myVTax Guide: How to File a Homestead Declaration
or Homestead Declaration & Property Tax Credit Claim

You may file your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit
Claim with the Vermont Department of Taxes for free through
myVTax, the Department’s online filing portal. myVTax will walk you blockers may prevent
through Vermont Form HS-122, Homestead Declaration and Property certain windows from
Tax Credit, and Schedule HI-144, Household Income. appearing.

Enable pop-ups when
working in myVTax. Pop-up

You will need to collect the following information before you begin:

e Your 2019/2020 property tax bill

e Any income or wage statements from 2019 income, as also reported on federal Form 1040,
U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, for ALL members of your household

e Records of all other income including non-taxable sources, such as Supplemental Security

Income (SSI) or public assistance, for ALL members of your household

Go to tax.vermont.gov. |

AGENCY OF ADMINISTRATION Custom Search ‘
Select FILE OR PAY Department of Taxes
ONLINE.

CAREERS FILE PAY REFUNDS FORMS MYVTAX

You will be directed
to myVTax.

You may also go
directly to myVTax at
myVTax.vermont.gov.

| Home

Individuals
Businesses

Property

Tax Professionals

Municipal Officials

FASTER REFUND TIPS
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Once in myVTax, click File your Homestead Declaration or Property Tax Credit.

AGENCY OF ADMINISTRATION
Department of Taxes

7~ VERMONT

, File returns securely

‘, Make payments

myVTax is a convenient and free service that allows you to manage, file, and pay your Vermont taxes.

J Return filing verification ¢ Respond to correspondence

File your Homestead Declaration
or Property Tax Adjustment

Log in to your myVTax account

Username:

’ File an extension

Forgot username?

‘, Check the status of your return Password:

Forgot password?

& Pay Use Tax

Need An Account? Click
Here to Register

@D

Enter the following:
o Social Security Number
and

9 SPAN Number

The SPAN is the School
Property Account Number,
an 11-digit identification
number unique to your
property. Find it on your
property tax bill. It will look
like this: XXX-XXX-XXXXX.

Click e Next to move to the
next screen.

1.Login

2020 Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim
Filing online is EASY, QUICK, and FREE!

2020 VERMONT HOMESTEAD DECLARATION FORM HS-122 SECTION A

This form must be filed each year by every Vermont resident whose Due Date:

property meets the definition of a homestead. A Vermont Homestead is the April 15, 2020
principal dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the dwelling. owned and !

occupied by a resident individual as the individual's domicile on April 1. If Penalties apply if filed after
your homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, you may still claimit as a April 15
homestead if it is not leased for more than 182 days in the 2020 Calendar

year Property Tax Credit Claims
will be accepted through

Grand list classification does not change after October 15, 2020, October 15.

2020 PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM FORM H5-122 SECTION B

Eligible Homestead owners must annually file a claim to receive a credit to property tax. A credit is not
available to households whose income is $138,250 or more.

Credit claims cannot be accepted after October 15, 2020.
You may be eligible for a credit if:
* You have filed a valid Vermont Homestead;
* You were domiciled in Viermont for all of calendar 2019; and
* You are not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer for tax year 2019.

DOCUMENTS YOU WILL NEED:

* Copy of 2019/2020 property tax bill
* Income information for you, your spouse/civil union partner, and all other members of the household
such as W-2, 1099, SSA-1099, SSA-1042S, RRB-1099, RRB-1045, business income information

Please read all INSTRUCTIONS before you begin filing

To BEGIN the process
Enter your Social Security number. Then enter the SPAN.

Social Security Number: l ex RRARRRARR

Required
9 SPAN Number: | Select --L. Format: 596-09-9990

Please select first 6 digits of SPAN from dropdown.

e Next
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Enter all required information and answer No/Yes questions. Note that the SPAN you entered on
the previous page autopopulates the town in the Location of Legal residence (A2) and the SPAN
Number (A3).

How to navigate through myVTax

Click Next to move ahead to the next screen.
Click Previous to move back and review or correct information.

Note: We will not display the Next or Previous buttons in the steps that follow.

Homestead Declaration AND Property Tax Credit Claim
(HS-122)

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

HOMESTEAD INFORMATION

VT Resident Social Security Number: | ***.**.5555

Vermont Homeowner Name: | Firs Name | M || Last Name
. . Required
SPOUSE or CU Social Security Number: [ ]
Spouse or CU Name: [ First Name ] [ Last Name |
Homeowner's Date of Birth: | Reg
Mailing Address: | Required | o
City: | Required || State ﬂl Zip Validate Address

A field with a small orange triangle
in the corner is a required field.

