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Vermont Property Assessor Certification Program
for Listers and Assessors

Listers and assessors perform the vital functions of receiving, collecting, and analyzing data
to estimate the value of property within a given municipality for property tax purposes. Your
job is to ensure that valuations are comparable across properties resulting in a fair and
equitable assessment which is important to the property owners, municipality, and the state.
To assist with this important function, the Division of Property Valuation and Review of the
Vermont Department of Taxes administers and certifies the Vermont Property Assessor
Certification Program (VPACP) for Listers and Assessors. This handbook will help you understand
and navigate the program requirements and the application process to become certified.

Program Mission Statement

The mission of the Vermont Property Assessor Certification Program is to
encourage, promote, and provide educational opportunity and advancement
for listers and assessors throughout the state. PVR accomplishes this mission
by the following guidelines and steps for advancement:

¢ seeking and promoting new and relevant educational opportunities

¢ developing cooperative relationships with assessment education
entities

¢ clearly communicating with Vermont officials and the public

e applying fair and equitable standards

VPACEP strives to provide a structure that will improve appraisal skills and
administrative practices for the Vermont assessment community.
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Program Overview

VPACP creates four levels of achievement. Each level has prerequisites and requirements,
including levels of work experience and training. The following is an overview of the
educational course work required for each level:

Level 1 Vermont Property Assessor I (VPA I)

Complete all course requirements for Level I:
e JAAO 100 Real Estate Property Appraisal Workshop
® State-Sponsored Lister Training Workshop

Level 2 Vermont Property Assessor II (VPA II)

Must have 2 years of experience as a VPA I or equivalent

Complete all course requirements for Level II:

e JAAO 101 Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal

e JAAO 102 Fundamentals of the Income Approach to Valuation
® JAAO 171 Standards of Professional Practice & Ethics

® State-Sponsored Data Collection Course (4-day course)

Level 3 Vermont Property Assessor III (VPA III)

Must have 3 years of experience as a VPA II or equivalent

Complete all course requirements for Level III:
e JAAO 300 Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal
e JAAO 155 Depreciation Workshop

® State-Sponsored Land Appraisal Workshop

e State-Sponsored Statutes & Rules in Property Assessment

Level 4 Vermont Master Property Assessor (VMPA)

Must have 3 years of experience as a VPA III or equivalent

Complete all course requirements for master level:
® JAAO 112 The Income Approach to Valuation II

® JAAOQ 311 Residential Modeling

® JAAO 452 Fundamentals of Ratio Studies

Program requirements and prerequisites continue on the next page
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Beyond the requirements listed, all applicants must currently be an elected lister, working in
the field of assessment, hired or an appointed assessor and submit a completed application
with all supporting documents. These include copies of all courses, certifications, and
experience in related fields that meet the program requirements. All applicants must be in
good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes.

Some courses not outlined above, such as real estate appraisal courses, may be substituted as
equivalents. Please explain your equivalent education and experience to the Division of
Property Valuation and Review in your application.

How to Apply
If you meet the requirements of the level of certification you wish to pursue, then complete
and submit the following;:

e Application Form AC-304 (located at the back of this handbook and online at
tax.vermont.gov)

e Resume listing relevant work experience

e Copies of course completion certificates

e Copies of current designation certificates, licenses, etc., if applicable

e Application fee of $25 per designation (as of April 1, 2014), payable to the Vermont

Department of Taxes.

The application fee is not refundable. Applications are processed as received. Once processed

and approved, the Department will mail you a certificate with your designation.

Mail to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier, VT 05633

Questions? Contact Us!

Do not hesitate to contact us with questions or concerns at the Division of Property Valuation
and Review at the Vermont Department of Taxes at (802) 828-5860. Please read the Frequently
Asked Questions prior to calling.

For more information, please call the Division of Property Valuation and Review
(802) 828-5860 or visit tax.vermont.gov
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Frequently Asked Questions

What do listers/assessors do?
Listers and assessors receive, collect, and analyze data to estimate the value of property within
a given municipality as of April 1 of each year for property tax (ad valorem) purposes.

