Income		And your filing status is				
At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	
		Ther	your V	•				Ther	your V	,				Ther	your V	,		
0	- 1,000	<u> </u>				5	,000	<u> </u>				1	0,000	<u> </u>				
0	100	0	0	0	0	5,000	5,100	179	179	179	179		10,100	357	357	357	357	
100	200	5	5	5	5	5,100	5,200	183	183	183	183		10,200	360	360	360	360	
200 300	300 400	9	9 12	9 12	9 12	5,200 5,300	5,300 5,400	186 190	186 190	186 190	186 190	,	10,300 10,400	364 367	364 367	364 367	364 367	
400	500	16	16	16	16	5,400	5,500	193	193	193	193	,	10,500	371	371	371	371	
500	600	20	20	20	20	5,500	5,600	197	197	197	197	10,500	10,600	375	375	375	375	
600	700	23	23	23	23	5,600	5,700	201	201	201	201		10,700	378	378	378	378	
700 800	800 900	27 30	27 30	27 30	27 30	5,700	5,800	204	204 208	204	204		10,800 10,900	382 385	382 385	382 385	382	
900	1,000	34	34	34	34	5,800 5,900	5,900 6,000	208	211	208 211	208 211	,	11,000	389	389	389	385 389	
	000						,000						1,000					
1,000	1,100	37	37	37	37	6,000	6,100	215	215	215	215		11,100	392	392	392	392	
1,100	1,200	41	41	41	41	6,100	6,200	218	218	218	218		11,200	396	396	396	396	
1,200	1,300	44	44	44	44	6,200	6,300	222	222	222	222		11,300	399	399	399	399	
1,300 1,400	1,400 1,500	48 51	48 51	48 51	48 51	6,300 6,400	6,400 6,500	225 229	225 229	225 229	225 229		11,400 11,500	403 406	403 406	403 406	403	
1,500	1,600	55	55	55	55	6,500	6,600	233	233	233	233		11,600	410	410	410	410	
1,600	1,700	59	59	59	59	6,600	6,700	236	236	236	236		11,700	414	414	414	414	
1,700	1,800	62	62	62	62	6,700	6,800	240	240	240	240	11,700	11,800	417	417	417	417	
1,800	1,900	66	66	66	66	6,800	6,900	243	243	243	243		11,900	421	421	421	421	
1,900	900 2,000 69 69 69 69 2,000				69	6,900	7,000	247	247	247	247		12,000	424	424	424	424	
		72	72	72	72		7 100	250	250	250	250		2,000	420	420	120	420	
2,000 2,100	2,100 2,200	73 76	73 76	73 76	73 76	7,000 7,100	7,100 7,200	250 254	250 254	250 254	250 254		12,100 12,200	428 431	428 431	428 431	428 431	
2,200	2,300	80	80	80	80	7,200	7,300	257	257	257	257		12,300	435	435	435	435	
2,300	2,400	83	83	83	83	7,300	7,400	261	261	261	261	,	12,400	438	438	438	438	
2,400	2,500	87	87	87	87	7,400	7,500	264	264	264	264		12,500	442	442	442	442	
2,500 2,600	2,600 2,700	91 94	91 94	91 94	91 94	7,500 7,600	7,600 7,700	268 272	268 272	268 272	268 272	,	12,600 12,700	446 449	446 449	446 449	446 449	
2,700	2,800	98	98	98	98	7,700	7,700	275	275	275	275		12,700	453	453	453	453	
2,800	2,900	101	101	101	101	7,800	7,900	279	279	279	279		12,900	456	456	456	456	
2,900	3,000	105	105	105	105	7,900	8,000	282	282	282	282		13,000	460	460	460	460	
	,000						,000			• • • •			3,000					
3,000 3,100	3,100 3,200	108 112	108 112	108 112	108 112	8,000 8,100	8,100 8,200	286 289	286 289	286 289	286 289		13,100 13,200	463 467	463 467	463 467	463 467	
3,200	3,300	115	115	115	112	8,200	8,300	293	293	293	293		13,200	470	470	470	470	
3,300	3,400	119	119	119	119	8,300	8,400	296	296	296	296	13,300	13,400	474	474	474	474	
3,400	3,500	122	122	122	122	8,400	8,500	300	300	300	300		13,500	477	477	477	477	
3,500	3,600	126	126	126	126	8,500	8,600	304	304	304	304		13,600	481	481	481	481	
3,600 3,700	3,700 3,800	130 133	130 133	130 133	130 133	8,600 8,700	8,700 8,800	307 311	307 311	307 311	307 311		13,700 13,800	485 488	485 488	485 488	485 488	
3,800	3,900	137	137	137	137	8,800	8,900	314	314	314	314		13,900	492	492	492	492	
3,900	4,000	140	140	140	140	8,900	9,000	318	318	318	318		14,000	495	495	495	495	
4	,000					9	,000					1	4,000					
4,000	4,100	144	144	144	144	9,000	9,100	321	321	321	321		14,100	499	499	499	499	
4,100 4,200	4,200 4,300	147 151	147 151	147 151	147 151	9,100 9,200	9,200 9,300	325 328	325 328	325 328	325 328		14,200 14,300	502 506	502 506	502 506	502 506	
4,300	4,400	154	154	154	154	9,300	9,400	332	332	332	332		14,400	509	509	509	509	
4,400	4,500	158	158	158	158	9,400	9,500	335	335	335	335		14,500	513	513	513	513	
4,500	4,600	162	162	162	162	9,500	9,600	339	339	339	339		14,600	517	517	517	517	
4,600	4,700	165	165	165	165	9,600	9,700	343	343	343	343		14,700	520	520	520	520	
4,700 4,800	4,800 4,900	169 172	169 172	169 172	169 172	9,700 9,800	9,800 9,900	346 350	346 350	346 350	346 350		14,800 14,900	524 527	524 527	524 527	524 527	
4,900	5,000	176	176	176	176	9,900	10,000	353	353	353	353		15,000	531	531	531	531	
,	,	•				, , , , ,	<i>y</i>	•	-	-	•	,	,					

