# 2023 SCHEDULE IN-153 Instructions **Capital Gains Exclusion**

## Who is Eligible to File?

Vermont allows a portion of net adjusted capital gains, as defined by I.R.C. § 1(h), to be excluded from Vermont taxable income. Qualified dividends are not eligible for capital gains treatment for Vermont tax purposes. Taxpayers may elect either the Flat Exclusion or the Percentage Exclusion. The amount excluded under either method cannot exceed 40% of federal taxable income or \$350,000, whichever is less. If your 2023 federal Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, shows a capital loss, you are not eligible to complete this form. No Vermont exclusion is available when a net capital loss is reported, even if the sale of farm or standing timber resulted in a capital gain.

### Part I Flat Exclusion

The general exclusion amount for tax year 2023 is \$5,000 or the actual amount of net adjusted capital gains, whichever is less.

#### **Special instructions for Line 1.**

If you did not file federal Form 1040, Schedule D, Capital Gains and Losses, enter the capital gain amount from federal Form 1040, Line 7, onto Line 1.

### Part II Percentage Exclusion

Taxpayers may choose to exclude 40% of their adjusted net capital gain up to \$350,000 (maximum Vermont exclusion \$875,000) from the sale of assets held for more than three years. Only certain categories of capital gain income are eligible for this exclusion. Capital gains from the sale of the following assets are not eligible for exclusion under the Percentage Method even if they have been held for more than three years:

- 1. Real estate or a portion of real estate used as a taxpayer's primary or nonprimary home
- 2. Depreciable personal property (except for farm or standing timber)
- 3. Stocks or bonds which are publicly traded or traded on an exchange
- 4. Any other financial instruments which are publicly traded or traded on an exchange

For more information on the Capital Gains Exclusion, please see 32 V.S.A. § 5811(21)(B) at legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/151/05811, or

Vermont Department of Taxes Reg. § 1.5811(21)(B)(ii) found on our website at tax.vermont.gov/regulations.

# **Part III Capital Gain Exclusion Amount**

Part III applies the limitation of 40% of federal taxable income and calculates your capital gain exclusion. Enter the amount from Line 21 onto Schedule IN-112, Vermont Tax Adjustments and Credits, Part I, Line 8.

### **Contacting the Department**

Mail: Vermont Department of Taxes Phone: (866) 828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont) Phone: (802) 828-2865 (local and out-of-state)

133 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05633-1401 Fax: (802) 828-2720

> E-mail: tax.individualincome@vermont.gov