Who employs listers/assessors?

In Vermont, a lister is an official elected by the citizens of a municipality in which the lister
resides, while an assessor is hired or appointed by a municipality. Both listers and assessors are
compensated by the municipality. Some assessors work full-time for a given municipality,
while others may work part-time at one or several different municipalities.

Under what authority does PVR certify listers and assessors?
The Division of Property Valuation and Review (PVR), a division of the Vermont Department
of Taxes, grants certification to listers and assessors under the authority found in 32 VSA §3436.

Is this a required program? Must I have a designation to work in ad valorem property
valuation in Vermont?

No, this is a voluntary program to encourage and recognize professionalism and competency in
being a municipal assessing official.

Why are there four levels of certification?

PVR has recognized there are different assessment assignments, and municipalities have
different levels of difficulty and complexity. Therefore, the program ranks the levels of
development and educational achievement to accommodate these variations. Everyone is
encouraged to attain the highest level of certification which he or she believes will provide the
skills necessary to be an effective municipal assessing official.

What is required to obtain certification?
For each level of certification, when you meet all requirements of the Vermont Property
Assessor Certification Program (VPACP) for Listers and Assessors, submit an application,
Form AC-304, with all supporting documentation and course completion certificates, a current
resume with relevant work experience, and include a $25 application fee per designation (as of
April 1, 2014), payable to the Vermont Department of Taxes. Mail all documents and the
application fee to:
Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier VT 05633

FAQs continue on the next page
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What are the courses and how are they offered?

The required courses are provided through various educational venues, such as the
International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO), Vermont Assessors and Listers
Association (VALA), and Property Valuation & Review (PVR), etc. Class levels range in terms
of difficulty, time commitment, and cost. Some classes include a pass/fail test at the end, while
others are completed through attendance only.

When and where is training offered?

Assessment courses are offered throughout the year at many different venues. Near the
beginning of each calendar year PVR will publish an education schedule of the courses they
will be sponsoring. Most are offered on an annual basis while some of the IAAO course
offerings are on a three-year cycle. The schedule and registration form can be found on the
website at http://tax.vermont.gov/municipal-officials/certification-education-programs/online-
registration#registration.

How much do these courses cost?

As of 2017, any courses hosted by PVR are offered at no charge to currently practicing listers
and assessors. Those offered by partner organizations are eligible for reimbursement under the
state’s lister education fund. Therefore, municipalities pay for the course, submit the invoice to
PVR at tax.listered@vermont.gov, and get reimbursed accordingly.

Can any other coursework be substituted for these particular courses?
Yes. There are many institutions that provide similar academic level courses. If you have any
question as to whether a course will be accepted, contact PVR.

Can experience other than assessing be substituted for the experience requirement?

Yes, appraisal experience which can be documented may substitute for lister and assessor
experience. You should include detailed information in your resume with contact information
for verification.

After I get my certification, do I need further education?

Yes. Certification under 32 VSA §3436(c) is valid for a three-year period. Once certified, you
will need to complete 21 Continuing Education (CE) credit hours within the next three years to
recertify when the designation expires. This may include course work completed for a higher
designation level. You will also be required to submit a renewal application, Form AC-305,
available on the Department’s website at tax.vermont.gov.

FAQs continue on the next page
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Does my designation need to be current in order to apply to the next level?
Yes. If your designation lapses, you will have to apply for reinstatement. See the website for
application.

What if I am already certified through the previous PVR Vermont Property Evaluators
program (VPE)? May I be grandfathered into a level?

Yes. In the past if you received the VPE designation, you may apply for Level 2 by submitting
an application and attaching a copy of the certificate issued at the time of the designation.
You still will be obligated to meet any additional requirements such as IAAO workshop 171
and Data Collection. If you have already taken either/both courses, attach course completion
certificates. If you qualify for any additional levels, then the certificate will be noted and
documentation of additional qualifications will need to be provided.