 $^{^{\}star}$ This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status ** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

If Taxa		And	your fili	ng statu	ıs is	If Taxab Income		And	your fili	ng statu	s is	If Taxa Income		And	your fili	ng statu	s is	
At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house-hold	
		Then	your V	T Tax is				Then	your V	ΓTax is.				Then your VT Tax is				
1	5,000					20	0,000					2	25,000					
15,000		534	534	534	534	20,000		712	712	712	712		25,100	889	889	889	889	
15,100 15,200	,	538 541	538 541	538 541	538 541	20,100 20,200	20,200	715 719	715 719	715 719	715 719		25,200 25,300	893 896	893 896	893 896	893 896	
15,300		545	545	545	545	- ,	20,400	722	722	722	722		25,400	900	900	900	900	
15,400	15,500	548	548	548	548	20,400	20,500	726	726	726	726	25,400	25,500	903	903	903	903	
15,500		552	552	552	552	20,500		730	730	730	730		25,600	907	907	907	907	
15,700	15,700 15,800	556 559	556 559	556 559	556 559	20,600 20,700	20,700	733 737	733 737	733 737	733 737	,	25,700 25,800	911	911 914	911 914	911 914	
15,800		563	563	563	563	20,800	20,900	740	740	740	740	25,800	25,900	918	918	918	918	
15,900		566	566	566	566		21,000	744	744	744	744		26,000	921	921	921	921	
	6,000	570	570	570	570		1,000	747	747	747	7.17		26,000	025	025	025	025	
16,000 16,100		570 573	570 573	570 573	570 573	21,000 21,100		747 751	747 751	747 751	747 751	,	26,100 26,200	925 928	925 928	925 928	925 928	
16,200	16,300	577	577	577	577	21,200	21,300	754	754	754	754	26,200	26,300	932	932	932	932	
16,300 16,400		580 584	580 584	580 584	580 584	21,300 21,400		758 761	758 761	758 761	758 761		26,400 26,500	935	935 939	935 939	935 939	
16,500		588	588	588	588	21,500	,	765	765	765	765	l 1	26,600	943	943	943	943	
16,600		591	591	591	591	21,600	21,700	769	769	769	769		26,700	946	946	946	946	
16,700 16,800		595 598	595 598	595 598	595 598	21,700 21,800		772 776	772 776	772 776	772 776		26,800 26,900	950 953	950 953	950 953	950 953	
16,900		602	602	602	602	21,900		779	779	779	779		27,000	957	957	957	957	
1	7,000		2	2,000					2	27,000								
17,000	17,100	605	605	605	605	22,000		783	783	783	783		27,100	960	960	960	960	
17,100 17,200	,	609 612	609 612	609	609 612	22,100 22,200		786 790	786 790	786 790	786 790		27,200 27,300	964	964 967	964 967	964 967	
17,200		616	616	616	616	22,200		793	793	793	793	,	27,300	971	971	971	971	
17,400	17,500	619	619	619	619	22,400	22,500	797	797	797	797	27,400	27,500	974	974	974	974	
17,500	,	623	623	623	623	22,500		801	801	801	801		27,600	978	978	978	978	
17,600 17,700	,	627 630	627 630	627 630	627 630	22,600 22,700		804 808	804 808	804 808	804 808		27,700 27,800	982 985	982 985	982 985	982 985	
17,800	17,900	634	634	634	634	22,800	22,900	811	811	811	811	27,800	27,900	989	989	989	989	
17,900		637	637	637	637	22,900		815	815	815	815		28,000	992	992	992	992	
$\frac{1}{18,000}$	8,000	6/11	6/11	6/11	6/1	$\frac{2}{23,000}$	3,000	010	010	010	010		28,000 28,100	996	996	996	996	
18,100		641	641 644	641 644	641 644	23,100	23,200	818 822	818 822	818 822	818 822		28,200	999	999	999	999	
18,200		648	648	648	648	23,200		825	825	825	825		28,300	1003	1003	1003	1003	
18,300 18,400		651 655	651 655	651 655	651 655	23,300 23,400		829 832	829 832	829 832	829 832		28,400 28,500	1006	1006 1010	1006 1010	1006 1010	
18,500		659	659	659	659	23,500		836	836	836	836		28,600	1014	1014	1014	1014	
18,600	18,700	662	662	662	662	23,600	23,700	840	840	840	840	28,600	28,700	1017	1017	1017	1017	
18,700 18,800		666 669	666 669	666 669	666 669	23,700 23,800		843 847	843 847	843 847	843 847		28,800 28,900	1021 1024	1021 1024	1021 1024	1021 1024	
18,900		673	673	673	673	23,900		850	850	850	850		29,000	1024	1024	1024	1024	
1	9,000					2	4,000					2	29,000					
19,000		676	676	676	676	24,000		854	854	854	854		29,100	1031	1031	1031	1031	
19,100 19,200		680 683	680 683	680 683	680 683	24,100 24,200		857 861	857 861	857 861	857 861		29,200 29,300	1035 1038	1035 1038	1035 1038	1035 1038	
19,300	19,400	687	687	687	687	24,300	24,400	864	864	864	864	29,300	29,400	1042	1042	1042	1042	
19,400		690	690	690	690	24,400		868	868	868	868		29,500	1045	1045	1045	1045	
19,500 19,600		694 698	694 698	694 698	694 698	24,500 24,600		872 875	872 875	872 875	872 875		29,600 29,700	1049 1053	1049 1053	1049 1053	1049 1053	
19,000		701	701	701	701		24,700	879	879	879	879		29,700	1055	1055	1055	1055	
19,800	19,900	705	705	705	705	24,800	24,900	882	882	882	882	29,800	29,900	1060	1060	1060	1060	
19,900	20,000	708	708	708	708	24,900	25,000	886	886	886	886	29,900	30,000	1063	1063	1063	1063	

