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Findings
Due to the regulated nature of the purchases of medical 
marijuana, it is exempt from sales and use tax under the 
prescription drug statutory definition. Pipes, vaporizers, 
and other items classified as drug paraphernalia sold in 
a medical marijuana dispensary, however, are subject to 
sales and use tax because they do not meet the definition 
of medical supplies. Medical marijuana is exempt from the 
the Vermont Sales and Use Tax. Marijuana-related supplies 
are subject to sales and use tax. 

Background 
Vermont sales tax applies to retail sales of several categories 
of property and services, one of which is “tangible personal 
property” or “TPP.” 32 V.S.A. § 9771(1). TPP is defined 
as “personal property which may be seen, weighed, 
measured, felt, touched or in any other manner perceived 
by the senses.” 32 V.S.A. § 9701(7). 

Vermont has legalized the therapeutic use of marijuana 
when sold by a registered dispensary to certain patients 
and their caregivers who are registered. 18 V.S.A. Chapter 
86, Therapeutic Use of Cannabis. Marijuana (Cannabis) 
meets the definition of TPP, and sales would be subject to 
tax unless an exemption applies.

Rationale
The sales tax law exempts certain vendors from having to 
collect the tax. Exempt vendors are listed in Section 9743, 
and include “organizations which qualify for exempt status 
under the provisions of Section 501(c)(3)” of the Internal 
Revenue Code. Title 18 requires that a dispensary be 
operated on a nonprofit basis, but it need not qualify under 
501(c)(3). 18 V.S.A. § 4474e(b)(1). If a dispensary qualifies 

for (501)(c)(3) status, however, this vendor exemption will 
only apply to the dispensary if its prior year’s sales did not 
exceed $20,000. 32 V.S.A. § 9743(3)(C). For purposes of this 
fact sheet, it is assumed that the $20,000 threshold would 
be exceeded, and therefore, the nonprofit vendor exemption 
would not apply to the dispensary.

The sales tax law exempts certain items from the sales and 
use tax. Exempt items are listed in Section 9741, and include 
“drugs intended for human use, . . . and supplies . . . , used 
in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering. . . .”  
32 V.S.A. § 9741(2). An exempt “drug” is defined as follows:

	 . . . a compound, substance, or preparation . . .  
	 that is:			 

(A) Recognized in the official United States 			 
		  Pharmacopeia, official Homeopathic 			 
		  Pharmacopeia of the United States, official 		
		  National Formulary, or in supplements to  
		  any of them; or

(B) Intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, 			 
		  mitigation, treatment, or prevention of 

		  disease; or
(C) Intended to affect the structure or any  

		  function of the body.  32 V.S.A. § 9701(29). 

Marijuana is apparently not recognized in the United 
States Pharmacopeia or the National Formulary.1 It is 
also not recognized in the Homeopathic Pharmacopeia 
except in the form of a tincture with 65% alcohol, when 
further attenuated and prescribed by a health care 
provider with prescribing privileges.2 So, marijuana does 
not meet the definition in Subsection (A). 

Taxation of Sales of Medical Marijuana and Related Paraphernalia   
This fact sheet addresses the applicability of the Vermont Sales  

and Use Tax to sales of medical marijuana and related  
paraphernalia from a registered dispensary.

Tax: Sales and Use Tax

Statutory References:  
32 V.S.A. Chapter 233	
18 V.S.A. Chapter 86
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 1 	 Per email of November 4, 2013, from Technical Services Scientist, Reference Materials Support, United States Pharmacopeial 	
	 Convention.
 2 Per email of November 6, 2013, from Senior Scientist, Homeopathic Pharmacopeia Convention of the United States.

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/32/233
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/18/086
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Marijuana does not, by itself, qualify as a “substance 
intended for use in the mitigation of disease” under 
Subsection (B), either. But when sold by a registered 
dispensary to a registered patient or registered caregiver, 
it is, in that context, a substance intended to relieve 
symptoms of a debilitating condition. In that context, it is 
a “drug” under the Subsection (B) definition, not based on 
the product per se, but based on the use of the product. 

