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INTRODUCTION 

 

Effective for income received on or after July 1, 2019, the Vermont tax treatment of adjusted net 

capital gain income has changed. The total amount of decrease in taxable income due to the 40 

percent capital gain exclusion has been capped at $350,000 or 40 percent of the federal taxable 

income, whichever is less, for individual income. 2019, No. 71 (H.541), §1 (amending 32 V.S.A. § 

5811(21)(B)(ii)(II)). This bulletin provides guidance with respect to how the income tax applies to 

various types of capital gain income. The effect of such limit is that any adjusted capital gain above 

$875,000 will be taxed at standard state income tax rates.   

 

THE LAW EFFECTIVE BEGINNING JULY 1, 2019 

 

For capital gain income received on or after July 1, 2019, individuals may reduce taxable income by 

either: 

 

(1) The first $5,000 of adjusted net capital gain income or 

(2) 40 percent of adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of assets held by the taxpayer for 

more than 3 years except from the sale of the following: 

• Any real estate or portion of real estate used by the taxpayer as a primary or non 

primary residence 

• Depreciable personal property other than farm property and standing timber 

• Stocks or bonds publicly traded or traded on an exchange or any other financial 

instruments. 

The amount of decrease in taxable income due to the exclusion of capital gain subject to 40 percent 

preferential rate cannot exceed $350,000. 

The total amount of decrease due to the capital gain exclusion cannot exceed 40 percent of federal 

taxable income.  

Qualified dividends are not eligible for capital gains treatment for Vermont tax purposes.  

 

A taxpayer may choose the exclusion that results in the greater tax reduction, but may not take both 

exclusions in one tax year. The $5,000 exclusion may be applied against all types of adjusted net 

capital gain income. In no case may the exclusion exceed the taxpayer's adjusted net capital gain. 

The 40 percent exclusion is limited both as to the type of asset and the length of time the asset has 

been owned.  The total decrease is capped at $350,000 or 40 percentage of federal taxable income, 

whichever is less. 

 

Note that the cap of $350,000 in total amount of decrease affects only adjusted net capital gain 

income as defined in Section 1(h) of the Internal Revenue Code. Capital gain income that does not 



 

fall within that federal definition is not (and has not been under prior law) accorded favorable 

treatment. Adjusted net capital gain does not include unrecaptured section 1250 gain or 28 percent 

rate gain. I.R.C § l(h)(3). In general, unrecaptured section 1250 gain is realized on the sale of 

depreciable real estate and is taxed at a 25 percent maximum federal capital gains rate (or less in 

some cases). Unrecaptured 1250 gains are only realized when there is a net Section 1231 gain that is 

not subject to recapture as ordinary income. The 28 percent rate is the sum of collectibles’ gain and 

section 1202 gain (gain on the sale of small business stock) over the sum of collectibles’ loss, the net 

short-term capital loss and the amount of long-term capital loss carried under section 1212(b)(l)(B) 

the taxable year. 

 

 
THE LAW BEFORE JULY 1, 2019 

 

For capital gain income received in 2011 and after, individuals may reduce taxable income by either: 

 

(1) The first $5,000 of adjusted net capital gain income or 

(2) 40 percent of adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of assets held by the taxpayer for 

more than 3 years except from the sale of the following: 

• Any real estate or portion of real estate used by the taxpayer as a primary or non 

primary residence 

• Depreciable personal property other than farm property and standing timber 

• Stocks or bonds publicly traded or traded on an exchange or any other financial 

instruments. 

The total amount of decrease due to capital gain exclusion cannot exceed 40 percent of 

federal taxable income.  

 

  



 

 

TREATMENT OF ASSETS TYPES  

 

A. Real Estate 

 

The 40 percent exclusion extends to all-real estate (owned more than 3 years) except primary or non-

primary residences. Examples of real estate that qualifies for the 40 percent exclusion include the 

following: 

 

• real estate used to operate a business, such as a store, office, factory, or warehouse, 

including the parcel of land on which the structure is located 

• real estate held for investment purposes, such as an apartment building or raw land 

• real estate used for farming, whether or not the owner is a farmer, including farm 

buildings 

• real estate which is logged 

 

Examples of real estate gains that do not qualify for the 40 percent exclusion include gains from the 

sale of: 

 

• a taxpayer's primary residence, second residence, camp, cottage, ski condominium or 

vacation property unless the dwelling is not used as a home under federal law. 

• a taxpayer's timeshare in a ski condominium 

• land that was part of the residential parcel1 at the time of sale, even if it was subdivided 

prior to sale 

 

Part-time Rental Gain from a sale of a primary or non primary residence does not qualify for the 40 

percent exclusion even if the property is rented for a significant portion of the year. Under the 

Internal Revenue Code a person is considered to use a dwelling unit as a home if the person uses 

it for personal purposes2 during the tax year for more than the greater of: 14 days or 10-percent of the 

total days it is rented to others at a fair rental price. However, if the property is a second home that is 

rented at fair market rent for all but 14 days each year and is otherwise treated as an investment 

property (e.g., it is depreciated, expenses are deducted and the rental income is reported), it is not 

considered residential. Likewise, a seasonal camp may be used by the owner for 14 days before it is 

considered residential. 