^{*} This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status ** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

If Taxa Incom		And	your fili	ng statu	ıs is	If Taxal Income		And	your filiı	ng statu	s is	If Taxal		And your filing status is			
At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa-rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa-rately**	Head of house- hold
		Ther	your V	•				Then	your V	•				Then	your V		
3	0,000	l				3	5,000	l				4	0,000				
30,000	30,100	1067	1067	1067	1067	35,000	35,100	1244	1244	1400	1244	- ,	40,100	1,545	1422	1740	1422
	30,200 30,300	1070 1074	1070 1074	1070 1074	1070 1074		35,200 35,300	1248 1251	1248 1251	1407 1413	1248 1251		40,200 40,300	1,552 1,559	1425 1429	1747 1753	1425 1429
	30,400	1077	1077	1080	1077		35,400	1255	1255	1420	1255		40,400	1,566	1432	1760	1432
30,400	30,500	1081	1081	1087	1081	35,400	35,500	1258	1258	1427	1258	40,400	40,500	1,573	1436	1767	1436
,	30,600	1085	1085	1094	1085		35,600	1262	1262	1434	1262		40,600	1,579	1440	1774	1440
	30,700 30,800	1088 1092	1088 1092	1101 1107	1088 1092		35,700 35,800	1266 1269	1266 1269	1441 1447	1266 1269		40,700 40,800	1,586 1,593	1443 1447	1781 1787	1443 1447
30,800	30,900	1095	1095	1114	1095	35,800	35,900	1273	1273	1454	1273	40,800	40,900	1,600	1450	1794	1450
	31,000	1099	1099	1121	1099		36,000	1276	1276	1461	1276		41,000	1,607	1454	1801	1454
	1,000	1102	1102	1120	1102		6,000	1200	1200	1460	1200		1,000	1 (12	1 457	1000	1457
	31,100 31,200	1102 1106	1102 1106	1128 1135	1102 1106		36,100 36,200	1280 1283	1280 1283	1468 1475	1280 1283		41,100 41,200	1,613 1,620	1457 1461	1808 1815	1457 1461
31,200	31,300	1109	1109	1141	1109	36,200	36,300	1,287	1287	1481	1287	41,200	41,300	1,627	1464	1821	1464
	31,400 31,500	1113 1116	1113 1116	1148 1155	1113 1116		36,400 36,500	1,294 1,301	1290 1294	1488 1495	1290 1294		41,400 41,500	1,634 1,641	1468 1471	1828 1835	1468 1471
	31,600	1120	1120	1162	1120		36,600	1,307	1298	1502	1298	_ ′	41,600	1,647	1475	1842	1475
	31,700	1124	1124	1169	1124	,	36,700	1,314	1301	1509	1301		41,700	1,654	1479	1849	1479
,	31,800	1127 1131	1127 1131	1175 1182	1127		36,800 36,900	1,321	1305	1515 1522	1305		41,800 41,900	1,661	1482 1486	1855 1862	1482
	31,900 32,000	1134	1134	1189	1131 1134		37,000	1,328 1,335	1308 1312	1522	1308 1312		42,000	1,668 1,675	1489	1869	1486 1489
	2,000						7,000		-				2,000	. ,			
	32,100	1138	1138	1196	1138			1,341	1315	1536	1315		42,100	1,681	1493	1876	1493
	32,200 32,300	1141 1145	1141 1145	1203 1209	1141 1145	,	37,200 37,300	1,348 1,355	1319 1322	1543 1549	1319 1322		42,200 42,300	1,688 1,695	1496 1500	1883 1889	1496 1500
	32,400	1148	1143	1216	1143		37,300 37,400	1,362	1326	1556	1326		42,400	1,702	1503	1896	1503
-	32,500	1152	1152	1223	1152		37,500	1,369	1329	1563	1329		42,500	1,709	1507	1903	1507
,	32,600	1156	1156	1230	1156	-)	37,600	1,375	1333	1570	1333		42,600	1,715	1511	1910	1511
	32,700 32,800	1159 1163	1159 1163	1237 1243	1159 1163		37,700 37,800	1,382 1,389	1337 1340	1577 1583	1337 1340		42,700 42,800	1,722 1,729	1514 1518	1917 1923	1514 1518
32,800	32,900	1166	1166	1250	1166	37,800	37,900	1,396	1344	1590	1344	42,800	42,900	1,736	1521	1930	1521
	33,000	1170	1170	1257	1170		38,000	1,403	1347	1597	1347		43,000	1,743	1525	1937	1525
	3,000	1173	1173	1264	1173		8,000 38,100	1,409	1351	1604	1351		3,000 43,100	1,749	1528	1944	1528
	33,100 33,200	1177	1177	1204	1173			1,416	1351	1604 1611	1351		43,100	1,756	1528	1944	1528
33,200	33,300	1180	1180	1277	1180	38,200	38,300	1,423	1358	1617	1358	43,200	43,300	1,763	1535	1957	1535
	33,400 33,500	1184 1187	1184 1187	1284 1291	1184 1187		38,400 38,500	1,430 1,437	1361 1365	1624 1631	1361 1365		43,400 43,500	1,770 1,777	1539 1542	1964 1971	1539 1542
	33,600	1191	1191	1298	1191		38,600	1,443	1369	1638	1369		43,600	1,783	1546	1978	1546
33,600	33,700	1195	1195	1305	1195	38,600	38,700	1,450	1372	1645	1372	43,600	43,700	1,790	1550	1985	1550
	33,800 33,900	1198 1202	1198 1202	1311 1318	1198 1202		38,800 38,900	1,457 1,464	1376 1379	1651 1658	1376 1379		43,800 43,900	1,797 1,804	1553 1557	1991 1998	1553 1557
	34,000	1202	1202	1325	1202		39,000	1,471	1383	1665	1383		44,000	1,811	1560	2005	1560
3	4,000						9,000					4	4,000				
	34,100	1209	1209	1332	1209		39,100	1,477	1386	1672	1386		44,100	1,817	1564	2012	1564
	34,200 34,300	1212 1216	1212 1216	1339 1345	1212 1216	,		1,484 1,491	1390 1393	1679 1685	1390 1393	,	44,200 44,300	1,824 1,831	1567 1571	2019 2025	1567 1571
	34,400	1210	1219	1352	1219		39,400	1,491	1393	1692	1393		44,400	1,838	1574	2023	1574
	34,500	1223	1223	1359	1223		39,500	1,505	1400	1699	1400		44,500	1,845	1578	2039	1578
	34,600	1227	1227	1366	1227		39,600	1,511	1404	1706	1404		44,600	1,851	1582	2046	1582
	34,700 34,800	1230 1234	1230 1234	1373 1379	1230 1234		39,700 39,800	1,518 1,525	1408 1411	1713 1719	1408 1411		44,700 44,800	1,858 1,865	1585 1589	2053 2059	1585 1589
34,800	34,900	1237	1237	1386	1237	39,800	39,900	1,532	1415	1726	1415	44,800	44,900	1,872	1592	2066	1592
34,900	35,000	1241	1241	1393	1241	39,900	40,000	1,539	1418	1733	1418	44,900	45,000	1,879	1596	2073	1596

