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Disclaimer: The information provided here is intended to be an overview only. 

Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, or court 

decisions supersede information presented here. 
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Town Clerks: When to Mail Paper Versions  

of the Property Transfer Tax Return to the State 

Version 1: “E-Filed” 

If the PTTR shows “E-Filed” at the top of the form, this is a return that has been electronically filed and sent to 

your queue in myVTax. You must enter your recording information on the return in myVTax, then submit the 

return to the Department electronically.  Do NOT mail a hard copy of the return to the Department.  
 

Version 2: No notation at the top and bar code at the bottom 

If the PTTR does not have any notation at the top of the form and has a bar code at the bottom of the page, 

this is a paper return that was not sent through myVTax.  Enter the recording information on the return, and 

send the original to the Department. You may redact the Social Security numbers and other sensitive 

information on your copy but do NOT redact anything on the original return sent to the Department.  
 

Paper returns should be submitted to the Department using the pre-paid envelopes we provide to you.  Do 

not send more than one mailing in 30 days.  Under Vermont law at 32 V.S.A. §9610 (a), you must include all 

paper returns recorded within the 30 days prior to your mailing.  If you receive no paper returns, do NOT 

send the Department a mailing.  

Property Transfer Tax Returns (PTTRs) are filed either electronically through myVTax or on the paper 

version of Form PTT-172. State law requires preparers to send a copy of the PTTR prepared for transfer with 

the deed(s) to the town clerk. As a town clerk, you will see variations of Form PTT-172 sent to you. This fact 

sheet provides information on the three variations you will see and instructions on how to provide the 

Vermont Department of Taxes with the recording information. 
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For more information on property transfer taxes, visit  

https://tax.vermont.gov/property-owners/real-estate-transaction-taxes/property-transfer-tax 

 

For assistance in accessing your myVTax account,  

contact our staff at 802-828-6851 or tax.rett@vermont.gov 

 

 

Version 3: “Draft do not record” 

If the PTTR shows “Draft do not record” at the top of the form, this is a return that was started in myVTax 

but was not completed and sent to your queue in myVTax. This version cannot be recorded. It is not a valid  

return. Please contact the preparer listed on the return, or the Department, if no preparer is listed. If you  

contact the preparer, explain that they must complete the return online and provide a final version marked  

“E-Filed.” 


