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What is the Vermont
Child Care Contribution

« Act 76 of 2023

« Self-employed income earned
by a Vermont resident -or-

« Self-employed income earned
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while physically working in
Vermont
 Vermont uses the IRS Section J ]
1402 self-employment income =
definition
. Collection begins July 1, 2024 ﬁ’% V=



https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT076/ACT076%20As%20Enacted.pdf

What is the Child Care Contribution

» CCC is paid on net income earned and taxed based on
federal Schedule SE line 6

» Self-employed individuals pay 0.11% (0.0011) on income
earned in Vermont

» There is no cap on self-employment income subject to
CCC




Who is Self-Employed?

Generally, you are self-employed if any of the following apply to
you.

 You carry on a trade or business as a sole proprietor or an
independent contractor.

 You are a member of a partnership that carries on a trade or
business.

 You are otherwise in business for yourself (including in a
part-time business or as a gig worker).

Read the IRS definition here: IRS Self-employed link



https://teams.microsoft.com/l/message/19:meeting_NjhhMDZjNjQtMTEyZi00ODljLWJjNWItZTY5YWFjMGFhOGYx@thread.v2/1717508370475?context=%7B%22contextType%22%3A%22chat%22%7D

Which Income Counts Towards CCC?

INCLUDES:

Self-employed income for
Vermont residents
regardless of where work
was performed.

INCLUDES:

For non-Vermont residents,
CCC only applies to income
earned while in Vermont.




26 U.S.C. § 1402

» § 1402. Definitions

Net Earnings from Self-Employment The CCC applies to “self-employment
income” as defined in federal law. Federal law defines self-employment
income to generally mean “net earnings from self-employment.”

The term “net earnings from self-employment” is defined in federal law in
26 U.S5.C. § 1402(a) to mean the gross income derived from an individual’s
trade or business, minus deductions related to the trade or business, and
plus an individual’s distributive share from a trade or business carried on by

a partnership.

This definition requires multiple adjustments to gross income, some of
which are limited in scope to a specific type of income, including income
from passive activities, unless the individual is in the trade or business of

that activity.
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26 U.S.C. § 1402

» § 1402. Definitions

» The CCC applies to "self-employment income” as defined
under federal law in 26 U.S5.C. § 1402(b). Federal law
defines self-employment income as “net earnings from
self-employment” as further defined in the same section
of statute. See the definition above of “net earnings from
self-employment” for more information.
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How to Report the Child Care Contribution

% % , CCCis reported annually as
| part of Vermont personal
income tax filing.

» Estimated payments for
CCC will be paid in the
same manner and
frequency as estimated
personal income tax
payments.
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How to Calculate Self-Employed Child Care Contribution

Example: Self-employed individuals pay 0.11% from income earned

Self-Employment Income CCC Rate on Self- Total CCC Due (25,000.00 x
Employment Income 0.0011)

$25,000.00 0.0011 $27.50

To calculate the total CCC liability, multiply the total income by 0.11% (or 0.0011).

Income x .0011 = $Total CCC Due

(example) 25000 x .0011 = $27.50



2024 Child Care Contribution

» Because the CCC begins July
1, 2024, the Department will
accept reporting for 50% of
income for the 2024 tax year

» Optionally, you may submit
documentation showing
actual income earned July-
December was less than 50%
of all 2024 income




Questions

Thank you for joining us. The

presentation has ended.

If you have questions, please
call or email us. The webinar
recording will be available on

our website soon.

@ Tax.individualincome@vermont.gov

\
\\ (802) 828-2865

tax.vermont.gov/child-care-contribution
dcf.vermont.gov/cdd/laws-rules/h.217
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https://tax.vermont.gov/child-care-contribution
https://dcf.vermont.gov/cdd/laws-rules/h.217
mailto:Tax.business@vermont.gov
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