Vermont Tax Department Reminds of Final Deadline for Property Tax Adjustment and Renter Rebate Claims

02 October 2017

The Vermont Department of Taxes would like to remind Vermonters that the last date to file a Property Tax Adjustment or Renter Rebate Claim is October 16, 2017. The Vermont Property Tax Adjustment and Renter Rebate programs assist in making housing more affordable for thousands of Vermonters. These programs provide over $180 million in assistance to Vermonters annually. All Vermont homestead owners must file a Homestead Declaration (form HS-122) even if they are not seeking an income based property tax adjustment. Homestead Declarations filed after October 16. 2017 will be classified as non-homestead. The owner will be charged the higher of the two rates, assessed a penalty, and must pay any additional property tax and interest due.

You may be eligible for a reduction in your property taxes if your property qualifies as a homestead and you meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Your property qualifies as a homestead as of April 1, and you have filed a 2017 Homestead Declaration;
  • You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer; and
  • You meet the household income criteria.

The Renter Rebate Program allows renters to receive a rebate based on a portion of their rent paid in the previous year if they meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You rented property in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer; and
  • You meet the household income criteria.

The due date for both these programs was in April, but if you missed it, you can still file. Any property tax adjustment claims filed between now and the October 16, 2017 deadline will incur a $15 late filing penalty. Municipalities may assess their own late filing penalty. Claims filed after October 16, 2017 or incomplete claims will not be accepted.

Homeowners and claimants who want to double check if they filed correctly have several options:

  1. Check their current property tax bill: if the Homestead Declaration was received, it will show a Homestead Education Tax Rate. Any property Tax Adjustment will show up as a reduction in the total tax, labeled: “State Payments”
  2. Check our website at myvtax.vermont.gov.

More information about Property Tax Adjustment Claims and Renter Rebate Claims and their eligibility requirements is available on the Department’s website.

Contact Us

Commissioner Kaj Samsom
133 State Street | Montpelier, VT 05633
(802) 828-2505

Taxpayer Assistance Window
Office Hours: 7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday

 Call us      Email us      Find us