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The Vermont Homestead Declaration
By Vermont law, property owners whose homes meet the definition of 
a Vermont “homestead” must file a Homestead Declaration annually 
by the April due date. If eligible, you must file so that you are correctly 
assessed the homestead tax rate on your property. This fact sheet will 
provide the information you need to know as a property owner about 
filing your Homestead Declaration. 

What is the Vermont Homestead Declaration? 
In Vermont, all property is subject to education 
property tax to pay for the state’s schools. For this 
purpose, property is categorized as either homestead 
or nonhomestead. A homestead is the principal 
dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the 
dwelling, owned and occupied by the resident as the 
person’s domicile*.

Properties are considered “nonhomestead,” unless   
declared as a “homestead.” The education property 
tax rate levied on nonhomestead property differs 
from the rate levied on homestead property. It is your 
legal responsibility as the property owner to claim 
the property as a homestead if you meet, or expect to 
meet, the following requirements:

•	 You are a Vermont resident
• 	 You own and occupy a homestead as your 		

			  domicile as of April 1, 2020

Note: If you meet these requirements, except that 
your homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, 2020, 
you may still claim it as a homestead if it is not leased 
for more than 182 days in the 2020 calendar year.
* Domicile is a legal concept that has implications for Vermont 
income tax, the statewide education tax, and property tax 
adjustments. For the definition of “domicile,” see Vermont  
Reg. § 1.5811(11)(A)(i) found at tax.vermont.gov/regulations.

What is not a homestead? 
Property is considered nonhomestead if one of the 
following applies:

•	 Your property is leased for more than 182 days 	
	 out of the calendar year. 

•	 The property is used exclusively for a 
commercial, including rental, purpose.

• 	 The property is used for a second home, camp, 	
	 vacation, or summer cottage.

Homestead property and commercial use 
As long as the property meets the requirements of a 
Vermont homestead, a part of the homestead property 
may be used for commercial purposes or as a rental. 
If more than 25% of the dwelling is used for business 
purposes, then that portion must be reported as 
nonhomestead on the Homestead Declaration. 
However, if any part of the dwelling is a rental, then 
the percentage that is a rental must be reported. 
Outbuildings used for business or rental purposes are 
considered nonhomestead. 

Filing due dates
You must file a Homestead Declaration annually by 
the April due date. After the April due date, if you 
have not filed, the municipality may assess a penalty 
of up to 3% of the education tax on the property if the 
nonhomestead rate is higher than the homestead rate, 
or up to 8% if the homestead rate is higher. If you file 
after the October due date, the property will not be 
added to the municipal grand list as a homestead for 
that year, and you will be subject to any penalties and 
interest that apply. 

Filing the Homestead Declaration
The Homestead Declaration is filed using Form  
HS-122, the Homestead Declaration and Property Tax 
Credit Claim. The easiest and quickest way to file is 
electronically on the Department’s website at myVTax.
vermont.gov. If you file a paper form, it is important 
to remember to sign the form at the bottom of the 
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The Homestead Declaration for 2020 
is due April 15 and no later than  

Oct. 15. Your municipality may assess 
a penalty after the April due date.

https://tax.vermont.gov/content/regulation-15811-11-i-domicile
property will not be added to the municipal grand list as a home
property will not be added to the municipal grand list as a home
www.myVTax.vermont.gov
www.myVTax.vermont.gov
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reverse side (below the Property Tax Credit Claim). 
Many people file their Homestead Declarations at the 
same time they file their Vermont income tax returns.
However, if you apply to extend the time to file your 
income tax return, the declaration must still be filed 
by the April due date. Even if a person is not required 
to file a Vermont Income Tax Return, the declaration 
must be filed by the due date. 
 
What you will need to file
In addition to the property owner’s basic information, 
you should have the following available when filing:

•	 The property’s School Property Account Number 
(SPAN) printed on the property tax bill

•	 The property owner’s Social Security Number
•	 The three-digit school district code found on the 

property tax bill

Withdrawing a Homestead Declaration 
There may be a situation where the Homestead 
Declaration has been filed between Jan. 1 and April 1 
but needs to be withdrawn. The following are a few 
common reasons for withdrawal:

•	 The homestead was not owned by the person 
declaring it as a homestead on April 1. 

•	 The property no longer qualifies as a homestead.
•	 The Homestead Declaration was submitted 

in error (for example, it was not the owner’s 
primary residence).

•	 The homestead was leased to a tenant for more 
than 182 days.

To withdraw the declaration, use Form HS-122W, 
Vermont Homestead Declaration and/or Property Tax 
Credit Withdrawal.  

Frequently Asked Questions 
What if there is more than one owner of the 
homestead? 
If the property owners are a married or civil 
union couple, then both owners are included in 
the Homestead Declaration. However, for other 
ownership situations, refer to the instructions in the 
Vermont Income Tax Return booklet or contact the 
Vermont Department of Taxes.
What if the homestead is located in two adjoining 
towns?  
The Homestead Declaration must be filed for each 
town.

What if the property is transferred to a new owner 
after April 1?
If the property is transferred (by sale or some other 
type of transaction) to a new owner after April 1, the 
new owner waits until the following year to file the 
Homestead Declaration if the property qualifies as a 
homestead. 

What if I have an ownership situation not covered 
here?
For help with unusual ownership situations, see  
tax.vermont.gov/property-owners/homestead-
declaration/special-situations

Contact us 
For situations not covered by this fact sheet, please 
call (802) 828-2865 or 1-866-828-2865 (toll-free in 
Vermont).

 
 

For more information on the Homestead Declaration, see 32 V.S.A. § 5410  
at legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32/ 

File your Homestead Declaration online at myVTax.vermont.gov.

Visit our website at tax.vermont.gov for forms and more fact sheets.

https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/HS-122.pdf
https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/IN-111%20Instr.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/property-owners/homestead-declaration/special-situations
http://tax.vermont.gov/property-owners/homestead-declaration/special-situations
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/135/05410
www.myVTax.vermont.gov
http://www.tax.vermont.gov

