Malt and Vinous Beverage Taxes are paid by bottlers and wholesalers of malt and vinous beverages. The tax is computed on gallons sold by bottlers or wholesalers. The tax is paid monthly or quarterly, depending on the amount of tax due. If less than $2,000 was remitted for the previous year, a taxpayer may file every quarter. Otherwise, returns must be filed monthly.
Tax on Ready-to-Drink Spirits Beverages
Ready-to-drink spirits beverages is a new category of beverages subject to malt and vinous beverage tax. The rate for ready-to-drink spirits beverages is $1.10 per gallon sold to retailers. Note that this rate is different than the rates for malt and vinous beverages. Manufacturers, bottlers, and wholesalers will pay the tax on ready-to-drink spirits in the same manner and in the same circumstances in which tax is due for malt or vinous beverages. The related returns, forms, and worksheets provided by the Department of Taxes have all been updated to accommodate this new category of beverages.
Definition of Ready-to-Drink Spirits Beverage
“Ready-to-drink spirits beverage” means an alcoholic beverage containing more than one percent alcohol by volume and not more than 12 percent alcohol by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit obtained by distillation, by chemical synthesis, or through concentration by freezing and mixed with nonalcoholic beverages, flavoring, or coloring materials. Ready-to-drink spirits beverages may also contain water, fruit juices, fruit adjuncts, sugar, carbon dioxide, preservatives, and other ingredients. “Ready-to-drink spirits beverage” does not include a beverage that is packaged in containers greater than 24 fluid ounces in volume.
Please note: Any ready-to-drink spirits beverage that contains more than 12 percent alcohol by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit or is packaged in containers greater than 24 fluid ounces in volume is considered spirits under Vermont law. These beverages are not subject to malt and vinous beverage tax but are subject to different taxes and regulations by the Division of Liquor Control.
The Malt and Vinous Beverage Tax is due on or before the 25th of the month following the period end date. Every licensed bottler or wholesaler must file a return either monthly or quarterly, even when no tax is due. Please contact the tax department if unsure of the required filing frequency.
The Vermont Tax Department requires a single return to be filed for each taxing period when multiple licensees are registered under the same Employer Identification Number (EIN).
|Tax Period Ending||Due Date|
|Tax Period Ending||Due Date|
How to File and Pay
The preferred method for filing and paying Malt and Vinous Beverage Tax Return is through myVTax our free, secure, online filing site. When you file your return through myVTax you will also be prompted to report any distributions made during the reporting period. If you have any questions, contact us at (802) 828-2551 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
How to Report Distributions
Before reporting your distributions for the first time, you must download the new reporting template. Please see the guides and distribution template below for more information about how to submit the monthly return and upload the distribution report at myVTax.