 $^{^\}star$ This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status ** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

If Taxable Income is	And	your fili	ng statı	ıs is	If Taxal		And	your fili	ng statu	s is	If Taxal Income		And your filing status is			
At Least But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold
	Ther	ı your V	•				Then	your V	ΓTax is.				Ther	your V	ΓTax is.	
45,000						0,000						5,000				
45,000 45,100	1,885	1599	2080	1599	50,000	50,100	2,225	1777	2420	1824	55,000	55,100	2,565	1954	2760	2164
45,100 45,200 45,200 45,300	1,892 1,899	1603 1606	2087 2093	1603 1606	,	50,200 50,300	2,232 2,239	1780 1784	2427 2433	1830 1837		55,200 55,300	2,572 2,579	1958 1961	2767 2773	2170 2177
45,300 45,400	1,906	1610	2100	1610	50,300	50,400	2,246	1787	2440	1844	55,300	55,400	2,586	1965	2780	2184
45,400 45,500	1,913	1613	2107	1613		50,500	2,253	1791	2447	1851	· 1	55,500	2,593	1968	2787	2191
45,500 45,600 45,600 45,700	1,919 1,926	1617 1621	2114 2121	1617 1621		50,600 50,700	2,259 2,266	1795 1798	2454 2461	1858 1864		55,600 55,700	2,599 2,606	1972 1976	2794 2801	2198 2204
45,700 45,800	1,933	1624	2127	1624	50,700	50,800	2,273	1802	2467	1871	55,700	55,800	2,613	1979	2807	2211
45,800 45,900 45,900 46,000	1,940 1,947	1628 1631	2134 2141	1628 1631	,	50,900 51,000	2,280 2,287	1805 1809	2474 2481	1878 1885		55,900 56,000	2,620 2,627	1983 1986	2814 2821	2218 2225
46,000	1,777	1031	2171	1031		1,000	2,207	1007	2-101	1003		6,000	2,027	1700	2021	2223
46,000 46,100	1,953	1635	2148	1635		51,100	2,293	1812	2488	1892		56,100	2,633	1990	2828	2232
46,100 46,200 46,200 46,300	1,960 1,967	1638 1642	2155 2161	1638 1642		51,200 51,300	2,300 2,307	1816 1819	2495 2501	1898 1905		56,200 56,300	2,640 2,647	1993 1997	2835 2841	2238 2245
46,300 46,400	1,974	1645	2168	1645	,	51,400	2,307	1823	2508	1912		56,400	2,654	2000	2848	2252
46,400 46,500	1,981	1649	2175	1649	- 1	51,500	2,321	1826	2515	1919		56,500	2,661	2004	2855	2259
46,500 46,600 46,600 46,700	1,987 1,994	1653 1656	2182 2189	1653 1656	,	51,600 51,700	2,327 2,334	1830 1834	2522 2529	1926 1932		56,600 56,700	2,667 2,674	2008 2011	2862 2869	2266 2272
46,700 46,800	2,001	1660	2195	1660		51,800	2,341	1837	2535	1939		56,800	2,681	2015	2875	2279
46,800 46,900 46,900 47,000	2,008 2,015	1663 1667	2202 2209	1663	,	51,900 52,000	2,348 2,355	1841 1844	2542 2549	1946 1953		56,900 57,000	2,688 2,695	2018 2022	2882 2889	2286 2293
47,000	2,013	1007	2209	1667		2,000 2,000	2,333	1044	2349	1933		7,000 7,000	2,093	2022	2009	2293
47,000 47,100	2,021	1670	2216	1670		52,100	2,361	1848	2556	1960		57,100	2,701	2025	2896	2300
47,100 47,200	2,028	1674	2223	1674	52,100	52,200	2,368	1851	2563	1966	57,100	57,200	2,708	2029	2903	2306
