The Vermont Renter Rebate Claim

You may be eligible for a renter rebate if you: 1) were domiciled in Vermont for the
entire 2019 calendar year; 2) rented in Vermont for all 12 months (see page 2 for one
exception); and 3) met the household income requirement. The maximum renter
rebate amount for Tax Year 2019 is $3,000. This fact sheet offers guidance on who

can file, how to file, and other important information.

The Renter Rebate Claim for TY
2019 is due April 15, 2020,
and no later than Oct. 15.

Who is eligible for a renter rebate?
In order to file a Renter Rebate Claim, you must meet ALL
of the following eligibility requirements:

e You were domiciled* in Vermont for the entire 2019
calendar year.

* You were not claimed as a dependent of another
taxpayer.
Your household income for 2019 is $47,000 or less.
You are the only person in the household making a
Renter Rebate Claim.

e You rented for all 12 months of the year (see exception
on page 2).

* Domicile is a legal concept that has implications for Vermont
income tax, the statewide education tax, and property tax
adjustments. For the definition of “domicile,” see Vermont Reg.
§ 1.5811(11)(A)(i) found at tax.vermont.gov/regulations.

What forms are needed for a Renter Rebate Claim?
You need the following three forms to file a claim:

1. PR-141, Renter Rebate Claim: This form uses
information from the HI-144 and LC-142 to calculate
your renter rebate.

2. LC-142, Vermont Landlord’s Certificate: This form is
completed by your landlord. If your landlord owns
two or more units, the landlord must provide it to you
by January 31. If your landlord owns just one rental
unit, you may request the LC-142. Be sure to enter
your name and Social Security Number at the top of
the LC-142 after you receive it from your landlord.

3. HI-144, Vermont Household Income Schedule:
Household income is different from the income you
report on an income tax return. You must include all

sources of income, taxable and nontaxable, including
the income of any other persons living in your
household for any period of time during 2019. This
includes your spouse/civil union partner, roommates,
and family members, including children. For more
help with this, refer to our fact sheet on the HI-144.

How do I file a Renter Rebate Claim?

To determine if you meet household income eligibility
requirements, you must complete Schedule HI-144 first. If
your household income is $47,000 or less, you may proceed
to file a Renter Rebate Claim.

You will need Form LC-142 from your landlord. Form
LC-142 shows the rent you actually paid. If you are not
current on your rent, your LC-142 will reflect that situation.
Use the information your landlord has provided on Form
LC-142 and the information on the HI-144 to calculate your
renter rebate on Form PR-141.

You may submit your claim separately from your Form
IN-111, Vermont Income Tax Return. Renter Rebate Claims
are due the same April due date as Vermont income tax
returns.

If you file for an extension on your income tax return, the
Renter Rebate Claim is still due on the April due date. A
claim filed after the April due date may be subject to a
penalty that reduces the benefit amount. No claims will be
accepted after the October due date.

Please note that only one rebate claim is allowed per
rental unit.

Important Notes
Exception to renting for 12 months: You may be eligible
for a renter rebate if you owned a Vermont homestead in

File Landlord Certificates and Renter Rebates online through myVTax

Landlords may file and print Form LC-142, Landlord Certificate, and renters may file Form PR-141, Renter Rebate
Claim, with all schedules online at www.myVTax.vermont.gov. Landlord Certificates filed online will bear an E-file
Certificate Number at the bottom of the certificate. Renters completing the Renter Rebate Claim should enter this
number in Section A of Form PR-141. If you don’t see an E-file Certificate Number, you may still file your Renter Rebate
Claim online. Learn how to file online by viewing our videos and guides at www.tax.vermont.gov.
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2019 but sold the homestead before April 1. To qualify,

you must have begun renting immediately after the sale
through Dec. 31, 2019, and did not receive a Property Tax
Credit. This is the only situation where a claimant can rent
for less than 12 months.

Deceased renter: A renter rebate cannot be made on behalf
of a deceased person. The right to file a Renter Rebate
Claim is personal to the claimant and does not survive the
claimant’s death.

Unable to receive LC-142: You may still file a Renter Rebate
Claim if you are unable to obtain a LC-142 from your
landlord. Complete a Landlord’s Certificate —including
your landlord’s name, address, and phone number—and
attach copies of your canceled checks or receipts for rent
paid. In addition, attach a letter explaining why you could
not get a Landlord’s Certificate. Do not sign the LC-142.

Lived in two or more rental locations: If you have more
than one Landlord’s Certificate, add “Allocable Rent” from
each certificate and enter this amount on your PR-141,
Renter Rebate Claim. File all LC-142s with your claim.

Non-home use: Rent eligible for a rebate is for your living
space. If you use more than 25% of your rental unit’s floor
space for business purposes, the eligible rent is reduced.
The percentage of business use should be the same
percentage used on your federal income tax return. If you
sublet part of your home, you must reduce your home use.

Renter rebate for nursing or residential care home: The
Renter Rebate Claim is for room charge only. Services such
as heat, electricity, personal services, medical services, etc.
are deducted from the total. Generally, the room charge

is about 25% of the home’s total charges to the person.

For a percentage greater than 25%, the nursing home or
residential care home must provide a breakout of costs.

Note about Medicaid recipients: Payments made by
Medicaid on behalf of the claimant to the nursing home
cannot be included as part of the rent paid amount.

Exceptions applying to a spouse or civil union partner:
The income of a spouse or civil union partner must be
included in household income, even if the person does not
live with you in the same home. Here are a few exceptions:

If your spouse or civil union partner is at least 62 years old
and permanently living in a nursing home or other care
facility with no reasonable prospect of returning home, you
may exclude that person’s income from household income

Legal separation or divorce

If at any time during the tax year, you have become legally
separated or divorced from your spouse or civil union
partner by a signed judge’s decree and the person does
not live with you in the same home, you may exclude that
person’s income from household income.

If, however, the spouse or civil union partner still lives
with you in the same home, you must include that person’s
income in household income.

Protective Order

If you have a protective order against your spouse/civil
union partner by a signed judge’s decree in place prior to
filing a Renter Rebate or Property Tax Credit Claim, you
may exclude that person’s income from household income.

You may wish to consult a tax professional regarding
limitations to these claims in the case of separation or
divorce.

Offset of renter rebate/Injured Spouse Claims: The
Department will notify you if the renter rebate was used

to pay money owed to a Vermont state agency. If your
spouse is responsible for the bill, and you are not, you have
30 days from the date of the notice to submit the injured
spouse claim to the Department. You may receive the
portion of the renter rebate equal to the percentage of your
income to the combined income of you and your partner.

To make an injured spouse claim, send the request letter, a
copy of Federal Form 8379 (if you filed one with the IRS),
and all W-2s and 1099s to Vermont Department of Taxes,
ATTN: Injured Spouse Unit, PO Box 1645, Montpelier, VT
05601-1645.

Forms Needed to File
e Renter Rebate Claim, PR-141
¢ Household Income Schedule, HI-144

e Landlord Certificate, LC-142

Mail completed paper Renter Rebate Claim forms to
Vermont Department of Taxes, PO Box 1881, Montpelier,
VT 05601-1881.

Questions?
Contact us at at tax.individualincome@vermont.gov
or (802) 828-2865 or (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont).

For more information on the
Renter Rebate Claim, see 32 V.S.A. Chapter 154
at legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32.

File your Renter Rebate Claim online
at myVTax.vermont.gov.

Visit our website at tax.vermont.gov
for forms and more fact sheets.
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