If your homestead address is the same as your mailing D
address, please click here:

If your Homestead's physical location is different from your 7]
mailing address, please enter it below.

Physical Location of Homestead: | Required ]
SCHOOL DISTRICT INFORMATION

Federal Filing Status: [ Required If you are not
A2. CityfTown and State of Legal Residence on 41: [ AVERILL 0 foqired to Mo
A3. SPAN Number: [ 020-255-55555 | check
A4 Business Use of dwelling b4
A5, Rental Use of dwelling (7]
A6 Business or Rental Use of Improvements or Other Buildings .
Not including the dwelling, are improvements or other buildings located on your parcel used for business or o -
rented?
AT-A10. Special situations. Indicate if you are : v
AT. Grantor and sole beneficiary of a revocable trust owning the property | No Yes I
AS. Life estate [no [ ves |
A9, Homestead property crosses town boundaries. (File a declaration for each town.) [ No
A10 Residing in a dwelling owned by a related farmer. [ ho
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At this point in the process, you have two options:

Option 1: You may file a o Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim. Check the

appropriate box as shown below. If you file for a property tax credit and meet eligibility

requirements, the Department of Taxes will send a payment to your town towards your property

taxes. Skip to Step 7.

Option 2: You may file a 9 Homestead Declaration only. Check the appropriate box as shown

below. Follow Steps 5 and 6, beginning below.

= Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

£} Home > Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Claim

1.LogIn 2. Homestead Declaration 3. Which form do | file?

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

DO YOU ALSO WANT TO FILE A PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM?

A Property Tax Credit Claim provides the claimant an opportunity, if all necessary criteria are met, to
receive a credit on the homestead property tax bill

If Yes, you must also complete HS-122 Section B and fill out a Household Income Schedule
Check here to make a 2020 PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM

-

" Required |
To file your Homestead Declaration without a Property Tax Credit Claim

e Check here to file a HOMESTEAD DECLARATION ONLY ]

&

Filing a Homestead

Declaration only:

You will have a final = Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

Opportunlty to review £} Home » MNon-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Caim

It is VERY important to review your information for accuracy.

the information you've
1. Login 2. Homestead Declaration 3. Which form do | file? m
entered and make sure

it is correct.

Summary page by using the Next button

Review Page for Homestead Declaration
Please review the information below for accuracy, you may make any changes before you continue.

Claim has not been submitted until you continue to the Certification and

If no changes need to be made please continue to the end by using the Next butten to complete the filing of your Homestead Declaration Return.
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Certify and sign the electronic submission for your Homestead Declaration. Click Submit.

NOTE: Keep a record of your Confirmation Number and Verification Code after submission. If you

have any questions about your Homestead Declaration after submission, the Department will use
them to locate your file.

1.Login 2. Homestead Declaration 3. Which form do | file? 4. Review Page

CERTIFICATION AND SUMMARY

| hereby certify that | am an officer or authorized agent responsible for the taxpay liance with the requi s of Title 32 of the Vermont Statutes and that this retum is
true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge. If prepared by a person olher than the taxpayer, this decl further provides that under 32 V.5 A §5901, this

information has not been and will not be used for any other purpose, or made available to any other person. other than for the preparanon of this retum unless a separate valid
consent form is signed by the taxpayer and retained by the preparer.

| cerify the statement above
Signature of Taxpayer or Authorized Agent | TEST
Date Jan-02-2020

Daytime Telephone Number l:l

Format: (999) 999-9999 |

Check here if this retum is being completed by a preparer ||

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

e
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Filing a Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment: You must answer all required

eligibility questions. If you are not eligible for a credit, click Previous and select Homestead
Declaration only (see Step 4).

= Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

€% Home > Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Claim

Llogl 2 HomesiadDeclrsion 3Whichiomdolfie?

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM

A Property Tax Credit Claim provides the claimant an opportunity, if all necessary criteria are met, to receive a credit on the
homestead property tax bill

* Generally, a Property Tax Credit Claim is not available to households whose income is $138,250 or more

ALL the following eligibiiity questions must be d

ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONS \
Were you domiciled in Vermont all of calendar year 20197 |_No

Were you claimed as a dependent in 2019 by another taxpayer? [N Yes =

Do you anticipate sefling your Vermont housesite on or before April 1,2020? [ No

Please note if you make a claim and sell your home before Apnl 1,2020 you must withdraw the declaration and claim using
Form HS-122W available at: https://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/d: [HS-122W.pdf
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Complete the house site
information as listed on your
property tax bill. Pay special
attention to Line B7 —
Ownership Interest. If you are
unsure how to answer any of
these fields, click the question

mark in the blue circle for help.

