
Malt and Vinous Beverage Tax (7 V.S.A. § 421)
Tax is imposed (1) on sales from bottlers and wholesalers 
to retailers and (2) retail sales by manufacturers and 
rectifiers. The tax rate is 26.5 cents per gallon of malt 
beverage containing 6% or less alcohol by volume and 
55 cents per gallon for all other malt beverages and 
for vinous beverages. See our website for information 
related to the necessary forms and for due dates: 
tax.vermont.gov/taxes/misc.

The malt and vinous beverage tax is imposed on 
the distributor, or on a manufacturer if it distributes 
its own product. When a manufacturer of alcoholic 
beverages sells to a distributor, the tax is imposed on 
the distributor. However, the malt and vinous beverage 
tax is due from the manufacturer for all other sales. 
Please remember to include all beverages not sold to a 
distributor on your malt beverage tax return or your 
vinous beverage tax return. 

Keep in mind that malt and vinous beverage tax 
becomes due when you sell a beverage. If you 
transfer beverages from your manufacturing 
facility to a retail store or restaurant under common 

ownership, tax is not due for that transfer. Instead, tax 
becomes due when your retail business conducts the sale 
because that transaction is considered a retail sale by a 
manufacturer.  

Note: The tax on spirits and fortified wines is  
not administered by the Department of Taxes. Please 
contact the Vermont Department of Liquor Control for 
information related to that tax. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXES

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.
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Brewers, Winemakers, and Distillers: Vermont Taxes  
and the Manufacture and Sale of Alcoholic Beverages

There are a number of Vermont tax types that affect manufacturers of alcoholic beverages. This fact sheet provides 
information on some of the common issues related to three of those tax types: malt and vinous beverage tax, meals 
and rooms tax, and sales and use tax.  
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Summary of Tax Types Related to Alcoholic Beverages

Sales and Use Tax (32 V.S.A. chapter 233) 
The sales and use tax is imposed on alcoholic beverages 
sold at retail that are not for immediate consumption. 
The sales and use tax is also imposed on many of the 
items purchased and used by businesses, although some 

items are exempt from tax. The tax rate is 6%. The  
use tax applies when a taxable item is used or  
consumed by the retailer. See our website at  
tax.vermont.gov for information related to the  
necessary forms and for due dates. 

Additional Reporting
Under Vermont law, businesses that sell malt and 
vinous beverages to retail dealers are required to 
submit a report of the description, quantity, and 
price of those beverages. The report is due at the 
same time as the malt and vinous beverage tax 
return. Bottlers and wholesalers are required to 
submit electronically, but manufacturers are allowed 
to submit electronically or non-electronically. For 
more information, see the fact sheet “Reporting Malt 
and Vinous Beverages Sold Direct to Retailers“  
(Pub. FS-1041). If you have questions, please contact 
us at (802) 828-2514.

Meals and Rooms Tax (32 V.S.A. chapter 225) 
The meals and rooms tax is imposed on the sale of all 
alcoholic beverages (malt beverages, vinous beverages, 
spirits, and fortified wines) sold for immediate 
consumption. The tax rate is 10%. Please see below for 
changes made in the 2016 legislative session that impact 

how the meals and rooms tax should be applied to 
alcoholic beverages. Alcoholic beverages subject to meals 
and rooms tax are exempt from sales and use tax. See 
our website at tax.vermont.gov for information related to 
the necessary forms and for due dates.

https://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/miscellaneous-taxes


All alcoholic beverages provided for immediate 
consumption are now subject to meals and rooms 
tax. This means that no tax is due for free samples 
of alcoholic beverages provided for immediate 
consumption because the meals and rooms tax is  
applied to a charge of $0.00. 

The sales and use tax does not apply to alcoholic 
beverages sold for immediate consumption. 
Hypothetically, if the sales and use tax were applied, 
a free sample would be considered a taxable “use” of 
inventory.

If you provide samples, your business will need to 
contact the Department to set up a meals and rooms 

tax account if it does not have one already. Although 
no meals and rooms tax is due when a manufacturer 
provides free samples, keep in mind that the law is 
applied differently for the malt and vinous beverage tax. 
The malt and vinous beverage tax applies to retail sales 
by manufacturers and is calculated based on gallons. 
You should include the number of gallons given as free 
samples on your malt and vinous beverage tax returns 
because free samples are retail sales where the charge 
was $0.00.       

Note: It is not always legal to provide free samples of 
alcoholic beverages. Please consult with the Department 
of Liquor Control before taking action.   
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The Department of Taxes suggests that you itemize 
on a receipt all items sold together and apply the 
appropriate type of tax individually to each item. If you 
sell items bundled together, however, please follow the 
instructions below. 

