Grant Education Funding for Listers and Assessors (Municipal Reimbursement)

Municipal listers and assessors may receive refunds for certain training expenses through grants. This fact sheet explains what expenses are refundable, the trainings that are included, and how municipal assessing officials may apply for grants to recover some of the training costs. To be eligible for a refund, you must submit an application for a grant to the director of the Division of Property Valuation and Review (PVR). The director *must preapprove your application before attending the training*.

PVR partners with the Vermont Assessors and Listers Association (VALA), the Vermont League of Cities and Towns (VLCT), and the New England Municipal Resource Center (NEMRC) to directly sponsor events and to eliminate and reduce training charges for listers and assessors. This includes VALA trainings, VLCT workshops, International Association of Assessing Officers courses, workshops, and NEMRC trainings.

What does the grant cover?

Listers and assessors may apply for grants for any assessment course that is *not* on the State-Sponsored Education course list. You may request reimbursement of the following expenses:

- Mileage for an in-state training that is more than 50 miles from your office or home
- Overnight lodging if an in-state training is more than one day and is more than 50 miles from your office or home
- Webinars for grand list, CAMA, Apex sketching training
- NEMRC training through their video library
 - Reconciling your grand list
 - Reconciling taxes
 - Preparing tax billing
 - New homestead reports
 - Contiguous parcel feature
 - Any grand list / CAMA videos

Grants are available

According to 32 V.S.A. § 4041a(d) ...up to 20 percent of the amount available for education programs may be reserved as a scholarship fund to permit municipal assessing officials to attend national programs providing education opportunities on advanced assessment topics. All applications for scholarships shall be submitted to and approved by the Director (of PVR).

How to apply for a grant

Before the training, submit a completed grant application so that the director of PVR may preapprove your request. For all assessment trainings, you must list mileage and the name of your lodging (if more than 50 miles away) for reimbursement.

Download the Grant Agreement Application at tax.vermont.gov/content/state-vermont-grant-agreement

The State of Vermont Grant Agreement Application is a fillable PDF file. Download it to your computer, then close the form and reopen it from your computer before filling it out.

- 1. Use the *tab* key to move through and complete all yellow highlighted fields on the application.
- 2. Fill in the mileage and lodging cost that will be charged to your municipality.
- 3. Fill in the name of the training and how many from the municipality are attending.
- 4. Click Save Print, then Send Via Email.
- 5. To complete the process, watch for an email from ADS-OneSpan. Sign to complete the application.

After a training has been completed

Submit the paid invoice and proof of attendance to PVR. Once these have been verified, PVR will submit the State of Vermont Grant Agreement Application reimbursement.

If you have questions, please contact tax.pvr@vermont.gov or call (802) 828-5860.

Disclaimer: The information provided here is intended to be an overview only. Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, or court decisions supersede information presented here.

