Vermont Use Tax for Individual Taxpayers

This fact sheet provides information on the Vermont Use Tax for individual
taxpayers, including how to calculate, file, and pay the right amount of tax.
It is important for you to have a good understanding of use tax because you
are responsible for paying any use tax you owe each year when you file your

Form IN-111, Vermont Income Tax Return.

See the Use Tax Worksheet

on page 2 to help you
calculate your use tax.

What is the Vermont Use Tax?

When a seller does not charge the buyer Vermont Sales
Tax on an item taxable in Vermont, the buyer must pay
Vermont Use Tax. Taxable items sold over the internet, by
mail-order, by phone, or bought out-of-state and used in
Vermont generally qualify.

Use tax helps ensure that Vermont’s “bricks and mortar”
retailers and those selling on other platforms such as the
internet are all operating on a level playing field. Use tax
has the same rate of 6%, rules, and exemptions as sales tax.

Vermont Sales and Use Tax is “destination-based.” This
means one of the following must happen for the purchased
item to be subject to sales and use tax:

® The buyer takes possession of the item in Vermont.

e The buyer has the item delivered or shipped to
Vermont.

e The buyer purchases the item outside of Vermont
and then brings it into Vermont to use.

Note: Use tax does not apply to local option tax.

Filing and Paying Use Tax

File and pay on paper during tax season

You can easily report and pay any use tax owed when
you file Form IN-111, Vermont Income Tax Return, by
completing Line 21 on the return. Otherwise, you must
check the box to “certify” that you owe no use tax.

File and pay electronically any time

You also have the option to e-file and pay use tax online
through myVTax on the Department’s website at
www.myVTax.vermont.gov any time of the year.

Calculating Use Tax
If you keep accurate records of your purchases, you may
simply calculate use tax by multiplying the 6% rate by

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only.
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings,
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.

Iss. 01/2015 e Rev. 01/2020 e Pub. FS-1035

the purchase prices. Note: Price includes any shipping/
delivery charge.

If you do not keep accurate records, you should do the
following:

e For all individual purchases of less than $1,000 each,
use the Use Tax Reporting Table to estimate use tax.

e For individual purchases that cost $1,000 or more each,
calculate the exact use tax using the 6% rate.

e If you make both types of purchases, determine
total use tax by adding the amount from the Use Tax
Reporting Table for the total of all purchases that cost
less than $1,000 to the exact amount you've calculated
for purchases of $1,000 or more.

USETAX REPORTING TABLE FOR TAXYEAR 2019

ADIUSTED GROSS |y, | ADUSTEDGROSS. | 11,
Up to $10,000 $5 $50,001-$60,000 $50
$10,001-$20,000 $10 $60,001-$70,000 $60
$20,001-$30,000 |  $20 $70,001-$80,000 $70
$30,001-$40,000 $30 $80,001-$90,000 $80
$40,001-$50,000 $40 $90,001-$100,000 $90

For those with adjusted gross incomes of $100,001 and more, use
taxis 0.1% (.001) of AGI or $500, whichever is less.

For each individual purchase of $1,000 or more, you must calculate
the exact tax by multiplying the amount of the purchase by 6% (.06).
If you are using the reporting table for other purchases of less than
$1,000 each, add the use tax from the table to the exact tax for your
individual purchases to determine total use tax owed.
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Examples to Calculate Use Tax
You may use the Use Tax Worksheet below to help you calculate the use tax you owe. Please review the examples that
follow for further guidance. If you have questions about these examples or situations not given below, please contact us.

Example 1—You keep good records: Because you keep good records of your purchases, you know exactly which taxable
items were not taxed when you bought them. Enter on Line 2a the total amount of all purchases (including shipping or
delivery charges) of items that cost under $1,000 that were not taxed. Multiply Line 2a by the 6% use tax, and enter the
result on Line 2b. Items that cost $1,000 or more each are calculated separately and the total entered on Lines 3a and 3b.

Example 2—You don’t keep records: Because you did not keep a record of your purchases, you have no idea how much
use tax you owe. You must estimate your use tax by finding your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) on the Estimated
Use Tax Table on the Use Tax Worksheet shown below. For example, if your AGI is $35,000, your use tax is $30, according
to the table. Enter $30 on Line 1a. Items that cost $1,000 or more each are calculated separately and the total entered on
Lines 3a and 3b.

Example 3—You paid tax in another state: Because you keep good records of your purchases, you know which items
were taxed at a lower rate in another state. Enter the amount of tax you paid to another state for the purchases from Lines
2a and 3a. Enter the result on Line 3d. Subtract Line 3d from Line 3¢, and enter the result on Line 3e. This is the use tax
you must file and pay on Form IN-111.

Contact Us
Questions? Call (802) 828-2865 or (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont). You may also visit tax.vermont.gov.

USE TAX WORKSHEET

Did you buy taxable items without paying Vermont Sales Tax? This includes orders over the internet. by mail. or by phone
on which you did not pay Vermont Sales Tax. This also includes out-of-state purchases on which you paid tax at a rate less
than 6%. including purchases of liquor to be consumed in Vermont.

[]Yes, but I did not keep accurate records. Go to Part 1.
[[]Yes, and I kept accurate records. Go to Part 2.
[]1Ne. Skip to Part 4.

All of the following questions relate only to the type of purchases described above, where Vermont Sales Tax was not charged.

Part 1 If you did not keep accurate records

1a. Enter the amount of use tax from the Estimated Use Tax Table below that corresponds to
your Adjusted Gross Income from FormIN-111. Line 1 . ... ... ... .. 1a.

1b. Did you make purchase(s) of $1.000 or more per item?
[[]Yes. Go to Part 3.
[]No. Enter Line 1a amount onto Form IN-111, Line 21 and skip the remainder of this worksheet.

Estimated Use Tax Table

Adjusted Gross Income Use Tax is: I Adjusted Gross Income Use Tax is: I Adjusted Gross Income Use Tax is:
Upto$10,000  ................ $5 $40,001 - $50,000 ............... $40 $80,001 - $90000............... $80
$10,001 - $20,000 ............... $10 $50,001 - $60,000............... $50 $90,001 - $100000 ............... $90
$20,001 - $30,000............... $20 $60,001 - $70,000............... $60 $100,001 and over. ... 0.1% (0.001) of AGI
$30,001 - 40,000 ............... $30 $70,001 - $80,000............... $70 or $500, whichever is less.
Part 2 If you did keep accurate records
2a. Enter the total amount of all purchases of items under $1,000each . ..................... 2a.
2b. Multiply Line 2a by 6% (0.06). Enter the amount here. .. . ......... ... ... ............. 2b.
Part 3 Total Use Tax due
3a. Enter the total amount of all purchases of items $1,000 or more eachitem ................ 3a.
3b. Multiply Line 3a by 6% (0.06). Enter the amount here.. . ............ ... ... .......... 3b.
3c. Add Line 3b to either Line 1a or Line 2b (the line with a value entered). .. ................ S8
3d. Enter the amount of sales tax paid to another state for the purchases on Lines 2a and 3a, if any. 3d.
3e. Line 3¢ minus Line 3d. Enter here and on Form IN-111. Line 21. ....................... 3e.

Part 4 Certification of No Use Tax Due

You do not owe use tax if: 1) you did not make any taxable purchases by internet, mail-order. over the phone. or out of state, or
2) you made purchases using any of these methods but paid at least 6% sales tax at the time of purchase on all of them.

If one of the situations above is true. check the box next to Line 21 and enter -0- on that line. The failure to pay use tax may
result in the assessment of penalties of up to 100% of the unreported tax and interest.
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