&

1.LogiIn 2. Homestead Declaration 3. Which form do | file?

4. Eligibility Questions 5. Housesite Information Page for Homeowner

Homestead Declaration AND Property Tax Credit Claim
(HS-122)

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penaity up to October 15, 2020.
HOUSESITE INFORMATION PAGE FOR HOMEOWNER

Please complete the fields below.
Please note that the amounts for Lines B4-B6 are found on your 2019/2020 property tax bill.
Round entries to the nearest dollar.

84 Housesite Value
85 Housesite Education Tax

85 Housesite Municipal Tax
| &7 Ownership Interest

Complete the following ONLY if applicable. See instructions for details.

89 e-file Centificate Number (From Form LC-142) ( 1| |©

810, Mobile Home Lot Rent (Form LC-142, Line 9)
B11. Education Tax Allocated from Land Trust, Co-op, or Nonprofit Mobile Home Park
812 Municipal Tax Allocated from Land Trust, Co-op, or Nonprofit Mobile Home Park

Complete B13-B14 if your dwelling and up to two acres of parcel crosses town boundaries

813. Contiguous Property Education Tax
814, Contiguous Property Municipal Tax

To determine eligibility for the Property Tax Credit, you must file Schedule HI-144, Household
Income. “Household income” is your income and the income of everyone who lives with you or
who has lived with you during the previous calendar year. List all members of your household here.

Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

H- Home * Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Claim

d Declaration 3. Which form do | file?

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

4. Eligibility Questions 5. Housesite Information Page for Homeowner 6. Household Members Instructions

and any other income statement

Is your 2019 Income Tax under Extension?

To continue, you will need the following information:
You and your spouselcivil union partner's 2019 W-2s, 1099s, S5A-1099 55A-10425, RRB-1099. RRB-1042S

= All other members of your household's 2019 W-2s, 1099s, SSA-1099, SSA-10425, RRE-1099, RRB-10425
Report all income for each person who lived in your household in 2019.

Remember to include both taxable and nontaxable income.

Click here for household income instructions or use the ? for help at each line

Click here

Are there other members of your household? (Other than your spouse) No

To add more members of

your household, click here.
Yes

If you selected Yes above, please complete the fields below Click Add Additional Household Member to add more.

I Copyrow [ Add Additional Household Member

Last Name |

First Name | ma

P —

Fa Copyrow [ Add Additional Household Member

For more information on household income, see our fact sheet at tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/FS-1057.pdf
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Enter all taxable and nontaxable income for each household member.

HOUSEHOLD INCOME SCHEDULE
(HI-144)
Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020,
Please complete the fields below for each members of the Household. Please note that there is space allocated for only one dollar amount for each
question; therefore we require you to add the total dollar amounts for all additional household members in your household and provide the sum total in the
space provided. Please use whole dollar amounts.
INCOME
1. Claimant and jointly 2. Filing separately 3. Other Persons $
filed spouse § Spouse/CU Partner §

a. Cash public assistance and relief o | 0.00] | 0.00] 0.00 |
b 25@1 s:;lt.;ﬂy. S8, disability, railroad retirement, veteran's benefits, taxable and [ 0.00 ] I 0.00 | [ 0.00 ]
¢. Unemployment compensation/worker's compensation - [ 0.00 ] I 0.00 | [ 0.00 ]
d. Wages, salaries, fips, etc. (See instructions for dependents’s exempt income) o I 0.00 ” 0.00 | I 0.00‘
e Interest and dividends 0| 0.00] | 0.00] | 0.00|
f. Interest on state and municipal obligations. taxable and nontaxable "™ [ 0.00 ] I 0.00 I [ 0.00 ]
g Alimony, support money [ [ 0.00 ” 0.00 | [ 0.00]
h. Child support and cash gifts o/ 0.00]| 0.00] 0.00|
i Business Income:. If the amount is a loss, enter zero. See instructions for o [ 0.00 l I 0.00 I [ 0.00 l

offsetting a loss.
. Capital gains, taxable and nontaxable: If the amount is a loss, enter zero. See ;
I instructions for offsetting a loss. @ I 000 l I 000 l I ULl l
K Taxable pensions, annuities, IRA and other retirement fund distributions. See ) ’ 0.00 ] I 0.00 I ’ 0.00 |

instructions.