May I skip a certification level by completing requirements of a higher level?
PVR may consider substitutions of equivalent courses on a case-by-case basis.

Where can I obtain more specific information on the assessing profession?
Visit these helpful websites for more information:

e International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAQO) at www.iaao.org
e Vermont Assessors and Listers Association (VALA) at www.valavt.org
e Appraisal Institute (AI) at www.appraisalinstitute.org

e Vermont Department Taxes at tax.vermont.gov
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Vermont Property Assessor Certification Program

Criteria Overview

Vermont Property Assessor | (VPA I)—Level 1
e Currently elected or appointment
e Complete course requirements
e Submit completed application /supporting documents

Vermont Property Assessor Il (VPA Il)—Level 2
e VPAT status or equivalent
e Complete Level 1 course requirements
e Minimum of two years or equivalent
e Submit completed application /supporting documents

Vermont Property Assessor Il (VPA lll)}—Level 3
e VPA II status or equivalent
e Complete Level 2 course requirements
e Three additional years experience or equivalent
e Submit completed application /supporting documents

Vermont Master Property Assessor (VMPA)—Level 4

e VPA III status or equivalent

e Complete Master Level designee course requirements
e Three additional years experience or equivalent

e Submit completed application /supporting documents

Criteria Overview is continued on the next page
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Vermont Property Assessor | (VPA 1)

® Applicant must successfully complete all of the following courses:

© JAAO Workshop 100—Real Estate Property Appraisal Workshop, or equivalent*
© State-Sponsored Course—Lister Training Workshop

® Application must include course completion certificates or documentation

® Applicant must be currently elected to the office of lister or an appointed municipal assessor in Vermont
® Applicant must provide a current resume

® Applicant must be in good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes

® A completed application with all required documents must be submitted to Vermont Department of
Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review, with the application fee of $25 made payable to
the Vermont Department of Taxes

Mail to:
Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier, VT 05633

* The Division of Property Valuation and Review may consider substitutions of equivalent courses on a
case-by-case basis.

Criteria Overview is continued on the next page
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Vermont Property Assessor Il (VPA Il)

e Applicant must successfully complete all of the following courses:

© JAAO Course 101 —Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal, or equivalent

0 JAAO Course 102—Fundamentals of the Income Approach to Valuation, or equivalent

o TAAO Workshop 171—IAAO Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct, or equivalent
O State-sponsored Course —Data Collection

® A minimum of two years as a VPA I*

e Application must include a copy of all documentation of above requirements i.e. course certificates

® Applicant must be currently elected to the office of Lister or an appointed municipal assessor in Vermont
® Application must include documentation of current Vermont designation or equivalent

® Applicant must provide a current resume

e Applicant must be in good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes

e A completed application with all required documents must be submitted to Vermont Department of Taxes
Property Valuation and Review with application fee of $25 made payable to the Vermont Department of
Taxes

Mail to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier, VT 05633

* Minimum 2 years’ experience in a related mass appraisal field
Equivalent or reciprocal certification —Minimum 2 years’ experience in a related real estate appraisal
field with a state or professional designation, such as Vermont Property Evaluator (VPE) or AAS, may
be accepted for the experience requirement. Any additional course work will be required.

Criteria Overview is continued on the next page
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Vermont Property Assessor Il (VPA lll)

® Applicant must successfully complete all of following requirements:
¢ TAAO Course 300—Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal, or equivalent
TIAAO Course 155—Depreciation Workshop, or equivalent
State sponsored Course —Land Appraisal Workshop
State Sponsored Course —Vermont State Statutes & Rules in Property Assessment

o 0 0

e At least three years as a VPA II*

® Application must include documentation of all above requirements i.e. coursecertificates

® Applicant must be currently elected to the office of Lister or an appointed municipal assessor in Vermont
® Application must include documentation of current Vermont designation or equivalent

® Applicant must provide a current resume

® Applicant must be in good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes

® A completed application with all required documents must be submitted to Vermont Department of
Taxes, Property Valuation and Review with application fee of $25 made payable to the Vermont
Department of Taxes

Mail to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier, VT 05633

*Minimum 3 years’ experience in a related real estate mass appraisal field
Equivalent or reciprocal certification—Minimum 3 years’ experience in a related real estate mass appraisal
field with a state or professional designation such a PVR Assessor, CAE or RES, may be accepted for the
experience requirement. Any additional course work will be required.