47,200 47,300 47,300 47,400	2,035 2,042	1677 1681	2229 2236	1677 1681	-	52,300 52,400	2,375 2,382	1855 1858	2569 2576	1973 1980		57,300 57,400	2,715 2,722	2032 2036	2909 2916	2313 2320
47,400 47,500	2,049	1684	2243	1684		52,500	2,389	1862	2583	1987		57,500	2,729	2039	2923	2327
47,500 47,600	2,055	1688	2250	1688	,	52,600	2,395	1866	2590	1994		57,600	2,735	2043	2930	2334
47,600 47,700 47,700 47,800	2,062 2,069	1692 1695	2257 2263	1692 1695		52,700 52,800	2,402 2,409	1869 1873	2597 2603	2000 2007		57,700 57,800	2,742 2,749	2047 2050	2937 2943	2340 2347
47,800 47,900	2,076	1699	2270	1699	52,800	52,900	2,416	1876	2610	2014	57,800	57,900	2,756	2054	2950	2354
47,900 48,000 48,000	2,083	1702	2277	1702		53,000 2,000	2,423	1880	2617	2021		58,000 8,000	2,763	2057	2957	2361
	2,089	1706	2284	1706		3,000 53,100	2,429	1883	2624	2028		58,100	2,769	2061	2964	2368
48,100 48,200	2,096	1709	2291	1709	53,100	53,200	2,436	1887	2631	2034	58,100	58,200	2,776	2064	2971	2374
48,200 48,300 48,300 48,400	2,103 2,110	1713 1716	2297 2304	1713 1716		53,300 53,400	2,443 2,450	1890 1894	2637 2644	2041 2048		58,300 58,400	2,783 2,790	2068 2071	2977 2984	2381 2388
	2,117	1720	2311	1720		53,500	2,457	1897	2651	2055		58,500	2,797	2075	2991	2395
48,500 48,600	2,123	1724	2318	1724		53,600	2,463	1901	2658	2062		58,600	2,803	2079	2998	2402
48,600 48,700 48,700 48,800	2,130 2,137	1727 1731	2325 2331	1728 1735		53,700 53,800	2,470 2,477	1905 1908	2665 2671	2068 2075		58,700 58,800	2,810 2,817	2082 2086	3005 3011	2408 2415
48,800 48,900	2,144	1734	2338	1742	53,800	53,900	2,484	1912	2678	2082	58,800	58,900	2,824	2089	3018	2422
	2,151	1738	2345	<u>1749</u>		54,000	2,491	1915	2685	2089		59,000	2,831	2093	3025	2429
49,000	b 157	1741	2252	1756		4,000 54 100	2 407	1010	2692	2006		50 100	2 027	2006	2022	2426
49,000 49,100 49,100 49,200	2,157 2,164	1741 1745	2352 2359	1756 1762		54,100 54,200	2,497 2,504	1919 1922	2692	2096 2102		59,100 59,200	2,837 2,844	2096 2100	3032 3039	2436 2442
49,200 49,300	2,171	1748	2365	1769		54,300	2,511	1926	2705	2109	59,200	59,300	2,851	2103	3045	2449
49,300 49,400 49,400 49,500	2,178 2,185	1752 1755	2372 2379	1776 1783		54,400 54,500	2,518 2,525	1929 1933	2712 2719	2116 2123		59,400 59,500	2,858 2,865	2107 2110	3052 3059	2456 2463
49,500 49,600	2,191	1759	2386	1790		54,600	2,531	1937	2726	2130	59,500	59,600	2,871	2114	3066	2470
	2,198	1763	2393	1796	54,600	54,700	2,538	1940	2733	2136	59,600	59,700	2,878	2118	3073	2476
49,700 49,800 49,800 49,900	2,205 2,212	1766 1770	2399 2406	1803 1810		54,800 54,900	2,545 2,552	1944 1947	2739 2746	2143 2150		59,800 59,900	2,885 2,892	2121 2125	3079 3086	2483 2490
	2,219	1773	2413	1817		55,000		1951	2753	2157			2,899	2128	3093	2497