 

Allocation If a parcel includes both qualifying real estate and residential real estate, the gain must be 

allocated between the two classes of real estate. For example, if a farm consisting of 200 acres, a 

farmhouse (the seller's residence or the residence of an owner of the farm if the seller is an entity) 

and a barn is sold and the seller realizes a gain, the adjusted net capital gain should be allocated in 

 
1 The term parcel is used herein as it is defined in Vermont property law. to refer to all contiguous property in the same 

ownership. See 32 V.S.A. § 4152(a)(3). 
2 A day of personal use of a dwelling unit is any day that it is used by: 

1. You or any other person who has an interest in it, unless you rent your interest to another owner as his or her 

main home under a shared equity financing agreement; 

2. A member of your family or of a family of any other person who has an interest in it, unless the family member 

uses it as his or her main home and pays a fair rental price; 

3.  Anyone under an agreement that lets you use some other dwelling unit; or 

4.  Anyone at less than fair rental price.  

http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc415.html 

http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc415.html


 

the same way as the property value is allocated to the qualifying and non qualifying real estate. Thus, 

if 30 percent of the assessed value is on the housesite, 30 percent of the gain should be allocated to 

the housesite. The remaining 70 percent of the gain is eligible for the 40 percent exclusion. If the 

taxpayer takes the 40 percent exclusion on the eligible gain up to $350,000, the $5,000 exclusion is 

not available for any part of the adjusted net capital gain. 

 

Another situation in which gain may be allocated is when a taxpayer has a home office or business in 

the residence. The burden of demonstrating that a portion of the property is not residential is on the 

taxpayer. Relevant facts may include how the property is treated on the taxpayer's federal income tax 

returns, including Form 8829, and any property tax adjustment claims filed with respect to the 

property. 

 

Conversion A residential property that is converted to a nonresidential use prior to sale may qualify 

for the exclusion depending upon the facts and circumstances surrounding the conversion. If the 

property is converted to nonresidential use within 3 years of the sale it is presumed that the asset is 

residential, but the presumption may be rebutted by the taxpayer. Relevant facts could include how 

long the residence was rented and to whom (e.g., whether the lease is arms’ length), when efforts to 

sell the residence commenced, treatment of the rental, income for state and federal tax purposes and 

how the real estate is classified on the grand list. A taxpayer claiming the 40 percent exclusion with 

respect to real estate that was a residence has the burden of demonstrating that the property was 

actually converted to nonresidential use. 

 

Installment sales Whether the requirement that the asset be held 3 years is satisfied in an installment 

sale depends upon when title to the asset passes to the buyer. Thus, property purchased in 2008 and 

sold in 2010 under an installment contract would not be eligible for the 40 percent exclusion even if 

payments were received in 2011. 

 

B. Depreciable Personal Property 

 

Adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of depreciable personal property does not qualify for 

the 40 percent exclusion unless the property sold is farm property. 3  Farm property includes any 

tangible personal property used to generate income from an agricultural activity. For example, a 

baler used to bale hay for sale qualifies, but a baler used to bale hay to feed a pet horse does not. A 

tractor used to mow down vegetation between Christmas trees grown for sale qualifies, but a tractor 

used by a landscaping business does not. Livestock used in a business for draft, breeding or dairy 

purposes qualifies for the 40 percent exclusion. Regardless of its proper tax classification or who 

sells it, standing timber specifically qualifies for the 40 percent exclusion. 

 

Adjusted net capital gain on the sale of most depreciable personal property is ineligible for the 40 

percent exclusion. Examples of depreciable personal property the gain on which does not qualify for 

the 40 percent exclusion include the following: 

 

• Trade fixtures or business equipment such as restaurant equipment or office furniture 

• Construction, road building and logging equipment 

• Motorized vehicles, boats, airplanes 

 

 
3 The new law does not define "farm property". "Sale of a farm" is defined in 32 V.S.A. §5811(27)(A), but that phrase 

was used in the law applicable to gain received prior to 2011, not the current law. 



C. Stocks or Bonds Publicly Traded on an Exchange; Financial Instruments

Adjusted net capital gain on the sale of stocks and bonds that are publicly traded and all other 

financial instruments does not qualify for the 40 percent exclusion. Other "financial instruments" 

include but are not limited to debt instruments, futures contracts, securities, stock options, 

demutualization of life insurance policies, real estate mortgage investment conduits, financial asset 

securitization investment trusts and collateral debt obligations. 

FILING REQUIREMENTS 

In order to exclude capital gains income from Vermont income tax, taxpayers will need to identify 

income that qualifies as adjusted net capital gain income under Section l(h) of the Internal Revenue 

Code. Vermont taxable income may be reduced by the first $5,000 of such income. Alternatively, 

taxpayers with eligible assets held more than 3 years may claim that the 40 percent exclusion up to 

$350,000 in lieu of the flat exclusion up to a maximum of $5,000. All taxpayers claiming an 

exclusion of adjusted net capital gain are required to complete Schedule IN-153. Taxpayers claiming 

the 40 percent exclusion for some or all of their adjusted net capital gain income must provide details 

regarding the source of the gain as requested. 

If there is a loss with respect to the sale of an asset that would qualify for the 40 percent exclusion if 

the transaction had resulted in a gain, the loss must be netted against gains that qualify for the 40 

percent exclusion. "Adjusted net capital gain" for purposes of calculating the exclusion under 32 

V.S.A. § 5811(21)(B)(ii) may not exceed the amount of capital gain reported on line 6 of Federal

Form 1040, or $875,000.

USE OF TECHNICAL BULLETINS. 

A technical bulletin provides general information to the public and does not replace the need for 

competent legal or accounting advice. This technical bulletin supersedes all prior department 

pronouncements on this subject. 

_________________________________ _______________________ 

Commissioner Craig Bolio Date 

April 16, 2020