You should apply the highest applicable tax rate to the 
entire transaction when bundling non-itemized products 
together. For example, if you sell a pint of beer and an 
unopened growler of beer together and do not itemize, 
you should apply the 10% meals and rooms tax rate to 
the entire transaction. If you itemized that transaction, 
the unopened growler would be subject to sales and 
use tax because it is not for immediate consumption. 
However, because the transaction in this example is 
not itemized, the entire transaction is subject to meals 

and rooms tax because the growler was part of a non-
itemized bundle transaction with a pint of beer that is 
subject to meals and rooms tax. 

Caution: Structuring Non-Itemized Transactions
The Department of Taxes requests that you be cautious 
when structuring transactions in a nontraditional 
way. For instance, if a business sells tangible personal 
property subject to sales and use tax, such as a mug, at 
an increased price but offers “free samples” with the 
purchase of the mug, the business is actually charging 
for the free samples but shifting that charge into 
the price of the mug. The Department will consider 
transactions like this one as subject to the meals and 
rooms tax because an indirect charge is being made for 
alcoholic beverages for immediate consumption.

The Law Changed in 2016—Meals and Rooms Tax  
Applies to Free Samples of Alcoholic Beverages

Bundled Transactions—Combining Alcoholic Beverages  
with Other Items in a Retail Transaction

Charges for admission to places of amusement are 
subject to sales and use tax. Tours of manufacturing 
facilities are expressly identified by the Sales and 
Use Tax Regulations as taxable. Sometimes taxpayers 
overlook the collection of sales tax for a tour because 
they believe its educational nature makes it tax 
exempt. Please be aware that tours by for-profit 

entities are almost always taxable, even when they 
are at traditionally educational facilities, such as zoos, 
museums, and observatories. Also be aware that if 
alcoholic beverages are bundled with the admission 
price for a tour, and the charges are not itemized, you 
are required to apply the 10% meals and rooms tax rate 
to the entire charge. 

Tours Are Subject to Sales and Use Tax
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Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Manufacturing 
Breweries, wineries, and distilleries are manufacturers because they conduct food processing. Some tangible 
personal property purchased by manufacturers of alcoholic beverages is exempt from sales and use tax. Apply the 
following tests to determine whether a particular item may qualify. See the explanations after the test to learn how 
to apply the tests. 

Manufacturing Supplies Test
To qualify, an item must be (1) tangible personal property, (2) used in the manufacturing process, (3) have a useful 
life of less than one year, and (4a) become an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property for sale, or 
(4b) be consumed or destroyed or lose its identity in the manufacture of tangible personal property for sale.  

Failing to meet one part of the test means that the item is subject to tax.  

The manufacturing exemption only applies to supplies, 
machinery, equipment, and monitoring devices used 
in the manufacturing process. The manufacturing 
process is defined as beginning with the first 
production process and ending with the initial 
packaging of the product. Anything used outside of 
that process is subject to tax. Any storing, collecting, 
weighing, testing, or cleaning that occurs before the 
first production cycle is not part of the manufacturing 
process. Likewise, any cleaning, secondary packaging, 
loading, delivery, or transportation of finished goods 
that follows initial packaging is not part of the 

manufacturing process. Initial packaging is the stage in 
the process where the product is in the form in which 
retail consumption occurs. For alcoholic beverages, 
initial packaging concludes when the beverage 
is sealed in a bottle, can, keg, barrel, or similar 
container used for retail consumption. 

Quality Control Testing
Quality control testing is generally considered part 
of the manufacturing process even if it appears to 
take place outside of what is normally considered the 
manufacturing process. 

Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment Test
To qualify, the item must be: (1) machinery or equipment, (2) used or consumed directly in manufacture, (3) used or 
consumed exclusively in manufacture, (4) used to manufacture tangible personal property, machinery, equipment, 
parts, or supplies for use in the manufacturing process, and (5) used during the manufacturing process.

Manufacturing Monitoring Device Test
To qualify, an item must be: (1) used during the manufacturing process and (2a) used to monitor manufacturing 
machinery and equipment, or (2b) used to monitor the product. 

Information helpful to applying each of the three tests follows The Manufacturing Process section below.

A supply must either (1) be an ingredient or component 
part or (2) be consumed or destroyed in manufacturing. 
It must also have a useful life of less than one year. For 
alcoholic beverages, supplies are usually limited to the 
ingredients that go into the beverage. 

