When to Apply the Property Transfer Tax and Clean Water Surcharge

Type of Property Value Taxed 0.5% Property = 1.25% Property 0.2% Clean Water
Transfer Tax Transfer Tax Surcharge
Not Principal Residence All \/ \/
$0 - $100,000 /

Principal Residence

Marginal Value > $100,000 \/ \/

$0-$110,000

Principal Residence
purchased with VHFA, VCTF, |$110,000 - $200,000 \/
or USDA Assistance

Marginal Value > $200,000 / \/

Disclaimer: The information provided here is intended to be an overview only. Vermont tax statutes, regulations, ) o
Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, or court decisions supersede information presented here. /\\
®
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