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FORM EST-191 Instructions    

Estate Tax Return

General Information 
Please print in BLUE or BLACK ink only.

Who Must File	

	 The executor or other fiduciary is required to file a Vermont return when property with situs in Vermont is 
included in the decedent’s federal gross estate and one or more of the following apply:

1.	 A federal Form 706, United States Estate (and Generation-Skipping Transfer) Tax Return, is 
required to be filed under section 6018 of the Internal Revenue Code.

2.	 For deaths occurring on or after Jan. 1, 2011, but before Jan. 1, 2020:  The sum of the federal 
gross estate and federal adjusted taxable gifts (as defined in section 2001(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code) made within two years of the date of the decedent’s death exceeds $2,750,000.

3.	 For deaths occurring on or after Jan. 1, 2020, but before Jan. 1, 2021:  The sum of the federal 
gross estate and federal adjusted taxable gifts (as defined in section 2001(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code) made within two years of the date of the decedent’s death exceeds $4,250,000.

4.	 For deaths occurring on or after Jan. 1, 2021:  The sum of the federal gross estate and federal 
adjustable taxable gifts (as defined in section 2001(b) of the Internal Revenue Code) made within 
two years of the date of the decedent’s death exceeds $5,000,000.

Filing Due Date	

	 Form EST-191 is required to be filed within nine months of the death of the decedent.  To receive a six-
month extension, file Form EST-195, Application for Extension of Time to File Vermont Estate Tax 
Return.

Payment Due Date	

	 Any amount owed is due and payable by the executor or other fiduciary at the time the return is required 
to be filed.  An extension of time to file the return does not extend the time to pay.  The tax estimated to be 
due must be paid with the extension of time request.

Required Information to be Included with the Vermont Return	

	 If no return is due at the federal level
•	 Complete a pro forma federal Form 706
•	 Include all related exhibits and appraisals

	 If no tax is due at the federal level
•	 Complete a pro forma federal Form 706
•	 Include all related exhibits and appraisals

	 If federal tax is due and all assets are located in Vermont
•	 Include the federal Form 706, excluding exhibits and appraisals

	 If federal tax is due and some assets are located outside of Vermont
•	 Include the federal Form 706, excluding exhibits and appraisals
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Completing a Pro Forma Federal Form 706	

	 The Vermont Estate Tax is computed using certain values located on the federal estate tax form.  These 
values are defined in federal statute, which Vermont statute adopts (except when stated otherwise).  Follow 
the instructions for federal Form 706 as you complete Lines 1 through 4.

Definitions	

	 Exclusion amount (Line 5)

Jan. 1, 2016	 Jan. 1, 2020	 $2,750,000

Jan. 1, 2020	 Jan. 1, 2021	 $4,250,000

Jan. 1, 2021	 - - -	 $5,000,000

For deaths occurring
On or after But before Exclusion amount

	 Vermont gross estate (Line 8)
From the Federal Estate Tax Return (Form 706), add the gross value of each item of the decedent’s 
real and tangible personal property located in Vermont.  If the decedent is a resident of Vermont, 
include all intangible personal property.

	 Gifts of property with Vermont situs (Line 9)
From those federal taxable gifts included on Line 2b, add the gross value of each real or tangible 
item of personal property located in Vermont at the time the gift was executed.  If the decedent 
was a resident of Vermont at the time of the gift, include the gifts of intangible personal property.

	 Intangible personal property
Bank accounts, stocks, bonds, and mortgages are intangible assets and are taxable by the state in 
which the decedent was a resident at the time of death regardless of where the asset was located at 
the date of death.

Where to File	

	 Mail the return and any amount due, with check made payable to Vermont Department of Taxes, to:

		  Vermont Department of Taxes
		  133 State Street
		  Montpelier, VT  05633-1401

Contacting the Department - Estate Tax Division
Mailing address:	 Telephone:	 (802) 828-6820
	 Email Address:	 tax.estate@vermont.gov
Vermont Department of Taxes	 Website Address:	 tax.vermont.gov
133 State Street	 Fax:	 (802) 828-2720
Montpelier, VT  05633-1401	 Forms:	 (802) 828-2515
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