Oct. 15 Deadline for Multiple Tax Types and Programs

11 October 2018

Montpelier, Vt.—The Vermont Department of Taxes would like to remind Vermonters that the last date to file a Property Tax Adjustment or Renter Rebate Claim is Oct. 15, 2018. Personal Income Tax Returns filed on extension, as well as several corporate tax types are also due. The Vermont Property Tax Adjustment and Renter Rebate programs assist in making housing more affordable for thousands of Vermonters. These programs provide over $180 million in assistance to Vermonters annually.

All Vermont homestead owners must file a Homestead Declaration using Vermont Form HS-122 every year even if they are not seeking an income-based property tax adjustment. If you file a Homestead Declaration after Oct. 15, your property will be classified as non-homestead or nonresidental. You will be charged the higher of the two rates, assessed a penalty, and must pay any additional property tax and interest due.

The due date for both these programs was in April, but if you missed it, you may still file. Any Property Tax Adjustment claims filed between now and the Oct. 15 deadline are subject to a $15 late filing penalty. Municipalities may assess their own late filing penalty. Claims filed after Oct. 15 or incomplete claims will not be accepted.

You may be eligible for a reduction in your property taxes if your property qualifies as a homestead and you meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Your property qualifies as a homestead as of April 1, and you have filed a 2018 Homestead Declaration
  • You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer; and
  • You meet the household income criteria.

The Renter Rebate Program allows renters to receive a rebate based on a portion of their rent paid in the previous year if they meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You rented property in Vermont for the full prior calendar year;
  • You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer; and
  • You meet the household income criteria.

If homeowners are unsure if they correctly filed their Homestead Declarations and Property Tax Adjustment claims they should review their current property tax bills. If the department received your Homestead Declaration, your bill will show a Homestead Education Tax Rate. Any property tax adjustment will show up as a reduction in the total tax, labeled “State Payments.” Claimants for both the Property Tax Adjustment and Renter Rebate programs may check the status of their filing on department’s website at myvtax.vermont.gov. If you are expecting a Property Tax Adjustment, please be sure the status reads that both your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Claim were received by the Department.

More information about Property Tax Adjustment Claims and Renter Rebate Claims and their eligibility requirements is available on the department’s website at www.tax.vermont.gov.