Criteria Overview is continued on the next page
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Vermont Master Property Assessor (VMPA)

e Applicant must successfully complete all of the following requirements:
© JTAAO Course 112—The Income Approach to Valuation I, or equivalent
© TAAO Course 311 —Residential Modeling, or equivalent
© TAAO Course 452 —Fundamentals of Ratio Studies, or equivalent

At least three years as a VPA III*

Application must include documentation of all above requirements i.e. copy of course certificates

Applicant must be currently elected to the office of Lister or an appointed municipal assessor in Vermont
Application must include documentation of current designation or equivalent
Applicant must provide a current resume

Applicant must be in good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes

A completed application with all required documents must be submitted to Vermont Department of Taxes,
Property Valuation and Review with the application fee of $25 made payable to the Vermont Department of
Taxes

Mail to:

Vermont Department of Taxes
Division of Property Valuation and Review
133 State Street FL 1
Montpelier, VT 05633

* Minimum 3 years’ experience in a related real estate mass appraisal field
Equivalent or reciprocal certification —Minimum 3 years” experience in a related real estate appraisal field
with a state or professional designation, such as a PVR Project Supervisor, may be accepted for the experi-
ence requirement. Any additional course work will be required.
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A VERMONT PROPERTY ASSESSOR Foru
CERTIFICATION PROGRAM APPLICATION AC-304

Full Name (First, MI, Last) Town
Mailing Address (Number and Street) Date of original election or appointment
City / State / ZIP Code Telephone Number

1. Iam applying for the following certification level (see our website for the certification criteria).
|:| VPA I - Vermont Property Assessor I (Level 1)
I:l VPA II - Vermont Property Assessor II (with 2 years experience or equivalent) (Level 2)
|:| VPA III - Vermont Property Assessor III (with 5 years experience or equivalent) (Level 3)
|:| VMPA - Vermont Master Property Assessor (with 8 years experience or equivalent (Level 4)

2. How many years of experience do you have in the following designations?
Lister/Assessing Official
VPA 1
VPAII

VPA 1II
VMPA

3. Thave successfully completed the following courses for this certification level. (Please attach all certificates
validating the successful completion of the applicable courses.) 1f you are trying to substitute a training you believe is
comparable, you must provide a certificate of successful completion, course description, and your analysis of why you
believe the training qualifies.

Level I Level IT Level 111 Level IV (VMPA)
[ ]1AAO Course | [_]1AAO 101 [ ]14A0 300 [ ]1aA0 112
100 [ ]1aA0 102 [ ]1AA0 155 [ ]1aA0311
L] State Lister [ ]1aA0 171 [ ] State Land Appraisal Workshop | [ ] IAAO 452
gzlrilﬁ;gop |:| State Data Collection |:| State Statutes & Rules in
Course Property Assessment

4. T attest that I am in good standing with the Vermont Department of Taxes.

Printed Name Date

Signature

Please include the following documents when submitting this application to the Department. If your application is missing
any of the supporting documents listed below, the Department cannot accept your application.

[:l Copies of all course certificates

|:| Current resume (7o include work experience)

I:l Copies of current designation certificates, if any

|:| Application and fee of $25, payable to Vermont Department of Taxes

Submit to:
Vermont Department of Taxes
Property Valuation and Review Division

133 State Street Form AC-304
Montpelier, VT 05633-1401 Rev. 06/19
Clear ALL fields Save and go to Important Printing Instructions Save and Print
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