Taxation of Fuels

Vermont Sales and Use Tax and Fuel Tax apply differently to fuel in Vermont, depending on the type and use
of fuel. A person buying at retail will pay 6% sales and use tax for natural gas to fuel a motor vehicle, propane
in a free-standing container, and dyed diesel for limited specific uses. Heating oil, gas, and other fuels used for
commercial purposes are also subject to 6% sales and use tax, but not when used in the home. Where a
municipality has voted to impose a local option sales tax, an additional 1% tax will apply to taxable sales made
in that municipality. The $0.02 per gallon fuel tax applies to heating oil, propane, kerosene, or other dyed diesel

fuel delivered to a residence or business. The charts on this fact sheet explain the types of fuels taxed and

exempted under each of these two taxes.

Dyed Diesel
Starting July 1, 2017, two new uses of dyed diesel
became exempt from sales and use tax. Dyed diesel
is now exempt when purchased for any of the
following uses:
¢ to power the types of forestry machinery and
equipment listed below;
¢ to propel a vehicle off road;
e for farming, if used directly and exclusively for
farming purposes; and
* to manufacture tangible personal property for
sale, whether used directly or indirectly.

The types of exempt forestry machinery and
equipment are: skidders with grapple and cable,
feller bunchers, cut-to-length processors, forwarders,
delimbers, loader slashers, log loaders, whole-tree
chippers, stationary screening systems, and firewood
processors, elevators, and screens. The exemption can
be claimed by completing Form S-3F, Vermont Sales
Tax Exemption Certificate For Fuel Or Electricity.
Dyed diesel used off road in stationary equipment
(i.e., generators) when used for commercial purposes
remains taxable.

Exemption Certificates

Fuel Tax

On July 1, 2016, the Fuel Gross Receipts Tax was
renamed the Fuel Tax. The Fuel Tax is

imposed on the retail sale of heating oil, propane,
kerosene, and other dyed diesel fuel delivered to a
residence or business at a rate of $0.02 per gallon.

A new gross receipts tax on retail sales of coal and
natural gas is also imposed at a rate of 0.75%.
Additionally, a gross receipts tax on the retail sale of
electricity is now imposed at a rate of 0.5%.

Before Jan. 1, 2017, the Department required quarterly
filing of Fuel Tax. The Fuel Tax must now be filed and
paid monthly. Returns and payments for the Fuel

Tax must be made to the Department of Taxes using
Form FGR-615, Fuel Tax and Petroleum Distributor
Licensing Fee Return.

Fuel dealers who choose to itemize an invoice or bill
in order to show the amount of the Fuel Tax must
include the following statement:

The purpose of the Fuel Tax is to support
Vermont’s Low Income Home
Weatherization Program

Exemption certificates are available on the Vermont Department of Taxes website:
Form S-3F, Vermont Sales and Use Tax Exemption Certificate for Fuel or Electricity
Form S-3, Vermont Sales and Use Exemption Certificate for Purchases for Resale and by Exempt

Organizations

Please see the charts on the next page
for specific information about the recent changes

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only.
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings,

or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.
Iss. 06/2018 ® Pub. FS-1173
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http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/S-3F.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/S-3F.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/FGR-615.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/FGR-615.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/S-3F.pdf
http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/s-3.pdf

Sales and Use Tax (32 V.S.A. ch. 233)

Tax rate

6% of the retail sales price, plus 1% of the retail sales price in municipalities that have voted
to impose a local option sales tax

Taxpayer

Any purchaser, unless exempt

Types of fuels
taxed

¢ Heating oil, gas, and other fuels used for commercial purposes in mixed-use buildings
(both residential and commercial) are subject to sales tax, but the portion of fuel used
for residential purposes is exempt. 32 V.S.A. § 9741(26)
* Propane sold at retail in free-standing containers, or sold as part of a transaction where
a free-standing container is exchanged without a separate charge 32 V.S.A. § 9741(26)
» No sales tax on propane refills using the purchaser’s own container
Natural gas used to propel a motor vehicle 32 V.S.A. § 9741(7)(B)
Dyed diesel used off road in stationary equipment (e.g., generators) for commercial
purposes 32 V.S.A. § 9741(7)(A)(iii);
* If equipment is capable of both propulsion and non-propulsion use, only the
non-propulsion use of dyed diesel is taxable.

Types of fuels
exempt from
sales tax, based
on use

¢ Heating oil, gas, and other fuels used in a residence for all domestic use, including
heating 32 V.S.A. § 9741(26)

» In mixed-use buildings (both residential and commercial), the portion of fuel
used for residential purposes is exempt, but the portion for commercial purposes
is subject to sales tax.

* Dyed diesel used to:

= power forestry machinery; for a full list of exempt machinery and equipment that
dyed diesel is bought to power, see 32 V.S.A. § 9741(51)

» propel a vehicle on or off road, including specifically for agricultural or
manufacturing purposes, 32 V.S.A. § 9741(7)(A)(iii), (27), (34)

¢ If equipment is capable of both propulsion and non-propulsion use,
only the propulsion use of dyed diesel is exempt.
* Sales of electricity, oil, gas, and other fuels used:

» directly and exclusively for farming purposes 32 V.S.A. § 9741(27)

» directly or indirectly in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale
32 V.S.A.§9741(34)

Organizations that are exempt from sales and use tax under 32 V.S.A. § 9743:
¢ TFederal and State of Vermont (including municipal) government entities
¢ Nonprofit organizations that qualify for exempt status under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3),

T f
ezgis :) agricultural organizations, qualified for exempt status under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(5),
}F when presenting agricultural fairs, field days or festivals
purchasers * Schools as defined in 16 V.S.A. § 11(7) and (8); and municipalities, which include any
city, town, unorganized town, village, grant, or gore
Fuel Tax (33 V.S.A. § 2503)

Tax rate $0.02 per gallon of fuel sold at retail
Taxpayer Any seller who makes a retail sale of fuel delivered to a residence or business

Heating oil, propane, kerosene, and other dyed diesel fuel delivered to a residence or
Types of fuels |business are subject to fuel tax. There are also two percentage-based gross receipts taxes
taxed imposed on the retail sale of natural gas and coal (0.75%), and on electricity (0.5%).
Types of Retail sales of fuel to organizations that are neither residences nor businesses are not
exempt subject to the fuel tax. This includes federal and State of Vermont (including municipal)
purchasers government entities and nonprofit organizations.
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https://www.facebook.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://twitter.com/VTDeptTaxes
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/32/233
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09741
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/233/09743
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/501
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/501
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/16/001/00011
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/025/02503

