Vermont Schedule HI-144: Determining Household Income

This fact sheet will help you prepare your household income information when filing Schedule HI-144, Household Income,
which must be submitted with Property Tax Credit and Renter Rebate claims. This fact sheet covers a general overview of

common HI-144 factors only.

* Be sure to refer to the instructions for the schedule to get more details, and contact the Department when complex
scenarios and questions arise. You also may read Vermont Statute 32 V.5.A. § 6061.

¢ Household Income is “Modified Adjusted Gross Income” and is not the same as federal taxable income.

* Household Income includes all income, taxable and nontaxable, of everyone who resided with you at any time during
the tax year, including children and non-related individuals. If an individual resided with you for fewer than 12
months, include that individual’s income only for the time the person resided with you.

Who is a member of your household? What is household income?

Household members may include:

* Yourself

* Your spouse or civil union partner, even if the
person does not live with you in the same
home (See exceptions for legal separation, divorce,
protective order in “What Is Household Income.”)

¢ Roommates/housemates

e Family members, including children, even if
they file their own income tax returns and are
not considered dependents

You will need to obtain the Social Security
Numbers of all household members.

Household members do not include:

¢ A person not related to any household member
and living in the household under a written
homesharing agreement with an authorized
program

¢ A person living in the household who is a
bona fide employee hired to provide personal
care to a member of the household and who is
not related to the person for whom the care is
provided

® A person who resides with you to provide
attendant care services, homemaker, or
companionship services, with or without
compensation, that allows you to remain
in your home or avoid institutionalization.
However, you must be disabled or at least
62 years of age as of December 31 of the tax
year.

TIP: If a person living with you is planning to move, be
sure to get the person’s Social Security Number and
income information you’ll need to complete the HI-144.

Disclaimer: The information provided here is intended to be an overview
only. Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes
rulings, or court decisions supersede information presented here.
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For Vermont tax purposes, household income includes all the
funds available to support a household, even if you did not receive
any financial contribution from the members of the household.

e [tincludes both taxable and nontaxable income. See Income
Sources section on page 2.

¢ Itincludes all sources of income of any persons living in your
household. This refers to individuals, including children, who
lived in your home for any period of time during the year and
who may or may not be related to you.

Exceptions applying to a spouse or civil union partner

The income of a spouse or civil union partner must be included in
household income, even if the person does not live with you in the
same home. Here are a few exceptions:

If your spouse or civil union partner is at least 62 years old and
permanently living in a nursing home or other care facility with
no reasonable prospect of returning home, you may exclude that
person’s income from household income

Legal separation or divorce

If at any time during the tax year, you have become legally
separated or divorced from your spouse or civil union partner by a
signed judge’s decree and the person does not live with you in the
same home, you may exlude that person’s income from household
income. If, however, the spouse or civil union partner still lives
with you in the same home, you must include that person’s income
in household income.

Protective Order

If you have a protective order against your spouse or civil union
partner by a signed judge’s decree in place prior to filing a Renter
Rebate or Property Tax Credit Claim, you may exclude that
person’s income from household income.

You may wish to consult a tax professional regarding limitations to
these claims in the case of separation or divorce.
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Income sources that ARE
household income

Income sources that ARE NOT
household income

The sources of income you are required to report include all shown
in this section. Many of these figures can be taken from the Federal
Form(s) 1040 and related schedules. Refer to line-by-line instructions
on Schedule HI-144 for more details. Consultation with a tax
preparer may also be helpful.

TIP: Allow time to collect all the income sources, any proofs of
payment, and forms you need for everyone in your household.

¢ Cash public assistance and public relief*

* Social security/SSI/SSDI/railroad retirement/veteran’s benefits,

taxable and nontaxable*

Unemployment compensation/worker’s compensation

Wages, salaries, tips, etc.

Interest and dividends**

Interest on U.S,, state, and municipal obligations, taxable and

nontaxable

Alimony, support money, child support, cash gifts

* Business income***

¢ Capital gains, taxable and nontaxable. Include nontaxable gains
from sale of primary residence***

» Taxable pensions, annuities IRA and other retirement fund
distributions. Include ROTH IRA earnings distributions

* Rental and royalty income***

* Income from farms, partnerships, S corporations, LLCs, estates, or
trusts***

¢ Other income including prizes and awards, gambling or lottery
winnings, director’s fees, employers allowances, taxable refunds
from Federal return 1040, Line 10, allowances by dependents of
armed services personnel and military subsistence payments
(BAH, FSA), loss of time insurance, cost of living adjustment
(COLA) paid to federal employees

* Income of dependents that exceeds $6,500

* There may be exceptions, so refer to “Income Sources That Are

Not Household Income” (next column) for more information.

** If you are under the age of 65 as of December 31 of the tax year
and the total interest and dividend income reported are in excess of
$10,000, your household income is increased by the total interest and
dividend income greater than $10,000.

*** If losses, see the instructions for limits.

For more information on Household Income, see 32 V.S.A.
Chapter 154 at legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/title/32

File Schedule HI-144, Household Income,
online at myVTax.vermont.gov.

Visit our website at tax.vermont.gov
for forms and more fact sheets.

The following income sources are not
considered to be Household Income:

Foster care payments

Payments received for the care of eligible
persons with developmental disabilities
(formerly Difficulty of Care)

In-kind relief by a government agency, such
as fuel assistance

Food from a governmental agency

Gifts from nongovernmental sources, such
as assistance for fuel, utilities, and rent

Any income from cancellation of debt

The first $6,500 of cash gifts received by the
entire household unless used for support
The first $6,500 of income received by a
person who qualifies as your dependent
and who is your parent or adult child with a
disability

The first $6,500 of income earned by a
full-time student who qualifies as your
dependent

For more information, see “Who Is a
Member of your Household?” on page 1.

Allowable adjustments

to reduce household income

Security and Medicare tax withheld on
wages

Self-employment tax

Child support paid—be prepared to provide
proof of payment

Business expenses for Reservists

Alimony paid

Self-employed health insurance deduction
Health Savings Account deduction

Tuition and fees

Questions?

Contact us at tax.individualincome@vermont.gov

or (802) 828-2865
or (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont).
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