^{*} This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status ** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

If Taxa Incom		And	your fili	ng statı	us is		If Taxable Income is And your filing status is						ble e is	And your filing status is			
At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold	At Least	But Less Than	Single	Married filing jointly*	Married filing sepa- rately**	Head of house- hold
		The	n your V	,	5			Then	your V	•				Ther	your V	-	
6	50,000					6	5,000				_	7	0,000				
		2,905	2132	3100	2504	,	65,100	3,245	2456	3440	2844		70,100	3,585	2796	3780	3184
	60,200 60,300	2,912 2,919	2135 2139	3107 3113	2510 2517	,	65,200 65,300	3,252 3,259	2463 2470	3447 3453	2850 2857	,	70,200 70,300	3,592 3,599	2803 2810	3787 3793	3190 3197
	60,400	2,926	2142	3120	2524	65,300	65,400	3,266	2476	3460	2864		70,400	3,606	2816	3800	3204
60,400	60,500	2,933	2146	3127	2531		65,500	3,273	2483	3467	2871		70,500	3,613	2823	3807	3211
	60,600 60,700	2,939	2150 2157	3134 3141	2538 2544		65,600	3,279 3,286	2490 2497	3474 3481	2878 2884		70,600 70,700	3,619 3,626	2830 2837	3814 3821	3218 3224
	60,800	2,946 2,953	2164	3147	2551	,	65,700 65,800	3,280	2504	3487	2891		70,700	3,633	2844	3827	3231
60,800	60,900	2,960	2170	3154	2558	65,800	65,900	3,300	2510	3494	2898	70,800	70,900	3,640	2850	3834	3238
	61,000	2,967	2177	3161	2565		66,000	3,307	2517	3501	2905		71,000	3,647	2857	3841	3245
	61,000	0.72	2104	21(0	2572		6,000	12 212	2524	2500	2012		71,000	2 (52	2074	2040	2252
	61,100 61,200	2,973 2,980	2184 2191	3168 3175	2572 2578	,	66,100 66,200	3,313 3,320	2524 2531	3508 3515	2912 2918		71,100 71,200	3,653 3,660	2864 2871	3848 3855	3252 3258
61,200	61,300	2,987	2198	3181	2585	66,200	66,300	3,327	2538	3521	2925	71,200	71,300	3,667	2878	3861	3265
	61,400	2,994 3,001	2204 2211	3188 3195	2592 2599		66,400 66,500	3,334 3,341	2544 2551	3528 3535	2932 2939	,	71,400	3,674	2884 2891	3868 3875	3272 3279
	61,500 61,600	3,007	2218	3202	2606		66,600	3,347	2558	3542	2939		71,500 71,600	3,681 3,687	2898	3882	3286
	61,700	3,014	2225	3202	2612	,	66,700	3,354	2565	3549	2952		71,700	3,694	2905	3889	3292
61,700	61,800	3,021	2232	3215	2619	,	66,800	3,361	2572	3555	2959		71,800	3,701	2912	3895	3299
	61,900 62,000	3,028 3,035	2238 2245	3222 3229	2626 2633		66,900 67,000	3,368 3,375	2578 2585	3562 3569	2966 2973		71,900 72,000	3,708 3,715	2918 2925	3902 3909	3306 3313
	52,000	3,033	2243	3229	2033		7,000 7,000	3,373	2303	3309	2913		2,000 /2,000	3,/13	2923	3707	3313
		3,041	2252	3236	2640			3,381	2592	3576	2980		72,100	3,721	2932	3916	3320