The sales tax regulations further require that a drug 
be either a “prescription drug” or an “over-the-counter 
drug.” Department of Taxes Regulations (Regs.) § 1.9741(2)
A.1., 2. Marijuana does not qualify as an over-the-counter 
drug because an “over-the-counter drug” must “contain a 
label that identifies the product as a drug as required by 
21 C.F.R. § 201.66.” Reg. § 1.9741(2)A.2. A “prescription” is 
defined in the regulations as follows:

“Prescription” means an order, formula or recipe 
issued in any form of oral, written, electronic or 
other means of transmission by a duly licensed 
practitioner authorized by the laws of the state.  
Regs. § 1.9741(2)A.1. 

Although marijuana is not “prescribed” in the traditional 
sense, the requirements of Title 18 are sufficiently similar 
to meet the definition of “prescription” for purposes of 
the sales tax exemption. To obtain therapeutic marijuana, 
“a person must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical 
condition by a health care professional.” 18 V.S.A. § 4473(a). 
A “health care professional” is 

[A]n individual licensed to practice medicine . . . 
certified as a physician’s assistant . . . or an individual 
licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse  
. . . [and] includes individuals who are professionally 
licensed under substantially equivalent provisions 
in New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York. 	
18 V.S.A. §4472(6). 

The patient must then register with the Department of 
Public Safety and must designate a single registered 
dispensary to be used for that patient. 18 V.S.A. § 4473. 
Once registered, the patient, or the patient’s registered 
caregiver, may obtain up to two ounces of therapeutic 
marijuana in each 30-day period from the designated 
registered dispensary. 18 V.S.A. §§ 4472(10); 4474b(a); 
4474e(a), (k)(1)(B). The State, through the provisions in Title 
18, thus authorizes the health care practitioner to certify a 
patient for access to the drug otherwise unavailable by law. 
In this regulated context, the authorization for purchase 

and use of therapeutic marijuana is sufficiently similar to             
e statutory definition of a “prescription” to qualify as a 
prescription drug exempt from sales tax.

Do I Need an Exemption Certificate?
As noted above, the exemption is a use-based exemption 
and not a product-based exemption. Items that qualify for 
a use-based exemption may be sold without collection of 
sales tax if the vendor first obtains an exemption certificate 
from the purchaser. 32 V.S.A. § 9745(a). If a vendor fails to 
possess an exemption certificate at the time of sale, the law 
presumes the sale is taxable. Id. 

The requirement for a certificate is discretionary, since 
the law provides that the Commissioner of Taxes “may” 
require the vendor to obtain an exemption certificate 
for a use-based exempt sale. In the case of a registered 
dispensary, the Commissioner will not require exemption 
certificates for authorized dispensary sales of marijuana, 
because of patient confidentiality protections in Title 
18. The Commissioner will assume that the statutory 
presumption of taxability is rebutted when the marijuana 
is sold by a registered dispensary under the provisions of 
Title 18.

Are marijuana-related supplies taxable? 
Title 18 also authorizes a registered dispensary to sell 
marijuana-related supplies such as “pipes, vaporizers and 
other items classified as drug paraphernalia,” 18 V.S.A. § 
4474e(a)(1)(B). Sales of these items would not be exempt 
from tax. The sales tax law exempts certain medical 
“supplies” if they are “designed primarily to cure, correct, 
or reduce the severity of human ailments. . . . Reg. § 
1.19741(2) [emphasis added]. Supplies must also be items 
“not normally used by persons absent illness or injury, and 
. . . not capable of repeated usage.” Reg. § 19741(2)F.

Pipes, vaporizers, and other items sold by the dispensary 
are not designed primarily to cure, correct, or reduce the 
severity of human ailments, are normally used by persons 
absent illness or injury, and are capable of repeated usage. 
They are in the nature of the items listed in the regulation 
as not exempt. As a result, the supplies sold by a registered 
dispensary are TPP subject to the sales tax.

To learn more about Vermont business taxes, see 
our list of fact sheets at tax.vermont.gov  or contact 

the Department’s Business Tax Section  
at tax.business@vermont.gov or (802) 828-2551.

https://tax.vermont.gov/