Generally, cleaning supplies and maintenance supplies 
are not ingredients, component parts, consumed, or 
destroyed in manufacturing. One exception is when 
bottles or cans are cleaned immediately prior to 
initial packaging. In that instance, cleaning is part of 
manufacturing because it preserves the quality of the 
product and it is done during the manufacturing 
process. In that limited case, cleaning supplies are 

considered “consumed in manufacturing.” Most 
other instances of cleaning occur outside of the 
“manufacturing process,” as defined by the sales and 
use tax regulations.

Bottles and cans are not manufacturing supplies 
but they are exempt as packaging materials. Sales 
of packing, packaging, or shipping materials to 
manufacturers or distributors who use the materials 
for the packing, packaging, or shipping of tangible 
personal property for sale are exempt. Boxes and 
similar packaging are also exempt from tax under the 
packaging exemption.  

The Manufacturing Process

Supplies: Refer to this information when applying the Manufacturing Supplies Test
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“Machinery and Equipment” is defined by the 
regulations as “tangible personal property, capital in 
nature, with a useful life of one year or more, and does 
not include real property or supplies.” To be considered 
machinery or equipment, and therefore eligible for 
an exemption, an item must: (1) be tangible personal 
property (not real property and not intangible), (2) 
be capital in nature (it must be used or consumed to 
produce other goods) and (3) have a useful life of one 
year or more (although it may be a supply if it has a 
useful life of less than one year). An item is not required 
to be depreciated to be considered “machinery and 
equipment” for purposes of the exemption.    

The exemption for manufacturing machinery and 
equipment is a “use based” exemption. This means 
that the way a particular item is used may determine 
whether it is taxable. It can be difficult to determine 
how the law applies to a particular use and the 
Department of Taxes understands that. We encourage 
any business to contact the Department if it is unsure 
about the taxability of a purchase. You may also request 
a formal ruling if you would like a definitive answer. 
A formal ruling is binding on the taxpayer and the 
Department.

Machinery and equipment may be exempt if it is used 
to manufacture tangible personal property, machinery, 
equipment, parts, or supplies used in manufacturing. 
It may also be exempt if it is for monitoring (see below). 
Machinery and equipment that is used for any other 
purpose is not exempt under the manufacturing 
exemption.

Direct and Exclusive Use—Machinery and Equipment
To be exempt, machinery and equipment must be used 
directly and exclusively in manufacturing. 

Direct Use: The Department of Taxes has to consider on a 
case-by-case basis whether machinery and equipment 
is used directly in manufacturing. The factors we will 
consider include: 

•	The active causal relationship between the use of 
the machinery and equipment and the production 
of a product;

•	Whether the machinery and equipment is part 
of an integrated and synchronized system that 
qualifies as exempt; and

•	Whether the machinery and equipment guarantees 
the integrity or quality of the manufactured 
product. 

The Department may also consider other factors, 
including all the facts and circumstances related to the 
machinery or equipment in question. Please keep in 
mind that all the factors are considered, so one single 
factor is not by itself determinative as to whether the 
exemption applies. Also be aware that some machinery 
that is required by law or is required to produce 
the product may not meet all the requirements and 
therefore may be taxable.

The production of alcoholic beverages often involves 
waste by-products. Machinery and equipment used 
to remove waste by-products are not directly used in 
manufacturing. Please be sure to pay sales and use tax 
when purchasing machinery and equipment used for 
waste removal. 

Exclusive Use: Machinery and equipment must be 
used exclusively for manufacturing during the 
manufacturing process. The Sales and Use Tax 
Regulations define “exclusively” to be 96% of the time 
the machinery and equipment is operated. 

Machinery and Equipment: Refer to this information when applying the Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment Test

Monitoring Devices: Refer to this information when applying the Manufacturing Monitoring Device Test
Monitoring devices are exempt if they monitor machinery or equipment or monitor the product. The monitoring 
must occur during the manufacturing process.

Tangible Personal Property Not Used for Manufacturing
Tangible personal property used for office administration, retail sales, tasting rooms, or a restaurant associated 
with your business is subject to tax under the manufacturing exemption. Please make sure you do not claim the 
exemption for property used for those purposes. 
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Resources

Exemption Certificates

See the Sales and Use Tax Regulations at tax.vermont.gov/regulations for more detailed information relating to 
exemptions. Regulation § 1.9741(14) specifically describes the manufacturing exemption. The regulations include 
many examples to help understand how the law should be applied. 

Also see our website at tax.vermont.gov for general information for businesses and for information relating to 
exemption certificates.

Use a Vermont S-3M exemption certificate when claiming a manufacturing or packaging exemption during a 
purchase.

https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://tax.vermont.gov/tax-law-and-guidance/regulations
https://tax.vermont.gov/content/regulation-19741
www.tax.vermont.gov
http://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/nonprofit-and-exempt-organizations/exemption-certificates