62,100	62,200	3,048	2259	3243	2646	67,100	67,200	3,388	2599	3583	2986	72,100	72,200	3,728	2939	3923	3326
	62,300 62,400	3,055 3,062	2266 2272	3249 3256	2653 2660		67,300 67,400	3,395 3,402	2606 2612	3589 3596	2993 3000		72,300 72,400	3,735 3,742	2946 2952	3929 3936	3333 3340
	62,500	3,069	2279	3263	2667		67,500	3,402	2619	3603	3007	-	72,500	3,742	2959	3943	3340
	62,600	3,075	2286	3270	2674		67,600	3,415	2626	3610	3014		72,600	3,755	2966	3950	3354
62,600	62,700	3,082	2293	3277	2680		67,700	3,422	2633	3617	3020	72,600	72,700	3,762	2973	3957	3360
	62,800 62,900	3,089 3,096	2300 2306	3283 3290	2687 2694		67,800 67,900	3,429 3,436	2640 2646	3623 3630	3027 3034	-	72,800 72,900	3,769 3,776	2980 2986	3963 3970	3367 3374
	63,000	3,103	2313	3297	2701		68,000	3,443	2653	3637	3041		73,000	3,783	2993	3977	3381
6	3,000					6	8,000					7	3,000				
		3,109	2320	3304	2708		68,100		2660		3048		73,100		3000	3984	3388
	63,200 63,300	3,116 3,123	2327 2334	3311 3317	2714 2721		68,200 68,300	3,456 3,463	2667 2674	3651 3657	3054 3061		73,200 73,300	3,796 3,803	3007 3014	3991 3998	3394 3401
		3,130	2340	3324	2728		68,400	3,470	2680	3664	3068		73,400	3,810	3020	4006	3408
63,400	63,500	3,137	2347	3331	2735	68,400	68,500	3,477	2687	3671	3075	73,400	73,500	3,817	3027	4014	3415
	63,600	3,143	2354	3338	2742		68,600	3,483	2694	3678	3082		73,600	3,823	3034	4021	3422
	63,700 63,800	3,150 3,157	2361 2368	3345 3351	2748 2755		68,700 68,800	3,490 3,497	2701 2708	3685 3691	3088 3095		73,700 73,800	3,830 3,837	3041 3048	4029 4037	3428 3435
		3,164	2374	3358	2762			3,504	2714	3698	3102		73,900	3,844	3054	4045	3442
		3,171	2381	3365	2769		69,000	3,511	2721	3705	3109		74,000	3,851	3061	4053	3449
	4,000	lo 4.55	2200	2252	2556		9,000	10.515	2520	2512	2116		4,000	10055	20.60	10.60	2156
		3,177 3,184	2388 2395	3372 3379	2776 2782		69,100 69,200	3,517 3,524	2728 2735	3712 3719	3116 3122			3,857 3,864	3068 3075	4060 4068	3456 3462
		3,191	2402	3385	2789		69,300	3,531	2742	3725	3129		74,300	3,871	3082	4076	3469
		3,198	2408	3392	2796		69,400	3,538	2748	3732	3136		74,400	3,878	3088	4084	3476
		3,205	2415	3399	2803		1	3,545	2755	3739	3143		74,500	3,885	3095	4092	3483
	64,600 64,700	3,211 3,218	2422 2429	3406 3413	2810 2816		69,600 69,700	3,551 3,558	2762 2769	3746 3753	3150 3156		74,600 74,700	3,891 3,898	3102 3109	4099 4107	3490 3496
64,700	64,800	3,225	2436	3419	2823	69,700	69,800	3,565	2776	3759	3163	74,700	74,800	3,905	3116	4115	3503
,		3,232	2442 2449	3426 3433	2830 2837			3,572	2782 2789	3766 3773	3170 3177			3,912	3122 3129	4123 4131	3510 3517
v 1 ,700	03,000	3,239	Z447	3433	2037	02,200	70,000	3,579	2109	3113	J1//	74,900	75,000	3,319	3129	4131	331/

