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Child Care Contribution
Obligation

« How to Report and Pay the
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What is the Vermont
Child Care Contribution

« Act 76 of 2023

« Wages subject to Vermont
withholding are also subject
to CCC

« Collection begins July 1,
2024

 Vermont uses the federal
wages definition in 26 U.S.C.
§3401
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https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT076/ACT076%20As%20Enacted.pdf

26 U.S.C. § 3401

» § 3401. Definitions

» (@) Wages: For purposes of this chapter, the term “wages”™ means
all remuneration (other than fees paid to a public official) for
services performed by an employee for their employer, including
the cash value of all remuneration (including benefits) paid in any
medium other than cash:;...
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What is the Child Care Contribution

» Employers pay a 0.44% (0.0044) payroll tax on employee
wages paid in Vermont

» Employers may withhold up to a quarter or 0.11%
(0.0011) of the CCC from an employee’s wages.




Which Wages Count Towards CCC?

EXCLUDES:

Wages paid for work
physically performed
outside Vermont

INCLUDES:

Only wages paid for work
physically performed in
Vermont (job site or
employee’s home)

EXCLUDES:

Non-Vermont employers who
withhold and pay Vermont
income tax for employees as
a courtesy are not required
to pay CCC on these wages




How to Calculate Employer Child Care Contributions

Example: Employers pay 0.44% from wages paid

Employee ID Quarterly Gross Wages Quarterly CCC Due
(20,000.00 x 0.0044)

[Employee 1] $20,000.00 $88.00

To calculate the total CCC liability, multiply the total wages by 0.44% (or 0.0044).



Optional Employee Contribution

» Employers may deduct and
withhold up to 0.11% of
CCC from employees’
wages.

|

| » The amount of employees'
. wages does not have to be
the same for every
employee
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How to Calculate Optional Employee Contributions
Example: Employers pay 0.44% from wages paid, employees pay 0.11%

Employee ID Quarterly Gross | Quarterly CCC CCC Withheld CCC Employer
Due (0.0044) from Portion

Employees
(0.0011)

[Employee 1] $20,000.00 $88.00 $22.00 $66.00

« To calculate the total CCC liability, multiply total employee wages by 0.44% (or
0.0044).

« To calculate the employee portion of the CCC, multiply employee wages by up to
0.11% (or 0.0011).

« To calculate the remaining employer portion of the CCC, take the Quarterly CCC
Due minus the CCC Withheld from Employees



How to Calculate Optional Employee Contributions

Example: Employers pay 0.44% from wages paid. One employee pays 0.11% and another
employee pays 0.05%. Showing the total employer responsibility to be $144 out of the $176 due.

Employee ID | Quarterly Quarterly CCC CCC CCC
Gross Wages | CCC Due Withheld Withheld Employer
(0.0044) from from Portion

Employees Employees
(0.0011) (0.0005)

[Employee 1] $20,000.00 $88.00 $22.00 $0.00 $66.00

[Employee 2] $20,000.00 $88.00 $0.00 $10.00 $78.00



How to Pay the Child Care Contribution

» You may pay for CCC in the > Upcoming filing dates:
same manner and

frequency you pay the = October 25, 2024 (for tax
withholding tax. period July — September)
Separate payments are not
requ.lred. = January 27, 2025 (for tax
» Semi-weekly period October — December)
» Monthly
» Quarterly
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How to Report the
Child Care Contribution

« CCC is reported quarterly
on Form WHT-436
(Quarterly Withholding
Reconciliation and Required
Contributions) part III.

« After July 1, 2024, the CCC
must be paid according to
the employer’s established
withholding schedule

« If CCC is withheld, report in
Box 14 of the employee’s
W-2
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How to Report the Child Care Contribution

VT Form WHT-436, Quarterly Withholding Reconciliation And Required Contributions

PART Il Part III is used to report your Child Care Contributions and your employees contributions for the quarter.
Beginning July 1, 2024, employers are required to pay a 0.44% payroll tax on all employee wages earned
in Vermont. Employers may choose to withhold a maximum of 25% of the required contribution from their
employees” wages. Employers should calculate and remit their Child Care Contribution payments in the
same manner and frequency as they remit their Vermont Withholding Tax. Please note: Employers who are
required to remit their withholding tax semi-weekly are also required to remit their Child Care Contribution
payments semi-weekly.

PART lll CHILD CARE CONTRIBUTIONS
6. Check here to certify that no Child Care Contribution is due based on the rules governing this reporting.
7. Total wages subject to Child Care Contribution
(seeinstructions) . . ............ouuiinnn.... 7.
8. Child Care Contributions due. (Multiply Line 7 by 0.44% (0.0044).................. 8.
9. Amount of Child Care Contributions contributed
byemployees. .. ........ ... .. ... ... 9.

7~ VERMONT



Questions

Thank you for joining us. @ Tax.business@vermont.gov

The presentation has
\
\\ (802) 828-2551

please call or email us. The

ended.

If you have questions,

webinar recording will be @ - tax.vermont.gov/child-care-contribution

available on our website e dcf.vermont.qgov/cdd/laws-rules/h.217

soon.
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https://tax.vermont.gov/child-care-contribution
https://dcf.vermont.gov/cdd/laws-rules/h.217
mailto:Tax.business@vermont.gov

	Slide Number 1
	The Vermont Child Care Contribution for Employers
	Agenda
	What is the Vermont Child Care Contribution
	26 U.S.C. §  3401
	What is the Child Care Contribution
	Which Wages Count Towards CCC?
	How to Calculate Employer Child Care Contributions
	Optional Employee Contribution
	How to Calculate Optional Employee Contributions
	How to Calculate Optional Employee Contributions
	How to Pay the Child Care Contribution
	How to Report the Child Care Contribution
	How to Report the Child Care Contribution
	Slide Number 15