Rental and royalty income. If the amount is a loss, enter zero. See instructions
: for offsetting a loss. b ’ 0.00 ” 0.00 ” 0-00‘
m. Famipartnerships/S corporations/LLC/Estate or Trust income: If the amountisa g [ 0.00 ] I 0.00 I [ G.DDJ

* loss, enter zero. See Line i instructions for only exception to offset a loss.

n. Other income See instructions for examples of other income. o [ 0.00 ] I 0.00 | [ 0.00 l
o. Total Income | 0.00 || 0.00 | [ 0.00 |
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Enter all adjustments to income for yourself and each member of the household.

= Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ..

ﬂ' Home * MNon-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Claim
uestions 5. Housesite Information Page for Homeowner 6. Household Members Instructions 7. Household Income Entry
ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME
1. Claimant and jointly 2. Filing separately 3. Other Persons §
filed spouse $ Spouse/CU Partner $
p. Social Security and Medicare tax withheld on income reported. 7] [ 0.00 l ’ 0.00 l [ 0.00 |
a. Child support paid o 0.00] 0.00] [ 0.00 |
Support Paid To: Last Name H First Name l ’ I H Socia -Se-:‘._--.l
r. Allowable Adjustments from Federal Form 1040
r1. Business Expenses for Reservists [7] [ 0.00 l ’ 0.00 l [ 0.00 |
2. Alimony Paid o/ 0.00] 0.00] 0.00 |
3. Self-employed health insurance deduction [7] l 0.00 l ’ 0.00 l [ 0.00 |
r4. Health Savings account deduction [7] [ 0.00 ] [ 0.00 ] [ 0.00 |
5. Tuition and Fees o 0.00]| 0.00]| 0.00 |
_ To}ﬁlnflnﬁowable Adjustments [Sum:Lines p, q and total of Lines r1 to r5 for each I 0.00 | [ 0.00 | [ 0.00 |
t. E:gubtract: Line s from Line o of each column. if a negative amount, enter zero] I 50,000.00 | ’ 0.00 | [ 0.00 |
u. Add all three amounts from Line t. If a negative amount, enter zero. [ |
. gc;wé}lfete if born Jan 1, 1955 and after. Enter interest and dividend income from Lines I 0.00 | [ 0.00 | [ 0.00 |
w. Add aII.lhree amounts from Line v [ 0.00 |
X Less 10,000 [ 10,000.00 |
y. [Subtract Line x from Line w. If Line x is more than Line w, enter zero] [ 0.00 |
z. Household Income [Sum: Line u and Line y] [ |

Page 8 of 9



I
e 124

You will have a final opportunity to review the information you’ve entered and make sure it is correct.
It is VERY important to review your information for accuracy.

= Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

€3 Home > Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit Claim

sesite ion Page for H 6. Hi hold Members Instructions 7. Household Income Entry 8. Income Adjustments

Claim has not been submitted until you continue to the Certification and
Summary page by using the Next button

Review Page for Property Tax Credit Claim
Please review the information below for accuracy, you may make any changes before you continue.

If no changes need to be made please continue to the end by using the Next button to complete the filing of your Property Tax Credit Claim

S

Certify and sign the electronic submission for your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit
Claim. Click Submit.

NOTE: Keep a record of your Confirmation Number and Verification Code after submission. If you
have any questions about your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim after
submission, the Department will use them to locate your file.

= Non-Login HD and Property Tax Credit ...

£} Home > Non-Login HD and Froperty Tax Credit Claim

1ge for | 6. | Members Instructions 7. Household Income Entry 8. Income Adjustments 9. Review Page 10. Certification

CERTIFICATION AND SUMMARY

| hereby certify that | am an officer or authorized agent ible for the t q li with the requi of Title 32 of the Vermont Statutes and that this return is
true, correct, and complete to the best of my knovdedge If’—prepaled by a person olher than the taxpayer, this declaration further provides that under 32 V.S A §5901, this

information has not been and will not be used for any other purpose, or made available to any other person, other than for the preparation of this return unless a separate valid
consent form is signed by the taxpayer and retained by the

Prep

| certify the statement above || —

Signature of Taxpayer or Authorized Agent | ReqgLir
Date Jan-02-2020

S S —

Check here if this retum is being completed by a preparer ﬁ

Period Ending: 12/31/2020 - Return Due Date: April 15, 2020, accepted late with penalty up to October 15, 2020.

[l [=]
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