If your taxable income is \$75,000 or more, please go to the tax rate schedules.

^{*} This column also applies to qualifying widow(er) and civil union filing jointly status ** This column also applies to civil union filing separately status

Index

Add Back Federal State & Local Income Taxes Deduction					
Adjusted Gross Income6					
Adjustments to VT Income Tax					
Alimony					
Amending or Correcting VT Income Return6					
Americans with Disabilities Credit 13					
Bond Income Exempt from VT Income Tax					
Bonus Depreciation (Federal)6, 7, 13					
Capital Gain					
Child & Dependent Care Credit 9					
Child Support					
Children's Trust Fund Contribution 2					
Civil Union					
Deceased Taxpayer 6					
Deceased Renter or Homeowner 26, 44					
Direct Deposit					
Domestic Production Activities					
Domicile					
Due Dates					
Income Tax					
Homestead Declaration					
Property Tax Adjustment					
Renter Rebate					
E-filing					
Early Withdrawal of Savings or					
Retirement Penalty10					
Earned Income Tax Credit8, 10, 11					
Estimated Income Tax Payments 8, 9					
Estimated Payment by Entity for Nonresident					
Estimated or Extension Payment(s) 8					
Exemptions					
Extension of Time to File Income Return 3, 4					
Farm Income Averaging for VT					
Federal Employment Opportunity Credit 13					
Federal Tax, Changes to 6					
Federal Taxable Income 6					
Filing Check List					
Filing Requirement, Income Tax 4					

Filing Status6
Filing Timely4
Filing Income Return After Due Date5
Financial Difficulties (Payment Plan) 5
Gifts as Household Income42
Health Savings Account
Homesharing Agreement
Homestead Declaration39
Homestead Declaration Withdrawal39
Household Income
Household Income, Amending 40
Household Income, Exclusions from 42
Household Members
Income Tax Due (interest & penalty) 4
Income Tax Paid to Other State or
Canadian Province
Income Tax Refund5
Income Refund, credit to property tax9
Income Refund, credit to 2014
estimated tax
Incomplete Returns
Injured Spouse Claim/Offset 5, 26, 40
Interest
Investment Tax Credit
IRA, Keogh, SEP, SIMPLE
Late Filing Charges (Interest & Penalty for
Income Tax)
Late Payment Penalty
Lifeline Information
Military Pay
Nongame Wildlife Fund Contribution
Nonprofit Mobile Home Park
Nonresident, Income of
Offset
Paper Filing
Part-Year Resident, Income of
Payment Options
Pharmacy Program Information
Property Tax Adjustment Eligibility 4
Property Tax Adjustment - Special Situations
Property Tax Adjustment - Buying/Selling/New Construction45

Property Tax Adjustment - Ownership
Situations
Railroad Retirement
Recomputed Federal Income Tax Return 6
Renter Rebate
School District Codes
Solar Energy Investment Tax Credit 11
State & Local Obligations6, 10
Tax Credits
Taxpayer Advocate
Taxpayer Assistance
Tuition & Fees Deduction
U.S. Government Interest Income7
Unprocessable Forms
Use Tax
VT Income Tax Withheld8
VT Real Estate Withholding8
VT Higher Education Investment
Tax Credit
VT Income Tax - additions to &
subtractions from 6, 7
VT Tax Tables & Rate Schedules starting at 46
VT Taxable Income
VT Veterans' Fund Contribution 2

FORMS AND SCHEDULES

FΟ	orm/schedule	<u>Page</u>	instructions
	IN-111	15	. starting at 6
	IN-112	19	starting at 10
	IN-113	21	starting at 12
	IN-116 Attache	ed to envel	ope
	IN-154	23	starting at 38
	PR-141	25	26
	HS-122	27	39
	HI-144	31	starting at 41